Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

90%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 115 reviews

Phentermine

An FDA approved diet pill for obese patients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1959 FDA approval; available in the 1970s; removed from the market voluntarily in 1997 but still available
  • Founder: Originally sold by King Pharmaceuticals; currently made by several companies
  • Accessibility: Prescription only
  • Diet Type: Appetite suppressant to be taken short-term
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Phentermine is a short-term prescription appetite suppressant that works by stimulating the hypothalamus gland and affecting neurotransmitters in order to decrease your appetite. The hypothalamus gland is the portion of the brain that controls many functions, including your appetite. Combined with proper nutrition and exercise, you can see weight loss results

PRO
  • Phentermine is given under doctor supervision
  • Formulated specifically for the obese
  • Documented success stories
  • Suppresses appetite
  • Short term help to lead you to eat healthy and exercise
  • FDA approved
  • Generic version available which is cheaper than name brand

CON
  • Phentermine has the potential of many serious side effects, including: chest pain, fainting, swelling of feet or lower legs, trouble in breathing, among others
  • Currently available by prescription only
  • Not a long term solution
  • Side effects of dry mouth, blurred vision, constipation
INGREDIENTS
  • Phentermine Hydrochloride (HCL), along with a host of non-active ingredients.
ADMINISTRATION

Your doctor will decide on your dosage and instructions for taking Phentermine when giving you the prescription. The average dose is 30mg of Phentermine per day, but some patients are prescribed to start off with 15mg per day.

DIET and EXERCISE

It is recommended that you incorporate diet and exercise into your plan when taking Phentermine. Phentermine is a drug to be taken only on a short-term basis. After six to 12 weeks, you are advised to discontinue taking Phentermine, and continue with your diet and exercise plan to reach your weight loss goals. Phentermine is only intended to help the obese kick start their weight loss plan while they become used to following a low calorie diet and exercise plan.

CONCLUSION

When you're talking about a prescription weight loss drug, you have a product reserved for people with the most dire of needs. So, obviously this is not for everyone. If you have health problems related to obesity, and you fell you need help in getting some of your weight off, consult your doctor about Phentermine.

Common Misspellings

fentermin, fentermine, phentramine, phenterthin


Related Diets: Adipex-P, Alli, Fedramine, Phenterthin, Phentramine


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 13, 245 total comments)

Cori

I just started takeing this that the doctor gave me . but im not to sure what all to eat . if anyone has a way of emailing me a food plan i would really like it . i did take this pill 6 months ago for a month and i lost 5 bls but that was it and the doctor told me that he want to keep me on it now for 6 months and see how it does. but i need help finding the rite foods to eat . its hard when you have young kids and all they want is junk food and wont eat what i cook that is healthy . :) you can email me and let me now i would greatly help me out. good luck to everyone that is doing this and have fun. hannah_cori@hotmail.com

posted Jun 13th, 2010 11:01 am


amy

I took phen for about 3 months and lost 30 pounds. the moment i got off of it i gained even more than what i was before. I was 129 getting off of it and that was less than a year ago. now i'm at 173. i will never take phen again

posted Jun 10th, 2010 1:32 pm


kmcg

I would like to say that I started on this 8 months ago. My starting weight was 268 and I am 5' 8". I have lost 75 pounds during that 8 months. I feel 100% better, and do not have the bad self image I used to. I would like to lose down to 160 and feel that is approriate for my age, height, and the fact that I hvae 4 children. Let me clarify that I have not been on the meds for the whole 8 months... actually havent taken them the past 2 months and have continued to lose the weight. Not only did it help boost me into the weight loss, but I have extra special people there backing me up the whole way. I have just over 30 more to lose and feel like I have a new appreciation for food. You dont live to eat... you eat to live!!! Therefor, make wise choices and think lean protein, fruits, veggies, and WATER!!!!!!! Best of luck to all!!!

posted Jun 8th, 2010 9:01 am


Joie

I started taking the 30 mg pill on May 14 2010 I weighed in at 203 I'm 29 yrs old and 5'3 I have been following a low calorie diet and exercise 30 min a day 4 days a week. I don't eat after 7 pm and I watch my portion being on this pill makes that really easy since I'm hardly hungry. I lost 7 lbs my 1st week and today June 6 2010 I weighed in at 180 lbs !!! That's 23 lbs lost so far in just over 3 weeks. I still have 40 more lbs that I would like to lose but so far I am amazed!! I feel great and have alot of energy. I would recommend this to anyone who really needs that extra help like I did!!!!

posted Jun 7th, 2010 2:51 am


yo-yo dieter

I was loving it at first, after about 5 days on half a pill, I could tell the effect wore off after a couple hours. I started taking the 37.5 mg once a day early in the morning, again it worked for about 3 days and after that I was still hungry, and did not get that energy rush. I have stopped taking them. I will not put a drug into my body if it has no effect on me. I will go back to trying to eat right and get active...I love to dance so I'll be tearing up the dance floor (in my bedroom) burning extra calories and eating more fruits, and trying to take in smaller portions. I've lost weight before without drugs, so I don't even understand what made me want to take this, I guess I was just being LAZY. I wish you all luck, but not for me and even thougI did lose 5 pounds, I gained 8 after I stopped the pills.

