Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

71%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 38 reviews

Slim-Fast

Want to lose weight but not sure where to start? Here's one of diet convenience mainstays.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1977
  • Founder: Daniel Abraham
  • Headquarters: Unilever in Unilever House, London
  • Stock Symbol: UL
  • Accessibility: Retailers and drug stores
  • Diet Type: Meal replacement through shakes, bars and snacks
  • Gender: Male, female
BACKGROUND

Slim-Fast made its name with meal-replacement shakes. But today it has expanded into a complete weight loss plan complete with an array of products and an organized weight loss plan.

By lending convenience and simplicity to its dieters lives, it has grown its product offering to include bars, snacks, smoothies, as well as a meal plan called Slim-Fast Optima, which provides a healthy combination of complex carbs, protein and healthier fats. For those watching their carb intake, there is a low-carb option and a low-sugar option.

The Slim-Fast plan offers 100 percent of the nutrients your body requires and typically has women consuming 1,200 calories daily. Weight loss is supported by the low-caloric intake. The Slim-Fast plan allows you to use both their products and your choice of nutritious foods to promote healthy weight loss.

Slim-Fast outlines a four-step approach to weight loss: Portion control, sensible eating, regular physical activity, and support.

By sticking to the plan, you can lose 10% of your body weight in the first six months at a rate of one to two pounds a week.

PRO
  • Convenience of food products for people on the go
  • Variety of flavors to choose from
  • Realize actual weight loss
  • Calorie intake isn't unsafe
  • Named #3 in the Best Commercial Diets by US News, 2011
CON
  • As with all packaged food plans, the cost will be more than if you prepare all of your own meals
  • Contains aspartame
DIET and NUTRITION

There are a variety of ways to mix-and-match the Slim-Fast foods with your food choices. The Slim-Fast plan involves six small meals/snacks every day. You are advised to use Slim-Fast products for two meals and one snack daily.

The rest of the day, you're on your own to choose healthy meals when eating out or cooking at home. No calorie counting is necessary and no foods are forbidden; you can still eat your favorites. However, lean protein, fruits, and vegetables are emphasized.

Their meal plan might look like this:

  • Breakfast is a Slim-Fast Smoothie with six ounces of fat-free yogurt.

  • Lunch is a Slim-Fast Shake or Bar, in addition to a whole-wheat english muffin topped with marinara and low-fat mozzarella.

  • Dinner will be your one meal with no more than 500 calories. For dinner, divide your plate in fourths- half should be vegetables, one-quarter protein and one-quarter starch, along with a salad or fruit.

While following the Slim-Fast plan, be sure to drink plenty of water and commit to regular exercise.

EXERCISE

The Slim-Fast website has a thorough exercise support system that you can customize to your needs and desires.

It is recommended that you exercise 30 minutes a day to receive optimal results.

CONCLUSION

Slim-Fast is one of the "veterans" in the prepackaged weight loss solution arena. They're popularly known for their meal replacement shakes, but that doesn't mean you are restricted to a liquid diet. Mix and match their products with regularly prepared healthy food, and busy people like you can find healthy weight loss success.

Common Misspellings

slimfast, slim fast, Slim faster, Slim fast deit, Slimfast deit

SlimFast Video Review

Having trouble viewing? Watch SlimFast Video Review


Related Diets: Cambridge Diet, Slim Fast 321, Slim-Fast, Isopure Shakes, Biggest Loser Protein, Living Lean Smoothie, VF Smoothie


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 6, 117 total comments)

Sylvia

I really loved the dark chocolate fudge but it was discontinued. I have been drinking Slim Fast for years and like it but would love to have my dark chocolate back.

posted Jun 18th, 2008 10:23 am


Mike

I am lactose intolerant so I used to like drinking the soy shakes that you just mix with water but they stopped selling those where I live. I have to settle with the regular chocolate, vanilla and strawberry shakes but they are so good, I don't care about the lactose issues I end up having. The Optima shakes make me so full I feel like I just overate. I don't care if I have to be on a liquid diet, I just want to lose this weight.

posted Jun 15th, 2008 2:33 pm


Jessica

I am actually drinking my first slimfast right now. It taste better than I thought it would. My boyfriend likes to drink them before work. I just don't like the fact it comes in a soup type can. I feel like it makes it seem like it never goes bad. I wish they would find a new way to package the shakes. Other than that I think that its a great option for someone trying to lose some weight.

posted Jun 3rd, 2008 10:28 pm


Debbie

I study nutrition. Believe me . . . the Body Wise skakes are far superior nutritionally to SlimFast. I have clients losing 15 lbs per month. Only 5 carbs, less than 1 gram of sugar, 130 calories per shake. It is great for diabetics, and has no wheat or gluten. Taste is to die for! It is also great for weight maintenance; can be used for a lifetime. I am a good example---16 years on it; 57 years old; no menopausal weight gain! dpowers@bsu.edu

posted Jun 3rd, 2008 1:01 pm


Gill

Slim Fast is great! I have been on the plateau for 3 wks. without losing a pound on my fsih & rice diet, so I decided to go for the Slim Fast plan. I'm out of the plateau and already lost 2 lbs. on the first day. More pounds shedding are expected. But when is your webite coming up again?? It's been a month now that it's out of service!!

