Advertisement

| |

Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating

89%

of people who tried this recipe like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 102 reviews
Print this Recipe

Sacred Heart Diet Soup

The soup recipe for the popular weight loss diet.

Yield:

Ingredients

  • 1 or 2 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 3 large green onions
  • 1 large can of beef broth (no fat)
  • 1 pkg. Lipton Soup mix (chicken noodle)
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 2 cans green beans
  • 2 lbs. Carrots
  • 2 Green Peppers
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Curry
  • Worcestershire and/or hot sauce
Learn more about the Sacred Heart Diet with this review.

Instructions

  1. Season with salt, pepper, curry, Worcestershire and/or hot sauce- all ingredients to desired taste
  2. Cut veggies in small to medium pieces
  3. Cover with water
  4. Boil fast for 10 minutes
  5. Reduce to simmer and continue to cook until vegetables are tender.


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 12, 222 total comments)

peter

Today is my 6th day. Never feeling hunger, I'm sick of eating the soup,though. It is a nice diet, always feel energetic . My clothes shows I lost weight but I'll check my weight at the end. My friend started at the same time and lost 10 pounds when he was on 3rd day. Good luck.No cheating on diet menu and do exercise.

posted Jan 15th, 2009 2:32 pm


anastasia b.

this soup is really good, although i make mine a lot more broth like and chop my veggies VERY thin. starting tomorrow with a purpose-am at 190 and goal weight is 140...wish me luck! i will post my progress...

posted Jan 10th, 2009 5:47 pm


S.C.

My family and I did it. We felt healthy, happy and we did lose weight!

posted Jan 4th, 2009 6:50 pm


Chloe

I've reviewed the recipe. As a nutritionist/certified personal trainer, I see problems. Lipton Soup Mix is high in sodium and contains sugar.Also, its artificial nature and added chemicals makes it a questionable basis for a healthful 'diet plan' foundation. If you can't pronounce it, you really should not eat it. (Read the label and see for yourself.) Also, canned green beans typically contain excessive sodium and are of diminished nutritional value due to the canning process. You'd be better served by substituting chickpeas/ navy/black/cannolini/pinto beans, which do have protein and significant nutritients.Finally, I surmise that the curry, hot sauce, and pepper are meant to produce a 'thermogenic' response, which is a hypothetical and temporary process wherein the body's metabolism is 'speeded up' by consuming certain 'heat-producing' type foods. The general consensus amongst health professionals is that there may be a temporary effect, but it is short-lived and essentially useless for overall weight loss. In summary, you may INITIALLY lose weight by strictly adhering to this diet, but as many reviews support, you will regain that (mainly) water/muscle weight quickly, plus more, once you begin to eat as you once did. Please be cautious about undertaking ANY 'quick weight loss' program that is apart from what really works. You've probably heard this again and again, but it is reality: balanced, proper portions of wholesome, minimally-processed meals/snacks, a mind toward the correct calories, and EXERCISE, which can be simply more movement (at least initially) are the tenets of permanent weight loss and weight maintenance. Good luck, and GOD bless.

posted Dec 29th, 2008 10:49 am


Teresa

question... Do you think I could lose more weight just eating the soup alone?

posted Dec 21st, 2008 11:33 pm


neeko

Okay - so i did the diet in the summer and i lost 8 pounds on it. I thought it was amazing.



But have gained ALOT of weight being back at school, so i am doing it again to kick start my weight loss ( i am 147 - want to be back to normal at 127)... i am now on day 5, and i haven't lost ANYTHING!

I haven't been cheating at all ! I have been so so SO good! I don't know what is wrong!

Two things that it might be:

#1 i am also right now doing an herbal detox... do you think it could be interfering? or maybe making me retain water?

#2 I find on this diet i don't have much energy to work out ... well i don't have much energy at all... so i haven't been doing much (exercise wise) - so im going to go to hot yoga today...



what do you think??



