Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

71%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 38 reviews

Slim-Fast

Want to lose weight but not sure where to start? Here's one of diet convenience mainstays.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1977
  • Founder: Daniel Abraham
  • Headquarters: Unilever in Unilever House, London
  • Stock Symbol: UL
  • Accessibility: Retailers and drug stores
  • Diet Type: Meal replacement through shakes, bars and snacks
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

Slim-Fast made its name with meal-replacement shakes. But today it has expanded into a complete weight loss plan complete with an array of products and an organized weight loss plan.

By lending convenience and simplicity to its dieters lives, it has grown its product offering to include bars, snacks, smoothies, as well as a meal plan called Slim-Fast Optima, which provides a healthy combination of complex carbs, protein and healthier fats. For those watching their carb intake, there is a low-carb option and a low-sugar option.

The Slim-Fast plan offers 100 percent of the nutrients your body requires and typically has women consuming 1,200 calories daily. Weight loss is supported by the low-caloric intake. The Slim-Fast plan allows you to use both their products and your choice of nutritious foods to promote healthy weight loss.

Slim-Fast outlines a four-step approach to weight loss: Portion control, sensible eating, regular physical activity, and support.

By sticking to the plan, you can lose 10% of your body weight in the first six months at a rate of one to two pounds a week.

PRO
  • Convenience of food products for people on the go
  • Variety of flavors to choose from
  • Realize actual weight loss
  • Calorie intake isn't unsafe
  • Named #3 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • As with all packaged food plans, the cost will be more than if you prepare all of your own meals
  • Contains aspartame
DIET and NUTRITION

There are a variety of ways to mix-and-match the Slim-Fast foods with your food choices. The Slim-Fast plan involves six small meals/snacks every day. You are advised to use Slim-Fast products for two meals and one snack daily.

The rest of the day, you're on your own to choose healthy meals when eating out or cooking at home. No calorie counting is necessary and no foods are forbidden; you can still eat your favorites. However, lean protein, fruits, and vegetables are emphasized.

Their meal plan might look like this:

  • Breakfast is a Slim-Fast Smoothie with six ounces of fat-free yogurt.

  • Lunch is a Slim-Fast Shake or Bar, in addition to a whole-wheat english muffin topped with marinara and low-fat mozzarella.

  • Dinner will be your one meal with no more than 500 calories. For dinner, divide your plate in fourths- half should be vegetables, one-quarter protein and one-quarter starch, along with a salad or fruit.

While following the Slim-Fast plan, be sure to drink plenty of water and commit to regular exercise.

EXERCISE

The Slim-Fast website has a thorough exercise support system that you can customize to your needs and desires.

It is recommended that you exercise 30 minutes a day to receive optimal results.

CONCLUSION

Slim-Fast is one of the "veterans" in the prepackaged weight loss solution arena. They're popularly known for their meal replacement shakes, but that doesn't mean you are restricted to a liquid diet. Mix and match their products with regularly prepared healthy food, and busy people like you can find healthy weight loss success.

Common Misspellings

slimfast, slim fast, Slim faster, Slim fast deit, Slimfast deit

SlimFast Video Review

Having trouble viewing? Watch SlimFast Video Review


Related Diets: Cambridge Diet, Slim Fast 321, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, Biggest Loser Protein, Living Lean Smoothie, VF Smoothie


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 6, 117 total comments)

liz

i get up from work and come straight to work without eating breakfast so when it comes to lunch time i over do it.. Today i bought slim fast strawberry shake and drank it for my lunch and it didnt fill me up so i ate one of the snack bars too and hey im actually full.. i only eat twice a day which is lunch and after work which is after 5 and will drink another shake.. Im gonna keep doing this for a month if i lose weight I am 5'1 and i weigh 140 need to lose about 20 pounds.. will keep you posted on this slim fast

posted Dec 17th, 2009 2:10 pm


Kristin

i started the slim fast liquid diet today. i bought the low carb slim fast shakes and i was so busy today so i only drank 2 all day and i wasnt that hungry at all! anyways i am planning to drink them 3 times a day and go on the treadmill too! i will post my results up everyday or week!

posted Jul 28th, 2009 2:30 am


Gina

I like the meal replacement bars (versus the shakes). I'm very active for my job and meals weigh me down. I eat a bar for breakfast, another one for lunch, and a veggie sub from Subway for dinner. Seems to work for me (though I really don't need to lose weight). Anyway, the meal replacement bars fill me up and give me the energy I need to get me through the day.

posted Jun 13th, 2009 9:37 am


Andrew

Having recently just started a diet, I have decided to incorporate Slim Fast shakes into my diet with 2-3 days a week of the one shake at breakfast, one at lunch, and sensible dinner. I have lost 5-6 lbs prior to using the Slim Fast shakes, so I will see how it goes. I did have two shakes today so far, they are tasty .

