Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 326 reviews

The 17 Day Diet

The most popular diet of 2011 supports healthy weight loss that lasts.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2010

  • Founder: Dr. Mike Moreno

  • Headquarters: Beverly Hills, CA

  • Accessibility: Book, Meal Plan

  • Diet Type: Low-Carb, Low-Calorie

  • Gender: Male, Female

  • Celebrity Endorsements: Dr. Phil, The Doctors

BACKGROUND

The 17 Day Diet is a weight loss plan available in a book from Dr. Mike Moreno, a family medicine practitioner in San Diego, CA. His book was born of a weight loss plan he prescribed to his overweight patients, namely as a way to manage the holidays. The friendly Dr. Mike, as he is known to his patients, is proactive in helping them manage their health and weight, and even created a program called "Walk with Your Doc" back in 2008. Two days a week he and patients meet for a walk to encourage them to exercise and keep the doctor-patient relationship thriving.

In November 2010, The 17 Day Diet debuted on an episode of Dr. Phil with a raving endorsement from the doctor. That appearance was immediately followed by one on The Doctors (the two shows are jointly produced), and a weight loss challenge between viewers of each program initiated. The self-published book was an overnight success and Moreno's supply could not keep up with the overwhelming demand.

In spring 2011, Moreno fielded multiple offers from publishing houses interested in purchasing the book's rights, and he awarded those to Simon & Schuster, who immediately ran a second printing of the book. The only difference was a revised cover. This second printing helped push The 17 Day Diet to sales of more than one million copies by the end of 2011.

During 2011, Moreno and his publishers also produced the 17 Day Diet Workbook, a Spanish-language version of the book, and started work on a 17 Day Diet Cookbook that will debut in spring 2012. They also started a partnership with Bistro M.D. to manage a 17 Day Diet meal plan, with meals suited to the diet's specifications delivered to customers at home.

How the 17 Day Diet Works

The 17 Day Diet relies on a style of weight loss known as metabolic confusion, which means you're changing up what you're doing on a regular basis to keep your body from settling in to a routine.

Like many popular diet programs, 17 Day Diet is cyclical, using four phases, or cycles, to progress people from start to goal. The diet itself does not actually last a mere 17 days, instead, that is the length of time for each of the four cycles.

  • Cycle 1: Accelerate. Jump start the program and facilitate rapid weight loss, cleansing, and fat burning. Discourages fat storage.
  • Cycle 2: Activate. During this cycle you will "reset" your metabolism.
  • Cycle 3: Achieve. Develop healthy eating habits, and develop a new understanding of how to eat carbs.
  • Cycle 4: Arrive. Considered the maintenance phase and the culmination of what was learned in the first three cycles. On weekends, you have freedom to enjoy just about anything you like.

If you make it to cycle four and have not yet reached your goal, then it is encouraged and advised that you jump back to another cycle and continue your efforts, on schedule. Cycle four is considered the maintenance phase, and is reserved for those who've reached goal by following the guidance outlined in the first three cycles.

The 17 Day Diet provides direction for a healthy way of eating that is sustainable - it's clean, includes healthy carbohydrates, lean proteins, healthy fats, and eliminates processed and fried foods.

The fitness aspect is minimal, especially at the start with only 17 minutes of exercise per day proposed. However, followers are encouraged to do more as they are physically able and comfortable to expand their fitness regimen.

PRO
  • Created by a medical doctor who specializes in weight loss
  • Promotes clean eating
  • Possible to lose weight at a steady and healthy rate
  • Includes a maintenance plan
  • The "diet" is sustainable
  • Provides a clear and organized eating plan
  • Promotes exercise
  • Book is available nationally
  • Spanish-language version available
  • Vegetarian-friendly
  • Diabetic-friendly for types 1 and 2
  • Diet is flexible to suit unique dietary needs or taste
  • One-time cost of the book
  • Recipes available on the Food on the Table Meal Planning App

CON
  • Some food specifications create confusion with users
  • Recommended rate of weight loss exceeds most industry standards of 1-2 pounds per week
  • No online community support or access to experts
  • Beginner exercise recommendation is lower than industry standard of 30 minutes per day
EXERCISE

The 17 Day Diet makes minimal recommendations for exercise; however, like many diet plans, it does not dismiss the necessity of a regular fitness regimen completely.

