Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

71%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 38 reviews

Slim-Fast

Want to lose weight but not sure where to start? Here's one of diet convenience mainstays.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1977
  • Founder: Daniel Abraham
  • Headquarters: Unilever in Unilever House, London
  • Stock Symbol: UL
  • Accessibility: Retailers and drug stores
  • Diet Type: Meal replacement through shakes, bars and snacks
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

Slim-Fast made its name with meal-replacement shakes. But today it has expanded into a complete weight loss plan complete with an array of products and an organized weight loss plan.

By lending convenience and simplicity to its dieters lives, it has grown its product offering to include bars, snacks, smoothies, as well as a meal plan called Slim-Fast Optima, which provides a healthy combination of complex carbs, protein and healthier fats. For those watching their carb intake, there is a low-carb option and a low-sugar option.

The Slim-Fast plan offers 100 percent of the nutrients your body requires and typically has women consuming 1,200 calories daily. Weight loss is supported by the low-caloric intake. The Slim-Fast plan allows you to use both their products and your choice of nutritious foods to promote healthy weight loss.

Slim-Fast outlines a four-step approach to weight loss: Portion control, sensible eating, regular physical activity, and support.

By sticking to the plan, you can lose 10% of your body weight in the first six months at a rate of one to two pounds a week.

PRO
  • Convenience of food products for people on the go
  • Variety of flavors to choose from
  • Realize actual weight loss
  • Calorie intake isn't unsafe
  • Named #3 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • As with all packaged food plans, the cost will be more than if you prepare all of your own meals
  • Contains aspartame
DIET and NUTRITION

There are a variety of ways to mix-and-match the Slim-Fast foods with your food choices. The Slim-Fast plan involves six small meals/snacks every day. You are advised to use Slim-Fast products for two meals and one snack daily.

The rest of the day, you're on your own to choose healthy meals when eating out or cooking at home. No calorie counting is necessary and no foods are forbidden; you can still eat your favorites. However, lean protein, fruits, and vegetables are emphasized.

Their meal plan might look like this:

  • Breakfast is a Slim-Fast Smoothie with six ounces of fat-free yogurt.

  • Lunch is a Slim-Fast Shake or Bar, in addition to a whole-wheat english muffin topped with marinara and low-fat mozzarella.

  • Dinner will be your one meal with no more than 500 calories. For dinner, divide your plate in fourths- half should be vegetables, one-quarter protein and one-quarter starch, along with a salad or fruit.

While following the Slim-Fast plan, be sure to drink plenty of water and commit to regular exercise.

EXERCISE

The Slim-Fast website has a thorough exercise support system that you can customize to your needs and desires.

It is recommended that you exercise 30 minutes a day to receive optimal results.

CONCLUSION

Slim-Fast is one of the "veterans" in the prepackaged weight loss solution arena. They're popularly known for their meal replacement shakes, but that doesn't mean you are restricted to a liquid diet. Mix and match their products with regularly prepared healthy food, and busy people like you can find healthy weight loss success.

Common Misspellings

slimfast, slim fast, Slim faster, Slim fast deit, Slimfast deit

SlimFast Video Review

Having trouble viewing? Watch SlimFast Video Review


Related Diets: Cambridge Diet, Slim Fast 321, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, Biggest Loser Protein, Living Lean Smoothie, VF Smoothie


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 6, 117 total comments)

Anonymous

i love the chocolate shakes. i just started today and i've already lost 2 lbs!!

posted Apr 28th, 2008 8:31 am


Mia

I bought this product yesterday for just trying. It was delicious and full of good ingredients.

posted Apr 28th, 2008 8:31 am


Casey

I must say, slim fast is the only thing that has really helped me lose weight. There were times when i got sick of the shakes and wanted to eat real food. i think it helps if you do have a piece of fruit w/ them. it helps crave the chewing sensation that you miss. but it works as long as you follow it correctly.

posted Apr 10th, 2008 5:52 pm


casey

I also have talked with people who would have a shake then eat a meal. thats not how it works thats why they never lost weight. common sense people.

