Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

90%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 115 reviews

Phentermine

An FDA approved diet pill for obese patients.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1959 FDA approval; available in the 1970s; removed from the market voluntarily in 1997 but still available
  • Founder: Originally sold by King Pharmaceuticals; currently made by several companies
  • Accessibility: Prescription only
  • Diet Type: Appetite suppressant to be taken short-term
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

Phentermine is a short-term prescription appetite suppressant that works by stimulating the hypothalamus gland and affecting neurotransmitters in order to decrease your appetite. The hypothalamus gland is the portion of the brain that controls many functions, including your appetite. Combined with proper nutrition and exercise, you can see weight loss results

PRO
  • Phentermine is given under doctor supervision
  • Formulated specifically for the obese
  • Documented success stories
  • Suppresses appetite
  • Short term help to lead you to eat healthy and exercise
  • FDA approved
  • Generic version available which is cheaper than name brand

CON
  • Phentermine has the potential of many serious side effects, including: chest pain, fainting, swelling of feet or lower legs, trouble in breathing, among others
  • Currently available by prescription only
  • Not a long term solution
  • Side effects of dry mouth, blurred vision, constipation
INGREDIENTS
  • Phentermine Hydrochloride (HCL), along with a host of non-active ingredients.
ADMINISTRATION

Your doctor will decide on your dosage and instructions for taking Phentermine when giving you the prescription. The average dose is 30mg of Phentermine per day, but some patients are prescribed to start off with 15mg per day.

DIET and EXERCISE

It is recommended that you incorporate diet and exercise into your plan when taking Phentermine. Phentermine is a drug to be taken only on a short-term basis. After six to 12 weeks, you are advised to discontinue taking Phentermine, and continue with your diet and exercise plan to reach your weight loss goals. Phentermine is only intended to help the obese kick start their weight loss plan while they become used to following a low calorie diet and exercise plan.

CONCLUSION

When you're talking about a prescription weight loss drug, you have a product reserved for people with the most dire of needs. So, obviously this is not for everyone. If you have health problems related to obesity, and you fell you need help in getting some of your weight off, consult your doctor about Phentermine.

Common Misspellings

fentermin, fentermine, phentramine, phenterthin


Related Diets: Adipex-P, Alli, Fedramine, Phenterthin, Phentramine


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 10 of 13, 245 total comments)

Danielle325i

Does anybody kno a Doctor in Michigan that prescribes phentermine. My doctor says the whold hospital he's under does not allow them to prescribe phentermine because it damages the lungs.

posted Dec 5th, 2009 10:22 am


amber

my name is amber i am 20 years old 5'11 and weigh 472 pounds i have tried everything from stackers to lipozene to diet and exercise starvation nothing works im skeptical about phentermine but i mean does anyone have medicare that could possibly get it for my and i can pay half price for it

posted Nov 15th, 2009 11:40 pm


Meg

My mom and I both just started on this pill. Her beginning stats are 59yo, 5'2" and 172 llbs. My stats are, 34yo, 5'6" and 275 lbs. In her first week, she lost 6 pounds. My first week is up this week and I know Ive lost SOMETHING. Our doctor has us both on a very low-calorie diet, low-carb diet as well as Prozac to help combat the moody side effects (and it also is used for appetite suppression). So far, I love this pill! Never in my whole adult life have I ever NOT thought about food. With this pill, I literally dont think about it. Ive always been a sweet eater, and an emotional eater. But I havent once craved a sweet or ate without purpose. Its amazing! My mouth is a little dry, but that just reminds me to drink. I havent noticed rapid heartbeat, sleeplessness or any constipation. I think Im definitely going to be able to use this pill to drop a good chunk of weight. This pill really does help!

posted Nov 15th, 2009 3:09 pm


Lyndsey

I was prescribed Phentermine 37.5 a week ago and have lost a total of 11.5lbs i love it! It gives me energy and results!!! I eat healthy foods now and want to excersie (and i use to HATE HATE excersieing but now i really enjoy it) i walked 4 miles yesterday. I normally couldnt go that far!!!! My husband started the pill 3 days after me and has lost 10lbs!!!! (men lose weight alot quicker than women) that sucks but he feels wonderful too. When he is at work he works ten times harder and better. The bosses are excited! (Crane oper...) Also i my sister got a perscription too. she has had lap ban surgery and she has lost 3 lbs in 3 days. Lap ban did not help her lose as much weight as she would have liked and she still weighed around 290 after the surgery but now she is excerseing with me everyday!! Im soo happy because for once she is really happy that she is seeing results! i have had no nasty side effects i love waking up in the morning and am excited about a new day!! Gives me engery to keep up and play with my 19 month old. Now im wearing him out when we play!

