Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 325 reviews

The 17 Day Diet

The most popular diet of 2011 supports healthy weight loss that lasts.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2010

  • Founder: Dr. Mike Moreno

  • Headquarters: Beverly Hills, CA

  • Accessibility: Book, Meal Plan

  • Diet Type: Low-Carb, Low-Calorie

  • Gender: Male, Female

  • Celebrity Endorsements: Dr. Phil, The Doctors

BACKGROUND

The 17 Day Diet is a weight loss plan available in a book from Dr. Mike Moreno, a family medicine practitioner in San Diego, CA. His book was born of a weight loss plan he prescribed to his overweight patients, namely as a way to manage the holidays. The friendly Dr. Mike, as he is known to his patients, is proactive in helping them manage their health and weight, and even created a program called "Walk with Your Doc" back in 2008. Two days a week he and patients meet for a walk to encourage them to exercise and keep the doctor-patient relationship thriving.

In November 2010, The 17 Day Diet debuted on an episode of Dr. Phil with a raving endorsement from the doctor. That appearance was immediately followed by one on The Doctors (the two shows are jointly produced), and a weight loss challenge between viewers of each program initiated. The self-published book was an overnight success and Moreno's supply could not keep up with the overwhelming demand.

In spring 2011, Moreno fielded multiple offers from publishing houses interested in purchasing the book's rights, and he awarded those to Simon & Schuster, who immediately ran a second printing of the book. The only difference was a revised cover. This second printing helped push The 17 Day Diet to sales of more than one million copies by the end of 2011.

During 2011, Moreno and his publishers also produced the 17 Day Diet Workbook, a Spanish-language version of the book, and started work on a 17 Day Diet Cookbook that will debut in spring 2012. They also started a partnership with Bistro M.D. to manage a 17 Day Diet meal plan, with meals suited to the diet's specifications delivered to customers at home.

How the 17 Day Diet Works

The 17 Day Diet relies on a style of weight loss known as metabolic confusion, which means you're changing up what you're doing on a regular basis to keep your body from settling in to a routine.

Like many popular diet programs, 17 Day Diet is cyclical, using four phases, or cycles, to progress people from start to goal. The diet itself does not actually last a mere 17 days, instead, that is the length of time for each of the four cycles.

  • Cycle 1: Accelerate. Jump start the program and facilitate rapid weight loss, cleansing, and fat burning. Discourages fat storage.
  • Cycle 2: Activate. During this cycle you will "reset" your metabolism.
  • Cycle 3: Achieve. Develop healthy eating habits, and develop a new understanding of how to eat carbs.
  • Cycle 4: Arrive. Considered the maintenance phase and the culmination of what was learned in the first three cycles. On weekends, you have freedom to enjoy just about anything you like.

If you make it to cycle four and have not yet reached your goal, then it is encouraged and advised that you jump back to another cycle and continue your efforts, on schedule. Cycle four is considered the maintenance phase, and is reserved for those who've reached goal by following the guidance outlined in the first three cycles.

The 17 Day Diet provides direction for a healthy way of eating that is sustainable - it's clean, includes healthy carbohydrates, lean proteins, healthy fats, and eliminates processed and fried foods.

The fitness aspect is minimal, especially at the start with only 17 minutes of exercise per day proposed. However, followers are encouraged to do more as they are physically able and comfortable to expand their fitness regimen.

PRO
  • Created by a medical doctor who specializes in weight loss
  • Promotes clean eating
  • Possible to lose weight at a steady and healthy rate
  • Includes a maintenance plan
  • The "diet" is sustainable
  • Provides a clear and organized eating plan
  • Promotes exercise
  • Book is available nationally
  • Spanish-language version available
  • Vegetarian-friendly
  • Diabetic-friendly for types 1 and 2
  • Diet is flexible to suit unique dietary needs or taste
  • One-time cost of the book
  • Recipes available on the Food on the Table Meal Planning App

CON
  • Some food specifications create confusion with users
  • Recommended rate of weight loss exceeds most industry standards of 1-2 pounds per week
  • No online community support or access to experts
  • Beginner exercise recommendation is lower than industry standard of 30 minutes per day
EXERCISE

The 17 Day Diet makes minimal recommendations for exercise; however, like many diet plans, it does not dismiss the necessity of a regular fitness regimen completely.

