Advertisement

| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 102 reviews
Print this Recipe

Sacred Heart Diet Soup

The soup recipe for the popular weight loss diet.

Yield:

Ingredients

  • 1 or 2 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 3 large green onions
  • 1 large can of beef broth (no fat)
  • 1 pkg. Lipton Soup mix (chicken noodle)
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 2 cans green beans
  • 2 lbs. Carrots
  • 2 Green Peppers
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Curry
  • Worcestershire and/or hot sauce
Learn more about the Sacred Heart Diet with this review.

Instructions

  1. Season with salt, pepper, curry, Worcestershire and/or hot sauce- all ingredients to desired taste
  2. Cut veggies in small to medium pieces
  3. Cover with water
  4. Boil fast for 10 minutes
  5. Reduce to simmer and continue to cook until vegetables are tender.


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 12, 222 total comments)

taylor

do you have to drink skim milk?
i love milk and can drink it all day (whole milk that is) but i cant stand the taste of skim milk. Will whole milk mess up the diet?

posted May 2nd, 2009 8:24 am


Annie

Hi everybody, I am on day 2. I LOVE it. I like veggies anyway and I feel like I am really nourishing myself with this food. I used chicken broth and frozen winter squash in the soup instead of the tomatoes and beef. I puree some and try change it up a bit, cilantro one time, red pepper the next.

I havent weighed myself but will judge by my clothes.

I think I could live like this Monday through Thursdays no problem in order to maintain my weight.

Good luck.

posted Apr 28th, 2009 8:09 pm


ashley

Ive started this diet before but stopped because i did not like the soup at all [ I'm a very picky eater]. But i tried using fat free chicken broth instead, much better for me and it still works! So if your getting sick of beef broth, try chicken. I also dont put in the stewed tomatoes, yuck! Good luck everyone!

posted Apr 22nd, 2009 1:43 pm


Carol Ferguson

I have lost 30 pounds in the first 3 weeks that I was on the diet. I can off it for 1 week before starting it back. I start it back this week.

posted Apr 22nd, 2009 12:40 pm


Rosemarie Bruyneel

Its a healthy diet--altho can get a little much with eating the soup daily. It does work I go to Curves and do aqua-fit 4 times a wk Plus I am a very busy 70 yr old on the go constantly;
This diet does not make you feel hungry or weak it provides the healthy vegies and fruits for energy.

posted Apr 15th, 2009 8:50 pm


Dennis

I'm on week 9, unlike most I like, and look forward to eating the soup everyday. I've lost 43lbs. and have so much more energy that I am now on my 8th week of walking 6 miles, and lifting weights at the gym everyday. I feel night and day healthier then I did two months ago

posted Apr 11th, 2009 10:58 pm


Chris

It is of course a fad diet so one will put weight on again when done with it. However, it can be used as a kick start to a healthier way of life. There are various sources that state that it doesn't have the nutritional values to be a long term diet, so be careful!!

posted Apr 6th, 2009 11:34 am


Sherly

I would like to start this diet, but I was wondering... are you guys gaining weight after stop this diet?

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 5:59 am


James

This diet is the ish if you have a little will power. Im on my day3 and lost over 8 pounds already.

posted Apr 1st, 2009 8:58 pm


Alecia

I am currently on Day four of this diet and could not be more pleased with my results! I was a little hesitant to begin Sacred Heart because I have read that you will gain it all back as soon as you quit the diet. After reading everyone's comments however, I am more than confident that I will be able to keep the weight off! I started at 146 and weighed in this morning at 141! I have been dieting for over two months with minimal results and was beginning to get frustrated! This diet has shown almost instant weight loss! I am very optimistic and can't wait to see what my final weight is after the initial seven days. My goal is 125! Wish me luck

posted Mar 26th, 2009 2:53 pm


Becky Hardin

I have been on this diet for 5 days so far. I have lost 6 lbs. It does work. If I can eat celery and carrots in soup anyone can. It is a much healthier way to eat. After day 3 you don't even miss the sweets. I haven't had a coke or mountain dew in2 weeks thats a record for me.Stay healthy.