posted Apr 10th, 2008 5:52 pm


Amanda

I don't understand how people can say that they GAINED weight on Slim Fast. People prob are eating the bars like they're candy bars. The point is to eat the shake as a meal, or eat it with a piece of fruit. I just started this yesterday, and wow, the shake really filled me up. I was surprised. I'm looking to lose about 10-15 lbs. I'm excited to see the results :D

posted Apr 10th, 2008 9:46 am


jean brosseau

Danielle: You should be disappointed in yourself and not the product. You only gained weight when you stopped using the product... So it is you that can't control you eating habits

posted Apr 5th, 2008 3:58 pm


maria

for those of you who are drinking the shakes and using the bars, you have to eat a healthy snack in b/w eat a small side salad or a boiled egg with the shakes.. or else you will be hungry and resort to eating other junk..

posted Mar 31st, 2008 7:31 pm


jd

i think that it might work ill give it a try :)

posted Mar 31st, 2008 11:38 am


kelli

I started using slim fast 6 weeks ago and lost 10 pounds. I went from 120 to 110. I get compliments every where I go. The Rich Brownie bars are my fav. I dont care for the shakes, so I have one bar for breakfeast. one for lunch and a sensible dinner. It just irritates my stomach a little bit but its worth it!!

posted Mar 24th, 2008 4:37 pm


danielle

I successfully completed the slim fast diet and lost 30 lbs, I thought it was great until a few months later. Because I stopped buying the shakes and meal bars I gained back the 30 lbs plus! I am very disappointed and unsatisfied with this product.

posted Mar 17th, 2008 8:59 am


cory

i just starting using slimfast and omg i'm sooo hungry all the time! just doesn't keep me full...i'm not a big girl i'm 4"10 and i weigh 118 just need a meal!

posted Mar 11th, 2008 10:20 am


Fine

I have a problem with diary also. I have replaced cow's milk with soy milk, very vanilla. It is good. Mx it with you shake.

posted Mar 5th, 2008 12:09 pm


Anonymous

I used the Slim Fast shakes a few years ago and they're a great supplement to a diet program.... I recently wanted to shed a few pounds again and control my hunger so I picked up a box of the cappucino shakes (they used to be my favorite). I was disappointed to find that they use fake sweeteners now (which I can't stand and avoid at all costs). I don't think I'll buy anymore unless they have non-aspartame ones. I can always taste aspartame and it leaves a chalky awful taste in my mouth.


Anonymous

I have lost 4lbs so far with slim fast. I love it. I started drinking the shakes a 5 days ago.


Anonymous

I got on the scale today and im down four lbs, for the past week i have been drinking slimfast, to my surprise it curbed my appetite, i have been dieting using all sorts of pills drinks etc, and havent lost a pound, i have a sluggish thyroid, i am stunned all of a sudden i lost four lbs, im convinced its the slim fast, i havent felt hungry all day while drinking them, i am amazed


Laurie

I started with SlimFast the last week of October. Mid January and I'm down 36 pounds. There have been some slip ups along the way but I'm really pleased. I've tried a couple of other brands of shakes but I'm hungry inbetween, so I'll stick to my SlimFast.


Anonymous

I really like slim fast.. It do works alot. I lost 9 pounds in a month... i am still losing more... just try it.... and aslo workout.....


CC

I Love SF! I drink one every day on my way to work. And it keeps me full until lunch. I have lost 25lbs!


Anonymous

I lost 40 lbs. with the help of Slim Fast drinks. I am not able to drink the dairy product but I did drink the pineapple/orange drink but have put some of the weight back now in the past couple years so I have been looking for those drinks again for a little help and no one can seem to get their hands on any for me. What is up with that.... no more help for the non dairy drinkers.


Anita Antkowiak

What is wrong with your protein shakes? I have been drinking them for 5 yrs. The last 4 multipacks I purchased have been undrinkable. They are so thick it barely comes out of the can and the taste is unbelievably awful. I used to get a can like this every once in a while, now the last four packs I've purchased I had to throw away....too much money for that nonsense.



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account