I would tell you to find out what you love to do, and do lots of it, get moving, and eat every few hours to keep your metabolism going. After I had my 2nd daughter I weighed in at 260, by the time she was 1 I was down to 160. My daughter is now 8 and when she was 7 I hit 204, dropped down to 176 in about a year, just doing the right things. I'm back up to 195, it is really frustrating and I know that I have to make a lifestyle change if I want to keep it off!

Best of Luck to you all!

posted Jun 1st, 2010 4:46 pm


madagon

i never thought that i would wake up one day and not want to have pancakes for breakfast!! phen is changing my life, iv tride every diet and magic pill, but this is different. i am an extreme over eater and now i have to force myself to eat, i have more energy for the gym and to carry on with my day. phen is time released so its not like other hunger suppresents that stop working at night and make eat the house before bed. i love it, GO FOR IT

posted May 27th, 2010 3:35 pm


lee

i have a hypothyroid problem and take a daily pill to help is this diet pill safe to mix any info would be great

posted May 25th, 2010 3:03 am


pam

Folks, I have read several of the posts here - do not take a pill to lose weight if you are not exercising and eating right - go get help it you dont know how. If you cant afford help, walking 30 mins a day is free and you'll be amazed at what it will do for you. If you dont change your habits, you may lose weight on this pill, but I promise you - it will come back - there is plenty of information at your fingertips for learning to eat better. Good Luck!

posted May 19th, 2010 1:45 pm


yo-yo dieter

for those of you who have not seen any results...you are probably not eating! I used to exercise like crazy and could not loose weight, then I started having something to eat first thing in the morning, and then ate something "small" not necessarily healthy but a snack like every 2 hours, stopped eating 2 hours before I went to bed and every week I was loosing 5 pounds. I don't know what happened to me, Iost motivation and now my doctor prescribed 37.5 mg phen...I know this is exactly what I need to get me back on track I am currently 5ft 8in. weighed this morning 192 it's my third day on the pills and I started at 195. You have to EAT and chug down the water!!! I go to curves at least 3x's a week and hopefully I can reach a normal weight of about 160.

I have insurance and it DOES NOT COVER THIS MEDICATION, I PAY 27.99 FOR A 30 DAY SUPPLY AT TARGET!!!

It is not too expensive for those who were wanting to know.

posted Apr 30th, 2010 4:40 pm


Crystal

i started taking the phentrmine 37.5 yesterday and i have to make myself eat and i got lots of energy

posted Apr 23rd, 2010 11:36 pm



Roni82

I love phentermine. I have only been on it 2 weeks and have lost 8lbs. I don't have any side affects, the first day I was jittery and that's it. I sleep like a baby at night, I don't have increased energy but I'm also not sluggish. It does decrease my appetite but my doc said I must eat 3x a day so I make sure I do I exercise 3x a week just a brisk walk or jog around my neighborhood. If I snack its an apple or an orange. I don't count carbs or calories, I just make healthy choices and have not had any fries, chips, or ice cream. Its a lifestyle change I eat rice and pork ..but I'm conscious of my portions. If you want to put in work go for it! If you want a quick fix be prepared to gain it all back once you stop phen. Good Luck!

posted Apr 23rd, 2010 4:10 am



Renee Ingram

Today is my first day taking phentermine and I still feel hungry. Is this drug supposed to take a few days to kick in?

posted Apr 12th, 2010 6:49 pm


Mandy P

I have read a significant portion of these stories that people post. Let me say someting...if you look up Adipex or Phentermine on any website, it is for clinically OBESE people. It says that right in the top portion of these post pages. People who weigh 125lbs and are trying to lose 15 lbs taking diet pills are out of their minds. YOU ARE NOT OBESE! And you are upset that these pills aren't working for you, that amazes me... However, Good luck to all! I just started on them, and believe me, i've seen them work on my friend. Let's see what happens for me...