I am so incredibly frustrated!

posted Dec 20th, 2008 1:44 pm


Joanne

I started this diet on August 4th. As of today, Dec. 20th I have lost 60 lbs. I went to see my Doctor after dieting 2 months. He is pleased - blood pressure and cholesterol are good, however he suggested that I add more protein to my diet. I now add chicken to my soup at supper time.

posted Dec 20th, 2008 12:37 pm


Cici

Well, this is day 1 and I am very hungry! I love the soup, but being an overeater with a sweet tooth I am not gettng the full feeling I like. I am sssooooo looking forward to the baked potatoe tomorrow night! My starting weight is 232, my goal weight is 155 so if this proves itself to be fruitful I will break every eight days and start over on the ninth!

posted Dec 11th, 2008 6:07 pm


Yana Krassilnikova

On Day 4 I was praising the maker of this diet for including bananas! I really needed something more satisfying in my system. I had soup in the morning... three bananas throughout the day when i was feeling hungry and mucho soup at night (because I was writing a paper for 8 straight hours, I felt starving). I did power yoga for an hour.
Today is Day 5 and I was able to have some beef! Yay, right? Not so... Because the beef that I bought was 85% fat free, there were those 15% persky percent of fat that made me feel a bit sick because I have not been eating ANYTHING fatty for a while! I added ground beef to the soup and it tasted it great, but now i wish I ate less of it... seeing fat circles on the surface of the soup made additionally sick. Tonight when I come home I will eat 3 tomatoes with peppers and salt. No exercise, just lots of mental activity. Cannot wait to weight myself on Sunday!

posted Dec 5th, 2008 8:05 pm


Yana K.

Day 2 was not tough at all! I did NOT feel hungry although was looking foward to Day 5's meat :) I had a medium head of cauliflower (boiled and then boiled some more IN the soup while I was heating up the soup) and some soup. I DID have more energy and i was drinking lots of H2O :)
Day 3 went without hunger pangs even though I ate less. I had only two medium bowls of soup and 6 brussel sprouts (they were actually really good as long as they are not overcooked - about 5-6 mins boiling)! I further ate a whole personal size watermelon and the other half of pineapple... That's all I needed!

posted Dec 4th, 2008 11:50 am


Yana K.

Just started it today. Weight 140. I was starving, could not find time to eat today at all, and only got to eat a bowl of soup, half a pineapple, and about to start on an apple now (it's evening). I have to say that the soup is absolutely delicious! I can see no problem at all with eating it all week :) I made it very spicy... No exercise today. ONLY drinking water! A little sad about no fruit tomorrow, but I guess I will have to eat brussel sprouts, etc. Ew! Definitely cannot see how I will allegedly lose 5-7 pounds by the end of Day 3. We'll see!

posted Dec 2nd, 2008 7:09 pm


Yana K.

Just started it today. Weight 140. I was starving, could not find time to eat today at all, and only got to eat a bowl of soup, half a pineapple, and about to start on an apple now (it's evening). I have to say that the soup is absolutely delicious! I can see no problem at all with eating it all week :) I made it very spicy... No exercise today. ONLY drinking water! A little sad about no fruit tomorrow, but I guess I will have to eat brussel sprouts, etc. Ew! Definitely cannot see how I will allegedly lose 5-7 pounds by the end of Day 3. We'll see!

posted Dec 2nd, 2008 2:00 am


Sandy

Just finished my 7 days! Start weight 157, ending weight 147!

posted Dec 1st, 2008 12:27 pm


sam_x

starting tomrrow december 1st..current weight140

posted Nov 30th, 2008 6:00 pm


Coach Boomer

This is a good way to kick start your weight-loss. After the 7 days, I would recommend that you visit

This is an absolute site that will help you to continue on the path to weight-loss.

Happy Holidays

posted Nov 30th, 2008 12:46 pm


Yana K.

Hmmm... this is something to try AFTER Thanksgiving to shed those turkey-gravy pounds... I wonder if this will work for a person who already solely subsists on salads and nuts and occasional chocolate. I have just had some bread after a month hiatus which was not so bad! I will update you the week after Thanksgiving!

posted Nov 20th, 2008 6:30 pm


Clint

I, too, have used this diet to much success, dropping from about 230 to 'bout 210 and feeling GREAT doing it.

It's not a diet you can continue for a long period of time, but, cutting out the processed foods, sugars, etc. makes you feel vibrant, alive and, umm, yeah, hungry.

But, hey, fight through it, it's worth it!

Clint

posted Nov 11th, 2008 11:05 pm


Kim

I've done this before. It does work. Probably not something you could do forever. I'm starting again tomorrow for jump start. Weight 165 Goal 145

posted Nov 10th, 2008 5:12 pm


Hopeful by Christmas

Today is Sunday Nov. 9, I am starting in the Morning. Monday 10th. I am starting at 263. I hope to loose about 20 pounds before christmas. I will let everyone know how I am doing.

posted Nov 9th, 2008 10:12 pm


nikki

Hey Carol you should try Lactaid ... I'm lactose intolerant too but Lactaid is lactaid free milk and also tastes sooo good !

posted Nov 2nd, 2008 12:45 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 





Related Blog Posts

Related Recipes