Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

34%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 211 reviews
hCG Diet

hCG Diet Review: Does it Work?

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The hCG Diet is a weight loss plan offering a hormone that is said to reset metabolism during a very low calorie diet. The actual hCG hormone is only available via prescription, but different brands will offer a supplement version as well.

The same basic principles exist for whatever company that sells this hormone, one has to limit calories to just 500 a day. Often the hCG hormone is made available via a vial, which can be drank or injected. It claims to offer fast and effective weight loss. Our experts have reviewed countless diets and found the 18Shake Diet offers the best all-around weight loss solution. It’s made up of a natural weight loss diet pill and a meal replacement. They combine to offer hours of appetite suppression as well as fat burning. Discover more information on the 18Shake Diet via the link provided here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

hCGDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The actual hormone used stands for human chorionic gonadotropin, a hormone made by the embryo. Often companies will make an animal or synthetic version of this. It is created during pregnancy when a fetus needs protection.

It’s also been used to regulate normal testosterone function, and it has since been banned by many sports organizations.

The official diet was created by an endocrinologist named Albert T.W. Simeons, who believed that a 500 calorie diet alongside this hormone would result in weight loss without there being muscle loss. The American Society of BariatricPhysicians had this to say:

“There is no scientific evidence that HCG is effective in the treatment of obesity”

“insufficient evidence supporting the claims that HCG is effective in altering fat-distribution, hunger reduction, or in inducing a feeling of well-being”

For a comprehensive list of the top 10 ranked diet plans click on the link here.

The FDA have also banned it, in an open letter to consumers they said:

“steer clear of these “homeopathic” human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) weight-loss products”

“have not been approved by the FDA, and that make unsupported claims”

The FDA also commented on the low amount of calories suggested:

“Living on 500 calorie a  day is not only unhealthy,- it’s hazardous”

“ Very low calorie diets are sometimes prescribed by health careprofessionals… medical supervision is needed to ensure that side effects are not life threatening”

The dangers of such as diet are:

“may not be getting enough vitamins, minerals, and- most critically- protein”

Since using this hormone for weight loss is no longer an accepted medical reason by the FDA, any sites which sell a homeopathic version will often add unrelated ingredients. The original hCG however has the banned ingredient which has not been proven to be an effective solution for weight loss.The link here has a comprehensive top 10 list of  the highest ranked diets.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

hCGDiet Qualityof Ingredients

The sole active ingredient is a growth hormone that the FDA has banned due to safety concerns. The 500 calorie limit a day diet is also not recommended, as health organizations do not consider than a safe weight loss solution. It will likely reduce weight since one is receiving so few calories, but this can lead to side effects and a loss of muscle. It’s also highly likely that which such a low of calories allowed, that there will be nutritional deficiencies.

Since you cannot receive the actual hormone for weight loss, it’s no longer accepted as a solution for weight loss. It’s also only available via prescription, and only to treat fertility issues but not for weight loss. Using them for other reasons not specific can be potentially dangerous, especially when using the 500 calorie a day diet. Web MD has this to say:

“uncomfortable to live on just 500 calories a day, it can be dangerous”

“It’s impossible to meet all your nutritional needs on so few calories”

One would have to supplement with some sort of vitamin and mineral complex to help support the body. Still, restricting calories this much is often only advised for people under strict watch of a medical professional.

Any type of extreme calorie reduction will likely result in some sort of weight loss benefit, but it’s not considered a safe or long term solution.

The Price and Quality of hCG Diet

The hormone is no longer available for prescription use, and any brands selling it are distributing an illegal product not recognized by the FDA.

It’s unknown what the price is as sales of it are meant only for women with fertility issues. The FDA has since sent at least 6 warning letters to companies who sell and market this hormone for weight loss. There are some companies that use the same name of hCG, but instead offer a mix of amino acids which are legal but not same. However, these businesses are using the popularity of this name to promote their own products.