posted May 31st, 2008 4:50 pm


Alicia

I've just started this diet and I'll just tell you that the strawberry one, I thought, was nasty! I was skeptical to try another, but tried the royal chocolate shake. It is DELICIOUS! I'm not much of a chocolate milk kinda person, but it's tasty. Can't say that I've lost weight from it yet, but I just started it so I can't say to much.

posted May 30th, 2008 8:40 am


Jewel

I have been doing the slim fast shakes but make a smoothie with it. In a blender I add a few strawberries, crushed ice, sugarfree lemonade, along with a banana. It keeps me full for several hours. I have lost five pounds since I started two weeks ago in addition to my walking.

posted May 24th, 2008 9:20 pm


kate

i started yesterday, seem to be going rather well. i weigh 10st 13pounds and am 5ft 5. I want to get down to a flat 10st. am going to try this product for 2 weeks and if i havent lost atleast 5 pounds am comming off. i do love my food :( . just keep thinking about the summer and the little clothes, thats what keeps me going. il keep you posted!

posted May 22nd, 2008 11:50 am


Debbie

The Slim Fast shakes are not that healthy---sugar calories!! I found a superior product called Body Wise that tastes SO much better with less than 1 gram of sugar (uses Mung Bean to sweeten). Plus it is loaded with 20 grams of high quality protein, inulin, nutrients, and is VERY filling . They don't advertise so email me at dpowers@bsu.edu and I tell you how to get it.

posted May 19th, 2008 11:50 am


Ashley

If you blend the shakes with ice they fill you up longer and they are more like a shake. Out of all the diets I've tried (which is ALOT) I have been the most successful with Slim Fast

posted May 15th, 2008 9:44 am


n/a

i have been on slim fast now for 2 weeks and have lost 3 " form hips and 2 from waist so im very happy but i am really scared that if i stop the slim fast ill put it all back on, surely the weight can only go back on if you eat junk so i dunno! someone told me you need to basically replace one meal forever to keep the weight off...

posted May 13th, 2008 3:40 pm


Jennifer

Seems like a good diet plan! I think i will try it!

posted May 7th, 2008 9:39 am


Judy

I started the Slim Fast plan 3 weeks ago and have lost 8 pounds. The Rich Chocolate Royale shakes are delicious and satisfy my craving for chocolate. I have about 70 lbs. to lose so their website designed a plan for me that includes small amounts of healthy food with my morning and noon shakes. I love the Banana Nut Muffin bars. I tried the Blueberry Muffin bars but they were too dry. I also like the Crispy Peanut Caramel snack bars. They satisfy my craving for Snickers bars. The products I use are from their Optima line. The website has been down for nearly 2 weeks; don't know what the problem is.

posted May 5th, 2008 8:38 am


Breanne

I have been using the Slim fast shakes for about 5 days to a week now and I am honestly too scared to step on the scale and check my weight, but my pants are bigger on me and I feel better and more sexy than before. So even if I don't loose weight I would like to say that it over all maked you feel better. I usually have one for breakfast, then I will have a snack at lunch and I will drink another one around 2-4pm.

posted May 2nd, 2008 4:14 pm


Tracy

I miss the orange slim fast drink that you used to make!!!

posted May 1st, 2008 4:42 pm


Fat Girl

I have just started using the products that help control hunger and might I say it taste so AWFUL and GROSS that it actually makes you HATE FOOD! I'll keep using it and try to get a bike cuz I need to loose 100lbs. I'm 220lbs and I'm only 14 I'm fat as hell. ~Note this is not one of the freaking fake testomoanials because I loathe those so I just want everyone to know. My email is AlphaNAruto@aol.com

posted Apr 30th, 2008 8:46 pm


C.

I tried Sf before, and I had the shake for breakfast and dinner, with my meal at lunch, has anyone tried this method before with success? I am finding it a bit difficult this time around, and wondering if I should try the method of a shake for breakfast and lunch.

posted Apr 30th, 2008 8:46 pm


megan

i lost 40 lbs in 2 weeks on this diet i love it! i was also going to the gym 3 days a week

posted Apr 30th, 2008 8:46 pm


Lish

Started two days ago, down 3.2 pounds....liking it so far! They don't taste that bad either, I have tasted far worse!

posted Apr 30th, 2008 8:46 pm


Catherine

I purchased the SF products and have been using them in conjunction with healthy foods, such as fruits and vegetables and of course the sensible dinner in the evening. What a great product. Convenient and idiot proof! As with any diet or change of eating habit, it still takes committment, mental reprogramming and the desire to change and become healthy. Slim Fast works if you work it! Good luck!

posted Apr 28th, 2008 1:12 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account