Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 226 reviews

Sacred Heart Diet

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Purple Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 23, 446 total comments)

Syl

To everyone who used it and was successful on it, please advise. How do you keep the weight off. The truth is that it is a drastic decrease in calories. Once you're off the diet, do you gradually add food? It is common sense that if you put loads of calories back at once it will be turned to fat.
Thanks so much and good luck everyone!

posted Mar 21st, 2010 2:41 am


Sarah

i dont like to eat veggiess
cuz it makes me sickk.
what can i eat instead of themm?

posted Mar 20th, 2010 12:23 am


ashley b.

hi! i just started the diet today and i was wondering how long can you actually stay on it before eating normally? can i do the diet for 3 weeks and rest for one? thanks so much!

posted Mar 16th, 2010 11:29 am


kitzy

This is a winderful diet to kickstart a healthy way of eating. The first week I lost 7 pounds and felt great. I lost my desire for sweets almost totally! By changing my eating habits I lost a total of 32 lbs by June. If you gain a few pounds back, just make the soup and stay on for a few days and you will drop some in the first 3 days. Good luck and be healthy!

posted Mar 13th, 2010 3:00 pm


Meredyth

I actually lost a majority of 65lbs on this diet approximately two years ago. The weight has only recently begun to return and that is mostly due to stress. I started the diet again last Sunday and have already lost 8lbs and only have 12 more to go. That's under three weeks to lose 20lbs! I always feel a little sick the first few days and then, as my body adjusts to a more health diet I start feeling better and better, not to mention that all the water really helps your complexion. Anyways that's my review...

posted Mar 12th, 2010 7:42 pm


Vicki

Started this diet weighing 140 lbs, after the 7 days, and following the diet plan exactly have lost a total of 5 lbs, settling in at a happy 135lbs. I do admit I did minimal exercise on the first 5 days of the diet, and could/should have made more of an effort. The diet was easy to follow, different foods each day makes it a breeze. I will be trying this diet again with more exercise included... trying to lose those last 5lbs!!! Good luck everyone!!

posted Mar 5th, 2010 8:28 pm


pearlone

This diet is way too restrictive. And the way it is set up in terms of what foods you eat on certain days makes NO sense to me. I think this is a dangerous way to lose weight, regardless of the ones who say they lost 7# and up. In my opinion, *Diets* simply do not work. it is changing your eating habits to whole food, eliminating sugar, flour, bread & dairy, and incorporating walking everyday. This diet literally gave me a headache and made me crave carbs. That must say something.

posted Feb 5th, 2010 5:42 pm


Ashers

Just made the soup, I only made half of the ingredients since I didn't have a big enough bowl, Will make the other half when I eat all of the soup. The vegetables, especially the carrots, are taking a long time to soften and its been simmering for about an hour. Excited to start the diet and will keep you updated on progress! Never tried a diet like this before and wondering if it actually works, 96% success rate can't be wrong!

posted Feb 5th, 2010 1:39 am


pearlone

I am going to do this for a week to see how I feel and to lose some weight which I NEED to do, and this sounds like a jump start to a new healthy way of eating. I have done the Candida Diet several times and lost weight, felt great, BUT....always went back to my wicked ways of eating the WRONG foods. With this soup, can you add different veggies? I make a really good minnestrone-type soup and add TONS of veggies, including zuchinni, parsnips, turnips & potatoes>which I know is a *No-No* on this diet. But what about zuchinni? Any thoughts will be appreciated.

posted Feb 2nd, 2010 12:43 am


lan5029

It is good, on day 5, already lost almost 9 pounds

posted Jan 28th, 2010 10:43 pm


weightlossdiva

AMAZING. I lost 20 pounds. I was about 50 pounds overweight with little exercise. I just walked 30 minutes a day and followed the diet exactly.

posted Jan 28th, 2010 6:23 pm



maggie123

I am a vegetarian (don't eat meat, fish and eggs) - what can i replace the beef on day 5 and 6 with?

posted Jan 26th, 2010 11:34 pm


Todd

It's my sixth day and think this diet is working. Despite what the critics say I see a vast improvement in my wifes idea about what healthy eating is and our refridgerator is now full of fruits and vegetables something that she rarely bought before. I suspect this may represent a major change in our eating habits for the better. I've been wanting to get back to how I ate when I was a youngster. I have to admit though that not having my normal creamer in my coffee is sorely missed.

posted Jan 26th, 2010 11:19 am


Sylvia

To ashley:
What other diets have you tried? I am curious since I did this diet back in May of 2009. I lost 15lb in 3.5 weeks. Then the weight came back even though I eat healthy and exercise. I need to lose the weight again, but cant get myself to complete the whole week on the soup without cheating. Trying to find a way to do it without the soup. In the past, what worked for me was just cutting calories and not eating after 7. I am 27 and active. Any suggestions?

posted Jan 25th, 2010 11:06 pm


Pam in Indiana

I'm back, on day 5 here but let me tell you about day 4, my schedule was off so I didnt eat as much as I should nor did I drink much water, I was dehydrated and dizzy so lesson learned, wont do that again! I weighed 237 (yippey!!) 8lb lighter. Now day 5, I'm on my second meat day weighing in at 237 still, finding that the meat is a bit heavy, because I dont eat this much beef, but my energy is back and feel great because I am accomplishing a goal that I set out to do this year. By the way my hubby is doing great also and it helps that he is such a great support. Talk again soon. Bye......

posted Jan 25th, 2010 10:22 pm


ashley

I tried this diet in April 2009. I lost about ten pounds. I went from 168lbs to 158lbs. Since then, I have tried about five other diets that just dont have the same great results, but I have not gained any weight back. I plan to start the diet again Monday.

posted Jan 24th, 2010 4:50 pm


Todd

This is my 4th day of the diet and I can say I feel like I have much more energy and I'm way more alert mentally. I weighed in at 260-lbs when I started and my wife has hid the scales insisting we wait until the end to weigh ourselves. I'm in my 47th year and I knew my weight was an issue because bending over to tie my shoes was becoming harder and harder and my joints ached. I'll keep you posted.

posted Jan 24th, 2010 3:47 pm


Pam in Indiana

Hello world I am back and guess what? I woke up this morning on the 3rd day and I'm down to 239 from 245 and this is the start of my 4th day.
I am still excited and I have great energy. I thought that the soup with banana's and milk would not satisfy me but to my surprise again I am just fine. Can't wait for my Beef day tomorrow though lol... Talk again in the tomorrow.

posted Jan 23rd, 2010 1:55 pm


Pam in Indiana

Hello everybody started day 3 and lost 1 more lb so far I HAVE LOST 4 lbs and still excited. I now
weigh 241, My appetite has decreased so I am forcing myself to eat quota. My energy is great but I know I'm pushing myself to fast in the exercising dept. I am happy and encouraged.

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 10:07 pm


Pam in Indiana

I am 47yrs old, and weighed 245 yesterday when I started the Sacred Heart Diet, now I love veggies of all kind but craved meat but I prevailed and weighed my self this morning I weighed 242, so I think I can wait for my meat
days lol. My husband is on it with me and he lost 3 lbs as well so we are both excited. I will keep you updated.

posted Jan 21st, 2010 5:37 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account