For beginners, the 17 Day Diet recommends a mere 17 minutes of exercise each day. This can be as simple as walking, you can follow along with the 17-minute workout DVD that is sold on the book's website.

As you progress through the program, become stronger and more able-bodied (for those with no prior history of exercise), the advice is still loose but encourages you to double or triple the amount of time you spend working out each day. Guidance is given to do activities that you love, with walking always being a go-to sport.

  • Cycle 1: 17 minutes of exercise per day

  • Cycle 2: 17 minutes of exercise per day

  • Cycle 3: 40-60 minutes of aerobic exercise most days

  • Cycle 4: Try to do an hour on the weekends, in addition to a regular regimen throughout the week

DIET and NUTRITION

The 17 Day Diet relies on a cycled eating plan to help you lose weight. During four cycles, each lasting 17 days (or longer in cycle four), you'll change how many servings of healthy carbohydrates, lean proteins, and healthy fats that you eat each day.

Overall, The 17 Day Diet is a clean-eating plan, with guidance to eat the "right" kind of carbs, meaning white grains and fresh fruits and vegetables, not processed "white foods," like bread, crackers, and cookies. You'll eliminate processed foods, processed sugar, and fried foods; you might balk at the thought of this, but it's guidance that any healthy eating plan is going to provide.

Each of the four cycles has its own objective, whether it be jump starting your fat burn, resetting your metabolism, teaching portion control, or recognizing true hunger. Through this process, you'll actually start to crave the foods that are nourishing your body, like a meal of roasted turkey with asparagus, rather than a burger and fries.

17 Day Diet recipes are available on the Food on the Table Meal Planning App

17 Day Diet Sample Meals

It's fair to want to know exactly what you'll be eating before taking on a new diet. The 17 Day Diet book outlines detailed meal plans for each day of each cycle, so all you have to do is shop and prepare, eliminating the worry and frustration over what you can or cannot eat. The following is a snapshot of what a day of meals look like on each 17 Day Day cycle:

Cycle 1: Accelerate

Goal: Improve digestion, initiate fat burn/discourage fat storage

Rate of Weight Loss*: 5-10% of total body weight; 10-20 pounds

  • Breakfast: Plain low-fat yogurt with fresh berries, green tea
  • Lunch: Green salad with a variety of vegetables like tomato and cucumber with a homemade vinaigrette, green tea
  • Dinner: Grilled salmon, choice of raw or steamed vegetables, green tea
  • Snacks: Sugar-free fruit-flavored yogurt, choice of one fruit

Cycle 2: Activate

Goal: Rest the metabolism, stimulate fat burn

Rate of Weight Loss*: Half of cycle 1; 5-10 pounds

  • Breakfast: Scrambled egg whites, half grapefruit or in-season fruit, green tea
  • Lunch: Baby spinach salad with tomatoes and feta and homemade vinaigrette, green tea
  • Dinner: Grilled turkey patties, side salad, green tea
  • Snacks: Fresh berries, plain low-fat yogurt

Cycle 3: Achieve

Goal: Nurture healthy eating habits, reintroduce more foods, move closer to goal weight

Rate of Weight Loss*: Half of cycle 2; 2.5-5 pounds

  • Breakfast: High-fiber cereal with skim milk, fresh berries, green tea
  • Lunch: Whole-wheat pita with lettuce, tomoato, feta cheese, Italian dressing; baby carrots; green tea
  • Dinner: Barbecued boneless chicken breast, steamed vegetables like asparagus or broccoli, green tea
  • Snacks: choice of one fruit, Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich

Cycle 4: Arrive

Goal: Maintain goal weight

Brunch: Blueberry waffles with syrup, turkey sausage, orange juice Dinner: Grilled chicken breast, steam broccoli, green tea Snacks: Sugar-free fruit-flavored yogurt, raw baby carrots

  • These rates of weight loss were determined during an interview with Dr. Mike Moreno in 2011. This is the amount of weight he says you could safely lose within each cycle. Pounds lost are based on a 200-pound person. The industry standard rate of weight loss is 1-2 pounds per week.

