Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

71%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 38 reviews

Slim-Fast

Want to lose weight but not sure where to start? Here's one of diet convenience mainstays.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1977
  • Founder: Daniel Abraham
  • Headquarters: Unilever in Unilever House, London
  • Stock Symbol: UL
  • Accessibility: Retailers and drug stores
  • Diet Type: Meal replacement through shakes, bars and snacks
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

Slim-Fast made its name with meal-replacement shakes. But today it has expanded into a complete weight loss plan complete with an array of products and an organized weight loss plan.

By lending convenience and simplicity to its dieters lives, it has grown its product offering to include bars, snacks, smoothies, as well as a meal plan called Slim-Fast Optima, which provides a healthy combination of complex carbs, protein and healthier fats. For those watching their carb intake, there is a low-carb option and a low-sugar option.

The Slim-Fast plan offers 100 percent of the nutrients your body requires and typically has women consuming 1,200 calories daily. Weight loss is supported by the low-caloric intake. The Slim-Fast plan allows you to use both their products and your choice of nutritious foods to promote healthy weight loss.

Slim-Fast outlines a four-step approach to weight loss: Portion control, sensible eating, regular physical activity, and support.

By sticking to the plan, you can lose 10% of your body weight in the first six months at a rate of one to two pounds a week.

PRO
  • Convenience of food products for people on the go
  • Variety of flavors to choose from
  • Realize actual weight loss
  • Calorie intake isn't unsafe
  • Named #3 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • As with all packaged food plans, the cost will be more than if you prepare all of your own meals
  • Contains aspartame
DIET and NUTRITION

There are a variety of ways to mix-and-match the Slim-Fast foods with your food choices. The Slim-Fast plan involves six small meals/snacks every day. You are advised to use Slim-Fast products for two meals and one snack daily.

The rest of the day, you're on your own to choose healthy meals when eating out or cooking at home. No calorie counting is necessary and no foods are forbidden; you can still eat your favorites. However, lean protein, fruits, and vegetables are emphasized.

Their meal plan might look like this:

  • Breakfast is a Slim-Fast Smoothie with six ounces of fat-free yogurt.

  • Lunch is a Slim-Fast Shake or Bar, in addition to a whole-wheat english muffin topped with marinara and low-fat mozzarella.

  • Dinner will be your one meal with no more than 500 calories. For dinner, divide your plate in fourths- half should be vegetables, one-quarter protein and one-quarter starch, along with a salad or fruit.

While following the Slim-Fast plan, be sure to drink plenty of water and commit to regular exercise.

EXERCISE

The Slim-Fast website has a thorough exercise support system that you can customize to your needs and desires.

It is recommended that you exercise 30 minutes a day to receive optimal results.

CONCLUSION

Slim-Fast is one of the "veterans" in the prepackaged weight loss solution arena. They're popularly known for their meal replacement shakes, but that doesn't mean you are restricted to a liquid diet. Mix and match their products with regularly prepared healthy food, and busy people like you can find healthy weight loss success.

Common Misspellings

slimfast, slim fast, Slim faster, Slim fast deit, Slimfast deit

SlimFast Video Review

Having trouble viewing? Watch SlimFast Video Review


Related Diets: Cambridge Diet, Slim Fast 321, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, Biggest Loser Protein, Living Lean Smoothie, VF Smoothie


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 6, 117 total comments)

WeightGoingDown

I tried the Slim Fast diet for about a month and lost about three pounds. The shakes are delicious, but I didn't enjoy drinking them. It became monotonous. The meal bars were disgusting, eating candy bars constantly. The diet felt unhealthy, with all the chocolate and sugar. I was hungry a lot, too, especially in the evening after my "sensible dinner". I have containers of Slim Fast from this diet, partially used. My daughter enjoyed putting them with whole milk and microwaving it.

