Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2017
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2017?

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 24, 479 total comments)

Bee

?

Did I spoil my Day 1 by consuming skimmed milk? I drank skimmed milk on day one. I wonder if that's going to spoil the diet, and do I have to start anew? :S

posted Feb 17th, 2015 11:39 am


Sue

+

Yes, have been on it for 5 days and lost 7 Kilos. A lot would be fluid, I am guessing, but very happy with the result so far.

posted Feb 2nd, 2015 3:16 pm


Maureen

+

DAY 2 just had the baked potato awesome felt great today but tired this evening

posted Jan 28th, 2015 12:08 am


Bernzie

+

I don't think this diet is for the long term but as a start to healthy eating it's awesome! I and other members of my family have been on the 7day plan many times. Even my husband , who has difficulty dieting can easily follow it. I think because it's for just 7 days and you know you aren't going to be restricted in the long term. I myself find it so hard to know where to start and what to do that the simplicity of this diet and the fact that you know right away what you can have and what you can't. The soup is yummy and on days that you have meat you can add it right to the soup! The baked potato tastes soooo good when you get to eat it too. On veggie day I usually use a nonstick pan and some Worcestershire sauce and fry up mushrooms, onions and green pepper and it tastes awesome. After the week is over , it's important to have a menu plan ready so that you don't go overboard and eat too much. Honestly though, after a week of healthy eating, it's easier to stay away from the bad stuff!

posted Jan 15th, 2015 10:46 pm


mallorkm

+

I use this diet as a cleanse prior to starting a long term diet. It has worked great all 4 times that I have done it. I typically will lose 7-10lbs. Its a great way to get back in the grove of things.

posted Jan 13th, 2015 3:16 pm


Sherry

+

I love this diet! It works as long as you don't cheat & sure I eat more fruit & fresh veggies than it ask for but that will keep your stomach full & less craving for junk. My husband & I lost 4 lbs just after 4 days of this diet. Imagine doing this for a whole month? Or 3 months straight? I'm telling you it's healthy & of course we would take 2-4 days break after the 7 days like eating ice cream or cakes & pies just to splurge but we go back on it again. It's whatever works for you. But remember to stick to it for at least 2 weeks the first time you do it without cheating & you're guarantee to see results!

posted Dec 4th, 2014 8:09 pm


Jarrett

+

I went on this diet for the 7 days and lost 10 lbs. As a result of this diet I have continued to eat healthy(ier) and have lost an additional 6 lbs in the week following this diet. This diet was a great way to start eating healthy while losing pounds quick. The weight loss was a motivator for the continued healthy eating. I would (and have) recommend this diet to those who want to begin to eat healthier.

posted Nov 18th, 2014 8:02 pm


Tyree

+

Day 2 and I love this diet.... I feel ligther on my feet.. I feel better and cant wait to weigh myself tomorrow on day 3... I actually skipped steps comimg into work this morning..

posted Nov 9th, 2014 2:19 am


Kelsey

+

This diet is amazing. I will admit, the second to last day I cheated just a tiny bit. We were making sugar cookies and I took just a little piece of the dough and ate it. However, even after eating a whole cookie after that, I still lost 7 pounds by the end of the diet... and I kept it off! as long as you don't high tail it to panda express as a 'reward' to yourself to doing 'so good' you will keep it off. Your reward is to have an awesome body!

posted Oct 28th, 2014 7:21 pm


Paul

I have used this diet many times over the years,when I get back up over what I want to be I go on it until I reach the weight I want,this last week of 7 days I lost 14 lbs and feel fine.I like the soup plus I add some other thing that makes it taste to what I like.I feel good at 76 years old and when this is over I really enjoy a good meal.

posted Oct 7th, 2014 5:50 pm


kim

+

I throw all of the veggies in my blender with the tomatoes and puree them and then add to beef broth and water,,, simmer and add soup mix.... I hate chunky veggies! And the soup is amazing and the diet is hard but its a good kick off.

posted Sep 8th, 2014 2:12 am


ama

+

Drink lots of water! I liked this soup better than the one that calls for 2 pounds of carrots and no cabbage. I add cayenne pepper to help boost those endorphins! Easy to maintain the weight loss after you go off of it. I did not experience any of the fatigue that some people mentioned, but it does make you gassy.

posted Jul 11th, 2014 5:12 pm


Abeer

?

Why am i not loosing weight? Umm well im on my second day i havent even lost a pound and i did not cheat i only ate fruit and 2 servings of soup the first day and ate salads and 2 servings of soup on the second day and i wanted to know why i havent lost any weight yet?

posted Jun 11th, 2014 1:14 am



Naima Colon Ramirez

?

Baked potato, yay or nay? I forgot to take in the baked potatoe on the 2nd day, will that affect anything? I love fruits and veggies; so "so far, so good."

posted Nov 19th, 2013 10:52 am


juderka

I would like to know if i can sustitute the tomatoes , I cooked the soup yesterday and taste horrible .

posted Nov 9th, 2013 7:45 pm


Donna

+

I've tried a bunch of diets and this one works! Period.. I'm on day 4 and already 7 pounds down. I'm facing open heart surgery next year and need to drop 60lbs. Its no gimmick, if you follow it and DON"T CHEAT...it works. I kicking off 3 weeks in a row and then going 1 wk a month until I hit my goal weight. Trick to no gaining it back is don't go back to unhealthy eating habits and keep moving...30-60minutes a day, even if its a walk in the park. Very encouraged at this point.

posted Oct 27th, 2013 5:14 pm


polly

i put only one pound of carrots instead of two, do you think that would make a difference in losing weight?

posted Jun 19th, 2013 2:37 pm


Ben D

+

This is the best diet on the market i believe. I did this diet for 7 days a couple of weeks before my holiday last year. I was never largely overweight however i lost 11lbs on this diet. If you stick exactly to it and dont substitute anything on there for anything else then it will work and you WILL lose a good amount of weight. A year on and i am going back on it, i maintained a good level of weight without watching what i ate for almost a year, this time round i will maybe maintain it with lower portions and slight healthier eating etc... Whoever says this is really hard just needs a bit of will power, and all these weird feelings people get is the fact that you are not indulging whenever you feel slightly peckish. I add nutmeg, worcester source and ground masala to my soup, sounds strange but it really helps the taste. Highly reccommend, would prefer a week of healthy eating that 2 months of prolonged torture on other diets, ENJOY

posted May 21st, 2013 1:37 pm


ashley

-

Horrible!!! The second day I felt as if I was dying my whole body was weak and I felt as if I was getting a bad case of thw flu. I am quitting and doing it the hard way!

posted May 8th, 2013 5:54 pm


tawnya k

+

3rd day of the sacred heart diet..down 3 pounds.

posted May 2nd, 2013 7:26 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

PROPRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CONCON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?