Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 326 reviews

The 17 Day Diet

The most popular diet of 2011 supports healthy weight loss that lasts.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2010

  • Founder: Dr. Mike Moreno

  • Headquarters: Beverly Hills, CA

  • Accessibility: Book, Meal Plan

  • Diet Type: Low-Carb, Low-Calorie

  • Gender: Male, Female

  • Celebrity Endorsements: Dr. Phil, The Doctors

BACKGROUND

The 17 Day Diet is a weight loss plan available in a book from Dr. Mike Moreno, a family medicine practitioner in San Diego, CA. His book was born of a weight loss plan he prescribed to his overweight patients, namely as a way to manage the holidays. The friendly Dr. Mike, as he is known to his patients, is proactive in helping them manage their health and weight, and even created a program called "Walk with Your Doc" back in 2008. Two days a week he and patients meet for a walk to encourage them to exercise and keep the doctor-patient relationship thriving.

In November 2010, The 17 Day Diet debuted on an episode of Dr. Phil with a raving endorsement from the doctor. That appearance was immediately followed by one on The Doctors (the two shows are jointly produced), and a weight loss challenge between viewers of each program initiated. The self-published book was an overnight success and Moreno's supply could not keep up with the overwhelming demand.

In spring 2011, Moreno fielded multiple offers from publishing houses interested in purchasing the book's rights, and he awarded those to Simon & Schuster, who immediately ran a second printing of the book. The only difference was a revised cover. This second printing helped push The 17 Day Diet to sales of more than one million copies by the end of 2011.

During 2011, Moreno and his publishers also produced the 17 Day Diet Workbook, a Spanish-language version of the book, and started work on a 17 Day Diet Cookbook that will debut in spring 2012. They also started a partnership with Bistro M.D. to manage a 17 Day Diet meal plan, with meals suited to the diet's specifications delivered to customers at home.

How the 17 Day Diet Works

The 17 Day Diet relies on a style of weight loss known as metabolic confusion, which means you're changing up what you're doing on a regular basis to keep your body from settling in to a routine.

Like many popular diet programs, 17 Day Diet is cyclical, using four phases, or cycles, to progress people from start to goal. The diet itself does not actually last a mere 17 days, instead, that is the length of time for each of the four cycles.

  • Cycle 1: Accelerate. Jump start the program and facilitate rapid weight loss, cleansing, and fat burning. Discourages fat storage.
  • Cycle 2: Activate. During this cycle you will "reset" your metabolism.
  • Cycle 3: Achieve. Develop healthy eating habits, and develop a new understanding of how to eat carbs.
  • Cycle 4: Arrive. Considered the maintenance phase and the culmination of what was learned in the first three cycles. On weekends, you have freedom to enjoy just about anything you like.

If you make it to cycle four and have not yet reached your goal, then it is encouraged and advised that you jump back to another cycle and continue your efforts, on schedule. Cycle four is considered the maintenance phase, and is reserved for those who've reached goal by following the guidance outlined in the first three cycles.

The 17 Day Diet provides direction for a healthy way of eating that is sustainable - it's clean, includes healthy carbohydrates, lean proteins, healthy fats, and eliminates processed and fried foods.

The fitness aspect is minimal, especially at the start with only 17 minutes of exercise per day proposed. However, followers are encouraged to do more as they are physically able and comfortable to expand their fitness regimen.

PRO
  • Created by a medical doctor who specializes in weight loss
  • Promotes clean eating
  • Possible to lose weight at a steady and healthy rate
  • Includes a maintenance plan
  • The "diet" is sustainable
  • Provides a clear and organized eating plan
  • Promotes exercise
  • Book is available nationally
  • Spanish-language version available
  • Vegetarian-friendly
  • Diabetic-friendly for types 1 and 2
  • Diet is flexible to suit unique dietary needs or taste
  • One-time cost of the book
  • Recipes available on the Food on the Table Meal Planning App

CON
  • Some food specifications create confusion with users
  • Recommended rate of weight loss exceeds most industry standards of 1-2 pounds per week
  • No online community support or access to experts
  • Beginner exercise recommendation is lower than industry standard of 30 minutes per day
EXERCISE

The 17 Day Diet makes minimal recommendations for exercise; however, like many diet plans, it does not dismiss the necessity of a regular fitness regimen completely.

