Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review: Does it Work?

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2011 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2011 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 25, 483 total comments)


what people need to understand is that this isn't just a diet, it is a lifestyle change. if you are anything like me, you are unhappy when you are overweight, but you try things to lose weight and they are only temporary. this diet helps you make the change you need to get back down to the weight you should be and keep it off. if you follow through with all the phases you WILL NOT gain the weight back. the problems you hear from people is just them not following protocol.
over the summer i went from 130 to 113, but didn't stick to protocol. my mom on the other hand did and has kept her weight off. it works!!
but it is really hard and you will want to cheat. just remember that if you follow the diet that YOU WILL LOSE WEIGHT. there is no guessing about it. also it is better if you don't cheat at all! it's not the end of the world, but you won't lose as much weight. plus, why ruin your good streak with one bad day?? keep up the good work and you will feel better in the end.

so i say try it! stay positive about it and see it through till the end. how many diets are out there that allows you to lose this much weight, in a HEALTHY way, without going to the gym and working out??

posted Dec 19th, 2010 10:31 pm



buy at officialhcgdietplan .com thier fda approved and bbb accrediated lost 9 pounds so far i really recommended really works!!! 9 pounds in 1 week

posted Dec 17th, 2010 7:15 pm


I'm interested in what products people use. Drops or shots, homeopathic or the real deal? Do you get the hCG yourself or through a doctor? which is the most effective

posted Dec 17th, 2010 1:30 am



Where can I buy the HCG drops?? I know there is a lot of fake stuff out there and so I want to make sure I buy affordable drops that are actually real.

posted Dec 16th, 2010 3:51 pm


OK, I would love to talk to Missy...if you can maybe messege me here? or on facebook...or something lol. I would love to be able to chat with you about this diet...

I am very interested in this diet, I have tried other diet programs, and even just watching calories and trying to exercise. Exercising is hard for me, I am 468lbs, so many exercises end up making me sore for days, even something as simple as walking around the block makes me sore the following day. I am 23 years old and have a 4 year old daughter I want to see grow up. I NEED something like this to jumpstart my weight loss so I can actually exercise and loose the weight on my own.

Does anyone my size or around my size have expierence with this? does it work the same as with people who weigh less?

posted Dec 16th, 2010 5:54 am


Your body is just giving itself time to catch up with all the weight loss. Do not get discouraged, you will begin to lose the weight again in no time. Sometimes an apple day helps (eat only 6 apples throughout the day with little water). Some say that apple days are purely psychological, but after my 4 day stall, my apple day yielded great results. I lost 2 lbs after my apple day!

I am on day 18 of my HCG (oral drops) diet and this morning I reached 22 lbs. At first I was losing an average of 2 lbs per day, then came the 4 day stall. But I continued to lose the weight and I feel great. I haven't had any really bad side effects, although the first week was pretty hard(I love SUGAR), I do admit. But now I feel GREAT! I even have to remind myself to eat! One bad thing about me is that I tend to skip meals. I am a mom of 4, and sometimes there isn't enough time in a day for myself. Like today, where I have only had 118 calories. But I promised myself that tomorrow I will have a full 500+ calories! 2 egg whites for breakfast!
This is the miracle diet I have been waiting for. I started at 174, and today I am 152. My goal is 145, and I only have a week to go!!!


posted Dec 15th, 2010 12:02 am


I just started it today and personally I think its a good idea for those who are trying to lose weight fast. I weigh over 160 pounds and I want to get back down to about 135. I think this is the best way to do it ! People who take this Im sure will see results :)

posted Dec 14th, 2010 10:55 pm



I have currently been on this diet for a little over a week and have lost almost ten pounds! I am not hungry and feel good overall. I really think water consumption has a huge effect in the over weight loss day to day. I am losing anywhere between 0.5 to 3 pounds a day. I currently hit my first day where I did not lose anything.. anyone have these episodes?

posted Dec 14th, 2010 5:00 pm



Our doctors have modernized the old HCG Simeons protocol. We have doctors around the country who we train on this new DietDoc HCG Weight Loss protocol. Visit us at or call us at

HCG Dangers! Misconceptions about The hCG Diet For Weight Loss

Certain phenomena gain popularity largely based on an enormous internet presence without other reliable resources in place to clarify misconceptions which are propagated unchecked. The hcg diet and hcg weight loss protocol is an obvious example. Over the last few years, the marketing and websites promoting the use of hcg for weight loss have grown astronomically on the internet. While there are legitimate hcg weight loss clinics in some of the larger cities such as Los Angeles, San Diego, Seattle, New York, Dallas, and Miami, the vast majority of the information on hcg and the hcg products offered online are designed to confuse and make profit from an unknowing public. This article will focus on four of the more egregious errors that, due to the quantity of websites claiming the contrary to be true, must be clarified.
First, the original hcg diet was developed several decades ago by a Dr Simeons and he used an extremely restricted 500 calorie per day diet. Eating so few calories per day is inherently risky and can lead to health problems. From what we have learned about diet and nutrition since the 1950â??s, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING about losing weight on hcg that requires patients to consume so few calories. There are in fact, many types of much safer diets that couple well with hcg for weight loss and in most cases are just as effective as the severely restricted diet. While this fact is true, 99% of the websites, blogs, videos, and other online chatter about hcg promote the 500 calorie diet.
Next, many online sites make unqualified and unsubstantiated claims on the effectiveness of the hcg weight loss program. They claim that patients are losing 2 pounds of fat per day. They claim that hcg is a permanent cure for obesity. Neither of these outrageous claims is true and in most states in this country making fraudulent medical claims is not only unethical, but illegal.
Third, it is not true that all hcg is created equally. Homeopathic hcg drops are definitely NOT the same as prescription hcg. While there are some legitimate prescription strength tablets being compounded by pharmacies, hcg drops in liquid form are NEVER prescription strength. Furthermore, the majority of hcg sold online directly to the public is either not true prescription strength or it is being obtained and sold illegally. There are also claims that there is special hcg weight loss for women and special hcg weight loss for men. Not true. Again, legitimate hcg weight loss clinics do exist. Prescription hcg is a medication and as such should always be prescribed by a qualified professional.
Lastly, most websites claim that hcg is a permanent reset for metabolism. This is also false. Any method one chooses to utilize to lose weight, whether it be diet or exercise or lap band surgery or gastric bypass surgery, once the weight is off long term strategies must be implemented to keep the weight off and stay healthy. Therefore, a tremendous failing of nearly all hcg weight loss available online is the lack of long term support and an effective maintenance program.
Diet Doc physicians are highly trained experts in this field. They have collectively seen thousands of successful cases, and will give you the proper advice and support as you transition into the slimmer, healthier person you want to be. Their diet is much more expanded in calories than any other program out there. They have developed an effective maintenance program to keep the weight off long term. Diet Doc offers its hcg diet and hcg weight loss clinics throughout the country with locations in San Diego, LA, Portland, Seattle, Spokane, Dallas, New York, and Miami.

Visit us at or call us at

posted Dec 12th, 2010 6:23 pm


Hi everyone,

I am very much interested in taking this product. Several women at my work have done the programs and have had great success. I am 5'1 and 145 pounds. I work our regularly and eat healthy, but I cannot seem to get off the extra weight. However, I am uncertain as to if this is a good product for me. Does anyone have any advice? I was looking into the 15 day program. I'd greatly appreciate any feedback.

Thank you,


posted Dec 8th, 2010 3:16 pm


Hi everyone,
I am very much interested in taking this product. Several women at my work have done the programs and have had great success. I am 5'1 and 145 pounds. I work our regularly and eat healthy, but I cannot seem to get off the extra weight. However, I am uncertain as to if this is a good product for me. Does anyone have any advice? I was looking into the 15 day program. I'd greatly appreciate any feedback.

Thank you,

posted Dec 8th, 2010 2:22 pm



I agree with Brian...side effects? No bad ones! I am looking and feeling marvelous! I have always struggled with my weight and excercise constantly...I just get heavier and bigger. I have dieted w/ low cal and low carb...all of it and have NEVER seen results like this. I have been on the HCG drops for 3 1/2 weeks and have lost 21 lbs! I am not that hungry and my face is glowing! Everyone says they are amazed how quickly I am getting small! Troubled areas were the first to go like my back fat....no more bra bulge. This diet is AWESOME! Whatever you have to lose, you can get the job done on HCG!

posted Dec 6th, 2010 7:58 pm



Best Diet ever, there is a lot of negative talk out there about the diet which almost discouraged me from trying it. Im glad I relied on actual users of the stuff because I not only lost my extra weight but my doctor took me off my Blood pressure meds and my near type 2 diabetes is well into normal range.

posted Dec 6th, 2010 7:16 pm


I am seriously considering this weight loss program. I am trying to research before though. Can anyone tell me about having problems loosing too fast and the skin sagging? Someone said they would do the first round, then wait a while because if not you get too much sagging. Any input?

posted Dec 6th, 2010 4:19 am


Kudos to everyone who did through Turkey Day!! Unfortunately, I was unable to. =(

Starting again today (12/03/10) with a commitment to no cheating and no excuses.

posted Dec 3rd, 2010 8:02 pm



I just started the weekly HCG shot. However, I have noticed that after urinate I tend to get really sweaty for about 15 minutes after and my face gets red. Anyone else have this side effect? Maybe it's my body just detoxifying?

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 4:24 am



This diet works. I have done 3 rounds so far and in between on maintenance have never gained the weight back. I am down to 175 from 230 and feel great.

Boredom can be an issue but you can do anything for a month.

I used the injections.

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 1:44 am



I've started this diet on Saturday November 20th and so far, I've lost 13.8 lbs.
I didn't cheat once, not even on Thanksgiving.
It's very very hard, I'm hungry all the time, but the first days were the worst. Especially because my husnband isn't on a diet.

My breakfast is tea, at noon I eat an apple or some strawberries with melon and blueberries and an hour leter I eat 6 ounces of shrimp of chicken breast.

Same for dinner.
I also substitute lunch or dinner for homemade chicken soup, that also contains leeks, carrot, celery and onion, and I lose wieght anyway, almost a pound a day.

I keep using facial cream, body lotion, make-up and it doesn't seem to affect the wieght loss.

I use real HCG drops, not the homeopathic or shots. It cost $100 for 2 weeks, but I think it's well worth it! The pounds are melting away. After 1 week, I could already wear my new jeans that were 1 size down!!
I'm very excited about the diet, don't have any side effects, except headache on the first day.

posted Dec 2nd, 2010 1:05 am


I hope this isnt another scam. I'm going to try the drops....keeping my fingers crossed.

posted Dec 1st, 2010 3:47 pm



54 year old male, lost 27 pounds in 21 days. MOST importantly; Blood pressure dropped 30 points; glucose form 157 to 97. Dangerous my ass. I was a ticking time bomb. THIS PROGRAM WORKS!!! And these side effects the talk about they can put in their ear. I'll take them, vs a stroke or diabetes

posted Dec 1st, 2010 5:37 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?


See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.


An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.


Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.


The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, Calorie Restriction Diet , hCG Ultra Diet Drops, The Pregnancy Diet, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?