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan from Bistro MD

If you're short on time or not yet comfortable with your skills in the kitchen, the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan is available from Bistro MD, a leader in the meal delivery space. Each meal follows your progress through each cycle, each day to help keep you in line with the 17 Day Diet guidelines.

17 Day Diet Special Notes

  • The diet is suitable for both type 1 and type 2 diabetics. In an interview with Dr. Mike Moreno in 2011, he noted some type 2 diabetics have used 17 Day Diet and reduced or eliminated their need for medications. For type 1 diabetics, he advises more diligent assessment of sugar levels.

  • The diet is flexible enough to meet the needs of vegetarians. You'll simply modify the protein suggestions, for instance, replacing fish and chicken with soy, dairy, and legumes.

  • Those who don't care for seafood or fish can also alter the diet and replace with the other lean protein of their choice, like turkey, chicken or pork.

  • If green tea doesn't appeal to you, this can also be skipped by replacing with a green tea supplement and/or at least one cup of the tea each day.

17 DAY DIET VIDEOS

Having trouble viewing? Watch the 17 Day Diet Interview video here.

17 Day Diet YouTube Channel

The 17 Day Diet, report on CBS

The 17 Day Diet Challenge on Dr. Phil

The 17 Day Diet Video Review - Our product spotlight explains the diet and its pros and cons.

17 DAY DIET USER REVIEWS

I and my husband have been on this diet since May and I have lost 45lbs, went from a size 16 to a size 8 and my husband has lost 40lbs so far. This is by far the best "diet" I have been on. It is so easy and such a great change in our eating habits. - Tessa Letzinger 12/31/11

I lost 7 lbs in the first week and I feel great. I will continue on until I reach my goal weight. I am really excited and I feel so much in control. Unlike other diets this is very realistic. - Tammy 12/13/11

I've been on this diet for 40 days now, and I've lost a total of 25 lbs! I love this diet, and feel so healthy on it. Its the diet plan I have been waiting for! - Beth 12/8/11

I have lost 60 lbs in 7 months. I feel great am doing things I haven't been able to do in years. My diabetes is under control. - Susan C. 10/9/11

This is the greatest diet there has been and it does WORK if you eat what he tells you to eat and don't cheat. Healthwise, it makes you feel so much better and it is because of what you are putting in your mouth. - Carol 8/15/11

Leave your own review and rating now.

17 DAY DIET FAQ

We interviewed Dr. Mike and he answered your most common 17 Day Diet Questions

Do you have to eat fish on the 17 day diet? - Lisa 8/10/11

Do you have to drink green tea? - Stephenie 3/10/11

Which meats can I eat on the 17 Day Diet? - MRS. ETHERITH 2/24/11

Is the 17 Day Diet right for vegetarians? - Cheryl 5/7/11

Why am I stuck at the same weight on the 17 Day Diet? - Stephanie 5/7/11

Ask and Answer 17 Day Diet Questions now.

CONCLUSION

The 17 Day Diet, by Dr. Mike Moreno, only debuted in 2010 and quickly rose to compete with some of the biggest and oldest names in dieting. The book comes with mostly sound nutritional and fitness guidance and is oulined in such a way that makes it easy, almost effortless, to follow and see results.

One of the best things about this weight loss plan is its design to not only help you lose weight, but set you up for sustainable weight maintenance, which is the true sign of a quality program.

It's availability via a book makes it widely accessible and affordable, so there are no on-going fees, unexpected charges, or recurring needs to re-subscribe. Purchase it once and you could use it for life.

On The 17 Day Diet you'll "re-learn" how to eat, focusing on a balanced diet of lean proteins, whole grains, fresh fruits ad vegetables; and you'll eliminate the junk and processed foods that were no doubt a culprit in your weight and health issues.

Be sure to follow the fitness guidance, as moderate as they may be. If you're comfortable with doing more, speak with a trainer, medical professional, or continue to follow your own tried-and-true regimen of daily physical activity.