For beginners, the 17 Day Diet recommends a mere 17 minutes of exercise each day. This can be as simple as walking, you can follow along with the 17-minute workout DVD that is sold on the book's website.

As you progress through the program, become stronger and more able-bodied (for those with no prior history of exercise), the advice is still loose but encourages you to double or triple the amount of time you spend working out each day. Guidance is given to do activities that you love, with walking always being a go-to sport.

  • Cycle 1: 17 minutes of exercise per day

  • Cycle 2: 17 minutes of exercise per day

  • Cycle 3: 40-60 minutes of aerobic exercise most days

  • Cycle 4: Try to do an hour on the weekends, in addition to a regular regimen throughout the week

DIET and NUTRITION

The 17 Day Diet relies on a cycled eating plan to help you lose weight. During four cycles, each lasting 17 days (or longer in cycle four), you'll change how many servings of healthy carbohydrates, lean proteins, and healthy fats that you eat each day.

Overall, The 17 Day Diet is a clean-eating plan, with guidance to eat the "right" kind of carbs, meaning white grains and fresh fruits and vegetables, not processed "white foods," like bread, crackers, and cookies. You'll eliminate processed foods, processed sugar, and fried foods; you might balk at the thought of this, but it's guidance that any healthy eating plan is going to provide.

Each of the four cycles has its own objective, whether it be jump starting your fat burn, resetting your metabolism, teaching portion control, or recognizing true hunger. Through this process, you'll actually start to crave the foods that are nourishing your body, like a meal of roasted turkey with asparagus, rather than a burger and fries.

17 Day Diet recipes are available on the Food on the Table Meal Planning App

17 Day Diet Sample Meals

It's fair to want to know exactly what you'll be eating before taking on a new diet. The 17 Day Diet book outlines detailed meal plans for each day of each cycle, so all you have to do is shop and prepare, eliminating the worry and frustration over what you can or cannot eat. The following is a snapshot of what a day of meals look like on each 17 Day Day cycle:

Cycle 1: Accelerate

Goal: Improve digestion, initiate fat burn/discourage fat storage

Rate of Weight Loss*: 5-10% of total body weight; 10-20 pounds

  • Breakfast: Plain low-fat yogurt with fresh berries, green tea
  • Lunch: Green salad with a variety of vegetables like tomato and cucumber with a homemade vinaigrette, green tea
  • Dinner: Grilled salmon, choice of raw or steamed vegetables, green tea
  • Snacks: Sugar-free fruit-flavored yogurt, choice of one fruit

Cycle 2: Activate

Goal: Rest the metabolism, stimulate fat burn

Rate of Weight Loss*: Half of cycle 1; 5-10 pounds

  • Breakfast: Scrambled egg whites, half grapefruit or in-season fruit, green tea
  • Lunch: Baby spinach salad with tomatoes and feta and homemade vinaigrette, green tea
  • Dinner: Grilled turkey patties, side salad, green tea
  • Snacks: Fresh berries, plain low-fat yogurt

Cycle 3: Achieve

Goal: Nurture healthy eating habits, reintroduce more foods, move closer to goal weight

Rate of Weight Loss*: Half of cycle 2; 2.5-5 pounds

  • Breakfast: High-fiber cereal with skim milk, fresh berries, green tea
  • Lunch: Whole-wheat pita with lettuce, tomoato, feta cheese, Italian dressing; baby carrots; green tea
  • Dinner: Barbecued boneless chicken breast, steamed vegetables like asparagus or broccoli, green tea
  • Snacks: choice of one fruit, Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich

Cycle 4: Arrive

Goal: Maintain goal weight

Brunch: Blueberry waffles with syrup, turkey sausage, orange juice Dinner: Grilled chicken breast, steam broccoli, green tea Snacks: Sugar-free fruit-flavored yogurt, raw baby carrots

  • These rates of weight loss were determined during an interview with Dr. Mike Moreno in 2011. This is the amount of weight he says you could safely lose within each cycle. Pounds lost are based on a 200-pound person. The industry standard rate of weight loss is 1-2 pounds per week.

