Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

71%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 38 reviews

Slim-Fast

Want to lose weight but not sure where to start? Here's one of diet convenience mainstays.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1977
  • Founder: Daniel Abraham
  • Headquarters: Unilever in Unilever House, London
  • Stock Symbol: UL
  • Accessibility: Retailers and drug stores
  • Diet Type: Meal replacement through shakes, bars and snacks
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

Slim-Fast made its name with meal-replacement shakes. But today it has expanded into a complete weight loss plan complete with an array of products and an organized weight loss plan.

By lending convenience and simplicity to its dieters lives, it has grown its product offering to include bars, snacks, smoothies, as well as a meal plan called Slim-Fast Optima, which provides a healthy combination of complex carbs, protein and healthier fats. For those watching their carb intake, there is a low-carb option and a low-sugar option.

The Slim-Fast plan offers 100 percent of the nutrients your body requires and typically has women consuming 1,200 calories daily. Weight loss is supported by the low-caloric intake. The Slim-Fast plan allows you to use both their products and your choice of nutritious foods to promote healthy weight loss.

Slim-Fast outlines a four-step approach to weight loss: Portion control, sensible eating, regular physical activity, and support.

By sticking to the plan, you can lose 10% of your body weight in the first six months at a rate of one to two pounds a week.

PRO
  • Convenience of food products for people on the go
  • Variety of flavors to choose from
  • Realize actual weight loss
  • Calorie intake isn't unsafe
  • Named #3 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • As with all packaged food plans, the cost will be more than if you prepare all of your own meals
  • Contains aspartame
DIET and NUTRITION

There are a variety of ways to mix-and-match the Slim-Fast foods with your food choices. The Slim-Fast plan involves six small meals/snacks every day. You are advised to use Slim-Fast products for two meals and one snack daily.

The rest of the day, you're on your own to choose healthy meals when eating out or cooking at home. No calorie counting is necessary and no foods are forbidden; you can still eat your favorites. However, lean protein, fruits, and vegetables are emphasized.

Their meal plan might look like this:

  • Breakfast is a Slim-Fast Smoothie with six ounces of fat-free yogurt.

  • Lunch is a Slim-Fast Shake or Bar, in addition to a whole-wheat english muffin topped with marinara and low-fat mozzarella.

  • Dinner will be your one meal with no more than 500 calories. For dinner, divide your plate in fourths- half should be vegetables, one-quarter protein and one-quarter starch, along with a salad or fruit.

While following the Slim-Fast plan, be sure to drink plenty of water and commit to regular exercise.

EXERCISE

The Slim-Fast website has a thorough exercise support system that you can customize to your needs and desires.

It is recommended that you exercise 30 minutes a day to receive optimal results.

CONCLUSION

Slim-Fast is one of the "veterans" in the prepackaged weight loss solution arena. They're popularly known for their meal replacement shakes, but that doesn't mean you are restricted to a liquid diet. Mix and match their products with regularly prepared healthy food, and busy people like you can find healthy weight loss success.

Common Misspellings

slimfast, slim fast, Slim faster, Slim fast deit, Slimfast deit

SlimFast Video Review

Having trouble viewing? Watch SlimFast Video Review


Related Diets: Cambridge Diet, Slim Fast 321, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, Biggest Loser Protein, Living Lean Smoothie, VF Smoothie


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 6, 117 total comments)

Brynna

I'll echo what Brandi said - you have to drink the recommended water or you will feel hunger. The slim fast kinda acts like a sponge in your tummy and makes you feel full. I've lost 10 pounds in July!!

posted Jul 30th, 2010 12:08 pm


AllisonD

Very easy and I like there are alot of flavors. Iget them at sams alot cheaper than the store and then I never run out!!

posted Jul 30th, 2010 12:07 pm


Shawna

I tried the slim fast diet a few years ago and I loved it. With moderate exercise 2-4 times a week I lost 15 pounds in less than 3 months. As a fitness/nutrition-aholic I highly recommend this for someone who needs a set eating itinerary. Since that diet I've educated myself on every type of diet/nutrition info and I work out everyday. I still use the slim fast shake powder for breakfast or post workout and the meal bars for when I am on the go at school. Slim fast is not one of the diet fads that die out quickly because it actually works. Anyone looking to lose should definitely try it!

posted Jul 14th, 2010 3:30 pm


Lolaa

So I tryed this diet many moons ago and lost weight. I just turned 45 and need to lose mucho weight. If something worked for me before why not try it again. I think that all diets can work if you stick with eatting right and working out. For those people that say they did't loose weight it is because you ate to many calories.(right) .I'm no fool.I too did the same.A wonder why i did'nt loose weight. So anyhow 1st day on my way to feeling healthy! I'll will be weighing in every week. So I'll let you know how it is going. Lolaa

posted Jul 8th, 2010 1:47 am


aymee

Just started the Slimfast 321 today so Im looking for a suppot forum and feedback to motivate me

posted Jul 3rd, 2010 9:24 pm


dJ

I have been on SF 321 plan for a week now. I even had a few pieces of chocholate but still managed to lose 2 lbs in a week. I haven't increased my exercise either. I'm going to follow it to a T and report back in 1 week. Only difference is no cheating and I'm going to drink 8 glasses of water a day and I'll see if I lose more than 2 lbs. Wish me luck. Currently 161 - goal 140.