For beginners, the 17 Day Diet recommends a mere 17 minutes of exercise each day. This can be as simple as walking, you can follow along with the 17-minute workout DVD that is sold on the book's website.

As you progress through the program, become stronger and more able-bodied (for those with no prior history of exercise), the advice is still loose but encourages you to double or triple the amount of time you spend working out each day. Guidance is given to do activities that you love, with walking always being a go-to sport.

  • Cycle 1: 17 minutes of exercise per day

  • Cycle 2: 17 minutes of exercise per day

  • Cycle 3: 40-60 minutes of aerobic exercise most days

  • Cycle 4: Try to do an hour on the weekends, in addition to a regular regimen throughout the week

DIET and NUTRITION

The 17 Day Diet relies on a cycled eating plan to help you lose weight. During four cycles, each lasting 17 days (or longer in cycle four), you'll change how many servings of healthy carbohydrates, lean proteins, and healthy fats that you eat each day.

Overall, The 17 Day Diet is a clean-eating plan, with guidance to eat the "right" kind of carbs, meaning white grains and fresh fruits and vegetables, not processed "white foods," like bread, crackers, and cookies. You'll eliminate processed foods, processed sugar, and fried foods; you might balk at the thought of this, but it's guidance that any healthy eating plan is going to provide.

Each of the four cycles has its own objective, whether it be jump starting your fat burn, resetting your metabolism, teaching portion control, or recognizing true hunger. Through this process, you'll actually start to crave the foods that are nourishing your body, like a meal of roasted turkey with asparagus, rather than a burger and fries.

17 Day Diet recipes are available on the Food on the Table Meal Planning App

17 Day Diet Sample Meals

It's fair to want to know exactly what you'll be eating before taking on a new diet. The 17 Day Diet book outlines detailed meal plans for each day of each cycle, so all you have to do is shop and prepare, eliminating the worry and frustration over what you can or cannot eat. The following is a snapshot of what a day of meals look like on each 17 Day Day cycle:

Cycle 1: Accelerate

Goal: Improve digestion, initiate fat burn/discourage fat storage

Rate of Weight Loss*: 5-10% of total body weight; 10-20 pounds

  • Breakfast: Plain low-fat yogurt with fresh berries, green tea
  • Lunch: Green salad with a variety of vegetables like tomato and cucumber with a homemade vinaigrette, green tea
  • Dinner: Grilled salmon, choice of raw or steamed vegetables, green tea
  • Snacks: Sugar-free fruit-flavored yogurt, choice of one fruit

Cycle 2: Activate

Goal: Rest the metabolism, stimulate fat burn

Rate of Weight Loss*: Half of cycle 1; 5-10 pounds

  • Breakfast: Scrambled egg whites, half grapefruit or in-season fruit, green tea
  • Lunch: Baby spinach salad with tomatoes and feta and homemade vinaigrette, green tea
  • Dinner: Grilled turkey patties, side salad, green tea
  • Snacks: Fresh berries, plain low-fat yogurt

Cycle 3: Achieve

Goal: Nurture healthy eating habits, reintroduce more foods, move closer to goal weight

Rate of Weight Loss*: Half of cycle 2; 2.5-5 pounds

  • Breakfast: High-fiber cereal with skim milk, fresh berries, green tea
  • Lunch: Whole-wheat pita with lettuce, tomoato, feta cheese, Italian dressing; baby carrots; green tea
  • Dinner: Barbecued boneless chicken breast, steamed vegetables like asparagus or broccoli, green tea
  • Snacks: choice of one fruit, Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich

Cycle 4: Arrive

Goal: Maintain goal weight

Brunch: Blueberry waffles with syrup, turkey sausage, orange juice Dinner: Grilled chicken breast, steam broccoli, green tea Snacks: Sugar-free fruit-flavored yogurt, raw baby carrots

  • These rates of weight loss were determined during an interview with Dr. Mike Moreno in 2011. This is the amount of weight he says you could safely lose within each cycle. Pounds lost are based on a 200-pound person. The industry standard rate of weight loss is 1-2 pounds per week.

