Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 197 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 24, 476 total comments)

userfile
Eryn

I have currently been on this diet for a little over a week and have lost almost ten pounds! I am not hungry and feel good overall. I really think water consumption has a huge effect in the over weight loss day to day. I am losing anywhere between 0.5 to 3 pounds a day. I currently hit my first day where I did not lose anything.. anyone have these episodes?

posted Dec 14th, 2010 5:00 pm



JulieW

Our doctors have modernized the old HCG Simeons protocol. We have doctors around the country who we train on this new DietDoc HCG Weight Loss protocol. Visit us at or call us at


HCG Dangers! Misconceptions about The hCG Diet For Weight Loss

Certain phenomena gain popularity largely based on an enormous internet presence without other reliable resources in place to clarify misconceptions which are propagated unchecked. The hcg diet and hcg weight loss protocol is an obvious example. Over the last few years, the marketing and websites promoting the use of hcg for weight loss have grown astronomically on the internet. While there are legitimate hcg weight loss clinics in some of the larger cities such as Los Angeles, San Diego, Seattle, New York, Dallas, and Miami, the vast majority of the information on hcg and the hcg products offered online are designed to confuse and make profit from an unknowing public. This article will focus on four of the more egregious errors that, due to the quantity of websites claiming the contrary to be true, must be clarified.
First, the original hcg diet was developed several decades ago by a Dr Simeons and he used an extremely restricted 500 calorie per day diet. Eating so few calories per day is inherently risky and can lead to health problems. From what we have learned about diet and nutrition since the 1950??s, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING about losing weight on hcg that requires patients to consume so few calories. There are in fact, many types of much safer diets that couple well with hcg for weight loss and in most cases are just as effective as the severely restricted diet. While this fact is true, 99% of the websites, blogs, videos, and other online chatter about hcg promote the 500 calorie diet.
Next, many online sites make unqualified and unsubstantiated claims on the effectiveness of the hcg weight loss program. They claim that patients are losing 2 pounds of fat per day. They claim that hcg is a permanent cure for obesity. Neither of these outrageous claims is true and in most states in this country making fraudulent medical claims is not only unethical, but illegal.
Third, it is not true that all hcg is created equally. Homeopathic hcg drops are definitely NOT the same as prescription hcg. While there are some legitimate prescription strength tablets being compounded by pharmacies, hcg drops in liquid form are NEVER prescription strength. Furthermore, the majority of hcg sold online directly to the public is either not true prescription strength or it is being obtained and sold illegally. There are also claims that there is special hcg weight loss for women and special hcg weight loss for men. Not true. Again, legitimate hcg weight loss clinics do exist. Prescription hcg is a medication and as such should always be prescribed by a qualified professional.
Lastly, most websites claim that hcg is a permanent reset for metabolism. This is also false. Any method one chooses to utilize to lose weight, whether it be diet or exercise or lap band surgery or gastric bypass surgery, once the weight is off long term strategies must be implemented to keep the weight off and stay healthy. Therefore, a tremendous failing of nearly all hcg weight loss available online is the lack of long term support and an effective maintenance program.
Diet Doc physicians are highly trained experts in this field. They have collectively seen thousands of successful cases, and will give you the proper advice and support as you transition into the slimmer, healthier person you want to be. Their diet is much more expanded in calories than any other program out there. They have developed an effective maintenance program to keep the weight off long term. Diet Doc offers its hcg diet and hcg weight loss clinics throughout the country with locations in San Diego, LA, Portland, Seattle, Spokane, Dallas, New York, and Miami.

Visit us at or call us at

posted Dec 12th, 2010 6:23 pm


Valentina

Hi everyone,

I am very much interested in taking this product. Several women at my work have done the programs and have had great success. I am 5'1 and 145 pounds. I work our regularly and eat healthy, but I cannot seem to get off the extra weight. However, I am uncertain as to if this is a good product for me. Does anyone have any advice? I was looking into the 15 day program. I'd greatly appreciate any feedback.



Thank you,

V

posted Dec 8th, 2010 3:16 pm


Valentina

Hi everyone,
I am very much interested in taking this product. Several women at my work have done the programs and have had great success. I am 5'1 and 145 pounds. I work our regularly and eat healthy, but I cannot seem to get off the extra weight. However, I am uncertain as to if this is a good product for me. Does anyone have any advice? I was looking into the 15 day program. I'd greatly appreciate any feedback.

Thank you,
V

posted Dec 8th, 2010 2:22 pm


Gina

I agree with Brian...side effects? No bad ones! I am looking and feeling marvelous! I have always struggled with my weight and excercise constantly...I just get heavier and bigger. I have dieted w/ low cal and low carb...all of it and have NEVER seen results like this. I have been on the HCG drops for 3 1/2 weeks and have lost 21 lbs! I am not that hungry and my face is glowing! Everyone says they are amazed how quickly I am getting small! Troubled areas were the first to go like my back fat....no more bra bulge. This diet is AWESOME! Whatever you have to lose, you can get the job done on HCG!

posted Dec 6th, 2010 7:58 pm


Frank

Best Diet ever, there is a lot of negative talk out there about the diet which almost discouraged me from trying it. Im glad I relied on actual users of the stuff because I not only lost my extra weight but my doctor took me off my Blood pressure meds and my near type 2 diabetes is well into normal range.

posted Dec 6th, 2010 7:16 pm


dar

I am seriously considering this weight loss program. I am trying to research before though. Can anyone tell me about having problems loosing too fast and the skin sagging? Someone said they would do the first round, then wait a while because if not you get too much sagging. Any input?

posted Dec 6th, 2010 4:19 am


FitReady

Kudos to everyone who did through Turkey Day!! Unfortunately, I was unable to. =(

Starting again today (12/03/10) with a commitment to no cheating and no excuses.

posted Dec 3rd, 2010 8:02 pm


ashmore

I just started the weekly HCG shot. However, I have noticed that after urinate I tend to get really sweaty for about 15 minutes after and my face gets red. Anyone else have this side effect? Maybe it's my body just detoxifying?

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 4:24 am


Lisa

This diet works. I have done 3 rounds so far and in between on maintenance have never gained the weight back. I am down to 175 from 230 and feel great.

Boredom can be an issue but you can do anything for a month.

I used the injections.

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 1:44 am


Astrid

I've started this diet on Saturday November 20th and so far, I've lost 13.8 lbs.
I didn't cheat once, not even on Thanksgiving.
It's very very hard, I'm hungry all the time, but the first days were the worst. Especially because my husnband isn't on a diet.

My breakfast is tea, at noon I eat an apple or some strawberries with melon and blueberries and an hour leter I eat 6 ounces of shrimp of chicken breast.

Same for dinner.
I also substitute lunch or dinner for homemade chicken soup, that also contains leeks, carrot, celery and onion, and I lose wieght anyway, almost a pound a day.

I keep using facial cream, body lotion, make-up and it doesn't seem to affect the wieght loss.

I use real HCG drops, not the homeopathic or shots. It cost $100 for 2 weeks, but I think it's well worth it! The pounds are melting away. After 1 week, I could already wear my new jeans that were 1 size down!!
I'm very excited about the diet, don't have any side effects, except headache on the first day.

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 1:05 am


Marie

I hope this isnt another scam. I'm going to try the drops....keeping my fingers crossed.

posted Dec 1st, 2010 3:47 pm


Brian

54 year old male, lost 27 pounds in 21 days. MOST importantly; Blood pressure dropped 30 points; glucose form 157 to 97. Dangerous my ass. I was a ticking time bomb. THIS PROGRAM WORKS!!! And these side effects the talk about they can put in their ear. I'll take them, vs a stroke or diabetes

posted Dec 1st, 2010 5:37 am


Kathy D.

This has been the only diet that works for me. It has me diciplined and loosing weight all the same time.

posted Nov 29th, 2010 8:03 pm


Missy

First of all, I love how, pretty much, the only idiots who criticize this diet are the ones who have never done it. I mean, seriously? Is this, like, what you do when you get bored? Run along, now. Surely there is a chat room or something just loaded with losers just like you that you can talk to.

Now, for all of those who matter...I used to be able to do the starvation thing Monday through Friday, eating about 500 total for the 5 days and then I would binge on the weekends. That actually worked out quite well for me and it was immediately after having my daughter. However, once I hit 30, weightloss suddenly became impossibe!!! So, I had a co-worker tell me that she was on this diet and having success thus, like most skeptics who think this is a scam, I figured that if you can lose the weight with the drops, you can lose the weight without them. For 5 days I ate only 500 calories and I did zumba and became more active. First 3 days I lost 4 pounds, the next two, I gained 3, even eating just the foods that you eat on this diet. That was miserable. So, I talked to my Dr. who told me I should do this, ordered the drops and got started. Being that I am only on my 4th day of this diet and the first 2 were my gorging days (and OMG! talk about someone who can eat her weight in food and think nothing of it! Gorge, I did!) I admit that I am no expert. What I can tell you is that after only actual days of dieting, I have lost 8 pounds. Yeah, 2 days. 8 POUNDS! Just to make sure we are clear, let me put it to you like this: Day 1, lost 4 pounds. Day 2, lost 4 pounds. Now, I am sure that when I wake up tomorrow, I will not have lost another 4 pounds but I am equally as sure that I will still have lost. I know this diet isn't for everyone but, personally, I feel absolutely fantastic. My mood has improved, I am more energetic and I can actually think a little more clearly. I am not saying that it's because of the drops because even when I did the 500 calories prior to getting them I felt great. Now, don't get me wrong. Fat people like to eat, hence, the reason we are fat so I would probably give my left leg for a pizza right now without screwing up my progress but it's not like I feel as though I am starving, because I don't. And, quite honestly, I believe it's nothing more than a mind thing with me.....I want it because I know I can't have it but, if I could have it, I would refuse it. For all of those who have questions about where to go to get this, from what I can tell in the reviews I have read on both this site, as well as others, the hcg shots don't work as well as the Homeopathic hCG drops, which is what I am taking so, why spend more money for less satisfaction? I got a 90 day supply of drops with free overnight shipping and a 90 day money back guarantee (as long as you returned all but 7 days worth of the drops - free return shipping, by the way) plus an additional $10 for your trouble at officialhcgdietplan.com. They are BBB accredited and with a guarantee like theirs, it's not like you would be losing anything, except some unwanted weight. Plus, for 90 days, it was only $129.