A list of the highest ranked top 10 diet plans is made available in the link here.

The Mayo Clinic also adds:

“Side effects have also been reported with the HCG diet and include fatigue, irritability, restlessness, depression, fluid buildup, and swelling of the breasts”

It’s because of this that they say:

“there are safer ways to lose weight”

The overall risks make this a very low quality weight loss strategy. As you’ll read in the “Customer Opinions of hCG Diet”, many people who used it for weight loss have described it as a poor solution.

Business of hCG Diet

Any businesses that sell this diet plan are in violation of the FDA’s policies for safe products. It’s not considered to be a useful hormone for weight loss. Medpage Today adds that business who still sold this were in violation and that:

“the FDA and FTC threatened to forcibly halt their operations”

A spokesperson for the FDA added:

“is not FDA approved, it cannot be sold legally”

Any business one might find that market this diet plan are illegally selling a potentially harmful product. There’s far too much at risk, and any sales of this will often only be for fertility, not for weight loss. Any recommendations made for weight loss are illegal, and should be of concern as this can result in a fine.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of hCG Diet

There are very few reviews available since this diet plan has been banned since 2011 by the FDA. Here are some select quotes from some users:

“My blood pressure shot up, flushed skin… very scary”

“I felt terrible: headaches daily, weakness, dizziness, nauseated”

“Would not recommend this to anyone”

“have horrible leg cramps and I’m hungry all the time”

There were people who mentioned that they didn’t notice any reliable weight loss, and that they had to quit the diet early due to side effects. This includes symptoms such as headaches, restlessness, fatigue, mood swings, inability to relax, migraines, flushed skin, dizziness, stomach pain, nausea, and much more.

Many of the listed side effects are common in people who use very low calorie diets. People often mentioned that it was unsustainable, and they couldn’t live on this diet for a long time. The comprehensive top 10 ranked diets list is featured via the link here.

There were some that did see a change in weight, but they also add how they quickly regained it as soon as a regular diet was consumed. People were also concerned with the 500 calorie limit, since there was no additional support on how to maintain this extreme limit. This is why it will often require medical support for those reducing calories to 1,000 or less.

Conclusion - Does hCG Diet  Work?

The hCG Diet is a now defunct solution for weight loss that has since been banned by the FDA. It’s made up of a hormone and it suggests reducing calories to just 500 a day. There are studies which have shown even when it was legal, that using  this plan was not effective and potentially unsafe. This is why it is now banned and seen as a potentially dangerous weight loss diet. The majority of users that tried it before the FDA 2011 ban did mention it was poor, and that it left them hungry, with side effects, and without any weight loss.

Our experts have found that the most overall effective solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a meal replacement shake and a stimulant free diet pill. The benefits include appetite suppression, increased metabolism, boosted fat burning, improved mood, and many other benefits. Customers often say it’s a potent formula, and testimonials and reviews are available on their official website.  There are no added fillers, stimulants, binders, artificial colors, artificial flavors, or cheap ingredients added to either the meal replacement or diet pill.

The 18Shake Diet is also supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return is offered with no questions asked for the entire 30 days. To learn more information about the 18Shake Diet click the link here.

How Does hCG Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • hCG Diet
  • 34 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 25, 483 total comments)

hcgsuccess

+

The wording of this feedback format is confusing. I put like because I LOVE this diet, but actually if I put like it would mean that I "like" the article which has VERY obviously been written by someone who has not read all the facts about it. I started the diet in mid April and did the drops for 43 days, including three load days. This is the maximum days for one round, you can do more than one round, but must take at least a three week period in between to stabilize and reset your hypothalamus. More than 43 days in a row can cause immunity. Anyway, I lost 28 pounds by June. Lost 2 more during maintenance, then lost as much as 5 more during my new lifestyle of very little sugars and starches, and eating only when I am hungry.. December I had a nice Christmas and gained 7 pounds over my stabilized weight! So now I have started a short round (must be at least 23 days) to get back to my healthy desired weight.

