Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 228 reviews

Sacred Heart Diet

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Purple Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 23, 450 total comments)

Slj

I'm starting the diet tomorrow, but
I already made the soup and had a 
small bowl for dinner tonight. I'm 16 
years old and weigh 120.5. I'm not
asking to lose tons of weight, I just want
to shed a couple pounds for my vacation 
I'm going on in less than 2 weeks. I'm
excited! reading the reviews are
really interesting and give me hope. 
Good luck to everyone else trying
this diet as well! :)

posted Jul 13th, 2011 7:57 pm


qoakman

wat are suppose to drink while on this diet I'm on my second day and all I been drinking is water and greentea 7 day vegetable soup diet

posted Jul 13th, 2011 9:43 am


loozwehtnow

Here I go, going to get all the ingrediants tomorrow to start the diet! Today is Saturday, so I plan to start Monday morning. I am leaving to go on vacation on the 31st and need to lose atleast 15 pds by then! I plan on doing the diet everyday until then. I am 31 years old, 5'8.5" and weigh 168. I will update daily! Wish me great luck! :-) What do I have to lose except pounds

posted Jul 8th, 2011 10:57 pm


Aluna

I have been on/off this diet since May 1st - I completed 5 weeks of diet in these 2 months and have lost 22 LBS.

posted Jul 1st, 2011 11:44 pm


Kai

I just started the diet monday! I am 20 yrs old, 5'7, and started at 183. This is crazy but I some how managed to lose 9 pounds !! and I am only on day three... However my dad only lost 1lbs and he hasn't cheated either. I don't know why I lost so much and he hasnt... but the diet seems to work for me. I am now 176.

One thing I will say is the soup becomes u enemy really fast! I have to forcefully eat it everyday, I find it is really gross.

posted Jun 22nd, 2011 8:18 am


Aelina

I've been doing this diet for the past 4 days and I've lost 6.5 lbs! The diet is definitely about learning to get over your unhealthy food cravings. I know some nights I couldn't sleep because of my cravings, but every time you weigh yourself and lose weight, it pushes you to keep going. I'm not going to lie, the soup was disgusting. I actually blended it so I could chug it and get it over with! Good luck to everyone that's trying it! :)

posted Jun 18th, 2011 11:09 am


14andchubby

i am now so happyyy i weigh
147.6
3 poundss in 3 dayss! awomseee
me and my brother are betting 50 dollars if i can lose 10 pounds haha

posted Jun 9th, 2011 12:14 pm


14andchubby

i had done this diet in Feb.2011
and went down 6 pounds!!!! (148 to 142)i may have cheated becuz i couldnt take soupp to my school!!!
anywas i have gained it back bcuz of alot of parties with tons of DELICIOUS food haha
anyways im on day 2 and i weighed 150.8 now i way 149.0 im happy i wanna lose 10 pounds and i am going on a vacation tin July so dont want relatives (ALL SO SKINNY) and i want to be about 130 by then but hopefully i can make through one week:):) wish me luck!!!

posted Jun 8th, 2011 2:57 pm


Kelly

So I hit "Like It" because I did lose some weight. BUT it's a very tough diet. Day two was the hardest for me. What do you eat in the morning when all you can eat is veggies and soup? UGH.
The rest of the time wasn't that bad. The soup gets pretty gross after a few days, but tollerable. I don't have a lot of weight to lose, but I did lose 6 lbs, so that was good. It also "cleaned me out".

My boyfriend did this with me and he REALLY struggled. It wasn't about the food for him, but more of a withdrawl from meats and carbs. His body played tricks on him. It was affecting his attitude and it made him VERY grumpy and irritable. I almost forced him to cheat just for my sake. But he didn't and lost about 4lbs. He had less to lose than I did.

I see how this would be a good drastic weight loss for someone larger who doesn't exercise. For those who do exercise, this drains you and without the protein, it is hard to remain strong enough to really work out.

Will I do it again, maybe. BUT, will I let my BF do it again......NO!!!!!!!!

PS....the sweet potato saved him on the veggie days.

posted May 31st, 2011 5:35 pm


wendy

I only need to lose 10 pounds and I'm already a generally healthy eater. I have stuck to this diet faithfully for 3 days and only lost 1 pound. Not the 5-7 that they promise. Actually, I lost 2 pounds by Day 2 and gained one back on Day 3. I have felt like fainting and crying all 3 days. It left me too weak to exercise. I don't understand why it is not working for me like the posters below. I'm not sure I will stick to it. The thought of eating that soup again makes me want to vomit.

posted May 6th, 2011 11:11 am



sitjulia77

It's a reality check on food. I lost 6 lbs. I look at food differently .

posted May 3rd, 2011 3:02 pm


holly

i am 5'3 and 177lb and size 14 and i am going to start the diet next week what is a realistic weight loss for me

posted Apr 26th, 2011 10:11 am


del sad

I am a 42 year old woman going through menopause. I am 5 feet and weigh 163lbs. Just wondering if anyone out there is similar to me and is having success with this diet?

posted Apr 16th, 2011 9:40 am


clare

Just a quick response to the people asking if they can use sweetner in their coffee....it's says BLACK coffee. If you put sweetner in it then it's not really black coffee anymore. So there's your answer.

Not that I'm saying it will ruin this diet or anything if you do use it, or telling you not to use it.....I just thought I'd point this out :)

posted Apr 15th, 2011 9:02 am


Jess

Day 1- So far it's going good, overall I want to lose 38lbs and on day 1 I lost 1.2lbs, Good start. I made to soup a little too watery (I pureed it, It's much nicer!) so I think I need to change that but other than that i'm not hungry. I was so full on fruit yesterday! Totally stuffed. Cheated a tiny bit for dinner last night as I had people over so I had super small portions of one of my normal meals. Let's see what day 2 is like!

posted Apr 12th, 2011 3:46 am


Tonya Henson

Can you have the listed drinks any day while on the diet? I am on day one and so far I am doing okay. I did do the 48 hour hollywood diet before I started this so it helps with not being so hungry. I am 5'3" and 155.8. For those of you who have done the diet: Can you drink the unsweetened juice and other drinks mentioned everyday? I am really confused by that part of the diet. It says drink any combination of the the drinks but then specifically mentions the skim milk on Day 3. Any help to answer this would be great :)

posted Apr 11th, 2011 7:44 pm


mytime001

I have done this diet several times in the past. It made me cranky, desperate for it to end and what ever weight I managed to lose, I got back. I too fell for the idea that it was a "jump start" to eating healthy. Only one thing works: a commitment to a lifestyle change:eating balanced meals within your calorie range, exercise, water and perseverance. For those here who report it worked, what worked is the lifestyle change. I've now lost 17 lbs without any fad diets with the help of SparkPeople..and no slipping. I have seen this sort of weight loss in years!

posted Apr 9th, 2011 10:10 am


PRH

Just finished this diet about two weeks ago and lost 7 lbs. And I am a person who never, ever dieted because I found them too restrictive. However, I did not find this particular diet at all restrictive. You eat as much as you want all day long.

I had been working out for weeks and not seeing any real progress. While on this diet, I only worked out one day that week.

When the diet ended, I did not return to unhealthy eating habits, and I have since lost another 2 lbs. I think this diet is a good way to jump start a healthy eating lifestyle.

posted Mar 30th, 2011 11:41 am


LD551

I love it and lost 18 pounds the first time i tried it!

posted Mar 29th, 2011 8:34 pm



Naica Balasabas

So are you gonna mixed it all up on cooking the soup?

posted Mar 27th, 2011 7:23 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account