| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 209 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.


An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.


Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.


The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 18 of 25, 481 total comments)


"Further, you claim to be taking in 200-300 calories daily.
That's pretty much a starvation diet!
If you were a nurse, would you teach a PT to take 200-300 calories daily and expect them to stay healthy."

" I only ate 200-300 calories a day, because I just wasn't hungry" The protocol calls for 500-800 calories daily, but I just wasn't hungry. There is a big differrence in advising someone else of how many calories a day to eat and simply reporting what you ate on a daily basis. Some days you are hungier, some days you are not. I ate whenever I was hungry and that works for me considering I used to eat all day and all night. I'm sure that wasn't to good for me at all"
I use a different website with support groups to track what I am doing instead of this site. Mainly because this site has some people who prefer to be nasty to those who simply report their activities. I believe in a person's right to gather information and choose their own path. Noone has a right to tell anyone what to do with their life or liberty. Offering factual information and directing a person to legitimate science is what people do when they really care. If a person seeks to understand what I am doing, they must first understand what I am doing!

posted Sep 24th, 2010 12:49 am


Reference the defamation I recieved by the member "Fit4Life"!

Have you read the book and reviewed the research & trial studies done on Dr. Simeon's Protocol? I was a skeptic about this diet myself and yes, I have been a nurse for over 25 years. I have also learned that just because something goes against my training, it doesn't mean that its quackery. I have learned to not only think for myself and review the science behind whatever I see, but to not ridicule people who feel or think differently than myself. I am sure that many great people in history stood against the majority also. I read the book and reviewed the science behind the diet after my physician suggested it and decided to try it for myself before I call it a bad idea. I have been monitored by a licensed physician, had labwork, vital signs and weekly checkups during my HCG experience, and for your information the nurse practitioner and other nurses I know that are doing the protocol have not only lost weight, but have lowered their blood pressures and LDL level. I have completed my first round of HCG and gone on stabilization for three weeks and have lost a total of 41 pounds. I am still being monitored by a licensed physician and have bloodwork monthly. My blood pressure has gone from 216/106 to 118/62. My cholesterol level has gone from 191 to 160, my BMI has gone from 41 to 35. My weight has gone from 237 to 196 so far. You can say what you want about my profession and question my competence as a nurse for the rest of your life, but God called me to this profession at the age of 12, and I have spent my like caring for and advocating for the patients in my care, to make sure that they receive the best possible care. I am the one who is responsible for making sure the patient gets the correct medications. Again, I ask: Have you read the research and do you actually understand the science behind the protocol. It isn't a way of life, it is a short term jump start to weight loss. I now eat 1700-2200 calories a day and I am loosing about 2-3 pounds a week on average. Previously on HCG, the weight loss fluctuated some days I lost 0.88 lbs, and some days I lost 1 lb. Somedays I lost 2 lbs. Somedays I lost nothing. Anyone who has been on the protocol knows that the weight loss fluctuates based on what you eat and when you eat. On HCG, You are actually consuming 2000 to 3000 calories daily, just in case you did get that in the book. There is even a way to test the theory, go figure? Regardless of anybody's opinion.. Hell, I'm 41 pounds lighter and I feel better, I look better, and my doctor is getting ready to take me off blood pressure meds. To top it all off, I am not a size 20 anymore, I can wear a size 16. YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted Sep 24th, 2010 12:30 am

linda auer

Made me very ill the first day. I was sick enough to go to the ER. Terrible headaches, weak, sick to my stomach. I couldn't finish my work day.

posted Sep 16th, 2010 10:35 pm


Phase 2 day 19 lost 15 lbs. Hard to stick with but worth it!

posted Sep 15th, 2010 9:52 pm


in 2008 I got my prescription filled for injection

posted Sep 13th, 2010 9:54 pm


I have been on the Hcg diet now for 2 weeks. I am sticking to a reduced calorie healthy diet. I am a nurse and when they presented me with an 800 calorie starvation diet I smelled a rat. A starvation diet will make you lose weight in itself but then you gain it back twice as fast. I am going finish the next two weeks and then will let everyone know the results. I have been doing about 1300 calories a day and going to zumba 3 days per week. I burn approx 1000 calories every zumba session. I have lost maybe 2 lbs which I could have done without the shots. I want to acheive healthy weight loss and I do not think 800 calories is healthy for anyone. By the way on my paperwork from the clinic it states that if you dont stick stricktley to their diet you will gain weight.

posted Sep 12th, 2010 3:51 pm


I went to the office for hormonal consultation, but the doctor told me that I was 22 lbs over weight, and that I had to start with the weight loss program. I went into shock. I know that I am a little over weight but, if I lose the 22 pounds I thing that I will look like a ghost. I am very skeptical about this program, just because I think that you have to be mentally prepared to do this diet since is so aggressive. I have payed for the program but I have mixed emotions about it. I will keep all of you posted on how it goes.

posted Aug 30th, 2010 12:43 pm


I am a Registered Nurse and this is my second week of the Hcg diet. I am using the homeopathic drops and they are working wonders! I have lost 14lbs in 8 days and I feel better than I have in years...honestly I don't remember feeling like this even as a teenager. My start weight was 266 and as of three days ago I weighed 252. I have been a little hungry but nothing like I would be without the drops. I have tried reduced fat/calorie diets in the past and could not stick to them because I was feeling starved. It isn't like that on this diet. As a nurse I was skeptical at first until I really read up on it and decided to try it myself. For the first time in a long time I feel like exercising!! I started exercising in addition to the diet yesterday and I feel great, no increased hunger or weakness. I am excited to see the results a few weeks from now!!

posted Aug 29th, 2010 11:44 pm


I am on the hcg hormone drops under the tongue. I am on the 40 day program and I am on day 4. This is really easy if I don't think about what I'm doing. Kinda feel like I have to play a mind game with myself. Really if I drink water n black tea and eat the menu provided, yes I'm fine. It was very difficult to cook Sunday dinner for my family and not be able to eat it. I had did a good job not reacting on my cravings. I didn't eat the peanut butter cookies I made or the yummy warm corn bread. Really I do have more energy and feel good. I pray this works cause I need this weight loss and to help me to eat smaller portions and less fat n sugar. I have tried some things to help me to lose weight but this one is the first I have done to help me in a serious way. I really want to look and feel healthier. I need this badly to feel better about my body.

posted Aug 23rd, 2010 2:07 pm


I had high hopes for this diet. I'm on the 31st day of p2 40 injection .Alot of the post I read on the net was positive. No hunger, losings a pound a day , mild side effects. So i went to a clinic in Las Vegas . Got 40 day supplie of HCG and some b12 shots. The first week was ok . feeling a little weak but nothing like week 2. I felt like i was going to faint a few times . I had to stop and sit down. 3rd week I felt like a little old woman. I was getting alot more light headed . Very weak!! Still hungry. On the 4th week I developed a rash on the back of my neck and under my right arm pit. They burn and itch like crazy. With all these side effects Im still going to finish the protocol . I lost 28 lbs and still have one week to go. If i had to do it all over again I would only do the 23 day cycle. hope this helps others who are undecided .

posted Aug 23rd, 2010 2:01 am


@Bri either your a fraud or you must be the most ignorant RN i've ever come across.

In August 6th you posted "I have done away with the fruit, and the melba toast as I find that I am too carb and sugar sensitive to handle them and still lose my pound a day."

On August 14th you stated "am averaging a 3-4 lb loss per week, which isn't bad considering I am not really doing much if any exercise."

Which is it 7 Ibs/week or 3-4/week?

Either way, as nurse you should know that it is not healthy to loose so much weight so quick.

Further, please give some objective feedback, i.e., daily vital signs, resting heart rate, respiration.

If your going to present yourself as nurse, then do so objectively as you learned in nursing school and not some like a typical patient who's chief complaints are all subjective.

Further, you know better then to promote this controversial diet that requires little or no exercise.

You know-as a nurse-something smells fishy, as Helen Feuer would say.

Further, you claim to be taking in 200-300 calories daily.

That's pretty much a starvation diet!

If you were a nurse, would you teach a PT to take 200-300 calories daily and expect them to stay healthy.

In all, you are taking the easy road. "Easy come easy goes."

Please, let us know what hospital you work at, so that when a patient sees you they may run away fast!

posted Aug 22nd, 2010 4:56 am

where ae you know and how are you feeling, thinking of going this route/. any mood swings?

posted Aug 18th, 2010 9:37 am


I'm down 26 lbs and loving how easy this has been. I don't even want to eat the 500 calories that my doctor keeps telling me I can have. She says if I feel fine, 200-300 calories is fine, so thats what I do. An example of the diet protocol can be found in the free pdf book. Just do a search for " Dr. Simeon's HCG Protocol". I am averaging a 3-4 lb loss per week, which isn't bad considering I am not really doing much if any exercise. I had to let the melba toast go, because I am very carb sensitive. I have been getting B12 shots weekly and that seems to boost me past any plateau I may be having that week. Good luck guys. You can email me if you have any questions and want a quicker respons or support at and it will come directly to my phone.


posted Aug 14th, 2010 7:10 am


Who can give me an example of what they eat , the menu for the day...

posted Aug 12th, 2010 8:23 pm


what companies are ppl using? im curious because i have found sooo many online, and im confused.

posted Aug 10th, 2010 4:18 pm

HCG Diet Info

It is worth it, I lost close to 50lbs on the HCG Diet . I'm not going to lie and say it is easy, all I know it worked for me. Check out my site at

posted Aug 9th, 2010 10:15 am


23 Days In, 22lbs down and 62lbs to go. I extended to do the 40 days and I skipped my shot yesterday for the first time to prevent immunity. I do think that the weekly B12 shots help with my energy level, eventhough I seem to want to do things they tell me not to do. I have this overwhelming desire to climb and go have fun outdoors. I may just do it anyway. I am pleased with the no hunger aspects of this diet. I have done away with the fruit, and the melba toast as I find that I am too carb and sugar sensitive to handle them and still lose my pound a day and remain hunger free. Stick with your proteins and veggies and your hunger should disappear. If it doesn't consult a doctor who specializes in the HGC protocol. Also, reading the book goes a long way toward understanding how this diet and the hormone actually work.

posted Aug 6th, 2010 2:03 pm


What exactly are you doing on your plan? Did you do it alone or through your doctor? Are you using shots or drops? What do you eat and when? Do you exercise any? Do you take the B12 shots weekly? Bri

posted Aug 6th, 2010 1:54 pm


I have been on the diet (injections) for 10 days and I'm completely miserable. I'm starving and so weak I can't even take care of my family. I have followed the diet completely and am very unhappy. I've lost 12 pounds and as far as I can tell it is all muscle. I am overweight but very fit. I lift weights and jog several times a week. I'm the same size except all of my muscles that were round and firm are now soft and stringy feeling. I can't benchpress even half what I could 10 days ago. Everyone said the side effects would go away, but I'm 10 days in and they're worse! My husband is very concerned and has told me he wants me to stop, but I'm going to give it a chance. Also, I have no other health problems and have always been healthy and fit as a horse even though I have a bmi of 29.

posted Aug 3rd, 2010 8:03 pm


Well, I am on day 20 and am down 20 lbs. Not bad and without the hunger. Hell, I should have tried this a long time ago. It was so much easier to do once I read the information on the web. I actually downloaded the book a reviewed it. I pre-measured my meats and pre-cooked a lot of them to safe me time on food preparation. But I love it and find it difficult to even get the whole 500 calories down.

posted Aug 3rd, 2010 1:19 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account