It works..This article is misinformed. Yes, you will lose weight on a 500 calorie diet alone. But you will be hungry, sickly, fainting, dizzy, stalled, and hit a plateau. These drops prevent that. I never had any of these symptoms. I had TONS of energy. I wish the author could explain how that happened, AND I kept losing without hitting a starvation plateau.

The most important thing to know is that you MUST, MUST, MUST READ "POUNDS AND INCHES" by Dr. Simeons and follow it EXACTLY, EXACTLY, EXACTLY....I cannot stress this enough. His the only way to get the best results..and it's hard, but worth it. I figure I can do anything for a month..I did and a little bit longer. DO NOT follow any regimens that supplement with shakes, extra calories, extra vegetables, mixing vegetables, or anything that deviates from the original protocol, or you may end up paying the supplier who suggests these more money by being on the diet longer..great for them, not for you! The only deviation is that Dr. Simeons refers to injections, and now the drops are available. They work just as well. The difference is that with the drops, you do not become as immune prone. AND you do not have to stop drops your period. The previous poster has it wrong. You must stop if you are on shots because of immunity problems, as you are also supposed to skip a day a week-same purpose. Drops you just keep taking them until your round is finished. You also have to do maintenance for 6 weeks between rounds.

There is a fantastic support group on Facebook. Just search HCG and look for the largest group-sponsored by Legacy Group. The will answer any questions you have, and you don't have to be their customer. I bought my drops on Amazon and I wouldn't recommend the way I did, because you don't know what you will get...I got very lucky and got the real thing, but I only know this because it works. (drops will not pass a pregnancy test, shots will) You could end up buying a bottle of water. I would trust Legacy if I hadn't already bought my drops. I am not affiliated with them in any way other than sharing my experiences on the FB page.

If you are in good health this diet will be the best thing you ever did for yourself. It is NOT a license to overeat when you are done, just a jumpstart with quick loss so you can begin your new healthy eating habits sooner.

posted Jan 11th, 2011 12:16 am


userfile
maggiedav

Well I have been doing this since 12/31 and have lost 10.4lbs. Which is amazing! But with that being said, I am getting really frustrated and disappointed. the first 7 days I lost 1-2lbs per day. Now I am losing .4 and .2
Take note of the point in front of the number!!! I am following protocol. I messed up a couple times the first few days in the form of chocolate, but the past 4-5 days I've been perfect. NO cheating. I don't feel like the weight I'm losing is worth the sacrafice I'm taking with cutting out everything but fish chicken veggies and fruit. I feel like I could lose more weight eating whatever I wanted and working out. I'm losing my motivation! =( Does anyone have any advice?

posted Jan 10th, 2011 2:54 pm


victoria secret

I started the HCG diet yesterday and I feel pretty and sexy already. I do not feel hungry. I will continue....

posted Jan 9th, 2011 10:03 pm


Julie DeMuth

Do you really need to do a cleanse? And do you really need to use certain shampoo, conditioner, and deoderant?

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:28 am


Wes

+

I have been doing the HCG drops for about a week now and I have 9.0 lbs thats only in 4 days man WOW this really wroks as long as u DO WHAT IT SAYS DO you wont go wrong trust me i was 278.8 an im around 270 or so man in 4days man so go for it its life changing my goal is 220.00 by April and im gonna get there with teh hekp of HCG .

Thanks HCG

posted Jan 7th, 2011 2:13 am


Dawn

+

This diet like so many others depends on your desire to change your unhealthy eating habits. Nothing wrong with that.
I have already changed many bad habits and had a few more to wean out.
I am losing on this diet, I did have a headache the first couple of days. I have felt slightly hungry from time to time but that too is passing. I also am under the strict guidance of my Dr. due to ongoing exisitng health challenges. So far after a week I am doing quit well.
I do realize that the maintenance phase is critical to keeping the weight off.
Anyone who tries this diet must be ready to commit 100% as cheating will ruin it for you.
So to anyone who wishes to try it make sure to talk to your Dr.
It may or may not be the right choice for you.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 7:35 pm


Steeler74

Is it true that once you finish your cycle of HCG and if you dont stick to a strick diet for maybe 2-3 weeks after you gain some or all of your weight back?