17 DAY DIET SLIDESHOWS

View What is the 17 Day Diet? Slideshow

Must Read Diet Books of 2011

17 DAY DIET RESOURCES

17 Day Diet Club on The Doctors

The 17 Day Diet Contact Information
  • Phone: 800-464-1384

  • Official Website: 17 Day Diet

  • Address: 17 Day Diet, Inc. 9903 Santa Monica Blvd. Suite 215 Beverly Hills, CA 90212

Common Misspellings

17 day diet, seventeen day diet, dr mike moreno's diet, dr. mike diet, 17 days diet, 17 diet, 17day diet book, 17daydiet

Author

by


Related Diets: Calorie Balance Diet, Calorie Shifting, The 17 Day Diet Cookbook, The 17 Day Plan to Stop Aging, High Protein Diet, Crack the Fat Loss Code, Jillian Michaels' Master Your Metabolism


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 21 of 54, 1062 total comments)

suzanne

this diet has absolutely worked for me. I lost 10 lbs and have kept it off - even though I've cheated a bit - for a month. I am about to go back to cycle 1 to lose more. It's easy. I never felt deprived and I love the warm lemon water in the morning, even though I didn't think I would.

posted May 10th, 2011 3:04 pm


Rusty

My wife and I are on day 11. We have NOT been doing the 17-minute work out, but I'm down 10 lbs and she's down 8 lbs. The weight loss has been great, but our energy level has been off in the evenings, but I attribute that to cutting off all carbs after 2pm. I'm also not a regular as normal due to the decreased fiber. I look forward to being able to eat oatmeal again. I do have cravings, but so far I've been able to say no. I miss steak, but in 6 days, it's on! The most difficult thing for me is late evening cravings between dinner and bedtime. I usually have an egg white omelet with pico de gallo or tuna with a boiled egg and calorie free ranch dressing.

posted May 10th, 2011 2:57 pm


Chris Patterson

It worked and I've kept the weight off. This is a diet plan I can live with.

posted May 10th, 2011 10:54 am


bullboxer

I did the first 17 days of this diet back in January and lost 9 pounds. After that I have been watching what I eat and probably gained back 2 lbs. I am starting back up again this week. If you stick to it, It works! You never have to be hungry.

posted May 9th, 2011 3:42 pm


jonD

Weigh in after first week. Loss of 7 lbs. and no hardships. Feeling great. Ready for phase two.

posted May 9th, 2011 2:53 pm


stephanie

why am i stuck at the same weight on the 17 day diet? I am now on day 6 and it is my second day of not losing anything. I am following the book exactly. and have lost only 4lbs. I am 22 so don't understand why its not working for me?! please help and give me some confidence.

posted May 7th, 2011 11:47 am


marilyn

wow! I've lost 14 lbs, in 33 days, am getting ready for the 3rd cycle. I'm 63, and have been trying to lose 10 lbs for a while. This program is easy to follow, upbeat, and yet honest about not returning to former bad habits. My bloodpressure has leveled off nicely, I feel better. Oh, by the way, I have had 3-4 days off, for Easter,and dinners @ friends...just got right back on LOve it!

posted May 6th, 2011 3:59 pm


Dena

I have completed the first 5 days and am down 6.2 lbs. I am sleeping well and have a really good outlook. I think I can do this. Knowing that I get to have my beloved oatmeal in under two weeks is keeping me going. Good luck to everyone!

posted May 6th, 2011 2:22 pm


Jwatson526

I have been on the First Cycle for 5 days now and have lost 9 pounds. I have been reading a lot of the comments on this message board and recipes seem to be an issue. I will say, the chicken soup and eggplant parm are awesome.

