Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 124 reviews

Leptopril Review: Does it Work?

Here's a weight loss supplement not unlike many others, but at a generic price.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
What is it?

Leptopril is a weight loss pill made specifically for people who are overweight. It’s a anorectic that is used not just for people looking to lose 5 or 6 pounds, it’s meant for those with excess body fat.

It’s strictly made for people who are around 20 pounds overweight, and it’s made to increase energy and provide long lasting results. Results are made to come within weeks. This brand is meant to be taken by healthy people who don’t have any sensitivity to stimulants. In this comprehensive review you’ll learn about customer experiences, the potency of ingredients, and many other important details.To see which diet pills made it to the top 10, click here.

Do You Know the Best Weight Loss Pills of 2016?

Leptopril Ingredients and Side Effects

Green Coffee Bean (45% Chlorogenic Acids)


Schizonepeta Tenuifolia SE

Rhodiola Rosea








Green Tea Leaf SE

Forsythia Suspensa Vahl SE

Coleus Forskohlii Root SE

Rice Flour

Magnesium Stearate


Silicon Dioxide

FD&C Blue #1

FD&C Red #40

Titanium Dioxide




Green Coffee Bean (45% Chlorogenic Acids): Unroasted coffee beans which contain a higher amount of chlorogenic acids than regular coffee.

Chlorogenic acid is used to help raise metabolism and control blood sugar.  Due to its added caffeine, it may cause side effects that can include:

  • Insomnia, fatigue, and restlessness.
  • Mood swings, anxiety, and ill feelings.
  • Rapid heart rate, agitation, and headaches.
  • Jitters, cold sweats, and seizure.

The Federal Trade Commission has also fined companies who make false weight loss claims about the effectiveness of this ingredient.  It’s likely the only reason for a possible weight loss effect is due to the caffeine.

Trimethylxanthine: The chemical name for caffeine, a common stimulant found in foods which raises metabolism, energy, and mental focus.

Leptopril has a total of 440 mg of caffeine per daily serving.  This exceeds the recommended daily allowance for safe effects from caffeine. This can potentially increase the risk for:

  •  Headaches, migraines, and pounding in the head.
  •  Rapid heart rate, cardiovascukar problems, and agitation.
  •  Pain in the chest, sweating , and tremors.

Caffeine is used for weight loss due to its effects on metabolism; however, this effect does not last long. Examine.com adds:

“Habitual caffeine use leads to tolerance. This means the effects of caffeine will be diminished, often to the point where the only benefit a user experiences is caffenei’s anti-sleep effect”

Also, since there’s 440 mg of caffeine, it may have a high risk for side effects. Certain people may need much less in order to experience unwanted symptoms.

Schizonepeta Tenuifolia SE: Plant used to help with treating skin issues, and improving against allergic reactions.  High doses of it are known to damage the liver.

Rhodiola Rosea: Plant used to help regulate the heart, and to help learning and memory. Though Web MD adds:

“none of these effects have been studied in humans”

“potential side effects of rhodiola are not known”

There have also been issues with contamination and supplements not containing accurate listed amounts of this ingredient.

Green Tea Leaf SE: Known as Camelia sinensis, it’s a common tea used due to its caffeine and antioxidant effects.

The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health adds:

“There have been some case reports of liver problems in people taking concentrated green tea extracts”

There have also been issues with the lack of weight loss, the same group adds:

“There are not enough reliable data to determine whether green tea can aid in weight loss”

It’s believed the only reason why it might affect weight is due to its caffeine. Though as mentioned in the “Caffeine” section, this is not a long lasting effect, and it may cause several unwanted side effects.

There have also been several issues with organ damage caused by extracts of green tea.

Forsythia Suspensa Vahl SE: This plant is used to help reduce inflammation. Web MD adds:

“It is not known if forsythia is safe when taken by mouth”

It’s also unknown if this ingredient is effective for any health benefits.

Coleus Forskohlii Root SE: Herb used to raise testosterone and fat loss. Though Examine.com adds:

“still being researched from its effects on testosterone and fat loss, but preliminary evidence is promising”

Therefore, it’s not yet proven to be safe and effective. There’s also issue with it raising testosterone, as this may be an unwanted effect for women.

L-Methionine: Amino acid found in food that is used to help with important body functions.

Though it’s not advised to get this ingredient in amounts found in supplements, Web MD adds:

“POSSIBLY UNSAFE to self-medicate with methionine if you use large amounts”

It can potentially cause brain damage and even death.

L-Glutamine: This amino acid is found enough in foods, though vegans and vegetarians might need to supplement with it.

Since it’s found in most foods, it’s unnecessary to supplement with this unless deficient.

FD&C Blue #1: Synthetic dye that is made from petroleum.   It has no nutritional value, and Drug.com adds:

“Toxicity, including death, has been reported only in association with FD&C Blue No.1”

It has no weight loss effect, and is only added to give Leptopril a unique look.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner such as Sletrokor for better results.

Leptopril Quality of Ingredients

The ingredinets in this includes herbs that have either been shown to be innefective, not yet proven, or potentially unsafe.

The other additives include caffeine, green tea leaf, green coffee beans, which are all added due to their stimulant effects. Though these effects have not been proven, they are also potentially unsafe.

Due to the high amount of caffeine, it may be potentially unsafe. It can also be substituted with other cheaper ingredients. This can potentially cause many unwanted symptoms.  A list of the top 10 diet pills are featured if you click here.

The Price and Quality of Leptopril

A one month supply sells for $74.99 when purchased via the manufacturer.

This is particularly expensive for what’s a mixture of heavy caffeine and unproven or potentially unsafe herbs.  The amino acids are also commonly found in many foods, and they’re not necessary.

Due to the potential for serious side effects, this brand is not a very good quality mixture of additives.  There are even 2 forms of added food coloring which have been shown to be potentially unsafe. They’re added not for a nutritional benefit, but to make these pills look a certain way. There are alternative options available via the top 10 list of diet pill supplements.

Business of Leptopril

The company is called Generix Laboratories, LLC. They can be reached via the following customer service contact information:

Phone Number: (800) 538-3017

Address: 5742 Harold Gatty Dr.

                   Salt Lake City, Utah 84116

The National Advertising Division has also petitioned the Federal Trade Commission to check the company for making false advertising claims.

According to the group, the company is making unproven weight loss claims.

A lawsuit by the FDA has also accused the company of adding unproven ingredients to their formulas.

No information is available on whether or not the company honors their money back return policy.  Outside of the 2 complaints, it’s unknown how well the company treats their customers.

EDITOR’S TIP: For the best results, our experts recommend using weight loss pills for at least 3 months. Save your money by buying a few bottles at once.

Customer Opinions of Leptopril

Reviews of this supplement are featured on different online sites. Here are some select reviews:

“Made me felt sick from it. It gave me a rash all over and upset my stomach”

“these diet pulls did nothing for my wife. Not even a placebo type effect”

“I’ve yet to see any results that these supplements claim”

“Did nothing but gave me jitters”

Many people complained about a lack of any effect at all. Some did experience side effects that include headaches, jitters, insomnia, and fatigue.

Overall, the customer experiences are negative. Certain people made sure to add diet and exercise, which the company claims isn’t necessary, and still there was no beneficial weight loss effect. There were concerns from people that this pill was just a stimulant pill, and that it has no benefit for weight loss.

Conclusion - Does Leptopril Work?

Before deciding on Leptopril, it’s important to look at both the quality of ingredients, customer reviews, and the strength of dosage. A full serving has more than the average recommended dosage strength of caffeine. There have also been many customers who failed to see weight loss, but who did experience side effects. The ingredients added are unnecessary amino acids, unproven or potentially unsafe herbs, and caffeine heavy additives.

A better alternative is seen in the 2016 diet pill of the year called Sletrokor. This all natural formula is made with plant extracts for improved mood, appetite suppression, increased metabolism, and other benefits. Testimonials are also offered from satisfied customers who have lost significant amounts of weight. People mention that it not only lived up to their expectations, but that results were noticeable.

Sletrokor is also backed by a full 30 day money back guarantee. If for any reason you want a return, you’re allowed to with no questions asked. To learn more about Sletrokor, you can click here.

How Does Leptopril Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Has Good Appetite Suppressant
  • Has Only Natural Components
  • Contains No Coffee
  • Leptopril
  • 29 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 12, 228 total comments)



I have given this one month to start working..in some ways I felt much better and talking myself into thinking things were working but they never did....I was confronted by family yesterday for being so cranky and mean...the only weight i have lost is in playing wii or other extensive exercise for atleast an hour a day and counting every calorie that i put in my mouth...i think we have to want this enough to really change...and a pill isn't going to do it for us

posted May 5th, 2009 11:39 am


i started taking this yesterday morning i stated out with 1 pill felt and i felt great to day i took 2 before lunch and 2 before dinner i have had no side affects except extra energy which is great got on scales yesterday before i started the diet and was 225lbs tonight 223lbs im 5'10" going for at least a 60 lbs lose i also walk between 2-4 miles a day and have been for 3 month with no real lose so im very happy with this pill

posted Apr 29th, 2009 7:58 pm


Feeling pretty good on it again...not so tired but I am exercising too...I drink alot of water which may be why i don't get all the other side effects but i have inappropriate sinus tachycardia and i have not had any heart racing...I do have some insomnia at nite but i am slowing becoming more productive...I think of it is an aid...I am full much quicker but I eat the right foods (for the most part)...i feel like we have to get self control and start being honest with ourselves....we can do a whole lot more than we give ourselves credit for...i have so many health issues it seems overwhelming but i am running some now....I CAN accomplish this

posted Apr 29th, 2009 6:44 pm


I just started taking Leptropril yesterday and I noticed that my stomach was hurting a little and I was a little lightheaded. Im on day two and I feel the same way as yeaterday except my stomach hurts a little more. Im going to keep trying it though because im about 40 pounds over weight and Im really sensitive to other weight pills.

posted Apr 28th, 2009 5:51 pm



I love these pills. They changed my life. I wear a waist trimmer belt, take these pills, and walk everyday (except Sunday). I've lost inches traumatically. As for weight loss, because I've changed my lifestyle(eating and exercising) I lost 10lbs in 3 days.

posted Apr 27th, 2009 8:08 pm



I have never been able to lose weight easily, I have tried everything and since I work at home I am a boredom eater and feel hungry alot of the time, I started taking Leptopril even though I have issues with a fast heartbeat anyways, I felt wonderful after the first bottle and lost a few inches and 10 pounds and could not believe the energy! I am 37 and started out at 205 when I realized I had to do something about it, I thought it may just be a subconscious thing and not really the pills so I stopped taking them after the first bottle for a week, I was so tired and couldn't eat enough, and of course if you're really hungry you pick bad foods, I felt lethargic and tired and I just went and bought more, I am concerned that I will have to be on these the rest of my life so as not to put the weight back on and since there is not alot of information about it that really concerns me that they may not be safe to take for long periods of time, I also started walking 2 miles a day, my husband cannot get over the shrinking size of my legs and butt and I almost have to force myself to eat so I decided since I have such busy days anyways to try to up my weight loss by doing slim fast during the day with fat free milk, about 2 I start getting a little hungry so I will have a bowl of sugar free cereal with fat free milk and feel great, no more breathing problems or acid reflux. Can someone just tell me if they know if it's dangerous to take this for long periods of time? Good luck everyone.

posted Apr 22nd, 2009 8:39 pm



It's been almost 2 weeks since I have started this diet pill. I have not had any time to exercise because I have finals for college that I have been doing, but will be doing some exercising just as soon as finals are finished! I will be updating about every week, to let everyone know how this is working for me though. I weighed 178.4 when I started this diet, and I now weigh 181.6!! I saw some difference in my actual weight in the first week, but that soon diminished around Easter when I went off of my diet for a few days, but still stayed on the pills. I gained a few pounds, and actually jumped up to 186, but have been losing it again. The major change I have seen is in my body measurements, which I did not previously post, but I have lost a total of 4 1/2 inches off of my body in 2 weeks. I think with a consistant diet and some exercising, this pill will work. I have tried the dieting and exercising alone and haven't gotten anywhere, but now I am losing the weight, slowly, but surely!! I will post again in a week or so.

P.S. I saw somebody ask about the colon cleanse and acai berry... I don't recommend tthat diet! I took it, and you will be in the bathroom most of your days. I lasted 3 days on that diet, and it was definetly not worth it at all. Also, when you stop taking that diet, you get really constipated!

posted Apr 20th, 2009 4:48 pm


I have been dieting and seriously exercising with a personal trainer for the past 3 months. I have lost 18 lbs which is great, but in the past 2 weeks I have only lost a pound so I believe that I have hit a plateau. I started taking these pills today to give me a little boost. I have had no side effects. I just feel normal. I still have 30lbs to lose to arrive at 150. I am 5'10". I'll check back in a few weeks.

posted Apr 18th, 2009 3:06 am



Okay well I'm posting this cuz I'm sure it should be known. I've tried a lot of fads and I NEED to express what I experienced from this pill to warn others. I took only 1 pill at the afternoon of yesterday. I drank in the evening 2 glasses of wine. I had a reaction from the wine and the lone one pill. I was feeling like the street lights were attacking me and I was running from no one. I wasn't drunk it was a reaction from the alcohol and the pill that I took 12 hours earlier. So be very careful if you drink a casual glass of wine after taking this pill. I hope this helps a little

posted Apr 15th, 2009 9:45 am


I just started this today. I am hopeful but I haven't tried a diet pill in a long time. I am sensitive to caffiene after 4pm, can't sleep then. I am changing my eating habits and going to walk a mile a day. I weighed 246 today, and I'm 5'7". I would like to get to 160 eventually. The lowest I've been in the last 10 years was 180. I am 40 years old. I would be pleased with that also. I was wondering if anyone was on it, reached their goal, and what happened when not taking it anymore. Thanks. I have read about Colon Cleanse and taking Acai too, does anyone know if that works?

posted Apr 14th, 2009 6:21 pm



i was taking the pills for about 2 weeks and i could really keep up with my daughter. the only thing is is that it made me sooo tired i slept so heavy i couldnt wake up to my baby my husband had to. i also was jittery and verry parinoid at night. i felt like i was going crazy. i was seeing a little weight loss but not as much as i woul have wanted. i quit.

posted Apr 13th, 2009 7:19 pm


Feeling tired alot on this now...Sluggish...still seeing changes in body and eating habits...feel full faster...having fruity taste in my mouth...sign of ketosis...but no dehydration issues...

posted Apr 9th, 2009 8:19 pm


I am a 23 year old female, 5'4" and weigh 178.4 lbs (weighed myself this morning). After three children and trying everything else, including different diets, different exercise techniques and different diet pills/teas, I am ready to lose weight! I am just starting out on the Leptopril diet and so far, "I'm lovin it". I have an increased energy and feel great with no jitters, headache, bowel problems... Pretty much I just feel great! I have only started taking the pills yesterday and today. With the Leptopril, I am going to count calories (under 1200 per day) and also eat small meals with snacks. I am also continuing exercising, however, as I mentioned I have three kids, so this might be a little difficult!! I have incorporated an all day exercise, which is fun for me and the kids... Hopping instead of walking throughout the house! I will keep everyone updated on my results once a week!!

posted Apr 8th, 2009 4:56 pm


I am a 23 year old female, 5'4" and weigh 178.4 lbs (weighed myself this morning). After three children and trying everything else, including different diets, different exercise techniques and different diet pills/teas, I am ready to lose weight! I am just starting out on the Leptopril diet and so far, "I'm lovin it". I have an increased energy and feel great with no jitters, headache, bowel problems... Pretty much I just feel great! I have only started taking the pills yesterday and today. With the Leptopril, I am going to count calories (under 1200 per day) and also eat small meals with snacks. I am also continuing exercising, however, as I mentioned I have three kids, so this might be a little difficult!! I have incorporated an all day exercise, which is fun for me and the kids... Hopping instead of walking throughout the house! I will keep everyone updated on my results once a week!!

posted Apr 8th, 2009 4:49 pm



I have tried everything...eating healthy, exercise....drinking gallons of water a day...I am finally seeing big changes in my body with leptopril...it is truly a miracle drug for me....I can't do cardio because of breathing problems and I have no thyroid....I am feeling like a million bucks...people are noticing my weight loss....and it has only been a couple of weeks....other than feeling like i gotta go pretty quickly after eating I feel better than i have felt in a long time...without spending 2-3 hours of my life working out in a gym...I am living my life actively and enjoying it with results...

posted Apr 7th, 2009 1:32 pm



I am 41 years old...No thyroid and have found it impossible to lose weight for the last 20 years...For the last year I ahve excersized excessively and eaten every green vegetable known to man...plus I drink gallons of water...no weight loss at all...I have been taking this for 2 weeks...I take the recommended 2 in the morning and usually one later in the day....My stomach has gone down drastically in the last 2 weeks...For someone like me who eats right and is very active and still not able to lose weight this is amazing...I haven't had any bad side effects other than a little gas...No racing heart rate and no jitters...I feel like I found the answer for me...

posted Apr 7th, 2009 1:12 pm



i tried this product and i dont think it's a great pill i just recommend exercise and plenty of water because all the pill done for me was made me extremely jittery and nervous so yes it does boost your energy but that only from the caffine in it i saw no changes LOST NOTHING for two weeks since this is my first time having weight problems i decided maybe exercising and drinking water after talking to other overweight people and in one month i have lost 20lbs i exercise at least 3 to 4 times a week for an hour and drink plenty of water you do this and you will see results dont waste your money on diet pills any and surely one's that is not approve by the fda

posted Apr 4th, 2009 6:09 pm


i just got it today so i am going to try it will give an honest oppion in a week or so i have tried every thing from relacore nv hoodia acia berry so far i have yet to find one that don't make me have extreme gas , spend half my life in the potty . or just plain make me sick . so wish me luck i need to lose this weight i put on since i quit smoking . i am always hungry now it's crazy but don;t want to start smoking again

posted Apr 2nd, 2009 3:28 am


Lost 15 lbs. in about 4-6 weeks. No sides effects for me and I am normally very sensitive to products.

posted Mar 31st, 2009 12:40 pm


im 54n189lbs and i had taken 2pills asdirected for lunch and dinner for a week and did nit lose a inch/lb. also made me very sluggish and severe headaches. but the following week i combined 1 pill of leptopril with 2 20mg adderall(amphetamines/ yes im prescribed the medicine by a weight loss clininc in texas and 2colon cleanse pills and 1 OTC diuretc and lost 10 lbs in one day but i also havent slept in 24hrs which is a side efffect of the speed. very decreased appetite of course loose stool due to colon cleanser, palpitations, excessive urination. lot goin on but excited and motivated about the wt loss.

posted Mar 17th, 2009 10:31 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

Leptopril is a diet pill solution that is made specifically for obese and significantly overweight individuals. Leptopril classifies these people as having more than twenty pounds of additional weight or a body mass index of more than 27. Leptopril is a generic version of the popular diet pill Leptoprin-SD. It offers the same dosage, results and ingredients at a more affordable cost.

Not only does Leptopril market itself as the sure-fix for those battling their weight, it's also a strong stimulant that will give you back needed energy. The Leptopril formula reduces sugar in the blood after meals, burns fat and provides increased energy. Leptopril is taken twice daily with your two largest meals.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?


The ingredients for Leptopil were not published on the product site. There are many natural ingredients included, but also many sources of caffeine. Caffeine does have side effects such as headache, high blood pressure, nausea and racing heart. Leptopil also includes:

  • Guarana
  • Yerba mate
  • Green tea
  • Ma huang
  • Kola nut
  • Kelp
  • Weight loss solution for the significantly overweight
  • Generic pills allow a price break
  • Contains a significant amount of caffeine
  • No FDA approval
  • Website does not publish ingredients

Leptopril does not make any exercise recommendations for consumers.


Just like with prescription medicine, it's nice that a less expensive generic-brand is available. Leptopril can be found for about half the price of the name-brand version, and has all of the same results. Leptopril is targeted to what they define as severely overweight individuals. However, the ingredients list does not vary far from what many other diet supplements include. There is little product information available and no consumer testimonials available on the product website. Leptopril does not make any exercise or dietary recommendations to follow while taking the pill.

Common Misspellings

Lepptopri, Laptopril, Lepopril, Leptopill, leptopril deit

Related Diets: Alli, Green Tea, LeptoTrim

Whats better than