posted Nov 11th, 2009 3:32 pm


SomeOne

i just started talking these mines are black and in the first week i lost 10 pound the 2 week i lost 6 in a half pound the third week i lost 3 pounds and this is my 4th week taking them and these pills are the best if u are really trying to loose waight but with these pills u need to eat right and exersize but if your over weight i recommend them to you

posted Oct 25th, 2009 4:53 pm


cristina

i started taking phentermine in october of 2008. by then i was 166 lbs and 5'5..that was the heaviest i has ever been (normally around 145) i tried every diet , eating differently, tons of excersise and NOTHING WORKED. finally i went to see a doctor a friend has recomended and he prescribed me phentermine 37.5. as soon as i started taking them i felt a drastic change in my appetite. sometime i would honestly forget that i had to eat..so i would force myself a piece of pizza. i didnt follow any diet, i ate WHATEVER i wanted. pretty much this pill help you portion control. before i could eat an entire 8 oz cheeseburger with fries and then some, after the pills i ate half of the burger and some of the fries. so it didnt limit me on what i could and could not eat. from october 2008 to about april of 2009 (taking the pills on and off and not needing them everyday or every month) i lost about 35 lbs. since may i have not taken the pills and have been pretty good at keeping the wieght off. like i said it helps you portion control, so when you are off the pills your body is used to a different eating lifestyle and you dont have to starve yourself and miss out on your favorite foods. i recomend this pill to anyone that is having trouble loosing weight. after loosing the weight i feel SO MUCH better about myself, and my attitude , everything has been changed! everyone always asks how i lost it and tell me that i look great!! id say MAYBE ive gain about 5 pounds (IF THAT) since may..but thats mainly my fault for not be carefull and eating HUGE portions. overeating...over the weekend i just refilled the pills again and i hope to loose more weight , not much more...maybe 15 pounds? just so that holidays dont drive me crazy, but yes this pill works! and i recomend it to all!

posted Oct 19th, 2009 11:59 am


DIETQUEEN

It works great while you are taking the pill - but you can't take it forever about 4 months after stopping the pill you'll begin to notice the weight creeping back on - and soon your either back to where you started or have gained even more.

posted Oct 19th, 2009 11:08 am


stephanie

I have used Phentermine for about 2 years and lost about 30lbs at first, but then gained it back plus some. Yes, it does decrease your appetite. Yes, you can lose weight. Yes, it gives you energy. Which are all great factors but on a negative note it causes awful mood swings, increased heart rate, bad headaches (if pill is missed), restless nights and CAN cause returned weight gain.
A person taking this medication must change their eating lifestyle. You can't eat the same foods that got you fat in the first place, stop taking the medication and think you're going to still lose weight or stay the weight you are. You MUST exercise, eat healthier and drink plenty of water.
Once you and your body get used to eating a certain way, i.e. vegetables, fruits, and increasing your water intake and reducing your high fat intake, you can maintain a healthier and smaller weight.
It all comes down to this....don't take a medicine to lose weight!! Eat better and exercise. It's called common sense. Just because you see someone who is "thin" doesn't automatically mean they're healthy. They could be eating McDonalds everyday and be "thin", but their cholesterol, blood pressure and other unseen conditions could be totally unhealthy.

posted Oct 4th, 2009 6:05 pm


letoshar

i lost 8 lbs in 15 days but i could of lost more on friday-sunday i diint take the pills or exercise so i think these pills work i walk 30 min. on my gazzelle and do 100 crunches and leslie sasone video 1 mile walk and eat 1000-1200 cal.
but you have to force yourself to eat.

posted Oct 3rd, 2009 3:38 pm


Lori

I started on 9/29 and have lost 8 pounds already! the full 37.5 mg dosage was keeping me up at night and making me feel just a little too "wired". I took half a pill yesterday. it still squashed my appetite but I was able to sleep last night. Thankfully, cause I was exhausted after three days of 3 hours a night. Im very encouraged. I am 5'9" and started at 189. Goal is 165-160.

posted Oct 3rd, 2009 8:46 am


Janice

From reading the reviews, everyone seems to have success stories. Does anyone know where I can but this without a perscription and which mg to take? I am 4'11 140lbs and I am looking to lose 10 or 20lbs by Nov 1st. I am not so much of a healthy eater, I dip in and out of bad foods from time to time but I only eat twice a day..Help please!!!

posted Oct 2nd, 2009 8:59 am


Diahne

I've been taking this tablet off and on. When I take it, and I maintain my diet, I loose 20 lbs easily. The first week will be slow, but give it a couple of weeks, yo will see the results. Make sure to excercise, and drink plenty of water. I like it because it works, and its FDA approved.

posted Sep 15th, 2009 10:02 pm


A.C.