posted Mar 7th, 2014 6:52 pm


Deb

I just mixed the vanilla shake mix with 1 cup of skim milk, 1/2 cup pf canned pumpkin (40 calories!) and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie seasoning. Yummy, like pumpkin pie in a glass!

posted May 30th, 2013 11:05 pm


EbonyC

I started on 2-22-12 and I've already lost 5 lbs :-) Somedays I feel hungrey but I just drink water... It really works and I dont even exercise!

posted Mar 3rd, 2012 3:28 pm


Kate

I love Slimfast! I don't follow the whole program for a couple of reasons: first I get really hungry in the morning so I need take some of the calories allowed in a day and have them at breakfast. Second, I live alone so making the dinners they recommened would result in too many servings for me. This is how I made the plan work for me: the night before I'd take one of those reusable iced coffee cups from Starbucks and I'd add a cup of milk, a scoop of Vanilla SF powder, a spoonful of instant coffee and some water. Every week or two I'd fill one of those 8 cup Glad containers with berries (frozen or fresh), then I'd make up some jello and with one envelope of Knox and add it to the berries and refrigerate. The gelatine protects the berries from air and (I have found) makes them last longer in ready to eat form. You get some sugar or sweetner in the jello, but it's not much. So, for breakfast I'd have a just over half a cup of the berry gelitine salad, and a serving of whole grains like toast or oatmeal. Then I'd grab my shake and head to work. I sip on the shake all morning whenever I'm hungry. My co-workers get so jealous because it looks like I went to Starbucks. Lunch is a SF bar with an pre-sliced apple and a snack bag of raw veggies, and water. Afternoon snack (if I need it) is any veggies I didn't finish and a maybe a 100 cal granola bar. Dinner is about 350 cal. I'll have a frozen entree or something from a cookbook that says it's 350 cal or less per serving. I also have a big tossed salad with precious little dressing (40 cal or less) and an orange veg if I haven't already had one that day (for vit A). Dessert is a cup of tea with one sugar cube (just 19 cal). Bedtime snack (without it I won't sleep) is about 1/2 cup of super low cal yogurt, 1/3 cup of that very high fiber cereal that looks like rabbit feed, and a banana. Between dinner and snack is work out. I did 20-30 minutes of cardio and weight lifting every other day. That way I was loosing a pound or two a week. It's kind fo expensive but sometimes SF goes on half price at Wal-Mart and I stock up.

posted Jan 14th, 2012 11:50 pm


tasha

I like this diet it really works if you stick to it. I am just starting today for the 5th time. it is mind over matter. My friend did this for 3 months and went from a size 14/16 to a size 4 and in weight it was 185-120. The key is join www.slimfast.com it is free and do what it says and DON'T cheat.

posted Aug 25th, 2011 6:32 am


sarah

i been on it for two weeks and i have lost 7 lbs. i have 13 more to go. my fav is the creamy chocolate. i have 2 shakes aday... one for bk, wait 2hrs eat a banana , than wait 2hrs and have another shake, than ill have greek yogurt, than for dinner i eat fiber one cereal with almond breeze or 2 boiled eggs with toast or peanut butter sandwich and like an apple.

posted Jul 20th, 2011 12:11 am


Donnie

l love the Slin Fast 321 diet. l have lo lost 44 pounds in six weeks!!

posted Jun 11th, 2011 4:43 pm


Stephannie

Lost 5 pounds in just one week!
Bikini body in less than two months, here i come! <3

posted Apr 11th, 2011 10:37 am


Sorvea

your GOING to be hungry when you start a healthy eating program for the first couple of days or weeks. Your body is use to you eating all the time, or eating large quantities, so when you don't supply, it will demand. your body just has to learn, it's not gonna get it. your tummy will shrink in a few days or weeks.

posted Mar 22nd, 2011 11:00 am


Legomom

This seems to work for me, but I do the low carb/low sugar variety now that I'm over 40. Also, the amount of aspartame in a shake is the same as that of a diet soda. However, aspartame has recently been taken of the carcinogen list, but if you have PKU, then of course, avoid it. But also, most ADHD and ADD medications have Aspartame in them as well, so I'm kind of dumb-founded as to why there is such a ruckus.