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan from Bistro MD

If you're short on time or not yet comfortable with your skills in the kitchen, the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan is available from Bistro MD, a leader in the meal delivery space. Each meal follows your progress through each cycle, each day to help keep you in line with the 17 Day Diet guidelines.

17 Day Diet Special Notes

  • The diet is suitable for both type 1 and type 2 diabetics. In an interview with Dr. Mike Moreno in 2011, he noted some type 2 diabetics have used 17 Day Diet and reduced or eliminated their need for medications. For type 1 diabetics, he advises more diligent assessment of sugar levels.

  • The diet is flexible enough to meet the needs of vegetarians. You'll simply modify the protein suggestions, for instance, replacing fish and chicken with soy, dairy, and legumes.

  • Those who don't care for seafood or fish can also alter the diet and replace with the other lean protein of their choice, like turkey, chicken or pork.

  • If green tea doesn't appeal to you, this can also be skipped by replacing with a green tea supplement and/or at least one cup of the tea each day.

17 DAY DIET VIDEOS

Having trouble viewing? Watch the 17 Day Diet Interview video here.

17 Day Diet YouTube Channel

The 17 Day Diet, report on CBS

The 17 Day Diet Challenge on Dr. Phil

The 17 Day Diet Video Review - Our product spotlight explains the diet and its pros and cons.

17 DAY DIET USER REVIEWS

I and my husband have been on this diet since May and I have lost 45lbs, went from a size 16 to a size 8 and my husband has lost 40lbs so far. This is by far the best "diet" I have been on. It is so easy and such a great change in our eating habits. - Tessa Letzinger 12/31/11

I lost 7 lbs in the first week and I feel great. I will continue on until I reach my goal weight. I am really excited and I feel so much in control. Unlike other diets this is very realistic. - Tammy 12/13/11

I've been on this diet for 40 days now, and I've lost a total of 25 lbs! I love this diet, and feel so healthy on it. Its the diet plan I have been waiting for! - Beth 12/8/11

I have lost 60 lbs in 7 months. I feel great am doing things I haven't been able to do in years. My diabetes is under control. - Susan C. 10/9/11

This is the greatest diet there has been and it does WORK if you eat what he tells you to eat and don't cheat. Healthwise, it makes you feel so much better and it is because of what you are putting in your mouth. - Carol 8/15/11

Leave your own review and rating now.

17 DAY DIET FAQ

We interviewed Dr. Mike and he answered your most common 17 Day Diet Questions

Do you have to eat fish on the 17 day diet? - Lisa 8/10/11

Do you have to drink green tea? - Stephenie 3/10/11

Which meats can I eat on the 17 Day Diet? - MRS. ETHERITH 2/24/11

Is the 17 Day Diet right for vegetarians? - Cheryl 5/7/11

Why am I stuck at the same weight on the 17 Day Diet? - Stephanie 5/7/11

Ask and Answer 17 Day Diet Questions now.

CONCLUSION

The 17 Day Diet, by Dr. Mike Moreno, only debuted in 2010 and quickly rose to compete with some of the biggest and oldest names in dieting. The book comes with mostly sound nutritional and fitness guidance and is oulined in such a way that makes it easy, almost effortless, to follow and see results.

One of the best things about this weight loss plan is its design to not only help you lose weight, but set you up for sustainable weight maintenance, which is the true sign of a quality program.

It's availability via a book makes it widely accessible and affordable, so there are no on-going fees, unexpected charges, or recurring needs to re-subscribe. Purchase it once and you could use it for life.

On The 17 Day Diet you'll "re-learn" how to eat, focusing on a balanced diet of lean proteins, whole grains, fresh fruits ad vegetables; and you'll eliminate the junk and processed foods that were no doubt a culprit in your weight and health issues.

Be sure to follow the fitness guidance, as moderate as they may be. If you're comfortable with doing more, speak with a trainer, medical professional, or continue to follow your own tried-and-true regimen of daily physical activity.

