Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

90%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 115 reviews

Phentermine

An FDA approved diet pill for obese patients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1959 FDA approval; available in the 1970s; removed from the market voluntarily in 1997 but still available
  • Founder: Originally sold by King Pharmaceuticals; currently made by several companies
  • Accessibility: Prescription only
  • Diet Type: Appetite suppressant to be taken short-term
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Phentermine is a short-term prescription appetite suppressant that works by stimulating the hypothalamus gland and affecting neurotransmitters in order to decrease your appetite. The hypothalamus gland is the portion of the brain that controls many functions, including your appetite. Combined with proper nutrition and exercise, you can see weight loss results

PRO
  • Phentermine is given under doctor supervision
  • Formulated specifically for the obese
  • Documented success stories
  • Suppresses appetite
  • Short term help to lead you to eat healthy and exercise
  • FDA approved
  • Generic version available which is cheaper than name brand

CON
  • Phentermine has the potential of many serious side effects, including: chest pain, fainting, swelling of feet or lower legs, trouble in breathing, among others
  • Currently available by prescription only
  • Not a long term solution
  • Side effects of dry mouth, blurred vision, constipation
INGREDIENTS
  • Phentermine Hydrochloride (HCL), along with a host of non-active ingredients.
ADMINISTRATION

Your doctor will decide on your dosage and instructions for taking Phentermine when giving you the prescription. The average dose is 30mg of Phentermine per day, but some patients are prescribed to start off with 15mg per day.

DIET and EXERCISE

It is recommended that you incorporate diet and exercise into your plan when taking Phentermine. Phentermine is a drug to be taken only on a short-term basis. After six to 12 weeks, you are advised to discontinue taking Phentermine, and continue with your diet and exercise plan to reach your weight loss goals. Phentermine is only intended to help the obese kick start their weight loss plan while they become used to following a low calorie diet and exercise plan.

CONCLUSION

When you're talking about a prescription weight loss drug, you have a product reserved for people with the most dire of needs. So, obviously this is not for everyone. If you have health problems related to obesity, and you fell you need help in getting some of your weight off, consult your doctor about Phentermine.

Common Misspellings

fentermin, fentermine, phentramine, phenterthin


Related Diets: Adipex-P, Alli, Fedramine, Phenterthin, Phentramine


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 9 of 13, 245 total comments)

Can anyone tell me or let me know about how much this stuff costs at the doctor? Do some insurance companies cover it or do you have to pay the full price for the prescription?

posted Mar 18th, 2010 1:25 pm


valb

Im considering of going to one of them weight loss doctors that it seems like everyone & their grandma is going to recently..so today i was talking about it to a friend & she said that phentermine is what they give you & that it is pretty much a legal form of meth!?I was just wondering how true this is.I have been considering this for a year now but I dont even like taking tylenol,it always scares me that im gonna die from it,yes stupid i know but medicines are somewhat like a phobia to me.So going to a dr & taking something for weight loss certainly worries me.But I am very desperate to lose weight,diets dont do much for me & I dont have the time to always exercise everyday.I am 5'1 and 156 pounds.(yeah i just admited it...i tell ppl i only weight 145 LOL).before kids i was 123,i have two who are 2 & 3 yrs old at the end of my pregnancies with them each i was 173,so considering now i am 156,you can tell i havent lost much weight after them & my youngest is 2 & a half....so Any information would be very helpful to me,thank you,thank you,thank you!

posted Mar 18th, 2010 2:54 am


Brandon

I am 20 years old I have been taking phentremine since dec 4th 09 and three months later it is march 13th I was 400 lbs I have lost 90 lbs and I am down to 310 I have cut out everything bad and no caffeine this pill really works!!!!:)

posted Mar 13th, 2010 2:55 pm


Ashi

I tried phentermine 6 wks ago, I signed up a at a weight loss clinic and they put me on a low fat / low carb diet. I have lost 18 pounds in the past 6 weeks. for a few weeks in the middle I did not lose anything because I did just low carb and not low fat. But now I have a system down.

posted Mar 7th, 2010 9:09 pm


queen54

Hi, the pill is very good to take although some people like my sister it did'nt do anything much for her she was stressed at the time. As for me i'm diabetic 5ft 1in and was 158 pounds, and felt really bad all the time. almost 3 yrs now i lost the weight got down to 114lbs , my sugar was under control and afterwards i maintained. But now it's coming back i'm eating more these days and want to ask for more! 130lbs now and i try not to eat as much but it's hard

posted Feb 14th, 2010 8:46 pm


princess

PLEASE HELP ME !! Like i stated a couple of days ago i have been on this med for 1 month plus water pills and i watch what i eat....but no actual wieght loss....what do i do? should i stay on the pill? I am so depressed and i am ashamed when i go out with my husband and he stares at thin girls...

posted Feb 10th, 2010 4:32 pm


Kirenia

. i start taking this pill on 6/2009, initial weight 208 lbs (5.4'') my weight today 2/10/2010 is 142 lbs. total weight lost 66lbs, (still taking the pill) and i need to go for 7 more lbs to reach my goal lbs and BMI, my advice to those out there is that it really works , but I do watch what eat,(which is totally hard for me to do, because I come from a Cuban family and we love to eat believe me) i am taking the pill and doing the weight watcher diet too, and no exercise i hate doing it.. i feel great and i recommend this pill to anyone that wants to lose weight and look great!