posted Mar 21st, 2009 10:11 am


Tina

This is my second time on this diet. I love it. I add a small can of tomatoe paste to thicken it and hot peppers! I follow it correclty I think. I do add a salmon steak on the 20oz protien day and have both steak and salmon. For my tomatoes I bake them with a small amount of seasoning and balsamic vinager. They are delicious! After day three I lost 5 lbs and 13 lbs by day 8.

posted Mar 19th, 2009 3:58 pm


Tiffany

This day 1 and I already feel the difference. I felt really full when eating the soup and didn't crave any snacks. I usually have the munchies all day, but with this diet I feel that I won't just eat to be eating. So far so good I hope that I won't get tired of soup and stick to my guns. Wish me luck, because this is my very first diet.

posted Feb 25th, 2009 12:57 am


Pammy

I am on day 6, I started it on Monday at 203.5 lbs. I only cheated by eating 3 crackers wednesday night, maybe because I skipped my baked pototo on tuesday night, was not home to have it and decided to just eat the soup before I left work so I wouldn't make bad choices. It worked. I was full. On Friday I weighed 198, so 5.5lbs off so far and already feel better. Today I made my 2nd batch of soup and used my own fat skimmed off broth from cooking the beef. I put some broccoli in it, which I think should be Ok, I also just used a regular onion. I plan on sticking with it and to me it is easier to follow because I don't have to plan my meals and I feel I am getting the vegetables, fruit and protein needed. I also take a fiber supplement every morning with my daily vitamins. For those of you that are not losing, get your thyroid checked out, I had to go on medication as mine was not working so good at age 50 when most women start their menopause. It really makes a diffence in your system. Have fun. I am hoping to be as successful as others that I have read. My downfall is that I like a beer every now and then, I am a social butterfly. Just have to lose the weight first and then maintain. This plan is teaching me how to eat healthier.

posted Feb 21st, 2009 4:30 pm


Patience

I have been doing this diet about ten days. I am super sick of the soup and starting to hate carrots but I can tell that I have lost weight and am hoping to start a regular exercise plan to help boost the results. I am hoping to lose 60 pounds. My mother-in-law recommended this diet and she lost 50 pounds so hoping it works for me too.

posted Feb 18th, 2009 9:27 pm


Shannon Gaeta

My husband and I have been on the Sacred Heart Diet foe About 5 weeks already, My Husband has lost 30 lbs. and I have lost 28 lbs.
I strongly recomend the diet, if you think about it you already eat these things. You're just doing it in sequence now!

posted Feb 18th, 2009 5:04 am


nickb

Hey everyone i've read many of the reviews for this diet many positive. Today is my first day starting the diet i've seemed to have may through the day thus far without a hunger headache so it seems to me that this new diet just may work. I'm really hoping for more initiative as far as weight loss to go along with my weight watchers diet plan as well. to lose weight is always great. I'm hoping to lose the 10 lbs or so everyone's talked about or even more this week. i hope it goes well today I am 249 I've only lost 7lbs in the last 2 months on weight watchers my goal is to at least make it to 190. i hope it works I'll KIT

posted Feb 16th, 2009 4:58 pm


Joanne A

I like this diet. I do find it easier to follow if I do it with some one else so we can be each others support. This time( i have done this diet before) we are a group of 4 people. This is day 2 for us and so far I have lost 5 pounds and 1 of the others has lost 4 pounds. This is the forth time I have done this diet with results ranging from 11 to 17 pounds in 7 days. I say good luck to all that tries it. make sure you really want to do it before you start.

posted Feb 6th, 2009 2:57 pm


Amanda

It's day four and I'm down 9.2 lbs
246.6 to 237.4
For the soup I left out the carrots and celery
And it tastes so good now and I also put alot
Of pepper in it to spice it up
I just can't believe how well this is working
I woke up yesterday 2 hours earlier than I normally do
With alot of energy
I love this meal plan

posted Jan 29th, 2009 12:13 pm


dave

This is tthe second day of my 3rd time around with this diet 2 days off inbetween . I fine each time i do this diet it becoms much easier. I started at 260 down to about 234 now so it works .

posted Jan 27th, 2009 1:58 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes