Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

62%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 542 reviews
Weight Watchers

Weight Watchers Diet Review (UPDATED): Don't Buy Before You Read This!

For more than 50 years, Weight Watchers has been a trusted approach to weight loss for men and women.

Top Rated Diets of 2017
What is it?

Weight Watchers Diet is a diet plan based off a point system, where each food has a value, and you’re allowed only a certain amount of points a day. You can eat any foods you want, as long as you don’t pass the allowed points for the day.

The points offered are called SmartPoints, and the amount allowed is based off one one’s own body and individual weight loss goals. Healthy and low calorie foods have much less value, so it naturally steers people into eating more wholesome foods instead of eating high amounts of junk food.  In this review you’ll hear customer reviews, the science behind Weight Watchers, and whether or not it can promote weight loss. The highest rated diet plan of 2016 was found to be the 18 Shake Diet. It’s a combination of a natural metabolism booster and high protein meal replacement. Learn more about the 18Shake diet plan by following the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2017?

Weight Watchers Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

Ingredients:

No pre-packaged foods are required, it’s advised to cook one’s own meals at home. An app and guide is offered with over 287,000 different foods which have a stated number value.

High fiber, non-processed, and sugar free foods have a much lower point number.  Processed foods and highly saturated foods tend to be the highest in points. So the diet focuses on introducing more healthy foods, which is already known as a practical way to lose weight.

There are also 4,000 recipes offered as well as optional support for meetings, online coaching, and dietary tips. Mobile apps are also offered to help people calculate their total points.

There isn’t much information provided by the company to showcase exactly how their approach is scientific, or how they choose specific foods to have higher points than others.  The top 10 list found here offers the best diet plans that our experts have reviewed.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Weight Watchers Diet Quality of Ingredients

 The quality of the ingredients can vary on what’s purchased, since no foods are off limits, what one purchases will determine the overall quality. The high points that processed foods have will force people to be more conservative in their food options.

No proof is provided by the makers of Weight Watchers to show why this diet has been formulated in the point system it offers.

It’s clear that by eating less processed foods and focusing on quality meats, high fiber, and filling foods that naturally weight loss is possible. However, no evidence is provided as to why their coaching system would be any better than not paying for this system and simply eating healthier,

One study by the Annals of Internal Medicine found that:

“Weight Watchers participants achieved at last 2.6% greater weight loss than those assigned to control/education”

This was in a 12 month period, and there were only slight increases in weight loss in comparison to people who were allowed to diet without control.

2.6% for someone weighing 200 pounds would be 5.2 additional pounds. This means that every month, a person can expect an additional 0.43 extra pounds of weight loss more than those who dieted on their own and made their own decisions without a points system.

This is a very poor amount of weight loss considering the amount it costs to pay for the online support. A list of the very best diet plans has bene reviewed by our experts.

Another major issue with the plan was that no official information is provided to show the points system before one buys into the plan. This makes it impossible to calculate if one is even capable of keeping up with this plan. Certain foods are not preferential for people, and it might require extreme changes in dieting in some.

Even with online support, there’s no guarantee that the advice offered will help one lose weight safely and effectively.

The Price and Quality of Weight Watchers Diet

There are different plans offered such as:

OnlinePlus: $4.30 per week when a 3 month long plan is offered. This amounts to $64.50 for the total 3 months.

Meetings + OnlinePlus: A 3 month plan is offered for $8.30 a week. This amounts to $124.50 for the full 3 months. 

Coaching + OnlinePlus: Like the other plans, if 3 months is selected, the full price is $10.15. A full 3 months is $152.25.

These prices can vary, as it depends on what one chooses as their meals and how much support they want. No information is provided on what kind of background the people who give advice are, and whether or not they are certified diet or nutrition experts.  Since they fail to mention this, it’s important to be cautious of the support offered.

A $20 fee is mandatory for every first time member.  Web MD discusses the pricing of this diet by stating:

“Be prepared to spend some cash to get the full benefits”

Many customers also agree it’s incredibly pricy to keep the online support available. As you’ll see in the “Customer Opinions of Weight Watchers Diet”, many felt it wasn’t worth the price.

The top 10 list featured in the link here has the best diet plans.

Business of Weight Watchers Diet

Weight Watchers International is the official company name. Their contact information is as follows:

Phone Number: (800) 651-6000

Further contact information is provided to those who subscribe to the online system. There are currently 339 negative reviews on their Consumer Affairs page. Here are some direct quotes from customers:

“thought I was signing with a reputable company… Weight Watchers continued to withdraw money from my bank account for 3 months”

“I have been requesting my account to be closed for the past 3 months”

“No one is ever there when you need them”

“Weight watchers are total thieves. I cancelled my account 3 years ago and they have billed my credit card”

Hundreds of people claim that they continue to be charged by the company even after they’ve cancelled the online support, and no longer logging into to their profiles.

There are also 279 complaints on their Better Business Bureau site, mostly for the same reasons. People complained often about being constantly billed even after months or even years of no longer using their accounts. Customers were frustrated since they were told their account was cancelled, only to see billing from Weight Watchers appearing on their credit card statements.

People also said that when their accounts were active, that there wasn’t much support offered. To see a list of the top 10 diet plans click on the link offered here.  

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Weight Watchers Diet

Here is what some users had to say:

“just got de-motivated as I could see this wouldn’t work for me anymore”

“I tried it, but I didn’t have too much luck”

“helped me at first but I failed later on”

“it did not work… felt the meetings were very one sided, and it was like a chat”

People said that the offered meetings and support weren’t really helpful, and that it didn’t cater to people’s needs. It was more just general advice people were given such as obvious weight loss advice.  

Another major issue was that people often said that they couldn’t keep up with the diet, and that many common foods had too many high points where they couldn’t eat comfortably.

Users had issues as well with the foods with fewer points, as its common sense what foods are allowed and which aren’t. The top 10 list features the best diet plans out now, click on this link to learn more.

Conclusion - Does Weight Watchers Diet Work?

When making a decision on a diet plan like Weight Watchers, it’s important to examine customer reviews, what’s offered, and whether or not weight loss is likely. The plan offers a point system which is meant to make dieting easier. However, hundreds of people have complained about a lack of food options, as well as being forced to limit many common foods. There were also hundreds that complained the company continues to charge them long after they’ve cancelled. Both on Consumer Reports and the Better Business Bureau people mention they continue to be billed.

The 2016 diet plan of the year was found to be the 18Shake Diet. It offers a high protein, appetite suppression meal replacement alongside a metabolism booster made with natural extracts with no added stimulants. There are no artificial additives, colors, binders, fillers, or harsh ingredients. Many customers have left testimonials and review showcasing their own weight loss results. People have said that the meal replacement can help suppress appetite for hours, and that it mixes well and has a pleasant taste.

The 18Shake Diet offers a diet pill and meal replacement that are both backed by full 30 day money back guarantee. Returns are offered with no questions asked, risk free. To discover more information about the 18Shake Diet, click on the link provided here.

How Does Weight Watchers Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Weight Watchers
  • 62 /100
  • .
  • .


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 37, 735 total comments)

Izzie

I really liked the previous points system (the one with the sliding scale) because I never felt restricted. The new system, which upped individual points and revisits measuring things and giving points on items, seems like a throwback and I find it inconvenient, confusing and time-consuming. The logic behind this new system is that people weren't eating enough fruit, but that wasn't the situation in many cases I heard.

I'm frustrated by this system and certainly not experiencing the success I'd like.

posted Sep 19th, 2011 6:25 am


Mary

+

You don't ever have to be hungry while losing weight on this plan! No points left for the day and still hungry? Use some of your weekly points or points you've earned from activity. Even better, snack on some fruit or veggies for zero points. Badly craving something sweet? Go ahead, just figure it into your point allowance and you will still lose. I've tried many other diet plans and failed. WW is perfect for me. I've been doing WW Online since May. 40 lbs down so far and still going. I'll follow WW for the rest of my life because I know with this plan I'll lose it all and won't regain. I can't say enough about how happy I am with WW.

posted Sep 17th, 2011 2:20 pm


Anna M. McFarland

?

can someone reply before 10:00 a.m. on Sept. 14 and is there a cost? my sister told me about the points program. Can you email me your program so that I can begin on Sept. 14? I will not have a computer after morning of Sept. 14 as my mom does not have one. Points and diet will be great to have. Thank you Anna Maria

posted Sep 13th, 2011 10:22 pm


Roxanne

+

I have tried so many different weight loss gimicks throughout the years. I love weight watchers! It has taught me healthier eating habits and I don't feel like I'm missing out on eating deliciuos foods!

posted Sep 13th, 2011 1:21 pm


Nermina

+

I started a week ago and I went from 216 to 209. That is 7 pounds in one week! I am a person who can't stick to typical diets. I have tried every diet out there including the detox diet, grapefruit, medifast, and even diet pills. This is the only thing that is working!! I feel so good and it is keeping me motivated which is not typical for me since I usually fail the first week!

posted Sep 11th, 2011 8:15 pm


shelly

I have had success with weight watchers in the past but then I have trouble staying on track. I always seem to mess up and the weight starts to creep back on. I did find a website that has helped me a lot with this issue. It's called mimaweightcontrol.com. I am on the email list and I get some really good advice for free.

posted Sep 10th, 2011 6:47 pm


Dee Yee

+

I've tried everything from the powdered drinks and the pre-packaged foods to shots. I lose the weight and then gain more back. Because I don't cook, I'm a fast-food junkie. It's been difficult for me to change my eating habits and I have little self-discipline. However, with Weight Watchers, as long as I stay within my assigned daily points, I can still eat my fast-food. I've lost 11 pounds and my glucose has gone down 8 points in 8 weeks . I know it's been slow but that's probably because I still go to fast-food restaurants and all-you-can-eat buffets (go over points). Just stay within the points. I still have 29 pounds to go but I feel better already.

posted Sep 10th, 2011 2:39 pm


Amel

I have been on WW for 2 1/2 months now and I have lost close to 12 lbs. This is the best program ever! Eventhough I am losing slowly, I am consistent ,which is very important for me. This is the first program where I have lost weight for 2 months straight !!! Thanks WW

posted Sep 9th, 2011 9:12 pm


Gene Lewis

+

I tried the Weight Watchers Men's program and feel really good about my weight loss.

posted Sep 2nd, 2011 11:50 am


paula

can you sign up online and still attend a meeting once in a while?

posted Aug 31st, 2011 4:13 pm


Ken C.

+

I have been overweight most of my life (I'm current 47 years old). I have tried every diet out there, including low carb, low fat, high protein, The Zone, McDougall, etc. I'd lose a bit of weight but gain it back, plus some! I have been on WW for 6 months and have dropped 58 pounds. I am working on 30 more. This is the only plan that has worked for me. It's simple, I can still eat out and it works.

posted Aug 31st, 2011 11:51 am


BelindaGF

-

you have to have Adobe Flash 9 or higher, so I can not view from work on my lunch hour. When I called into cancel my membersship they were very nice and said they are trying to get it set up without Adobe Flash, but do not know when that will be possible.

posted Aug 30th, 2011 2:40 pm


Skye

+

I've been doing Weight Watchers for four months and have dropped 38 lbs. WW has been the only thing that worked for me. Other diets I'd "cheat" and give up. I haven't cheated on WW because I never feel hungry and I don't feel deprived of anything. I'm eating so much healthier now, but I also don't feel guilty if I have a treat on occasion because it's all on plan! I wish I'd tried WW sooner.

posted Aug 29th, 2011 1:30 am


Lissette Mendez

+

I had been overweight for about 9 yrs. I joined WW at the beginning of this year and i can say that even though it's been a slow process i have lost 24.4lbs since i started. I love the program because for someone like me who loves to eat, this has given me a different approach to food. Slowly but surely, I've been adjusting the way i eat and what i eat and how much i eat of it. The fact that I earn points through activity has made me increase how active i am. Now i work out 4x a wk and I play tennis and swim on Sundays. WW is one of the best programs I have come across since trying to lose and live a healthier life.

posted Aug 26th, 2011 1:22 am


yd

+

Tried JCraig, Nurtisys without success, WW worked for me!

posted Aug 25th, 2011 6:06 pm


Carmelle

Most realistic program to maintain long term... may take longer to lose the weight but it stays off!

posted Aug 16th, 2011 3:33 pm


Beth

I lost 20# on another diet, but felt it was too restrictive, had to have supplements to lose. Started gaining weight. Joined WW and and finally lost 2.5# in 5 weeks. I'm following the plan. Just wondering when will it kick in. I'm 61 and have been dieting so much!

posted Aug 16th, 2011 9:46 am


calcia

?

Can i do Weight Watchers without exercising? I.see a lot of you are having amazing results from this ww program. I want to join but the only problem is I can't workout at all. I just recently had knee surgery 2 months. So what can I do here? Is it still possible to do the diet without excersing? Wanna lose 25 to 30 lbs

posted Aug 16th, 2011 3:14 am


Shana LeGrant

+

The new points plus plan combined with working out has been the perfect formula for weight loss for me! I have been absolutely pleased with my pound per week weight loss and plan to reach my goal in no time!

posted Aug 14th, 2011 6:50 pm


Chris

-

I've been a member of WW for just over 2 1/2 years. I've been very successful at losing 33 pounds with only 10 more to go before I hit lifetime. After starting the points plus program, I've gained 23 pounds back in just over 9 months. I've followed the plan TO THE "T" and even limit my fruits and veggies. I exercise regularly and still have gained. Unfortunaley, I was so excited for points plus that I got rid of all my old program stuff so I can't even go back to it and refresh my memory.

The new plan leaves ALOT to be desired - tread lightly.

posted Aug 9th, 2011 4:09 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Get started by saving with these Weight Watchers Coupons

  • Established: 1963

  • Founder: Jean Nidetch

  • Headquarters: New York City

  • Stock Symbol: WTW

  • Accessibility: Meetings, Online, Books, Apps

  • Diet Type: Low-Calorie, Low-Fat

  • Gender: Male and Female

  • Celebrity Endorsements: Jessica Simpson

  • Corporate Site: WeightWatchers.com

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

It's been 50 years since Weight Watchers came on the scene and started helping people live healthier lives. Weight Watchers helps members create a foundation to introduce healthier choices and physical activity into their lives. Weight Watchers was made popular by the weekly meetings that are still a cornerstone of the program today.

Weight Watchers allows you to eat the foods you like without restriction. Simply stay within your daily range and you can still enjoy the foods you love balanced with nutritious choices like fruits, vegetables, lean proteins and whole grains. Unlike many diets, Weight Watchers also encourages an active lifestyle.

It all started in a living room, where women would gather to support one another while losing weight. Then it grew, and became one of the most recognized names in weight loss. They've remained an innovative brand, taking the plan online, and creating a program specifically for men.

Weight Watchers Meetings The original Weight Watchers plan invites members to weekly meetings where they help dieters form a network of support with people sharing similar experiences. Each person checks their weight privately. Meetings are conducted by a trained Meeting Leader who motivates and offers the group support through information about nutrition and fitness.

Weight Watchers at Work The Weight Watchers At Work program wants to make your workplace healthier by offering you and your company all of the success of the Weight Watchers program right from your own office.

Click to get started with this diet

DietsInReview.com is an advertising partner of Weight Watchers. This review is strictly our own opinion.

PROPRO
  • Programs to suit adult men and women
  • Choose counseling via meetings or privacy and convenience online
  • Online program is a comprehensive experience
  • Provides exercise guidance
  • Thousands of recipes and meals to choose from
  • Applebee's partnership for more healthful dining
  • Named #1 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
  • Reputable and effective for 50 years

CONCON
  • Online detracts from the traditional social aspect of meetings
  • Not a structured plan, which may be difficult for some to adhere to
  • Not a strong emphasis on fitness
USER REVIEWSUSER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Most realistic program to maintain long term ... may take longer to lose the weight but it stays off! - Carmelle 8/16/11

I lost close to 40 pounds on Weight Watchers and have kept it off ever since starting almost 10 months ago. I plan to be on this program forever. I'm the healthiest I've ever been. (I'm 26 and am thinner and a smaller size than I was in high school, which I NEVER thought was possible!!) WW WORKS! I have never felt deprived, and I feel like the program is something I can live with. It's literally one of the best things I've EVER done for myself. - Marjie 7/8/11

I've been following the new Points Plus program since the beginning of the year. Today I hit the 10% weight loss goal. Only one week I did not loose weight - but I didn't gain either. Love that the fresh fruits are free so when I just want something - I now reach for fruit rather than chips or cookies. I am a 30 year lifetime member (obviously strayed at times) and find that this is the easiest weight loss for me (and I'm now 59.5 years old). HIGHLY recommend the new Points Plus. The key is still planning and journaling as far as I'm concerned. - Char 4/1/11

The old WW worked. The new one does not. I am one of many lifetime members who have become very disenchanted by this new program. - Elle 6/21/11

I highly suggest playing around with the tools. Eventually most "0 point" foods will develop a point value if you put in a high quantity...especially fruits and starchy veggies like green beans and broccoli. If you eat what the healthy check recommends, drink the water the healthy check recommends and eat your points in proteins and a small amount of carbs and fats then you should not gain weight. It's about eating in moderation. Not going crazy just because you think you can. - Shannon 3/6/11

Leave your own review and rating

DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

Weight Watchers emphasizes eating more wholesome food, while allowing you to splurge on cravings in moderation. You'll make balanced food choices that include whole grains, lean proteins, fruits and vegetables, eggs and dairy. No matter which plan you choose, you'll have access to all of the Weight Watchers recipes that are delicious, satisfying and good-for-you.

Weight Watchers members can enjoy chili, muffins, brownies, burgers, pizza, pasta and so much more - especially when you follow their healthy tips for lightening the recipes.

You're encouraged to make more nutrient-dense food choices, which not only helps you lose weight but also helps keep you feeling satisfied.