If you would like to find other recipes, The Doctor's website has a 17 Day Diet Club and a recipe section with mountains of recipes. I am following the first time through each cycle with the menus provided in the book. Then I will begin to branch out. Good luck everyone, I have 120 pounds to lose and my husband has 90. I have tried everything and we both feel a "prescription" with very little open ended will work. I am extrememly carb sensitive and really can't control cravings once I eat carbs in any large amount.

posted May 6th, 2011 7:59 am



Melissa Doll

protein 3x per day? Just finished day 3 and everything is going great! no cravings and actually just turned down meeting a friend for a drink! unhead of:) My question, I've been eating a protein, fruit, and probiotic for breakfast. Is this ok?

posted May 5th, 2011 10:09 pm



Laurel Gardiner

I have been following a very strict low calorie intake diet for well over a year in order to lose pounds, along with exercising about 4 days a week. I had reached a plateau of sorts and have started feeling really unwell lately. I decided to try this diet and I love it. Its easy to follow, I feel terrific, the supplements help boost your energy and I've kicked the plateau. Its a must try diet.

posted May 5th, 2011 12:44 pm


Amber

I also noted that the book was Difficult book to access or purchase, but I got mine sent to my Kindle in seconds from amazon..

posted May 4th, 2011 9:40 pm


Stefany

I just bought this book and I am about to start the diet Monday. Im so excited since I am going to the beach for a week in June and would like to be at least 10 pounds lighter by then. Im 4'11, a week shy of 26, and I am 137 pounds. My ultimate goal is 105 to 110 so I about 30 pounds to lose. Im very encouraged by everything I have read and I cant wait. I will keep you updated

posted May 4th, 2011 9:31 pm


Amber

Its been about a week and i alreay am starting to see a difference, but more then anything my skin looks terrific!

posted May 4th, 2011 9:26 pm


Tammie

I read the most recent reviews and I'm a bit confused.

This is called the 17 day diet yet in Megs' post, (hope you don't mind me using you as an example Meg) she said this... "I lost 7.5 lbs in the first 15 days of cycle 1 which was very good for me. I only wanted to lose about 12 lbs".

I'm confused because I thought this program took 17 days and that the 4 cycles were divided into those 17 days? From what I've read, that doesn't seem to be the case. Can someone please clarify this for me? Thanks!

Thanks to you as well Meg. If I could of, I would have asked for your permission prior to using you as an example but I didn't see a way to do that so please forgive me if you were offended. That was not my intent. Also, CONGRATS on your weight loss! Wishing you continued success!!

Leigh, I live with something very similar to Fibro. It's called RSD. After reading what you wrote, you've given me so much hope!!! Because of the pain I live with, the amount of meds I take and the fact that I can't exercise the way others can, my weight has been out of control for over 10 yrs!! I have a question for you if you don't mind? Was it hard for you to do the exercise plan that's to be followed in this program? Exercise is a major issue for me because if I over do it, I pay for days to come and the chance of my meds working, decrease dramatically!! Any info you can give me will be much appreciated!!! CONGRATS to you as well. Wishing you the same as Meg, continued success and in your case, a better quality of daily life.

Sorry for the long post but thanks for taking the time out to read it. Tammie

posted May 4th, 2011 9:11 pm


Deanna

@Colleen... if you don't mind me asking, what was your body frame to begin with? Height? Weight? Congrats on the 20lbs. That is fabulous!

posted May 4th, 2011 5:13 pm


Deanna

@ Kate... I am not a big egg person either. I have been making protein shakes every morning with 4oz Naked Juice, 6oz greek yogurt, and 1scoop of protein. I am on Day 9 and have lost 8.5lbs. I say go for it cause its working for me!

posted May 4th, 2011 5:11 pm


sweetiecheeks

Love this diet! I've lost 40 lbs in under 3 months. This includes going off the diet and then starting fresh twice- once for my birthday weekend, and another time for my 9-day vacation. It works wonders, I was so surprised at how quick I began to lose weight, it was immediate!

posted May 4th, 2011 3:29 pm


Jean

How do you get your 1000-1500 mg of Calcium daily? Osteoporosis is a serious health problem.

posted May 4th, 2011 3:14 pm


Leigh

I have been on this diet for 10 days & have lost 6 lbs. The weight loss has become secondary to how great I feel. I suffer from fibromyalgia & within a few days of starting this new eating plan, 13 of my health issues were GONE. Most of them are fibromyalgia-related. I sleep better & my allergies are not as bad even though everything is covered in pollen. Mental clarity is back, depression is gone & energy level is through the roof. I can't seem to tire myself out. Two weeks ago I was constantly exhausted & I did nothing more than the bare minimums to get through each day. This diet has changed my life!

posted May 4th, 2011 12:25 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account