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan from Bistro MD

If you're short on time or not yet comfortable with your skills in the kitchen, the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan is available from Bistro MD, a leader in the meal delivery space. Each meal follows your progress through each cycle, each day to help keep you in line with the 17 Day Diet guidelines.

17 Day Diet Special Notes

  • The diet is suitable for both type 1 and type 2 diabetics. In an interview with Dr. Mike Moreno in 2011, he noted some type 2 diabetics have used 17 Day Diet and reduced or eliminated their need for medications. For type 1 diabetics, he advises more diligent assessment of sugar levels.

  • The diet is flexible enough to meet the needs of vegetarians. You'll simply modify the protein suggestions, for instance, replacing fish and chicken with soy, dairy, and legumes.

  • Those who don't care for seafood or fish can also alter the diet and replace with the other lean protein of their choice, like turkey, chicken or pork.

  • If green tea doesn't appeal to you, this can also be skipped by replacing with a green tea supplement and/or at least one cup of the tea each day.

17 DAY DIET VIDEOS

Having trouble viewing? Watch the 17 Day Diet Interview video here.

17 Day Diet YouTube Channel

The 17 Day Diet, report on CBS

The 17 Day Diet Challenge on Dr. Phil

The 17 Day Diet Video Review - Our product spotlight explains the diet and its pros and cons.

17 DAY DIET USER REVIEWS

I and my husband have been on this diet since May and I have lost 45lbs, went from a size 16 to a size 8 and my husband has lost 40lbs so far. This is by far the best "diet" I have been on. It is so easy and such a great change in our eating habits. - Tessa Letzinger 12/31/11

I lost 7 lbs in the first week and I feel great. I will continue on until I reach my goal weight. I am really excited and I feel so much in control. Unlike other diets this is very realistic. - Tammy 12/13/11

I've been on this diet for 40 days now, and I've lost a total of 25 lbs! I love this diet, and feel so healthy on it. Its the diet plan I have been waiting for! - Beth 12/8/11

I have lost 60 lbs in 7 months. I feel great am doing things I haven't been able to do in years. My diabetes is under control. - Susan C. 10/9/11

This is the greatest diet there has been and it does WORK if you eat what he tells you to eat and don't cheat. Healthwise, it makes you feel so much better and it is because of what you are putting in your mouth. - Carol 8/15/11

Leave your own review and rating now.

17 DAY DIET FAQ

We interviewed Dr. Mike and he answered your most common 17 Day Diet Questions

Do you have to eat fish on the 17 day diet? - Lisa 8/10/11

Do you have to drink green tea? - Stephenie 3/10/11

Which meats can I eat on the 17 Day Diet? - MRS. ETHERITH 2/24/11

Is the 17 Day Diet right for vegetarians? - Cheryl 5/7/11

Why am I stuck at the same weight on the 17 Day Diet? - Stephanie 5/7/11

Ask and Answer 17 Day Diet Questions now.

CONCLUSION

The 17 Day Diet, by Dr. Mike Moreno, only debuted in 2010 and quickly rose to compete with some of the biggest and oldest names in dieting. The book comes with mostly sound nutritional and fitness guidance and is oulined in such a way that makes it easy, almost effortless, to follow and see results.

One of the best things about this weight loss plan is its design to not only help you lose weight, but set you up for sustainable weight maintenance, which is the true sign of a quality program.

It's availability via a book makes it widely accessible and affordable, so there are no on-going fees, unexpected charges, or recurring needs to re-subscribe. Purchase it once and you could use it for life.

On The 17 Day Diet you'll "re-learn" how to eat, focusing on a balanced diet of lean proteins, whole grains, fresh fruits ad vegetables; and you'll eliminate the junk and processed foods that were no doubt a culprit in your weight and health issues.

Be sure to follow the fitness guidance, as moderate as they may be. If you're comfortable with doing more, speak with a trainer, medical professional, or continue to follow your own tried-and-true regimen of daily physical activity.