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:20 am


Maggie

+

I started this diet Friday, Dec 31. I have lost 6.6 lbs so far. It's amazing. I feel a little hungry occasionally, but nothing that I can't handle. And I have been experiencing headaches since Sunday, but that could also be because I've gone cold turkey on coffee. I can actually SEE part of my lower stomach roll where the fat is shrinking. It's really insane and amazing. I just hope the rest of my body catches up and I don't just lose it in that one area. Has any one else experienced that?

posted Jan 5th, 2011 7:29 pm


skywalkr2

+

HCG diet is a miracle and anyone who says otherwise is a person who has never done it or has some other medical problem that interferes (and obviously these DO exist). You can easily buy HCG drops off eBay which are high quality and come with instructions. I originally did the diet with a weight loss clinic and went from 250 to 215 lbs. I just restarted 2 years later on my own using the eBay drops and am down to 207 in less than a week (that includes the load days).

You MUST FOLLOW THE PROTOCOL COMPLETELY. Phase 2 and Phase 3. If you dont then you wont be successful.

No side effects for me. My wife was unable to complete hers because of a bad gall bladder. So please do make sure you are in good health and follow all the rules... you will lose weight and you will lose it fast. You dont feel hungry or lacking in normal energy (unless you start a new exerceise routine after starting the diet).

posted Jan 4th, 2011 8:55 pm


kim

I go to the doctor the 6th to start the HCG diet. I have tried everything from p90x, weight watchers, walking everything.. I weigh 190 lbs @ 5'6". Everything I do I gain weight, or loose like 7 lbs over three months. I sure hope this works I'm tired of the long stretched out things that end up making me gain weight. Help is this the right thing to do?

posted Jan 4th, 2011 1:08 am


Dulce

Where can I find a guide of the diet to follow when on the drops?

posted Jan 3rd, 2011 10:08 pm


lovinHCG

Hello Potential Users and Skeptics,
I started using HCG drops on 12/25/2010. I used Christmas and the day after as load up days. *smart thinking right* Lol. Anyways, so basically i started using this product a week ago. I started at 263.2 lbs, i weighed this morning 1/1/2011 at 250 lbs. This diet works and i didn't follow the protocol for 4 days because my menstraul was on and the directions said not to use it while on a period ( i was still supposed to stick to the 500 cal protocol) but i had some cravings, not many, but i ventured off the menu a couple times. I think that is amazing!! 13 lbs in one week is pretty impressive. My next short term goal is getting to 240 lbs by next weekend. I will post my progress for people who don't believe. Trust me, if i can do it, anybody can because im not fat because of genetics or some medical reason, im fat because i like to EAT. Lol. Sad but True!! If i can restrict my diet, i think anybody could....it starts in your mind first, once you make up your mind that you want the fat off, you will follow the plan as close as you can. BUT HCG helps...i felt hungry the first couple days after the load days but now i forget to eat! Try it. you won't regret it. I think the best place to order it from is officialhcgdiet.com they use real HCG w/ no alcohol and you WILL get your order the very next day! Losing weight and Loving It.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 4:02 pm


Apesmommy

+

My SIL did this diet and lost a good amount and her husband lost 59lbs so my husband and I decided to try it. My husband went from 243-215 and I went from 203-177. We both had no ill side effects and did sublingual drops from thetree4life.com After 3 wks off we have maintianed our weight loss and as a family are eatting healthier.

