| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews
Print this Recipe

Sacred Heart Diet Soup

The soup recipe for the popular weight loss diet.



  • 1 or 2 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 3 large green onions
  • 1 large can of beef broth (no fat)
  • 1 pkg. Lipton Soup mix (chicken noodle)
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 2 cans green beans
  • 2 lbs. Carrots
  • 2 Green Peppers
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Curry
  • Worcestershire and/or hot sauce
Learn more about the Sacred Heart Diet with this review.


  1. Season with salt, pepper, curry, Worcestershire and/or hot sauce- all ingredients to desired taste
  2. Cut veggies in small to medium pieces
  3. Cover with water
  4. Boil fast for 10 minutes
  5. Reduce to simmer and continue to cook until vegetables are tender.

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 12, 227 total comments)


Must tomatoes go in the Sacred Hearth Diet soup? Can you omit the tomatoes?, I am allergic to tomatoes and made two pots of the soup one with diced tomatoes and one without.

posted Jan 15th, 2012 9:21 pm


How many servings is the Sacred Heart diet soup? will it last through the week?

posted Jan 10th, 2012 12:09 am

elizabeth daniels

I have done this soup diet before and as stated in previous reviews by the others here, the soup does work. I've lost 8 pounds before on this diet in one week. By the first week you sort of get tired of soup but you just have to ask yourself, " how bad do i want it". Im making another batch tonight. Good luck!

posted Jan 8th, 2012 12:21 am


Do you drain the water off of the stewed tomatoes and green beans? Sacred Heart Medical diet recipe

posted Nov 26th, 2011 8:10 pm

J West

I started on 10-10-11 and i have lost 5.2 lb so far excited to loose more. I also puree' my soup and it is much better to eat.

posted Oct 12th, 2011 3:48 pm


Im starting today>wish me luck.

posted Oct 10th, 2011 2:02 am


I am on day 3, I weighed this morning and I've lost 3 lbs. I hope tomorrow will be additional weight loss. I am 5'2'' and weighs 131 lbs and would like to get down to 125. I made the soup and added salt/pepper only. When I get ready to eat a bowl I add a different spice each time so that I don't get tired of the same taste. Very good diet.

posted Sep 10th, 2011 8:42 pm



posted Sep 2nd, 2011 4:46 pm

Tammy Foster Griffin

I have been on this diet before. I lost a total of eight pounds, I start my second week tomorrow. I hope top lose alt least ten more pounds. I have to really stay motivated by the third day but it's all worth it in the end. This is a great way to shed some unwanted pounds fast not to mention healthy. I love this soup diet!!!

posted Aug 17th, 2011 1:29 am


Today is my 4th day on the diet. I have lost 5 lbs and I have been pretty strict and I usually fall off. The soup is pretty good but I am feeling hungry right about now. I gues I need to fill up some more on the soup. Can anyone tell me what I can use to substitute for milk. I dont like milk and have not drinken one glass. I hope that doesnt interfer with my progess

posted Aug 10th, 2011 6:21 pm


Today is day 1 (7-31-11) and I weighed in at 248. I will keep everyone posted and my 1st round of soup can out perfect.

Thanks, Troy

posted Jul 31st, 2011 2:46 pm


I have used this diet before and it works, and as far as the recipe its a basic healthy stew seriously through it in a pot and boil it, the amount of water depends on how much broth you want extra, or how little, i switch the chicken soup pouch for a low sodium/fat onion soup base, and low sodium beef broth. I break on sundays with a dinner of rice and a boiled chicken breast, I also excersise and jog regularly and also use a whey supplement to help feed protein at the same time, this diet works but like all things you cant rely soley on the food, you have to work out to acheive max results, I am not talking heavy go to the gym either, just double your morning walk, take the stairs instead of the elevator, and as always talk to your doctor about it, and what will help, this is a diet made for repid weight lose for surgery and health purposes, it can be used in a rotating scheduale to maintain weight loss but you cant go back to eating high fat high sodium foods or its not gonna last.... good luck ! I have lost 30lb in the past in a month on my food and excersise plan using this soup, and i am doing it again to try to drop another 30lbs,

posted Jun 29th, 2011 6:22 am


I replace the celery with baby carrots, and add spinach, i have used this recipe in the past and it works, i just watch that I get low sodium lipton soup mix, watch the sodium in those packets they are high

posted Jun 29th, 2011 6:08 am


Can i substitute Celery for something else? I hate the taste of celery.

posted Jun 13th, 2011 12:04 pm


How much water and broth is added to the soup?? How much water and broth do you boil with the soup? there are no measurements. I am trying to loose some weight the two weeks before i go on a cruise Thanks

posted May 11th, 2011 12:38 pm


Please please can someone give me the ingredients for the Sacred Heart Diet, all the websites give me american ingredients and i havent a clue.
English ingredient names required.
thanks in advance x

posted May 3rd, 2011 4:36 pm


i started today and I love it, mainly because I'm STUFFED and I've only eaten 700 calories today. I switched out Progresso Light soups because I am in a dorm and so I can't make giant pots of soup every 3 days. Even though this diet is just a sneaky way to cut calories, i like it because it provides more structure than just the "eat less" routine that I usually do. I really hope this works!

posted Apr 18th, 2011 6:23 pm


I posted awhile back about my week following this diet (lost 14 lbs). I went back to "regular eating" and gained 10 of it back.

I decided to do the diet again, this time losing 10 lbs. I went directly onto Weight Watchers after finishing the 7 days. I lost 5 lbs the first week on that. I am now up to a 30 lb loss and am doing the soup again starting tomorrow. I hope to lose 7-10 lbs just to give me a jump start. WW has been working great for me, but I have an event coming up that I really would like to lose a little chunk quickly.

I agree with the people who say that you can't go back to regular eating immediately. I think this is an effective tool to help you either jump-start your diet, or get over a plateau. This is in, no way, a healthy way to live for a long period of time. The little bit of calories consumed could definitely make your body hold onto weight/water.

I do recommend it- especially for plateaus. They are the WORST! Good luck to all trying it. I will update with my results in a few days :)

posted Mar 31st, 2011 7:18 pm


I have completedt his soup diet 3 times and have each time lost between 7 - 11 lbs. My problem came the 4th time when I just could not eat the soup anymore. Not that it did not taste good because it really does just could not palate it anymore. One other note, I used low sodium broth, with the Lipton and the broth the sodium is a bit high.

posted Mar 2nd, 2011 12:12 pm


I can't wait to start

posted Feb 20th, 2011 12:14 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes