Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 196 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 16 of 24, 475 total comments)

Shan

Well I just started hcg diet today...but Im not sure how to prepared my meals ( like I work 8:30 4:30 and I get two breaks plus breakfast in the morning) and dinner Im not sure how to set my time schedule and when I take the drops do I just squeeze and drop or squeeze in and out the whole 6times? I know I might sound krazy but I just want to make sure Im doing it right not overtaking to many drops or not enough....

posted Nov 18th, 2010 5:39 am


Shan

Well I just started hcg diet today...but Im not sure how to prepared my meals ( like I work 8:30 4:30 and I get two breaks plus breakfast in the morning) and when I take the drops do I just squeeze and drop or squeeze in and out the whole 6times? I know I might sound krazy but I just want to make sure Im doing it right not overtaking to many drops or not enough....

posted Nov 18th, 2010 5:37 am


shannon

Well I just started hcg diet today...but Im not sure how to prepared my meals ( like I work 8:30 4:30 and I get two breaks plus breakfast in the morning) and when I take the drops do I just squeeze and drop or squeeze in and out the whole 6times? I know I might sound krazy but I just want to make sure Im doing it right not overtaking to many drops or not enough....

posted Nov 18th, 2010 5:34 am


Pittfan

Ruby I just finished my last day of the drops yesterday. I used HCG Platium anf purchased it from GNC. I thought well if GNC will guarantee some else's product I would give it a try. Plus if you sign up for there store card not a credit card then the price comes down from like $91 to $71 for a 30 day supply. I am happy with my weight loss so far of about 18 pounds.

posted Nov 18th, 2010 2:27 am


Nina

Anybody knows where is the hcg taken from? I know the hcg is produce from pregnant women but how are actually the homeapatic drops made?

posted Nov 15th, 2010 11:54 pm


Holly

I started the hcg diet 2 weeks ago at 181 lbs. I am now 165! This stuff is amazing. I don't even feel like eating, infact I almost forget to and have to force myself to eat the little I am supposed to.

posted Nov 15th, 2010 7:42 pm


lively07

Just started and its great! Lost 10 pounds in the first 8 days and I'm really excited about the week to come. Who's excited about the next week of a diet???? If you have tried everything and struggled with the results - try this diet and watch the pounds leave quickly.

posted Nov 13th, 2010 1:49 am


KATIE

THIS DIET IS WONDERFUL

I AM NOW ON MY SECOND 42 DAY CYCLE MY STARTING WEIGHT WAS 362 I NOW WEIGH 286 AND I AM STILL LOOSING

BRFORE I FOUND THIS DIET I WAS MAKING PLANS TO HAVE THE BYPASS SURGERY

THIS HAS BEEN A TRUE BLESSING FOR ME !

GOOD LUCK TO ANYONE WHO WISHES TO TRY

posted Nov 12th, 2010 9:35 pm


jamgirl

Re: Catherine:

After your low calorie diet, there are 2 pahses that ease you back into normal eating. The first is where you eat whatever you want, in whatever amounts, just no sugar or start. Thats for 3 weeks. Then you starting easting sugar and starch back in. Your metabolism is MUCH higher and VIOLA you can eat normally again.

posted Nov 11th, 2010 12:15 pm


jamgirl

Wow, try it before you knock it! HCG is amazing. Nearly everyone who has actually tried it (correctly) says it works wonder! Those who knock it havent tried it and/or have a vested interest in not having people try this *(i.e. the diet industry, whow wants you to try and fail over and over so they can keep raking in BILLIONS).

And, the system was created by a Dr. in the 1950's= since the 1950's can ANYONE point to a single death or major injury caused by it?
Yes you EAT 500 calories, but you are releasing 1000-2000 calories of burned fat into your system, so your NOT on a starvation diet.
IF you use the drops correctly, there is no physical hunger. People however often have to deal with mental hunger.

I have yet to find ONE person who tried this, did it correctly and doesnt RAVE about it.

Dont knock it till youve tried it.

posted Nov 11th, 2010 12:12 pm


gigi01

I am starting today very excited. iam doing the shots on day 2 and Aunt flo just came to visit any thoughts about going ahead with Day 3 of injection?

posted Nov 11th, 2010 1:10 am


Rebecca

Where is the best place to get this stuff?

posted Oct 24th, 2010 12:10 am


sediqua

Here is the thing. This diet is not for everyone. If you are active, lets say, exercising at least 4 times a week, I would not recommend this diet. If you are already active, you are better off eating a balance meal, with carbs, along with caloric restriction. The results will be a lot better, sleeker firm body, with no violent fluctuations in weight, or adherence to draconian food choices. That being said, however, I do like the diet, and I did it to lose the first 25 pounds. I was so over weight, and did not get into the exercise habit of pushing myself to where my heart rate needed to be to burn fat. Not exercising, this is the perfect choice I think. But without exercising, you run the risk of gaining it back, because it so easy to fall off the horse. And once you fall off the horse, you are in disbeleif that the weight comes back on so quickly.