I am getting ready to start again on Mon. in hopes of loosing another 30lbs to before I had 3 kids. I highly rec. this diet for anyone! It takes a lot of mental strength but is SOO worth it! When you buy the drops they e-mail you the diets and recipes and they are there to call any time with questions on what you can or can't eat. 6wks and 26lbs cost me $84.99 and was totally worth every penny!

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 7:16 am


Marie32675

I'm on day 29 and have only lost 19.4 pounds so far. I have also felt pretty hungry through out the diet. Im using 10 homeopathic drops 3x/day and taking a very strong probiotic, a liver support supplement and a bioavailable multi. Regardless of the hunger and slower than average weight loss, I'm glad I'm doing this diet. It's a real kick in the pants to get super serious about your health.

posted Jan 2nd, 2011 3:53 am


Hallie

Well this diet is ok, My son has been on it for about 35 days, and he has lost around 30 pounds, but all the reading about the hcg diet doesn't tell you you about the horrible rash you can get while taking hcg. My son rash got really bad and he had to go to the quick care, he still was doing the injections, the rash cleared up a little after a visit to the doc, but the next week it got much worse, he has not stopped the hcg and trying to get rid of the rash. I hope you really research the drug, I think the rash is going to scar him. He is pretty bumed

posted Dec 29th, 2010 3:04 pm


Pamela

-

Skin looked bad (dried out, scaley and wrinkled increased, staying that way yet today); hair dried up and started to fall out; fat globbed in huge bunches on thighs....felt awful, and finally felt hungry around the 21st day. The recommended foods by ounces did not always total 500 calories, resulting in usually on around 300-350 calories/day. I lost weight!!! 20 pounds in 21 days!!! But, gained all of it plus back after a month or 2. I teach nutrition and everything I teach was not practiced in this diet. Lost weight and inches, but none off of my belly, which was my biggest concern when I started this.

posted Dec 28th, 2010 8:25 pm


shannon

+

This diet taught me how to eat for the first time in my life and I am 32, by removing everything then slowly adding things back I saw how much I am affected by sugar and carbs and how much better I feel when I'm eating clean healthy food. I lost the last 15 pounds that I struggled with all my life, I weigh less now then I did at 15 after having 3 kids, I didn't think that was possible. The best news is I've maintained for over 3 months so far (over the holidays!!) even with indulging here and there:) I highly recommend it!!

posted Dec 28th, 2010 1:33 am


joykim420

What brand do you guys suggest for the drops under the tongue? :)

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 9:52 am


Michael Smith

+

So from July 2010 to Sept. of 2010 I did a 40 day cycle of HCG and the maintanence after. I researched it myself and spoke to people who had already done it (including a Chiropractor and a doctor). I lost a total of 65 pounds and dropped 3 pants sizes. The diet is finicky and requires strict adherence, but I never felt hungry, had great energy, and a general good feeling about everything. Do your research, talk to your doctor about your personal situation. Oh by the way, when I started I was 400 pounds, I did put 15 back on when I was sick but got back to eating my new normal way and have since dropped 5. After I finished the diet the doctor was amazed at my new cholesteral (118) and fasting blood suger levels(58).

posted Dec 23rd, 2010 2:25 am


Lindsey

-

I have been on this diet for a week now and I have lost about 10 pounds HOWEVER, I have not lost one ounce of fat. My clothes do NOT fit any different than they did before I started this diet.
What the creators of this diet fail to tell you is that your body needs protein and when it doesn't get it from the food it will take it from your reserves, just like the fat. Muscle weighs more than fat, therefore I strongly believe the weight I lost is about 85%muscle. I would have been better off with just eating 500 calories a day and NOT taking the drops.
All this diet does is satisfy you when you step on the scale, don't waste your money.

posted Dec 20th, 2010 7:12 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet

Related Diets: Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, Calorie Restriction Diet , hCG Ultra Diet Drops, The Pregnancy Diet, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method

Whats better than
hCG Diet?