posted Jul 2nd, 2010 10:48 am


scar

Starting the slim-fast 1 2 3 in the morning. I weigh 148# need to loose atleast 20# will keep you posted.

posted Jun 10th, 2010 10:10 pm


winkandasmile

PLEASE HELP! Quick questions:

I was on Slim Fast for a little over two weeks and didn't lose anything! Not even inches. In fact my clothes got tighter! I worked out about 60-90 minutes a day five-six days a week. I'm baffled and so upset. I went on Slim Fast about ten years ago and I lost weight quickly on it. But that was just the drinks and not the bars with them. I have the Slim Fast high protein shakes. I heard there were different shakes but this is all I have seen in my store. Any of you use these shakes plus the bars and it worked? I also heard it was high carbs and maybe that's why it doesn't work...but it works for others so I don't get it. Anyone see weight loss each week on this or nothing until the end of the month and then you saw the weight drop/gone? I stopped doing this since I am so frustrated. Can anyone help?

Thanks for your time and help! :)

posted Jun 10th, 2010 4:17 am


inky

I like the slimfast 3-2-1 plan because you can change it up so much. The website has GREAT ideas for snacks that are not even slimfast products, but fit into the plan. For instance - shake for breakfast, non fat yogurt as a mid morning snack, meal bar for lunch, an apple as a mid-afternoon snack, a normal meal (chicken breast, roast potatoes, broccoli?) and half a cup of nonfat frozen yogurt for an evening snack :)

posted May 27th, 2010 9:56 am


Stephanie

do you know why it works so well? Because your only eating 1160 calories a day. Adult females females if you over 51and are sedentary should be eating at least 1,600 calories a day. I didn't just make that up it's on the American Heart Associations website. go there to find out how much you should be eating. because this plan will not give you your recommended amount. now I'm not a health grue, nutritionist, or heath teacher, but I did the math and honestly this is not the right way to lose weight. this is quick weight loss by depleting your nutrition, real weight loss comes from life style changes.

posted May 22nd, 2010 3:36 pm


Beth

can it cure a food addiction

posted May 3rd, 2010 10:53 pm


cata

After a week I lost 4 lbs. I think I would have lost more if I would have drank the recommended 8 glasses of water. I only walk for 30 minutes, 3 times a week.



The bars and shakes are very convenient for me because I get up too early to eat a full breakfast, and I really don't have time to buy food or eat a whole meal for lunch.



If I am ever feeling hungy, I drink water and it goes away.



I eat every 3 hours, starting at 7 am. Breakfast, Snack, Lunch, Snack, Dinner.



For dinner I only eat fish (cooked in the oven), or grilled chicken with salad. Sweet potatoes, peas, are good as well.



For snacks I eat grapes, bananas, 100 calorie pack snacks, cheese sticks, or yogurt.



Most people loose weight the first week. I really want to see if I continue loosing this weight. I believe it will get lower, like 1.5 to 2 pounds a week.

posted Apr 17th, 2010 7:24 pm


Jehnavi

When will Slim Fast be back in Southfield Mi Or Liviona MI

posted Feb 18th, 2010 2:42 am


Cheri

Slimfast is amazing. I started 01/01/2010 I lost 40 pounds in one month. I drink 2 shakes a day and one healthy meal. And 3 snacks in between. I also work out almost 3 times a week. I love it.

posted Feb 13th, 2010 4:40 pm



Brandi

Greg - are you drinking enough water? If that doesn't do it, eat fresh fruits and vegetables, They are low-cal, high-fiber, filling and tasty snacks.

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 5:07 pm


greg

i am very hungry after 2 hewers of drinking my slim fast so what do i do

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 4:36 pm


userfile
ninakurdish

i am gunna try it starting today and is lookin faword to seeing if it is the right one for me :)

posted Jan 15th, 2010 6:46 am


prettylocks

iam 5"2 about 158 pounds iam trying to lose about 20 pounds. i have tried dieting and excercising and not eating much not much of a difference. iam going to give the slim fast challenge a try. if i substitute two of my meals with shakes and dinner with a regular meal and lose that would be awsome! so lets hope for the best cause iam running out of ideas.

posted Jan 13th, 2010 1:49 pm


MM

I just started this diet. One week to be exact and I've already lost about 4 lbs. I'm not overweight to begin with, just looking to shed some holiday pounds. I follow the 321 plan and it works fine. I'm amazed that this actually works!

posted Jan 6th, 2010 1:41 pm


Susan

will NOT ingest evil killer aspartame!!! please people look at the labels and find that carnation instant breakfast is the SAME but without the nasty chemical aspartame..and will even save you $ too! ONLY thing is less fiber in the carnation, so what! add a spoon of that tasteless non-grit fiber that easily mixes into water/milk...with the $ you saved.

posted Jan 4th, 2010 4:00 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account