Home > Recipes > Recipe Navigation    
User Rating

86%

of people who tried this recipe like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 111 reviews
Print this Recipe

Sacred Heart Diet Soup

The soup recipe for the popular weight loss diet.

Yield:

Ingredients

  • 1 or 2 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 3 large green onions
  • 1 large can of beef broth (no fat)
  • 1 pkg. Lipton Soup mix (chicken noodle)
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 2 cans green beans
  • 2 lbs. Carrots
  • 2 Green Peppers
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Curry
  • Worcestershire and/or hot sauce
Learn more about the Sacred Heart Diet with this review.

Instructions

  1. Season with salt, pepper, curry, Worcestershire and/or hot sauce- all ingredients to desired taste
  2. Cut veggies in small to medium pieces
  3. Cover with water
  4. Boil fast for 10 minutes
  5. Reduce to simmer and continue to cook until vegetables are tender.


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 12, 228 total comments)

Kittykat

+

The diet worked really well for me I lost 6lbs but I had to stop after 4 days because I was visiting my friends. I tried it again and couldnt stomach the soup. It made me want to gag. I'm starting again today...anyone got any ways of making it taste nicer?! I'm considering cutting out all the carrots...think that may help!

posted Nov 4th, 2009 6:22 am


iris

+

this really works. I lost 7lbs in 3 days!

posted Oct 24th, 2009 3:19 pm


Tasha

I am going to start this diet on Sunday and see how it works.

posted Oct 16th, 2009 11:34 am


userfile
dansjen77

+

i tried the soup i liked it but when i went back to eat some more it was all gone thanks to my kids! so i guess i will have to make a HUGE batch of it for me it wont last here at my house!

posted Oct 4th, 2009 12:47 am


userfile
dansjen77

+

it sounds good and healthy i am gonna start it next week!

posted Sep 18th, 2009 10:39 pm


britt

i havent started the diet yet but i plan to start within the next week.
im just wondering how most of yous have prepared your soup , how much water ? how much hot sauce?
and how much soup will the ingredients listed make and days it will last for
and also , what green leafy vegetables would you guys recommend?

posted Sep 10th, 2009 3:40 am


keithy

+

i have been doing this diet for one m onth now with a four day break in the middle.so far i have gone from 125 kg to 111 kg.and i feel great.i want to stop next week but maintain a healthy eating plan not sure which way to go yet .i found blending the soup and drinking it to be a more palatable way to do it. especially for breakfast.
good luck to all

posted Sep 5th, 2009 8:21 am


mary smith

+

the principle this diet follows is reducing calorie intake. So therefore you can mix in a few different vegetables in the soup- as long as they are not the ones listed to avoid - i add in zucchini, or mushroom and garnish with watercress- adds a wonderful flavour, and makes you think your eating something different!

After several days of eating the same old soup- you need a change!

good luck everyone!! I plan on doing this diet one time a month for the next year - i will update with my results.
MS

posted Aug 30th, 2009 11:21 pm


Ms.Boston

+

This is a great way to lose weight fast without starving--this soup keeps you very full..in 3days you can lose alot,I have done this on and off for 3yrs when I need to lose 5lbs or more fast--it's great...

posted Aug 30th, 2009 6:20 pm


Lucky man

I've already started this diet today, i'll get back to you day after day to tell you the results! wish me luck :)

posted Aug 30th, 2009 9:49 am


lucky man

I've already started this diet today, i'll get back to you day after day to tell you the results! wish me luck :)

posted Aug 30th, 2009 9:48 am


Andy F

+

I did this for the first 6 days before a reunion (reunion on 7th day, so didnt get to finish) On the morning of day four I had lost 5 pounds and 'felt' noticeably thinner. On the morning of the 7th day, I had lost a total of 11 pounds.

I was never hungry, cost me about $50 for the week's worth of food. I ate the soup three times a day and snacked on the listed food of the day in between soup meals. I didn't gorge myself, but never felt deprived. I am starting my second week today, since I just returned from reunion. WELL worth a week of your time.

posted Aug 25th, 2009 1:40 pm


Lupe Sharp

I am a diabetic with high blood pressure and take medication. I have started on the soup , I weight 250 pounds and within 3 weeks I am down to 230. I enjoy the soup and the wide range of vegatables. On my vegatables day I have a whole can of asparagus with half a can of black olives. My blood pressure and diabetes are at normal levels.

posted Aug 20th, 2009 2:28 pm


edolezal

+

The diet worked fine for me. I lost 13 lbs the first week staying on the diet 100%. I went off of the diet for 3 days and went back on it with a modified version and lost another 5 lbs and 2 pant sizes in the waist line. I am 62 years old and have foght my weight all my life. This diet is no different than any other after the weight is off, you have to watch your eating habits and exercise or the weight will come back, but believe me if you follow it YOU WILL LOSE WEIGHT. It can be hard to stay on, but if you are serious about weight loss you can stand on your head for a week. When I would get hungry, I would fill up with water or fruit juices.

posted Jul 22nd, 2009 12:54 pm


Eddie

+

The diet worked fine for me. I lost 13 lbs the first week staying on the diet 100%. I went off of the diet for 3 days and went back on it with a modified version and lost another 5 lbs and 2 pant sizes in the waist line. I am 62 years old and have foght my weight all my life. This diet is no different than any other after the weight is off, you have to watch your eating habits and exercise or the weight will come back, but believe me if you follow it YOU WILL LOSE WEIGHT. It can be hard to stay on, but if you are serious about weight loss you can stand on your head for a week. When I would get hungry, I would fill up with water or fruit juices.

posted Jul 22nd, 2009 12:50 pm


elias salloum

+

it's very very good everyone should try it ..

posted Jul 19th, 2009 10:48 pm


sacredgirl

CAN SOMEONE HELP ME? Can you eat as much soup as you want throughout each day of the 7 day plan??

posted Jul 13th, 2009 3:21 pm


kristy

I would like to know when iam am cooking the soup, do i leave the water in the soup when my veggies get tender. Or do i drain the water and just use the beef broth.

posted Jul 6th, 2009 4:55 pm


JEN

oK i'm on day 4 and have lost 5 lbs. day 3 i was not hungry at all...i only ate a bowl of soup and some strawberries. i was wanting to only do the diet in the future for 5 days only does anyone have any suggestions about that? Do you think it is ok that I only had 1 bowl>

posted Jul 2nd, 2009 12:14 am


Gerrie H

+

I am starting it today with my husband. I am hoping that by doing it together we will be able to motivate each other. We are both 55 years old, I need to lose 25 lbs and he needs to lose 40 lbs. I'll let you know in a week if we were successful in losing any weight.

posted Jun 22nd, 2009 12:58 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account