Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 11 of 24, 472 total comments)

Happy so far

Day 2. Lost 5 pounds. Keeping to the diet plan. Having coffee with fat free milk in the mornings. Going good so far.

posted Jun 8th, 2010 2:05 pm


lana

+

I have done this 3 times now, its my go to when I have something coming up and I want to lose 10 pounds quick. Over a few months of me eating and drinking like I am on vacation I put the pounds back on but if I ever start working out and eating right the pounds wont come back. I totally recommend this for a quick weight loss or to jumpstart a healthy lifestyle.

posted Jun 6th, 2010 10:05 am


lichakk

I am on day 4 of this program. I did not weigh myself at the beginning (dumb!) but I am liking it! Surprise!! I used some spices in the soup (curry, white pepper, garlic powder) so it tastes good. I feel great, again surpise! And not hungry and no headaches from carbs. I have a lot of weight to lose so keep your good vibes coming!

posted Jun 5th, 2010 4:47 pm


Jasmine

-

i made it to day 5 and then i got sick, my mother, an RN, made me quit. be careful to space out your meal times carefully so you don't get sick.

also the soup got old the first day, it tastes like it needs meat.

this diet, while not dangerous, has to fit into your lifestyle, and it definately didn't work for me. Make sure you have the proper food on hand before you start.

posted May 24th, 2010 6:36 pm


TW

This is my first day on the diet and I don't really like the soup. It's not that it has a bad flavor, but I'm a weirdo and I don't really like chunks of vegetables. Has anyone tried pureeing it and drinking it like one of those little Campbell's soup things?

posted May 18th, 2010 5:07 pm


Syl

Hi everyone,
What is your experience with coffee on this diet. I know the best would be to give it up. But anyone had equal success while having it?
I am planning on doing the diet with coffee included with skim milk in it.
Please comment,
Thanks!

posted May 18th, 2010 1:19 pm



KLoYo

I was skeptical about this diet, but I needed to do SOMETHING to reverse the numbers on the scale. Day 1: Fruit and Soup, this went well I found out that I really like fruit! Felt like I was living in the bathroom! Day 2: Veggies...ate a bizarre breakfast of soup and broccoli, munched on carrots and cucumbers throughout the day. Steamed Brussels sprouts for lunch and for dinner? A baked potato with steamed veggies it felt good to eat "real food" again. However. my stomach did not like the potato, too much food too fast! Day 3: Fruits and Veggies...ate melons, apples, tangerines...but mostly not interested in food (which is a new feeling for me!) Day 4: Bananas and milk, this is the day I wasn't looking forward to. For breakfast a glass of milk, and a banana, ditto for lunch and for dinner a banana milkshake with a splash of vanilla extract. Felt really hungry today, perhaps the reintroduction of carbohydrates and sugar? Tomorrow is Day 5: Beef! I am really looking forward to some protein in my diet. Does anyone supplement protein into this diet? Does it cause any weight loss problems?

posted May 9th, 2010 11:42 pm


JAJ

+

I'm on day 4 and so far lost 4lbs. Surprisingly have TONS of energy and still able to exercise. The first 2 days were the hardest. Being a bread lover is the most difficult part of this and wanting bread more than ever. I never got so excited about a potato in my life. Gonna still keep on truckin!

posted May 1st, 2010 1:00 pm


lvt

Today is day 4 for me. I weighed myself this morning and only lost 3 pounds. I'm a little disappointed because I was hoping to lose at least 5 pounds. I followed everything and didn't cheat. Sigh. Hoping to lose at least 7 pounds at the end of my diet. Am I doing something wrong? Should I exercise? I feel good though!! I am not hungry and I don't feel sick. I LOVE this diet!! It really works!!

posted Apr 29th, 2010 7:06 pm


Lvt

Today is day 4 for me. I weighed myself this morning and only lost 3 pounds. I ate everything I was supposed to and did not cheat. I'm kinda disappointed. I hope I'll lose at least 7 pounds at the end of my diet. I was hoping to lose 10. I haven't worked out though. Maybe that's the case? Sigh...

posted Apr 29th, 2010 6:56 pm



samie

+

Today is Day 2 of the diet and I feel a little light headed but I can deal. I havent been on a diet forever and am looking to lose 40 lbs. I have lost 5 lbs in 2 days. Im assuming it's water weight but hoping for much more. I will be checking back in periodically. I have also found lots of great advice here. Thanks

posted Apr 20th, 2010 4:09 pm


Lumi

Can anybody tell me what their experience was after 4 days? I did everything right but however, I only lost one pound and I am very upset about it. Of course I will continue the diet as I saw all my friends that tried it losing between 30 to 50pds and I know it's working. Did anybody had a similiar experience about the first week as not loosing almost anything? Any help is greatly appreciated.

posted Apr 15th, 2010 8:28 am


butrfli

It's day 4 and still hanging in there. My weightloss in 3 days has been 5lbs. Trying my best to make it to day 7! Can't wait for my meat day tomorrow.

posted Apr 10th, 2010 4:19 pm


Lynne

I have been on this diet for 3 days now and have lost 3 pounds. I need to lose weigh fast because I am unable to walk for long and need to walk to lose weight. I think this diet is quite good but I do take supplements and also psyllium husks to stay regular.
I know it won't harm me so it's worth a try.

posted Apr 8th, 2010 6:20 pm


butrfli

I'm a female who wants to lose 50 lbs. Today is day 2 and I feel great! Yesterday was struggle but I feel better today and I've lost 2.6 lbs in one day so far. I'm hoping to lose 12-15lbs by day 8, next Wednesday's weigh in. I'll take a week off, eat light and sensible and restart the diet the following week. I'll keep you posted as to how it goes. Good Luck everyone. We're in this together!

posted Apr 8th, 2010 9:12 am


Syl

Vicky,
congratulations on your weight loss. Since you are going to do it again, any chance you wanna team up?
Also, did you take brakes in between rounds?

posted Apr 6th, 2010 3:34 pm


Vicki

I have been on this diet for 5 weeks now and have lost 15 pounds. I have not felt sick, deprived, or light headed at all. I always feel well nurished and not hungry. I do beleive this diet is okay to stay on for an extended period of time if your body is accepting it. I hit my first goal weight and am not going for another 4 pounds. =) Diets easy to follow and I always look forward to the different foods each day!!

posted Apr 6th, 2010 12:20 am


Lori Mitchell

Is it safe to continue on this diet until you meet your ideal wieght?

posted Apr 5th, 2010 1:59 pm


Syl

I am looking to team up with someone to do this diet again. I have hard time sticking to it but really need to lose weight. Please email me if you wanna join me.

posted Mar 29th, 2010 10:32 am


Sarah

-

Today is day four and i tried not to weigh myself until the end but I gave in and I lost 0.8 lbs. Very discouraging. I wish someone could tell me that they didn't drop the weigh until the end.

posted Mar 27th, 2010 2:13 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?