17 DAY DIET SLIDESHOWS

View What is the 17 Day Diet? Slideshow

Must Read Diet Books of 2011

17 DAY DIET RESOURCES

17 Day Diet Club on The Doctors

The 17 Day Diet Contact Information
  • Phone: 800-464-1384

  • Official Website: 17 Day Diet

  • Address: 17 Day Diet, Inc. 9903 Santa Monica Blvd. Suite 215 Beverly Hills, CA 90212

Common Misspellings

17 day diet, seventeen day diet, dr mike moreno's diet, dr. mike diet, 17 days diet, 17 diet, 17day diet book, 17daydiet

Author

by


Related Diets: Calorie Balance Diet, Calorie Shifting, The 17 Day Diet Cookbook, The 17 Day Plan to Stop Aging, High Protein Diet, Crack the Fat Loss Code, Jillian Michaels' Master Your Metabolism


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 18 of 53, 1060 total comments)

skokesh

When are nuts included back into your diet and how much? So when is it that nuts are allowed back into your diet and at what amount, i know they have a lot of good fats so just wondering i love to snack on almonds or walnuts.

posted May 26th, 2011 6:57 pm


NLee

@Beach femme- My friends and family fared ok through the tornadoes, some familes not so much. I've lived in Oklahoma all my life and never seen so many and so strong. Thanks for your post. 12 lbs in 17 days is awesome!!! Way to go. You should be proud of yourself girl. I do understand when the scale goes to the 1's instead of the 2"s. Just keep it up. Cycle 2 looks like you alternate days on cycle l then cycle 2. I am not having any craving for sugar at all. Thought that I would have a diet coke every once in awhile, but really don't even want it. This morning my granddaughter had a bowl of sweet cereal, it actually made me sick to my stomach when I smelled it as I was pouring it. My portions have also gotten smaller, just get full and satisfied and stop eating, never done that. My peace each day come from the Lord, so all is good here. Please remember the Hamil family, lost 2 children in the tornado, they were taking cover in the bathtub, which we do when we don't have a shelter. They just found the 3 yr old today, in a pond, so sad. The mom and another sister is critical, and mom is 5 months pregnant. We are blessed girl. Have a good Memorial Weekend. I'm going to try and do a lot of activity this weekend, including cleaning house, lol. I'm honored to have you as a diet partner.

posted May 26th, 2011 2:50 pm


NLee

@Dixiejet- Awesome girl for you and your mom. THis is day 11, cycle 1 for me also, but I am only weighing once a week, so that will be next monday. I am so amazed also that I do not have cravings. Enjoying my meals, so satisfied that I'm not hungry in between meals, drinking lots of H2O. Just need to get my activity up, I will, just trying to get used to the plan first, I guess, lol. Keep up the good work ladies. Thanks for posting, it encourages me to keep going.

posted May 26th, 2011 2:41 pm


userfile
Dixiejet

C1D11 & so far, 8 lbs in 10 days! My 75 yr old Mom is on it,too & has gone from 149 to 138,so she's lost a lb a day ! This is so AWESOME !! I don't EVEN crave sweets,at all, first time in my life . I think what I will do is do C1 & C2 till I drop the majority of the weight then go on to C3 & C4....has anyone else done that ? I still have about 55-60 lbs to lose...60 depends on how comfortable I feel after 55...grin

posted May 26th, 2011 2:26 pm


beachfemme

@NLee Oh my dear I've been keeping up with the news on that, please stay safe! I can't imagine the feeling, find some time even just 5 minutes for a little peace in your day it can make it that much better. Please just remember to stay safe and keep us updated.

Your weight loss is great so far, only 8 more days you can push through. I feel exactly the same way I constantly have the urge to weigh in but if I only do it on D7 and D17 I feel like the results satisfy me way more and I have that much more motivation to push to the goal.

Great news today was C1D17, moving on to C2 in the morning and I lost another 6 pounds. Adding up to a total weight loss of 12 pounds on cycle one. I really can't believe it. I'm aiming for 6-8 lbs on (each cycle) C2 and C3 because weight loss will decrease but I am so satisfied. I actually cried when the scale read 198 I can't remember the last time I saw a 1 instead of a 2 as the 1st numeral on the scale.

Just drives me to keep moving, and you should as well.