17 DAY DIET SLIDESHOWS

View What is the 17 Day Diet? Slideshow

Must Read Diet Books of 2011

17 DAY DIET RESOURCES

17 Day Diet Club on The Doctors

The 17 Day Diet Contact Information
  • Phone: 800-464-1384

  • Official Website: 17 Day Diet

  • Address: 17 Day Diet, Inc. 9903 Santa Monica Blvd. Suite 215 Beverly Hills, CA 90212

Common Misspellings

17 day diet, seventeen day diet, dr mike moreno's diet, dr. mike diet, 17 days diet, 17 diet, 17day diet book, 17daydiet

Author

by


Related Diets: Calorie Balance Diet, Calorie Shifting, The 17 Day Diet Cookbook, The 17 Day Plan to Stop Aging, High Protein Diet, Crack the Fat Loss Code, Jillian Michaels' Master Your Metabolism


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 17 of 54, 1062 total comments)

Tammy Jones

This is the easiest thing I have ever done. I have had great success...

posted Jun 7th, 2011 3:22 pm


marys

I just finished Cycle 2. I lost only 3 lb, but I was sick for about 9 days, and didn't work out at all (but didn't cheat with the diet).

I enjoyed this phase. I like that my portions are now smaller, and yet I'm not hungry. Loved my oatmeal in the mornings, and loved the power cookie, though I modified it to include half of stevia, and just ground almonds instead of the almond paste.

I'm 5'9", 36 years old, and I started this diet at 186lb. I lost 8lb on phase one, and now another 3lb, to the total of 11lb. My goal is to lose another 10lb for now.

Since my weight loss slowed down so much in phase 2 (I expected to lose about 6lb), I am not setting high goals for the third phase. I hope to lose 4lb, and plan to up my exercise. I actually can't wait to be back on phase one, as I find it the easiest phase to maintain.

See you in 17 days ;-)

posted Jun 6th, 2011 4:49 pm



Dixiejet

On C2D5, have not cheated ONCE & am on a plateau... :o(((((( Still EXTREMELY determined but bummed cos I've only lost 10 lbs now in 22 days....I guess that's good but was sure looking forward to wearing a smaller size by now.... :o/

posted Jun 6th, 2011 2:53 pm


Dixiejet

On C2D5, have not cheated ONCE & am on a plateau... :o(((((( Still EXTREMELY determined but bummed cos I've only lost 10 lbs now in 22 days....I guess that's good but was sure looking forward to wearing a smaller size by now.... :o/

posted Jun 6th, 2011 2:51 pm


cabbie

I just got this book and am about to start the diet. The question I have is what if I can't drink green tea? I used to drink it and began having serious palpitations, (over10,000 PVCs in a 24 hour period) I had a halter monitor and then I had to have a cardiac stress test. Once I quit the green tea, the palpitations stopped. Not sure if there was a connection, but I am afraid to drink it again.

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 11:36 pm


cabbie

17 day diet II just got this book "the 17 day diet" and am about to start the diet. The question I have is what if I can't drink green tea? I used to drink it and began having serious palpitations, (over10,000 PVCs in a 24 hour period) I had a halter monitor and then I had to have a cardiac stress test. Once I quit the green tea, the palpitations stopped. Not sure if there was a connection, but I am afraid to drink it again.

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 11:34 pm


NLee

@Roxanne Carney- Loved your story. So glad you are doing this plan and seeing results. Keep up the good work. We can do this.

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 10:54 am


NLee

@AuntieR- congrat's on you and your husbands weight loss. Great job. Keep going. I just started C2d1 today, down 8.5 lbs. Woo hoo :). We can do this and be healthier for it. Keep the posts coming with your stats. Have a good weekend.

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 10:53 am


NLee

@Heather- congrat's on the weight loss for you and your parents. It helps to have some buddies to do this with. It is a little hard the first week or so, but I am not having sugar cravings at all. In fact, smelling something sweet makes me sick to my stomach, that is definitely unusual for me. Hang in there, this plan is healthy and what we should be eating. Thanks for your post, it encourages me to push onward. Have a great weekend.

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 10:48 am


NLee

@Dixiejet- You are doing awesome girl. It was nice to have oatmeal for breakfast this morning. Keep up the good work. We are on the same cycle and day :). You have me beat by 1.5 lbs, I need to kick it up a notch, lol. I will weigh next thursday and report. Good luck this weekend. I am still not having cravings, it is so weird. I love it though......