Now, I probably don't eat as much as I should because I am addicted to coffee and I have to have cream, which is 10 calories per tablespoon, so I usually only eat 150 grams of meat, 2 peices of melba toast and half of a grapefruit once day...sometimes, not always (I usually eat twice and skip the coffee on the days I am off of work) but I refuse to eat after 5:00 pm. I do some hula hooping because you can burn up to 100 calories in 10 minutes, tone your abs and have fun all at the same time, so think about trying that, too. And, I had another co-worker who told me she couldn't lose weight because of her thyroid condition so she tried this diet. She did 30 days, took off for 1 month and then did 15 days. She lost 50 pounds and has yet to gain so much as a pound of it back.

For those of you who have been unsuccessful, not successful enough or who have gotten ill from this diet, you're probably doing something wrong or what you're taking isn't what you were told it was. I would check the ingredents and be more cautious and do a little more research when ordering something like this. Or, it could just be that you're weird or something, I don't know. However, I wouldn't dismiss it just yet. Try ordering from the website I listed because so far, my results have been beyond anything I could have imagined and, if it still doesn't work, you can get your money back and all you have wasted is a little bit of time.

Oh, and one more thing for those of you who are considering this diet...don't hold back on the days you are supposed to binge, thinking that doing so will help you. It won't; it will hinder you. Right now your body has become accustomed to burning x amount of calories regardless of what you do. When you start these drops, whatever you eat within the first two days is going to be what your body believes it needs to continue burning on a regular basis instead of the next to nothing it was burning before. I ate a stuffed crust bbq pizza, box of cookies, bag of hershey kisses, bag of reeses cups (the big bags), oatmeal, cereal, pie, turkey, potatoes, and a 2 liter of coke...and that was just the first day! Admittingly, I did gain 3 pounds during those 2 days. However, as I mentioned before, I used to binge the same way every weekend and I gained at least 7 so 3 wasn't so bad and I have to give credit to the drops.

My last peice of advise is this: do NOT start this diet until you are absolutely ready to be dedicated to it. As you may have read in some of the other reviews, messing up one time will set you back 3-4 days which, for most people, will cause frustration and it will just be one more thing you give up on. This diet takes determination, will power and dedication. If you are all 3 of those things and tired of breaking a sweat when you turn over in the bed, then this diet is for you. The reason I am reading/writing reviews right now is because seeing the success of others encourages and inspires me and gets me excited about what I am doing all over again. So, if you start this diet and feel like you're going to give in to your urges, try coming back here and reading some reviews. Maybe that will help you, too. Good luck, everyone!

posted Nov 29th, 2010 5:38 am


Maria

I now mainly use it - when i see my weight creep up - above 155. I'm 5' 6" tall - I started taking the shots last Monday, 11.10 when i was at 158... Today, I'm at 151.5. That because i cheated a couple of times this weekend. It wasn't anything big, anything you put in your mouth counts.

posted Nov 24th, 2010 6:55 pm


Maria

I've been HCG diet plan like four different times in the past 2 years... It works great each time! However, I wasn't aware that after 40 days - I stopped loosing weight. My 1st doctor never warned me of the plateau - she kept selling me the product at $300 per month plus the $12 b12 shots per week. After the 2nd month you need to stop taking and maintain. Wait and month before returning back on it.

posted Nov 24th, 2010 6:50 pm


FitReady

Woohoo!! On Day 2 of the 500 calorie phase and I've lost 5 pounds. I was a dork and didn't do the "fat loading days" right, I did the loading without the drops. LOL

Small oversight but still great results. Even loosing inches, 2.5 inches to date.

Can't wait to see how the next few weeks progress.

posted Nov 24th, 2010 3:22 am


Kim

NOTE TO ALL: if you're taking the oral drops wack the bottle a few times then hold the drops under your tongue for 30-60 seconds. Don't eat within 15 minutes of taking the drops or have anything minty or garlicy(including toothpaste) within 30 minutes of taking the drops.

posted Nov 23rd, 2010 10:09 pm


FitReady

Starting sublingual HCG & B12 tomorrow (11/22/10) and will follow program to a tee. Got mine through GNC which was a fraction of the cost compared to the clinics.

My sister paid $800 for HCG & B12 shots over 2 months, cheated and still achieved great results. She lost 20 pounds in 2 months. Great for her considering she has 4 kids and was trying to loose the baby weight since Baby #2.

posted Nov 22nd, 2010 4:57 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account