posted Apr 8th, 2010 2:37 pm


brittany

I started taking Phentermine (37.5 mg) once a day this week. It is Day 4 and I have lost 6 pounds. This is very exciting for me. I already exercise three - four times a week for 30 minutes walking on the treadmill, but I wasn't losing any weight. After my twins were born I couldn't lose the baby weight as easily as my first son, and once I hit 30 it just got harder. Phentermine seems to give me lots of energy and definitely helps reduce my appetite. I would like to lose 40 lbs. My current weight is 203 and my goal weight is160. Wish me luck!

posted Apr 8th, 2010 1:07 pm


Tiffany Wilson

Hello All,

I've been on phentermine 37.5 mg for approx. 1 week now. When I began the pill I was 215lbs. But, before I had the baby I was 187 and before I met my spouse I was 176lbs.So, I really want to get back to that size. The first day of me taking the pill,I did get a rush but I still continued to take the pill. After that first day the side affect went away. But trust me if you do have side affects and they don't go away.....DO NOT CONTINUE TO TAKE THE PILL. If you've been taking the pill and you are not seeing results DISCONTINUE THE PILL, IT MAY NOT BE FOR YOU. I know have lost 5 pounds in a week but have not been working out like I should. I do need to tone up if the weight is coming. Now, I don't take the whole pill because I did contact my doctor and she does not recommend me taking the whole pill, and I do trust her.

So hopefully, I can continue to give you guy positive updates. I have 40lbs to go :)

posted Apr 8th, 2010 9:39 am


Jessica

I have been taking phentermine for 4 days in combo with a lipoinjection and b12 shot and I have lost about 7LBS. I just had my 4th baby 5 weeks ago and was already at my per-pregnancy weight of 134 but still 15-20LBS short of my goal. I'm 5 foot even and prior to kids 115-120 was my normal weight and goal that I haven't been at for 7 years. But i'm positive that the pill and my diet will get me where I want to.

posted Apr 7th, 2010 9:34 am


ggb123

Hi I started on my 1000 calories a day diet with phen. around Jan 20 - I have lost 27 pounds. The first two weeks I lost 10 pds quick now its more like 3 pds every 2 to 3 weeks - I never imagined seeing my old shape again and I wore a bikini for the first time in public since 97 .. :) Go for it .. worth the results.

posted Apr 6th, 2010 8:12 pm


Amy Paige

Well, I had tried this stuff once before a few years ago and hated the way it made me feel. It had the opposite effect on me at that time for some reason. I was groggy, and sleepy and very moody... needless to say I stopped taking it. Well, 1 week ago tomorrow I was re-prescribed to it, and have lost 8 lbs. my first week. But, I will say that before I started taking this pill last week I had already been working out at the gym and eating right which helped me to lose 30 lbs. on my own. But then I got stuck around 206 and wasn't going down, so I went to the doctor for a little boost. I got under 200 lbs and that was a boost in itself!!!! I have not been sleeping good at all though, and today the lack of sleep really hit me. I am considering going back down to half a pill because I have a low tolerance. Good luck everyone. This pill helps nicely, but remember that it is not magic. You must eat right and exercise. If you lose a ton of weight witout excercise, you will be loose and baggy... !

posted Apr 5th, 2010 10:51 pm


Maya

Hey i have been taking phentermine for less than a week and i have lost 8 pounds so far. But prior to this like 4 months go i had been on it and had been on it for 2 months and in those months i manage to lose 40 pounds.....that was with diet and excerise. i took this rout because im only 21 and 5'2'' and i gained 60 pound while pregnant and ended up at 247lb. After the baby i got down to 199. i say in like 2 months i was back to where i started and i knew it was because i have this appetite thats never ending. But thanks to this medication im on the road to a healthier and happier life. so i reconmend this to anyone who has tried everything out there and still is having problems. it works....and it works 10 times better if you eat right when you eat and excerise. i purchased a step down program of p90x. well its not really a step down program less intense version and it works. But im about to now purchase the flex belt to help out with tighing everything up. imma use it while working out they say you get more results that way. Anyway i curently weigh 208 and i swear and not to god but swear by the end of next month im going to be weighing 180. thats my goal but hopefully less than that!!!!!

posted Mar 29th, 2010 1:08 pm


JeannieK

Hi have been taking phentermine for 2 weeks and lost 10 LBs...The first few days of taking I was really speeding and had a hard time falling asleep. I took a 1/2 on day 3 and it worked very well! I felt normal, just not hungry! Drink lot's of water and try to make better food choices...I am very excited and this really helps me to stay motivated because of the results are a reward! When I want to eat something "bad" i say to myself..that is not going to taste as good as being thin feels"" Good luck! Lets get healthy and lean!

posted Mar 27th, 2010 4:44 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account