Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 196 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 24, 475 total comments)

skywalkr2

HCG diet is a miracle and anyone who says otherwise is a person who has never done it or has some other medical problem that interferes (and obviously these DO exist). You can easily buy HCG drops off eBay which are high quality and come with instructions. I originally did the diet with a weight loss clinic and went from 250 to 215 lbs. I just restarted 2 years later on my own using the eBay drops and am down to 207 in less than a week (that includes the load days).

You MUST FOLLOW THE PROTOCOL COMPLETELY. Phase 2 and Phase 3. If you dont then you wont be successful.

No side effects for me. My wife was unable to complete hers because of a bad gall bladder. So please do make sure you are in good health and follow all the rules... you will lose weight and you will lose it fast. You dont feel hungry or lacking in normal energy (unless you start a new exerceise routine after starting the diet).

posted Jan 4th, 2011 8:55 pm


kim

I go to the doctor the 6th to start the HCG diet. I have tried everything from p90x, weight watchers, walking everything.. I weigh 190 lbs @ 5'6". Everything I do I gain weight, or loose like 7 lbs over three months. I sure hope this works I'm tired of the long stretched out things that end up making me gain weight. Help is this the right thing to do?

posted Jan 4th, 2011 1:08 am


Dulce

Where can I find a guide of the diet to follow when on the drops?

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 10:08 pm


lovinHCG

Hello Potential Users and Skeptics,
I started using HCG drops on 12/25/2010. I used Christmas and the day after as load up days. *smart thinking right* Lol. Anyways, so basically i started using this product a week ago. I started at 263.2 lbs, i weighed this morning 1/1/2011 at 250 lbs. This diet works and i didn't follow the protocol for 4 days because my menstraul was on and the directions said not to use it while on a period ( i was still supposed to stick to the 500 cal protocol) but i had some cravings, not many, but i ventured off the menu a couple times. I think that is amazing!! 13 lbs in one week is pretty impressive. My next short term goal is getting to 240 lbs by next weekend. I will post my progress for people who don't believe. Trust me, if i can do it, anybody can because im not fat because of genetics or some medical reason, im fat because i like to EAT. Lol. Sad but True!! If i can restrict my diet, i think anybody could....it starts in your mind first, once you make up your mind that you want the fat off, you will follow the plan as close as you can. BUT HCG helps...i felt hungry the first couple days after the load days but now i forget to eat! Try it. you won't regret it. I think the best place to order it from is officialhcgdiet.com they use real HCG w/ no alcohol and you WILL get your order the very next day! Losing weight and Loving It.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 4:02 pm


Apesmommy

My SIL did this diet and lost a good amount and her husband lost 59lbs so my husband and I decided to try it. My husband went from 243-215 and I went from 203-177. We both had no ill side effects and did sublingual drops from thetree4life.com After 3 wks off we have maintianed our weight loss and as a family are eatting healthier.

I am getting ready to start again on Mon. in hopes of loosing another 30lbs to before I had 3 kids. I highly rec. this diet for anyone! It takes a lot of mental strength but is SOO worth it! When you buy the drops they e-mail you the diets and recipes and they are there to call any time with questions on what you can or can't eat. 6wks and 26lbs cost me $84.99 and was totally worth every penny!

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 7:16 am


Marie32675

I'm on day 29 and have only lost 19.4 pounds so far. I have also felt pretty hungry through out the diet. Im using 10 homeopathic drops 3x/day and taking a very strong probiotic, a liver support supplement and a bioavailable multi. Regardless of the hunger and slower than average weight loss, I'm glad I'm doing this diet. It's a real kick in the pants to get super serious about your health.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 3:53 am


Hallie

Well this diet is ok, My son has been on it for about 35 days, and he has lost around 30 pounds, but all the reading about the hcg diet doesn't tell you you about the horrible rash you can get while taking hcg. My son rash got really bad and he had to go to the quick care, he still was doing the injections, the rash cleared up a little after a visit to the doc, but the next week it got much worse, he has not stopped the hcg and trying to get rid of the rash. I hope you really research the drug, I think the rash is going to scar him. He is pretty bumed

posted Dec 29th, 2010 3:04 pm


Pamela

Skin looked bad (dried out, scaley and wrinkled increased, staying that way yet today); hair dried up and started to fall out; fat globbed in huge bunches on thighs....felt awful, and finally felt hungry around the 21st day. The recommended foods by ounces did not always total 500 calories, resulting in usually on around 300-350 calories/day. I lost weight!!! 20 pounds in 21 days!!! But, gained all of it plus back after a month or 2. I teach nutrition and everything I teach was not practiced in this diet. Lost weight and inches, but none off of my belly, which was my biggest concern when I started this.

posted Dec 28th, 2010 8:25 pm


shannon

This diet taught me how to eat for the first time in my life and I am 32, by removing everything then slowly adding things back I saw how much I am affected by sugar and carbs and how much better I feel when I'm eating clean healthy food. I lost the last 15 pounds that I struggled with all my life, I weigh less now then I did at 15 after having 3 kids, I didn't think that was possible. The best news is I've maintained for over 3 months so far (over the holidays!!) even with indulging here and there:) I highly recommend it!!

posted Dec 28th, 2010 1:33 am


joykim420

What brand do you guys suggest for the drops under the tongue? :)

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 9:52 am


Michael Smith

So from July 2010 to Sept. of 2010 I did a 40 day cycle of HCG and the maintanence after. I researched it myself and spoke to people who had already done it (including a Chiropractor and a doctor). I lost a total of 65 pounds and dropped 3 pants sizes. The diet is finicky and requires strict adherence, but I never felt hungry, had great energy, and a general good feeling about everything. Do your research, talk to your doctor about your personal situation. Oh by the way, when I started I was 400 pounds, I did put 15 back on when I was sick but got back to eating my new normal way and have since dropped 5. After I finished the diet the doctor was amazed at my new cholesteral (118) and fasting blood suger levels(58).