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 10:46 am



Dixiejet

Starting C2D1 today & this morning, 10 POUNDS GONE !!!! We bought a hot cereal called Bob's Red Mill 100% Whole Grain 10 Grain Cereal..WONDERFUL ! I have really loved being on this diet...I don't miss my BELOVED sweets and pastries & I think all the time about not putting processed foods back in my body...I feel FANTASTIC & I have LOADS of energy. i also sleep so good !!!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this diet !!!!
How that for how I'm doing, NLee ???? GRIN

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 9:44 am


Heather

The 17 day diet has been tough but I am definitely seeing results. My mom, dad and I started it last week and we have already lost 15 lbs between the three of us! The tough part is not eating those sandwiches, cereals and sweets. I loved those!! I think this is helping to reprogram how I approach food, prepare food, and eat food. I am excited to see my goal met!!

posted Jun 2nd, 2011 9:01 am


NLee

End of Cycle 1. Total weight loss 8.5. Starting Cycle 2 tomorrow. So far so good. Still need to do more activity. No sugar cravings. Hope everyone is doing OK too. Let me hear some posts about how you are doing, OK.

posted Jun 1st, 2011 9:28 pm


Kathy

I purchased the book at my local WalMart. it is not hard to buy. Just starting it. I think I will be able to stick with this one.

posted May 30th, 2011 8:18 pm


AuntieR

My husband and I are both on C2 D6. I love my new eating habits, si healthy and fresh. I started at a whopping 233!!! And am proud to say ive lost 16 lbs so far!! My husband started at 265 and is now 247..that's 18 lbs lost!! We're loving the results, and love that we get to be creative with what we cook. As long se stick to the foods we're allowed for the cycle we're on..we can't go wrong! 67 more lbs to go!! We can do it!!!!

posted May 28th, 2011 11:56 am


Roxanne Carney

I am a 56 year old woman who has been overweight all of my life. Obesity runs in my family and I have lost a sister at 62 and a brother at 50 to morbid obesity. I have had some heart issues in the past few years and had a pacemaker placed in 2009. I decided in January 2011 that I would really give this diet a good try. To say I have tried other diets is an understatement, Phen-Fen, L.A Weighloss Systems and even a private dietician have not been sucessful for me. I sent for the book and started the second week in January 2011. I am so thrilled to report that I have lost 30 pounds and my cholestrol level has gone from a high of 240 down to 199!! This is a very doable diet and I and sooo happy I sent for the book. My husband has seen the dramatic change in me and has started eating more healthy and he also has lost 30 pounds. I am still dieting and plan to continue on this program as it is promotes very healthy eating.

posted May 27th, 2011 7:42 pm


Sapphire c.

@Margaret14- ok thank you:)! And one more question! How small does our portions when we eat have to be?

posted May 27th, 2011 1:52 pm


kz

saphire~ yes you can make your own menue and switch things up. You're not expected to like everything on his menu and sometimes some foods are more convenient than others. You can even be creative and make up your own things. One of my faves that some people I have heard try out is cooking some apples in the microwave and sprinkling with cinnamon and you can use vanilla extract. This is great for that sweet tooth that may hit at any moment. ;)

posted May 27th, 2011 9:16 am



Dixiejet

Another lb gone !!! And I walked FIVE MILES today too !!! SO EXCITED !!!
@NLee, thanks for the kudos, I REALLY appreciate it...and I wanted to tell all of you that YOU CAN DO IT !!! Cos if I can do it,ANYBODY CAN !! And I mean ANYBODY !!! ;o)))))

posted May 26th, 2011 9:20 pm


Sapphire c.

If its okay to create our own menu instead of following the one dr.mike created ? Hey there everyone :) My name is sapphire and I am just starting to do the 17 day diet but I would like to know for the meals menu is it okay if I create my own menu? instead of following the one already in the book. I mean I will use the food he advises us to eat but I just wanted to know if it's okay to create our own meal menu's ? :)

posted May 26th, 2011 8:44 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account