Glad to have you as my diet partner,
Liz

posted May 25th, 2011 10:24 pm


NLee

@ Miss Patti- your story about WW is my own, except I need to lose more than 30 lbs. My SIL told me about this plan and I am on Cycle 1 day 10 and loving it. After 7 days lost 5.5. I agree that this is a healthy plan, I also have had no cravings. The first few days I think I was detoxing from the sugars/diet coke and felt horrible, but feeling great now. Good luck. We can do this!!

posted May 25th, 2011 1:08 pm


Miss Patti

I am a lifetime member of WW.. For the past 11/2 year I have tried to lose 30 lbs. One week take off 1-2 lbs , next week put on 1-2 lbs.WW is good but I cannot do the points because you can eat ANYTHING but in moderation. I cannot control sweets and ice cream.
I saw my friend in the store and she told me she lost 25 lbs. she told me how. Came home and went right to Amazon and ordered the book. I am on day 8. I love the program because it is so easy to follow. No cravings for sweets or ice cream. I wish he would tell the portion size of a turkey burger. Very good diet because it is easy and HEALTHY.

posted May 25th, 2011 1:25 am


NLee

@ E. Giordano- Congrat's on your weight loss and in 8 weeks. What an encouragement this was to hear. I'm on day 9 of the 1st Cycle. First week lost 5.5. Stoked about that. Really feeling much better now, first few days not so good, detox from sugar/diet coke was the culprit I think. I have not cheated or strayed from the book either. I always try not to, so I can see if what the book says really works. So far so good. Hope you will keep posting. So encouraging to hear about others views. Keep going strong....

posted May 25th, 2011 12:15 am


NLee

@Beachfemme- Thanks for your post, I would love to be a buddy. This is day 9 in cycle 1 for me. Doing OK. I am not going to weigh except on the start of a new week and of course day 17 of each cycle. Sometimes I get really curious and want to weigh everyday, however it also makes me crazy if I don't see a loss, so I do better to stay off the scale except once a week. My first week lost 5.5. Today we were dodging tornadoes in Oklahoma, so it was stressful and I was not at home for my evening meal, but my daughter had salad and turkey so I managed to do OK. Is tomorrow the end of cycle 1 for you? Good luck. I have to always remember that I did not put the weight on in a short time, so it will take a while to get it off. I'm still very excited about this plan. It's how I should have been eating anyway. Let me know how you do tomorrow.... Thanks for being my buddy and encourager.....

posted May 25th, 2011 12:09 am


beachfemme

@NLee that's probably the smartest idea. I'll just play it by the book till I really know what I'm doing.

Maybe we can be diet buddies to keep each other motivated and on track?

How's your progress so far? The big weigh in is tomorrow, terribly frightened and excited all at once Cycle 2 here I come.

Keep truckin,
Liz

posted May 24th, 2011 11:29 pm


NLee

@Beachfemme- Congrat's on your weight loss too. Sounds like you and I have about the same amount to lose. We can do this. As far as your question about the cycles, you can do what you want, but I know that I am going to do it like the book says, at least the first time, then after I start on C1 again, I may tweek it, but probably won't. Just my opinion. Maybe you will get some more views. Keep up the good work!!!

posted May 23rd, 2011 11:00 pm


NLee

@Kayla- congrat's on your weight loss. I agree this is not so much a diet , but a healthy way to eat!!! Keep up the good work.

posted May 23rd, 2011 10:58 pm


E. Giordano

I looooove this diet! I lost 30lbs in only 8 weeks and I feel wonderful! I have more energy, less stomach issues and fit back into all my "skinny" clothes. I highly reccommend the diet to anyone who has a significant amount of weight to lose because you can do it safely AND quickly. But you must follow the diet. No substitutions, no cheating. You will be glad you stuck with it. I sure am!!!!
Thank you, Dr. Mike!!!!!

posted May 23rd, 2011 10:13 pm


beachfemme

Hey guys! I just wanted to congratulate you all on your weight loss so far whether it be 5lbs or 100lbs everyone is doing great!
I myself am 17 years old and have always packed extra pounds. Always feeling groggy lazy and tired ever since I got onto the 17DD I no longer have any chest/back/knee pains and I just feel so much more energetic. I finally feel like I'm taking my life back from the food I let hold me down.
I am at C1D15 (only 2 more days of cycle1) it's been fantastic. I started at 210lbs and on D7 I weighed in at 204lbs !!
Down a full 6 pounds I was so proud of myself.