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 2:25 am


Lindsey

I have been on this diet for a week now and I have lost about 10 pounds HOWEVER, I have not lost one ounce of fat. My clothes do NOT fit any different than they did before I started this diet.
What the creators of this diet fail to tell you is that your body needs protein and when it doesn't get it from the food it will take it from your reserves, just like the fat. Muscle weighs more than fat, therefore I strongly believe the weight I lost is about 85%muscle. I would have been better off with just eating 500 calories a day and NOT taking the drops.
All this diet does is satisfy you when you step on the scale, don't waste your money.

posted Dec 20th, 2010 7:12 pm


averey

what people need to understand is that this isn't just a diet, it is a lifestyle change. if you are anything like me, you are unhappy when you are overweight, but you try things to lose weight and they are only temporary. this diet helps you make the change you need to get back down to the weight you should be and keep it off. if you follow through with all the phases you WILL NOT gain the weight back. the problems you hear from people is just them not following protocol.
over the summer i went from 130 to 113, but didn't stick to protocol. my mom on the other hand did and has kept her weight off. it works!!
but it is really hard and you will want to cheat. just remember that if you follow the diet that YOU WILL LOSE WEIGHT. there is no guessing about it. also it is better if you don't cheat at all! it's not the end of the world, but you won't lose as much weight. plus, why ruin your good streak with one bad day?? keep up the good work and you will feel better in the end.

so i say try it! stay positive about it and see it through till the end. how many diets are out there that allows you to lose this much weight, in a HEALTHY way, without going to the gym and working out??

posted Dec 19th, 2010 10:31 pm


rosa

buy at officialhcgdietplan .com thier fda approved and bbb accrediated lost 9 pounds so far i really recommended really works!!! 9 pounds in 1 week

posted Dec 17th, 2010 7:15 pm


Donna

I'm interested in what products people use. Drops or shots, homeopathic or the real deal? Do you get the hCG yourself or through a doctor? which is the most effective

posted Dec 17th, 2010 1:30 am


Karen

Where can I buy the HCG drops?? I know there is a lot of fake stuff out there and so I want to make sure I buy affordable drops that are actually real.

posted Dec 16th, 2010 3:51 pm



Jessica4806

OK, I would love to talk to Missy...if you can maybe messege me here? or on facebook...or something lol. I would love to be able to chat with you about this diet...

I am very interested in this diet, I have tried other diet programs, and even just watching calories and trying to exercise. Exercising is hard for me, I am 468lbs, so many exercises end up making me sore for days, even something as simple as walking around the block makes me sore the following day. I am 23 years old and have a 4 year old daughter I want to see grow up. I NEED something like this to jumpstart my weight loss so I can actually exercise and loose the weight on my own.

Does anyone my size or around my size have expierence with this? does it work the same as with people who weigh less?

posted Dec 16th, 2010 5:54 am


Jennifer

Eryn,
Your body is just giving itself time to catch up with all the weight loss. Do not get discouraged, you will begin to lose the weight again in no time. Sometimes an apple day helps (eat only 6 apples throughout the day with little water). Some say that apple days are purely psychological, but after my 4 day stall, my apple day yielded great results. I lost 2 lbs after my apple day!

I am on day 18 of my HCG (oral drops) diet and this morning I reached 22 lbs. At first I was losing an average of 2 lbs per day, then came the 4 day stall. But I continued to lose the weight and I feel great. I haven't had any really bad side effects, although the first week was pretty hard(I love SUGAR), I do admit. But now I feel GREAT! I even have to remind myself to eat! One bad thing about me is that I tend to skip meals. I am a mom of 4, and sometimes there isn't enough time in a day for myself. Like today, where I have only had 118 calories. But I promised myself that tomorrow I will have a full 500+ calories! 2 egg whites for breakfast!
This is the miracle diet I have been waiting for. I started at 174, and today I am 152. My goal is 145, and I only have a week to go!!!

GOOD LUCK Y'ALL!!!!

posted Dec 15th, 2010 12:02 am


brisa

I just started it today and personally I think its a good idea for those who are trying to lose weight fast. I weigh over 160 pounds and I want to get back down to about 135. I think this is the best way to do it ! People who take this Im sure will see results :)

posted Dec 14th, 2010 10:55 pm


userfile
Eryn

I have currently been on this diet for a little over a week and have lost almost ten pounds! I am not hungry and feel good overall. I really think water consumption has a huge effect in the over weight loss day to day. I am losing anywhere between 0.5 to 3 pounds a day. I currently hit my first day where I did not lose anything.. anyone have these episodes?

posted Dec 14th, 2010 5:00 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account