| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 205 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.


An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.


Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.


The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 16 of 24, 479 total comments)


Woohoo!! On Day 2 of the 500 calorie phase and I've lost 5 pounds. I was a dork and didn't do the "fat loading days" right, I did the loading without the drops. LOL

Small oversight but still great results. Even loosing inches, 2.5 inches to date.

Can't wait to see how the next few weeks progress.

posted Nov 24th, 2010 3:22 am


NOTE TO ALL: if you're taking the oral drops wack the bottle a few times then hold the drops under your tongue for 30-60 seconds. Don't eat within 15 minutes of taking the drops or have anything minty or garlicy(including toothpaste) within 30 minutes of taking the drops.

posted Nov 23rd, 2010 10:09 pm


Starting sublingual HCG & B12 tomorrow (11/22/10) and will follow program to a tee. Got mine through GNC which was a fraction of the cost compared to the clinics.

My sister paid $800 for HCG & B12 shots over 2 months, cheated and still achieved great results. She lost 20 pounds in 2 months. Great for her considering she has 4 kids and was trying to loose the baby weight since Baby #2.

posted Nov 22nd, 2010 4:57 am


I did a 42 day rounf on drops, lost 22lbs. Could have lost more, but cheated twice. Better not to cheat as it sets you back 3-4 days before you lose again. I'm on my last week of mnt., and plan on loading on Thanksgiving, YUM! I am really kinda excited to get into those size 8's. Good luck to all!

posted Nov 19th, 2010 10:54 pm


Well I just started hcg diet today...but Im not sure how to prepared my meals ( like I work 8:30 4:30 and I get two breaks plus breakfast in the morning) and dinner Im not sure how to set my time schedule and when I take the drops do I just squeeze and drop or squeeze in and out the whole 6times? I know I might sound krazy but I just want to make sure Im doing it right not overtaking to many drops or not enough....

posted Nov 18th, 2010 5:39 am


Well I just started hcg diet today...but Im not sure how to prepared my meals ( like I work 8:30 4:30 and I get two breaks plus breakfast in the morning) and when I take the drops do I just squeeze and drop or squeeze in and out the whole 6times? I know I might sound krazy but I just want to make sure Im doing it right not overtaking to many drops or not enough....

posted Nov 18th, 2010 5:37 am


Well I just started hcg diet today...but Im not sure how to prepared my meals ( like I work 8:30 4:30 and I get two breaks plus breakfast in the morning) and when I take the drops do I just squeeze and drop or squeeze in and out the whole 6times? I know I might sound krazy but I just want to make sure Im doing it right not overtaking to many drops or not enough....

posted Nov 18th, 2010 5:34 am


Ruby I just finished my last day of the drops yesterday. I used HCG Platium anf purchased it from GNC. I thought well if GNC will guarantee some else's product I would give it a try. Plus if you sign up for there store card not a credit card then the price comes down from like $91 to $71 for a 30 day supply. I am happy with my weight loss so far of about 18 pounds.

posted Nov 18th, 2010 2:27 am


Anybody knows where is the hcg taken from? I know the hcg is produce from pregnant women but how are actually the homeapatic drops made?

posted Nov 15th, 2010 11:54 pm


I started the hcg diet 2 weeks ago at 181 lbs. I am now 165! This stuff is amazing. I don't even feel like eating, infact I almost forget to and have to force myself to eat the little I am supposed to.

posted Nov 15th, 2010 7:42 pm


Just started and its great! Lost 10 pounds in the first 8 days and I'm really excited about the week to come. Who's excited about the next week of a diet???? If you have tried everything and struggled with the results - try this diet and watch the pounds leave quickly.

posted Nov 13th, 2010 1:49 am







posted Nov 12th, 2010 9:35 pm


Re: Catherine:

After your low calorie diet, there are 2 pahses that ease you back into normal eating. The first is where you eat whatever you want, in whatever amounts, just no sugar or start. Thats for 3 weeks. Then you starting easting sugar and starch back in. Your metabolism is MUCH higher and VIOLA you can eat normally again.

posted Nov 11th, 2010 12:15 pm


Wow, try it before you knock it! HCG is amazing. Nearly everyone who has actually tried it (correctly) says it works wonder! Those who knock it havent tried it and/or have a vested interest in not having people try this *(i.e. the diet industry, whow wants you to try and fail over and over so they can keep raking in BILLIONS).

And, the system was created by a Dr. in the 1950's= since the 1950's can ANYONE point to a single death or major injury caused by it?
Yes you EAT 500 calories, but you are releasing 1000-2000 calories of burned fat into your system, so your NOT on a starvation diet.
IF you use the drops correctly, there is no physical hunger. People however often have to deal with mental hunger.

I have yet to find ONE person who tried this, did it correctly and doesnt RAVE about it.

Dont knock it till youve tried it.

posted Nov 11th, 2010 12:12 pm


I am starting today very excited. iam doing the shots on day 2 and Aunt flo just came to visit any thoughts about going ahead with Day 3 of injection?

posted Nov 11th, 2010 1:10 am


Where is the best place to get this stuff?

posted Oct 24th, 2010 12:10 am


Here is the thing. This diet is not for everyone. If you are active, lets say, exercising at least 4 times a week, I would not recommend this diet. If you are already active, you are better off eating a balance meal, with carbs, along with caloric restriction. The results will be a lot better, sleeker firm body, with no violent fluctuations in weight, or adherence to draconian food choices. That being said, however, I do like the diet, and I did it to lose the first 25 pounds. I was so over weight, and did not get into the exercise habit of pushing myself to where my heart rate needed to be to burn fat. Not exercising, this is the perfect choice I think. But without exercising, you run the risk of gaining it back, because it so easy to fall off the horse. And once you fall off the horse, you are in disbeleif that the weight comes back on so quickly.

It pretty much works the best the first time. After that, its not as effective, because you lost a lot of muscle in addition to fat. After I was done with the protocal, I was lighter, but I was definitely flabbier.

I took a break from HCG. And being lighter, it was easier for me to exercise. I started running, and the increased activity made it easier for me to eat carbs, without any weight gain. Now, I pretty much eat whatever I want, and my body burns it off.

HCG did get rid of my appetite however, and now that I am exercising and eating a balance meal with carbs, my body looks a lot better. Its toned, and I amnot skinny fat, like I was on the HCG.

so if you have ALOT of weight to lose, and are not ready for hard core cardio to lose the fat, then do this protocal. But you have to be careful, because its so easy to gain the weight back on this diet.

posted Oct 16th, 2010 6:40 pm


I have been on the HCG Oral Drop Diet for for 21 days and i have never felt better. I started at 137.8 and now i am 129.00 I cheated a couple times so i could of been farther along. The first week was really hard but after that it was a breeze. You really have to gorge the first two days that is very important because thathelp you get thru the first two days. I had two fruits, 2 starches, 2 meats two vegetables. i usually had a fruit in the morning and a fruit @3 and had lunch at 12 and Dinner around five. i still have a week left with the rate im going i will be down to 122 which is like 2 pounds from my goal weight! Love this !

posted Oct 13th, 2010 12:03 pm


Typical "Holier Than Thou" Dr.s article about all the so called dangers of a particular substance...the same folks who whip out there prescription pads to write you out some over prescribed anti-biotics, meridia (now off market) phen-fen (now off market) and all the countless other big money prescription meds that have page long warnings and possible side effects. The best is Viagra...can cause SERIOUS side effects but it is one of..if not THE..most Dr. prescribed medicine.

The "not FDA approved" label is irrelevant. Most ALL nutritional supplements are NOT FDA approved to treat any specific condition or illness yet Drs constanty recommend them. Additionally, most Drs "OFF LABEL" prescribe many medicines which are not technically FDA approved for treating specific medical conditions.

If you are interested in the HCG diet, do some serious research. Get away from the BS scam ad website for fake HCG drops and get away from the promoters and the naysayers both.

If you use GENUINE HCG from a GENUINE medical Dr. then you will see the results.

Best of luck no matter what you choose:)

posted Oct 12th, 2010 1:08 pm


I just started this diet 4 days ago and I love it! the first day I did get a headache though but It was mainly because I didn't eat before I went to bed. I am 17 and I'm 193 pounds but I mainly weigh so much because I have excessively large breasts which I am desperately hoping that they will go down just a tad bit. I definitely recommend this diet.

posted Oct 12th, 2010 3:18 am


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account