The Weight Watchers website features thousands of recipes for all occasions. Weight Watchers Meetings Members can also use the A-Z food list found in the Pocket Guide, or purchase the Complete Food Companion and the Dining Out Companion to help them plan for their night out.

Whether you do the program online or attend meetings, there are several ideas for snacks and meals along with a list of power foods like fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and lean protein. The program is designed to teach you how to make smarter food choices so that you eat more filling and nutritious meals.

For example, Weight Watchers features two side by side meals that both have a points value of 11. The two meals are reflected below:

  • Meal 1 – Peanut butter and jelly sandwich made on reduced-calorie white bread; chips
  • Meal 2 – Black bean soup; Whole grain wheat pasta with grape tomatoes, small black olives, crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese, shredded basil leaves, olive oil and red wine vinegar; grapes

Just glancing at these two meals it would be hard to think they have the same value because meal two offers more food. Illustrations like this make it easy to see the importance of making healthier choices so that you can eat more while getting good nutrition throughout the day.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

Weight Watchers does promote living an active lifestyle, although exercise is not a requirement of the program.

To calculate the intensity of your workout, you can use your heart beats per minute or some simple physical cues. If you choose to follow the heart beats per minute, the classifications are as follows:

  • Low intensity: 68 to 92 beats per minute
  • Moderate intensity: 93 to 118 beats per minute
  • High intensity: more than 119 beats per minute

Using the physical cues for your activity level follows the rating of perceived exertion or RPE. This is what Weight Watchers uses. This method is easier than monitoring your heart rate while working out. The below chart can be used to help you gauge the intensity of your workout:

  • Light intensity – Fairly easy exercise that does not induce sweating unless it’s a hot, humid day. There is no noticeable change in breathing patterns.
  • Moderate intensity – Somewhat hard exercise that will break a sweat after performing the activity for about 10 minutes. Breathing becomes deeper and more frequent. You can carry on a conversation but not sing.
  • High intensity – Hard exercise that will cause you to break a sweat after three to five minutes. Breathing is deep and rapid. You can only talk in short phrases.

Keep in mind that those who are just starting to exercise, or those that have been inactive for a long period of time tend to overestimate their intensity levels. If you are just starting out it may be more accurate to gauge your intensity through your heart beats until you get an accurate understanding of actual intensity levels. With Weight Watchers you can choose to do any form of exercise that meets your needs. Some recommended forms of exercise available are:

  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Walking
  • Jogging
  • Aerobics
  • Swimming
  • Hiking
  • Bike riding
  • Kickboxing
WEIGHT WATCHERS FAQWEIGHT WATCHERS FAQ

Common questions asked about the Weight Watchers program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Can I do Weight Watchers without exercising? - Calcia 8/16/11

How much does Weight Watchers cost? - 7/20/11

Is Weight Watchers safe for kids? - Yoli 8/8/11

Is Weight Watchers good for diabetics? - Jackie 5/12/11

What do you get from weekly meetings? Hongquan 5/23/11

Are Weight Watchers Points confusing to anyone else? - 2/19/11

CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

Weight Watchers is a tried and true veteran of the weight loss industry. With a variety of methods to choose from for both men and women, you're almost certain to find the right path for your weight loss journey. Weight Watchers provides guidance from every aspect of weight loss. Food is one of the primary concerns of any dieter and Weight Watchers goes above and beyond most other weight loss programs with thousands of recipes that anyone, dieting or not, will find tempting and delicious. If their style appeals to you, go for it.

WEIGHT WATCHERS SLIDESHOWSWEIGHT WATCHERS SLIDESHOWS

[The Most Popular Diets of 2012[1]

Biggest Celeb Weight Losses of 2010

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

WEIGHT WATCHERS RESOURCESWEIGHT WATCHERS RESOURCES

Weight Watchers Testimonial at Prevention Magazine

Weight Watchers Food and Recipes

Weight Watchers at Wikipedia

About the Weight Watchers Lifetime Member Program

Weight Watchers Contact InformationWeight Watchers Contact Information
Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

weightwatchers, wieght watchers, weight watcher, weight watches, watcher weight, weigth watchers, weightwatchers.com, weight wathcers, weightwatchers.com, weight watchers pointsplus, weight watchers points plus, pointsplus program, pointsplus system, points plus

AuthorAuthor

by

Related Diets: Jenny Craig, Jillian Michaels, Retrofit, Weight Watchers At Work, Weight Watchers Meetings, Weight Watchers Meetings Monthly Pass, Weight Watchers She Loses, He Loses, Nutrisystem

Whats better than
Weight Watchers?