posted Feb 10th, 2010 12:10 pm


MDN

Any Help would be great! We lost our health Ins (husband lost job & I dont get Ins where I work) and the doctor we were seeing has now left the practice. I live in WI and really want to know if anyone can suggest a doctor that will prescribe Phentermine in my area. Or if any of the so called "phentermine" without prescriptions on the web are legit. I am 5'4" 33 years old and now weighing 153 pounds. My BMI is around 28 %. Im a very picky eater so its nearly impossible for me to eat healthy. I look and feel best around 120-125 pounds and nothing has gottem rid of the weight. I have an elliptical and Wii Fit that i use (although not consistanly) and I dont eat tons of junk. My metabolism has just changed alot since I turned 30. feel free to email me too!

posted Feb 9th, 2010 1:34 pm


princess

Can some one help me !! I started taking the pills on January 4, 2010 and weight myself in at 174 today one month later i am at 170...i am so sad and want to give up. I see every ones story and i am not successful. What am i doing wrong? please help

posted Feb 1st, 2010 12:38 pm


Angela

Today is my first day of taking Phen. I take the 30mg once a day. I have had anxiety the past 5 years of my life and was VERY anxious to take this medicine. I do not like ANYTHING that makes me feel like im not incontrol. I must say that i was so scared to take it, but decided to do it today since i didnt have to work. at first, i got somewhat of a 'head rush'. It didnt last long. Then i just became kind of nervous and anxious. It did make me not want to eat, although i did a little. I really wanna keep taking it because i really think it can work, and i need it to work. I only need to lose about 25 lbs...but i have insulin issues. Will the side effects go away soon?? Should i stick it out and just do it?? Or should i contact my dr and ask to be switched?? How long should i give it before i decide what is right for me?? Please respond back.....Thanks so much!

posted Jan 31st, 2010 11:39 pm


Angela

Today is my first day of taking Phen. I take the 30mg once a day. I have had anxiety the past 5 years of my life and was VERY anxious to take this medicine. I do not like ANYTHING that makes me feel like im not incontrol. I must say that i was so scared to take it, but decided to do it today since i didnt have to work. at first, i got somewhat of a 'head rush'. It didnt last long. Then i just became kind of nervous and anxious. I really wanna keep taking it because i really think it can work, and i need it to work. I only need to lose about 25 lbs...but i have insulin issues. Will the side effects go away soon?? Should i stick it out and just do it?? Or should i contact my dr and ask to be switched?? How long should i give it before i decide what is right for me?? Please respond back.....Thanks so much!

posted Jan 31st, 2010 11:37 pm


Jenny F

So far I like it lost 7lbs. My first week drink massive amounts of water and light excercise moderate diet .... at first it didn't do much but now it has going to begin a harder excercise regimin. Im slighty happy thought =).

Sw: 225.8
Cw: 219.6
Gw: 150-160
1st weeeeek!

posted Jan 30th, 2010 4:03 am


Trisha

This pill really works. I purchased it thru and gave me a favorable result. Take it with balanced diet and proper exercise.

posted Jan 29th, 2010 1:56 am


Shawna

I love this pill. Its crazy how different you feel about food when you take it. I went to chillies last night and normaly i would get chicken fingers and french fries and last night i got a turkey sandwish and didnt eat any of the fries. And I was full. Im so happy with my results. im 225lbs and i know this is bad but somtimes i forget about eating and what 225lb person do you know that forgets about eating lunch. this pill is great i would recoment it to anyone.

posted Jan 25th, 2010 9:59 am


Amy

I am 40 years old and I have 30lbs to lose... I have had thyroid cancer, I have Fibromyalgia and I also have (Systemic) Lupus which may/may not be responsible for my high blood pressure. I really need to lose 30lbs. My dr prescribed Phentermine and I have had NO weight loss at all. The only difference is my heart seems to race on occasion but ZERO on the weight loss. My ins co does not pay for this either so I feel this was a total waste of money.

posted Jan 24th, 2010 6:28 pm


Jenny F.

I just started on phentermine today. I go to a weight control clinic and I amd taking the white pill with the blue speckles I believe is 37.5mg. I've been drinking a lot of water this week knowing I was going to start with this pill. So far I got a little dizzy a few times nothing major I don't feel any change or appetite supression but is too early to tell im kind of scared I thought I was going to be full and not hungry at all. I hope it really works for me im really young and I always had a nice body and withing a short frame I gained a lot weight. Which is horrible!
Height: 5'9
Previous Weight: 170
Current Weight: 225
Goal Weight: 150-160
So I have anywhere from 65-75lbs. too loose. I am also very scared of all these stories I read about people who couldn't keep it off and worse gained more after. Any advice for me on what to do Im really nevous with this whole process ... ???

posted Jan 24th, 2010 5:16 am


mira

I'm 40 years old mom of 3 years old. A friend recommended this treatment but it was until I read this reviews when I decided to start the program. I started on 01/12/10 with to 246 today is 01/22/10 lost 10 pounds now 236. I read all the side effects and I didn't have any of them. Thanks GOD! Because I was a little concern about this, but as today I sleep well and my mood still the same. I'm doing what the Dr. told me, change my diet, drink water, and trying to exercise as much as I can. Still a long trip to achieve my goal but I will keep trying. I hope this comment will help you like others here help me to make my decision.

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 5:35 pm


manilyn

Phenthermine really works.. You lose weight fast. Im very happy with this product. I got this from

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 9:19 am


erlyn

tried phentermine through medsheaven.com a month ago and noticed that it really works with me...

posted Jan 14th, 2010 4:41 am


HEATHER

STARTED 12/29/09 @ 230 AND 1/10/09 218

posted Jan 11th, 2010 2:59 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account