It pretty much works the best the first time. After that, its not as effective, because you lost a lot of muscle in addition to fat. After I was done with the protocal, I was lighter, but I was definitely flabbier.

I took a break from HCG. And being lighter, it was easier for me to exercise. I started running, and the increased activity made it easier for me to eat carbs, without any weight gain. Now, I pretty much eat whatever I want, and my body burns it off.

HCG did get rid of my appetite however, and now that I am exercising and eating a balance meal with carbs, my body looks a lot better. Its toned, and I amnot skinny fat, like I was on the HCG.

so if you have ALOT of weight to lose, and are not ready for hard core cardio to lose the fat, then do this protocal. But you have to be careful, because its so easy to gain the weight back on this diet.

posted Oct 16th, 2010 6:40 pm


Ashlee

I have been on the HCG Oral Drop Diet for for 21 days and i have never felt better. I started at 137.8 and now i am 129.00 I cheated a couple times so i could of been farther along. The first week was really hard but after that it was a breeze. You really have to gorge the first two days that is very important because thathelp you get thru the first two days. I had two fruits, 2 starches, 2 meats two vegetables. i usually had a fruit in the morning and a fruit @3 and had lunch at 12 and Dinner around five. i still have a week left with the rate im going i will be down to 122 which is like 2 pounds from my goal weight! Love this !

posted Oct 13th, 2010 12:03 pm


Rojagert

Typical "Holier Than Thou" Dr.s article about all the so called dangers of a particular substance...the same folks who whip out there prescription pads to write you out some over prescribed anti-biotics, meridia (now off market) phen-fen (now off market) and all the countless other big money prescription meds that have page long warnings and possible side effects. The best is Viagra...can cause SERIOUS side effects but it is one of..if not THE..most Dr. prescribed medicine.

The "not FDA approved" label is irrelevant. Most ALL nutritional supplements are NOT FDA approved to treat any specific condition or illness yet Drs constanty recommend them. Additionally, most Drs "OFF LABEL" prescribe many medicines which are not technically FDA approved for treating specific medical conditions.

If you are interested in the HCG diet, do some serious research. Get away from the BS scam ad website for fake HCG drops and get away from the promoters and the naysayers both.

If you use GENUINE HCG from a GENUINE medical Dr. then you will see the results.

Best of luck no matter what you choose:)

posted Oct 12th, 2010 1:08 pm


Esther

I just started this diet 4 days ago and I love it! the first day I did get a headache though but It was mainly because I didn't eat before I went to bed. I am 17 and I'm 193 pounds but I mainly weigh so much because I have excessively large breasts which I am desperately hoping that they will go down just a tad bit. I definitely recommend this diet.

posted Oct 12th, 2010 3:18 am


Charlie

This is my second week on the hcg drops. I think this is awesome, I have lost 15 pounds in 2 weeks. I was skeptical when my friend told me about it but now i am huge fan. Yes the 500 calories is kind of tough but I just make my food and measure it out for the week and put it in baggies in the fridge. I go out to eat but always get salad with no dressing and cut the cheese, carrots etc only get the grilled meat and veggies and eat it with hot sauce and always take half of it home. I am going to stay on the drops for 41 days and hope to lose at least 25 to 30 pounds. If you have will power you can do it. Fitting back into my old clothes feels so much better then any food tastes!! Set your mind and you can do it!

posted Oct 10th, 2010 11:22 am



Bri

question Darlene?

Did the surgeon say that HCG caused your father's blood clot ?

I read the possible side effects of HCG and I can't find any confirmed reports of blood clots connected with its use.

I take an aspirin a day to minimize my risks for clots regardless.

posted Oct 8th, 2010 4:17 am


mom of 2

I am on day 8 of the 26 days. I have lost 12lbs so far. I am happy with my results but the calorie reduction is definately difficult. I consider quiting sometimes. but the bigger goal at hand keeps me motivated.

posted Oct 7th, 2010 12:58 pm


Darlene Mitroff

My father just finished his six weeks on this diet. He is currently in the hospital recovering from brain surgery after a blood clot in t the brain!!!! Read the side effects.

posted Oct 6th, 2010 10:50 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account