The next time I weigh in is D17 as I only weigh myself on D7 and D17 of each cycle. To not stress myself out, every weigh in I'll be back with more results.

These numbers encourage me to keep going with a total of 60lbs+ too lose and get that bikini body 140-145. I am setting short term goals of 20lbs and for every 20 I get a treat (ex. body parfume) and at the last 20lbs a grand shopping trip.

It would be a dream for me to loose that 60 by the end of august.
My curiosity is with repeating cycles:
I know Dr.Mike recommends going in the order C1,C2,C3 (repeat till goal is reached) then C4.
But I love C1 so much C2 foods look that much more appetizing.

-Would it be fine for me to do my process as C1,C2,C1,C2,C3,C4?
-Or is it better to do C1,C2,C3, C1,C2,C3,C4?
-Also on C2 instead of eating the Power Cookie can I eat a Protein Bar?

This diet is amazing,
Liz

posted May 23rd, 2011 3:42 pm


Kayla

This diet is so easy to to follow. There are plenty of meals suggested for you in the book, and there are even great recipes in the back for you to try. The thing I like most about this diet is that it's not really a diet at all...it's a healthy eating guide. This year, I couldn't figure out why I was going to the gym 3-4 times a week and not gaining a pound. After reading this book, it became very clear - I was eating nothing but crap. After switching my diet to fruits, vegetables, healthy proteins and WATER (something I had been neglecting big time), I have lost 5 pounds in the first 6 days (and haven't been to the gym once). I have a friend who has lost 8 pounds in the first week as well, and our starting weights were 20-30 pounds apart. The 17 minute exercise plan is completely reasonable. This book has helped me get back on track with my eating and I feel great. As the diet progresses, you begin to reintroduce carbs (bread, pasta etc.) and red meats, so you are not on a restricted diet for the rest of your life - just a healthy one.

I definitely reccomend.

posted May 23rd, 2011 3:06 pm


NLee

Starting 2nd week on plan, down 5.5 lbs. feeling awesome. Kicking up the activity this week, first week did not do the walking. Ready to do this. No cravings, not hungry in between meals. Eating a lot of veggies, trying to be creative and not get bored.

posted May 23rd, 2011 8:12 am


nina

C1D7 - lost 4.4 lbs so far !!!! I'm SO excited. I used to eat a lot of junk food and whenever I would "eat right" on my own to lose weight, I would have major withdrawal (cravings and massive headaches). I was extremely surprised that I had neither. No cravings ... no headaches. I have lots to lose, but I'm setting my goals in small increments (10 lbs at a time), that way the goals are easier to achieve. I'm SO glad that my neighbor told me about this program.

posted May 23rd, 2011 7:11 am


nina

Food Allergy (17 Day Diet) I noticed that on Cycle 1, they mention to eat only Chicken and Fish for protein. Unfortunately, I am allergic to both (including Turkey). I can eat egg whites, but my question is, do you think I can have lean veal or beef instead of the chicken and fish?

posted May 22nd, 2011 11:21 pm


Sunshine

I am going to start this Monday. I was do I find Kefir? Also what kind of yogurt should I use? What kind of

posted May 22nd, 2011 5:42 pm


NLee

I started the 17 Day Diet(Lifestyle Change) on May16. I was hungary the first day, but kept to the plan. Tuesday and Wednesday felt horrible, I'm thinking detoxing from sugar/diet coke was the culprit, stayed the course, this is Sat. May 21, feeling really good, weighed this morning, was too curious. Had lost 2.5 lbs. I have had no heartburn which was happening alot before this plan. I have 60 + lbs to lose, I have to say I have not been hungary since the first day. Loving the Green tea(Tazo Brand, Zen is my fav).I am a former WW, but this plan is just healthy eating and no points to count, yea! I also feel calmer. May sound weird, but I do. Excited to watch the lbs come off. Need to kick up the activity. My SIL and I are in this together. Thank you Dr. Mike.. Will report back after C1D7. Good luck everyone. Need to see some posts on what you are eating and some recipes. Thank you.

posted May 21st, 2011 10:55 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account