Phentermine will definitley get the pounds off. I was 260 pounds when I started and i dropped down to 200 pounds in about 5 to 6 months. I did not stay on the pills consistently. It was actually every other month. Whil undoubtedly losing weight, my mood is involuntarily bland sometimes irritable, I have had major headaches, My heart rate is too fast at times, my throat has been dry, and my blood pressure while on this medication was rocketed very high. Ive never had a high blood pressure untli phentermine. I am now off of it, I had an appointment with my regular doctor and my blood pressure when taken from a nurse was excellent. I have gained about 20 pounds since Ive been off. You ABSOLUTLEY have to change your eating habits while using this drug and after using this drug or you will not pleased with your body type

posted Aug 26th, 2009 5:43 pm


Louisa

I started this pill on aug19,2009 and today is aug25 and i lost 6.5 lbs wow am all so drinking a lot of water/lemon and it
and mostly soups and grill chicken am not hungry all the time i have the 37.5mg but i only take half of the blue and white pill i helps me fell normal just not hungry.

posted Aug 26th, 2009 1:04 am



Chibogu Onochie

I just started using phentermine on 8-18-2009 and I was at 256.4 and now i am at 247 and todays date is 8-25-2009. I was not working out the first two days and now I am. I feel that the weight training that I am doing is slowing my weight loss or do I feel like that because weights make you gain weight muscles so I actually am loosing more than I think. I am not hungry and when I do eat I eat very healthy.

posted Aug 25th, 2009 12:11 pm


suey

I am 5' and was at 144 - 148lbs after having my daughter. That weight fluctuated for 2 years. I was really depress about my weight and seriously had no time w/ being a full time mommy, employee, and student. I would say I'd tried a few diet pills and lost a few as 2-3lbs here and there. Then for a while my weight remained at 132-135. Finally a friend told me about Phentermine, I started taking that in May 2009. I started off on the scale at 132lbs and my goal was to go back to 110lb or at least 115lb. I was really skeptical about taking this pill, so in the waiting room I'd asked a few women about their results and so on. One lady told me she lost 15lbs the first month. WOW, I thought if I could lose 15lbs the first month, I'll quit and not have to take any pills and seriously try to maintain my weight from there on out. Well since then I've lost only 11lbs total. I lost 6lbs the first month in May. I was excercising daily for 30mins a day for 2 wks, I lost 0 lbs and was really, really disappointed. I watched everything I ate too. But the next week I stopped excerising and ate whatever I wanted, small portions and I lost 4lbs. The next week was my first weigh in June and I lost another 2 lbs, so I was at 126lbs.

During my visit in June I got my second set of pills for 30 days and I haven't been back since. But we have a weight watchers scale at work and as of today, Aug. 12, 2009 I am at 121lbs. This pill has helped me a lot but not enough. And for about a week now I've been having chest pain and having short breath. So I stopped taking it and hoping to maintain my weight and actually lose more. I don't know what I was doing wrong? I know everything works differently b/c everyones body are different.........but I was really wishing and hoping that this would had been the pill to really do it for me. No more taking pills for me....at least for a while.

Best of luck to everyone and I'll pray that everyone the best of luck and good health through it all.

posted Aug 12th, 2009 1:00 pm


veronica

I have been on the pill for 30 days i have lost 20 lbs .....I love the pill it has helped so much..I eat healthier now and am going on 45 min speed walks everynight..I feel like a new woman with awhole lot more energy, I thought maybe something was wrong with me since I had such low energy but i feel healthier and i can see my clothes hangin on me .....I recommend this pill be aware of constipation and blurry vision......

posted Jul 30th, 2009 12:02 am


Lia

I have just started on phentermine tablets. With only 1/2 tablet once daily, I'm down three pounds in three days.

I'm shocked and hopeful with the results thus far. My frustration is that I enjoy exercise and am nowhere near a junk food junky, and yet my weight as slowly climbed over the last few years.

I believe that while I grab healthy things, it simply too much grazing. Phentermine has really put a stop to that habit.
I am 5'2" and 170 lbs.

posted Jul 27th, 2009 11:21 am


Amanda

I have been taking Phentermine for less than a week and have already lost 10 pounds. I am 5'10 and weighed 300 lbs the day i started taking it. I absolutely love this pill. I don't even think about food anymore. I have not yet exercised, but I do plan on doing so.

I did nutrisystem for 8 months with fantastic results, but the day I went off of it I started gaining weight back. I was not even eating a whole lot of food.

Anyways, I defiantly reccomend this to anyone who is thinking about giving it a try.

posted Jul 20th, 2009 1:43 pm


Trucker

My Dr. told me that @ 33 years old, 300+lbs, after many diet attempts, high blood pressure, and starting a new job as a truck driver that she did not like to prescribe pills for diets but we would try phentermine on a month-by-month basis. In 30 days I lost aprx 30 lbs and loved the results, as I don't eat a lot of bad foods. I just can't control quantities of the foods I do eat and as we all know even good foods at bad quantities are bad for you.
So the first month worked out great. I took the pill with my blood pressure pill and a one a day vitamin and was very impressed. I could eat two breakfast bars for breakfast instead of a large bowl of cereal, a tuna sandwich on wheat for lunch, and not be very hungry for dinner. I would eat something small like a half a sandwich for dinner.
But when I was on the road I could not get back to my Dr and she would not prescribe over the phone. I lost all momentum with my diet and have gained back 4 lbs. I am now home and have an apt set up. But I have to say I can't change my new profession and my Dr is not very flexible. I may have to buy them on line. I have seen plenty of sites. Does anyone know if they are legitimate or not?

posted Jul 20th, 2009 5:48 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account