posted May 8th, 2009 2:29 pm


flabbymom

I haven't gained or lost any weight after 1 week!

posted May 3rd, 2009 3:17 pm


ErikaVenegas

I started drinking it last Wednesday (4/15/09). At the beginning I was kind of skeptical, but I read a lot of good reviews about it, plus I remembered my old friend had lost a bunch of pounds with this system, (how did I not think about it before), so I decided to give it a try, well by Saturday (4/18/09) I had lost 4.5 lbs, and I'm not joking. Of course that I followed the diet to the T. I exercised everyday and I drank about 3 litters of water everyday. I'm so happy, and best of all you don't go hungry all day, like you usually do with other diets. The taste is great. I just love it. I'm going to weight myself again this Wednesday just to see how many pounds I can loose in one week. I'll keep you all post it.

posted Apr 20th, 2009 3:55 pm


Mary

I like it taste like a chocolate milk.

posted Apr 3rd, 2009 12:22 pm


Marge Vallejo

I just started drinkn slim fast and i really liked the taste of strawberry i plan 2 keep drinkn it i hope 2 lose 15or 20pds

posted Mar 30th, 2009 11:08 am


tina46

Slim fast does work and yes you will spend a lot of money on it but you will spend a lot of money going grocery shopping, hanging out in clubs, drinking, smoking, and eating out so why not spend the money that you throw away on things that is not helping your weight loss. Spend it on something that will help you lose weight and feel better about yourself.

posted Feb 23rd, 2009 2:25 pm


Nancy

With two 2 year olds and a 4 month old I have little time for breakfast or lunch. So, instead of skipping the meal or eating something fast and high in calories, I grab a slim-fast. I've managed to lose 12 pounds in three weeks and more importantly I'm getting the nutrients I need.

posted Feb 12th, 2009 3:45 pm



apauley87

Gave me stomach aches

posted Jan 13th, 2009 12:55 pm


Tammi Nickerson

I loved how yummy it was. It really filled me up well. I lost 40 lbs with it! I still have a shake (Milk chocolate SF powder mixed with skim milk) just about every morning. Sooo good!

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 9:10 am


Crystal

I am going to try it!

posted Nov 13th, 2008 5:17 pm


Fried Chicken

this is dum. i like chicken not shakes!

posted Nov 6th, 2008 3:56 pm


Katie

Would LOVE it if Slim Fast would go back to making a shake mix that contains NO aspartame (or sucralose, for that matter). Used to like Slim Fast in the 'old days,' but I'm allergic to aspartame, so I can't even try it.

posted Sep 16th, 2008 11:07 pm


Debbie

I have a healthier alternative to Steve S's "orange delight" (which is filled with Slim Fast's sugar & calories). Try the Body Wise vanilla shake mix blended with the orange mix, water, and ice. Tastes like a Dreamsicle! Has 20 grams of protein, branched chain amino acids, only 130 calories, 5 carbs, and NO sugar. I have lost weight and kept it off. Plus, the Body Wise chocolate is awesome. Body Wise is terrific for diabetics, lactose intolerant, and is gluten and wheat free. Compared to 24 grams of carbs in the Slim-Fast, it only has 5!! Awesome!

posted Aug 17th, 2008 11:12 pm


amy

hi am 16 am not fat but like to losse mi legs been duin it for bout 3 days they ar fabulousely gorgus yes n i do eat a meal xx

posted Aug 5th, 2008 8:54 am


Steve S

First, buy a MagicBullet! Next get some banana's and take them out of the peals, break them in half and put them into a ziplock baggie then freeze. Buy (from Walmart) a box of suger free orange drink mix. It's best to get the individual packages, the ones that you pour into a 16 oz. bottle of water. Next grab the largest magicbullet container, pour in a really chilled French Vanilla SlimFast, then put in 2 peices of banana and 5 tablespoons of oats. Next put in about 1/2 of the orange drink mix, more if you want more orange flavor. Put in ice cubes to bring the level almost to the top, then screw on the blade. Make sure you use the one the sticks up. Then let it run for about 1 to 2 minutes until there is no more crunching sound. Remove the blade and put on the rim ring and grab a straw. You are about to enjoy a totally awesome meal replacement shake. Enjoy. I will post more as I test other flavors.

posted Jun 29th, 2008 5:47 pm


Jen

what happened to the chocolate malt powder mix? It was really the only one that I liked.

posted Jun 27th, 2008 8:10 am


Moj

I used sf a few years ago for several months and lost 50lbs. Gradually I regained 30lbs and am now doing sf again. I love the powder/chocolate shakes the best, with ice. They take care of my sweet tooth and usually fill me up. If I still feel hungry I have some fruit or a salad. Im very happy with the product and am disappointed in myself that I let myself get off track again. But.. I now know there's a tastey diet aid and a healthy eating program to go with it.

posted Jun 26th, 2008 8:29 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account