posted Feb 22nd, 2011 11:17 am


lala

The key to dieting is to burn more calories than you eat...sticking to a diet is all about commitment. if you eat a low- cal breakfast, lunch, and dinner and excercise after you eat dinner. You will lose weight. Also setting a time when you are going to stop eating for the day like 7pm or 8 pm works!

posted Feb 8th, 2011 12:50 am


Nicole

I lost 5 pounds in 2 weeks!

posted Feb 7th, 2011 6:49 pm


Lorraine

I'm on day 2. Not felt hungry yet because of all the snacks and water. Before I would skip breakfast, starve for hours then stuff my face until my buttons burst. This is teaching me to eat regularly and get into the habit of breakfast. If I lose weight along the way then great! :)
The chocolate shake is so thick and yummy. Cereal meal bars are slightly expensive but when put into the context of how much I would spend on a mac donalds meal, it's really not that bad. Only downside which doesn't bother me, but I know it would for others, is a little extra gas. He he...

posted Feb 1st, 2011 7:54 pm


Sorvea

Slim-fast has survived for a reason! I realy shouldn't, but I'm addicted to Coffee, so I think if I laid off the coffee I may be able to lose more weight. I do drink my water every day. I try for at least 32 oz of pure water per day along with natural fruit juices and my coffee.

I tried one week to go without my coffee, my head just hurt too bad. I had to run back to it like a kid missing their blankie

posted Jan 18th, 2011 8:54 pm


Brenan

Does anybody know what is the amount of aspartame they put in the sakes if any? is any of the products aspartame free? Iread the label but it does not say anything. But the website tells you that they use aspartame which is a terrible poison, that worries me.

posted Jan 11th, 2011 7:09 pm


Megan

I use it. I love it.

posted Oct 22nd, 2010 3:33 pm


dhara

I'm on day 3 i drink the water and snacks are fruits. Headaches started today. I exercise everyday for 30 min on the eliptical but still haven't lost anyweight at all

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 9:55 am


Nichole

As with any diet you can't just go back to eating fast food. I see people who lose the weight then stop exercising regularly. Or they lose the weight & then are at the cheesecake factory pigging out. Of course you gained it back. I am on day 2. I know when I complete this I will have to stick with something like 2 boiled eggs for breakfast, a grilled cheese & salad for lunch, & skinless chicken breast for dinner. It's common sense. Just because you lose the weight doesn't mean you can go back to eating poorly.

I have the strawberry & creme shake & the chocolate shake. I love them & I am not one for chocolate either. I can't even drink a whole one. I have to force myself to finish it on my breaks at work. I am not using the Slim Fast protein bars. I am using the kellogg's protein bars& I eat 2 a day instead of 3. Then a sensible dinner.

I did miss the chewing action today so I replaced 1 bar with 2 hard boiled eggs. It did the trick for me.

What more important? being healthy or eating stuff mushrooms & a 28 ribeye steak. Now in the future if i want to pig out I will do it on the weekend & I will skip 1 shake & 1 protein bar. ( 400 calories ). When I go out I will put 1/2 in a box & leave it at the resturant ( don't take it home!! ) & eat a 900 calorie meal. That way I can get some of the food I like without going over my calorie intake.

posted Sep 9th, 2010 2:05 pm


charlie

The headaches come from aspartame. a diet drink sugar substitute. diet coke gives me a headache too. but we have to loose weight so we deal witht he problems related to diets.

posted Aug 21st, 2010 9:43 am


Kendra

I started Slimfast just yesterday and i am SOOOO hungry but i know i have to stick to this. I am starting to get headaches though?? Any idea's why? I did go cold turkey on this!
Thanks for any advice and stay on it slimfaster, were in this together :)
Kendra

posted Aug 17th, 2010 2:52 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account