Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 197 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 17 of 24, 476 total comments)

Darlene Mitroff

My father just finished his six weeks on this diet. He is currently in the hospital recovering from brain surgery after a blood clot in t the brain!!!! Read the side effects.

posted Oct 6th, 2010 10:50 am


Ruby

when i googled this diet, about 10 different websites popped up. Im trying to purchase the drops and want to give it a try but Im low on money as it is and dont want to overspend if there are cheaper deals out there. can someone please post me a link of where I can go to to purchase it!? Thank you!

posted Oct 5th, 2010 2:24 pm


knightmom

I started the HCG drops and diet in September of 2009. I lost 50 lbs and have kept it off. I decided to stop after I lost the lbs to see if I could maintain the weight loss. I noticed I had more energy and slept better than I had in years. I completed 2 rounds of 23 days and one 43 day round before stopping to see if I could maintain the weight loss. I returned to eating normal food, just not eating as much as I did before losing the weight. I would like to lose 80 more lbs and just ordered the drops again to continue losing. I have been off the drops for about 6 months. I had great success the first time and hope to have the same success this time.

I have yo-yoed for years with my weight and this is the first time I actually feel a difference in my health after losing weight. I love chocolate and was eating it every day. I notice that I no longer crave sweets like I did before starting the HCG diet. It seems to have changed my taste buds. I eat very little fried foods and eat more baked, steamed and grilled foods. I notice the food really tastes good without being smothered in sauces and gravies. I eat very little bread, which I wasn't a bread lover before, so I really don't miss that. What I missed on the diet was rice and pasta. I have been eating it since I went off the diet and noticed that I fill up more quickly and can't eat very much of it. I have actually learned to eat a portion size instead of 3 - 4 portions sizes. I don't go back for seconds when I eat at home.

When eating out I ask for a go box as soon as they bring my meal and put half in the box for a take home meal. If I dine with my teenagers, we have begun ordering one meal and splitting it. We used to spend $500.00 - $600.00 on food and eating out for a family of 4. We now spend around $200.00 a month. I love saving all the money and using it for others things - like new clothes.

You will lose weight if you follow the instructions given and eat only foods on the list.

Good luck to all who try. I wish you all success.

posted Oct 5th, 2010 1:23 pm


Jody

After years of bulimia, my metabolism was down to nothing. Even though I've not been bulimic for 20 years now, I still couldn't lose weight. This diet worked wonders to jump start my sluggish metabolism and even my doctor is supportive now. On the first cycle, I lost 51 pounds and then lost another 11 while on maintenance and eating 1800 calories a day. I'm starting a second cycle to lose the last 20 pounds. I look and feel marvelous and have learned portion control. Every other diet failed for me but this worked. If you can stick to the strict protocol and make it to maintenance, you'll be amazed at the results. If you do the homeopathic drops which I do, make sure you order through a reputable dealer. I've never had any problem with mine.

posted Oct 4th, 2010 4:24 pm


crystal

OMG this is my 3rd dY ON THE DIET AND i FEEL HORRIBLE!! NASUEA, LIGHTHEADED, BLURRY VISION, SHAKY! WILL THIS GO AWAY??

posted Oct 3rd, 2010 8:51 pm


Shawna

I have just started my 3rd round of the HCG diet. The first couple times I did feel hungry in the first week, but it eased up after that. I have ordered my hcg from all day chemist. I have also done both the oral and injectable hcg and have not noticed a difference in the rapidity of weight lose. Given that I am doing it for a 3rd time I obviously believe in this diet. I am having a hard time with the food being so restricted this time and think that I will add in broccoli as another vegetable. If you are like me and have little patience when you are not getting results, this is a great diet. I have had an extremely difficult time losing weight in the past and this is the only thing that has worked.

posted Oct 3rd, 2010 6:29 pm



Shaddyanne

I have lost 24 lbs in 27 days. All the fat comes off of my hard to lose spots. I have a ton of energy, my skin cleared up, my hair and nails are stronger than normal and it is really easy after the first week. I sleep better and never feel hungry. It's hard to believe, but as long as you follow the diet and don't cheat you will lose weight fast. I use the drops.

posted Oct 3rd, 2010 12:52 am


Stefanie

There are a lot of different ways to take HCG, I am on day 5, and taking the HCG transdermal gel. I have lost a little over 5 pounds so far. I go through periods for being really hungry and times when I'm not at all. I am doing the protocol through a clinic so it is with supervision. It is difficult at times but I'm excited when I see the weight coming off. I'm excited to see how much I'll loose by day 30.

posted Oct 1st, 2010 8:26 pm


Gina

I am on day 17, almost at my goal. I use the hcg platinum drops, bought at health store. I've lost 15 lbs. Someone asked if it's necessary to stop using lotion, etc. I live in AZ, very dry skin...kept using my Eucerin face and body creams (both have oil in them). I already use mineral powder makeup. I also exercise...1hr/day walking and 20 mins of swimming laps. Other than that...I follow the diet exactly.

posted Sep 30th, 2010 11:39 pm


Toni

Do I need to got to the Dr. to get the drops? If no, then where do I find them? I am eager to try this diet. I am currently 186, and would like to be down to 135. I just learned about this diet today. Any feedback is appreciated! Thank you!

posted Sep 30th, 2010 6:57 pm


Anaway

It seems that this diet has good reviews! I am 17 and have pcos...So this would be good for me!

Also, @ mlocket, the person we talked to said you should not really be excercising while being on the it the first month I believe. Just walking...

posted Sep 28th, 2010 11:04 pm


Jill

I am considering trying the shots but I cannot afford to go to the clinics. I have seen them for sale on the internet sites. Has anyone purchased them off of one of these sites?

posted Sep 28th, 2010 12:43 pm


Sheri

Just started this diet last Friday. So far, so good. The Fat Load Days were enjoyable, but the VLCD is taking some adjusting to get use to. I couldn't believe when I got on the scale this a.m. I had lost about 4 pounds. I haven't been able to lose that much on any other kind of diet ever. Anyway... Those of you on maintenance - are you counting beans or corn as a starch?

posted Sep 28th, 2010 12:14 pm


angel

I have a question for people that are already on this HCG diet. I am about to start tomorrow and I want to ask the people that are doing it if really matter change all the cosmetics/shampoo/body lotion/etc...I'm kind of asking myself why should I change all of that and not only my eating habits and exercising.
Wish me luck all. My weigh now is 186 and my goal is 132. I have a long way to go!! lol

posted Sep 27th, 2010 3:23 pm


Kristen

I have been on and off diets for my entire life. I have always been very active as I am a server and on top of that I exercise 45 minutes a day 6 days a week and train horses. I have been on starvation diets before in desperation to lose weight and have never been able to lose more than 5 lbs no matter how long I stayed on it. For that matter any diet I have tried I had not been able to lose more than 5 lbs. I was once on a diet eating 1500 calories a day and exercising off 1500 calories in addition to just living and burning calories. According to my calorie counter I should have been losing 3 lbs a week. I wouldn't lose a thing and I was on that diet for 6 months. I decided to try the hcg diet under medical supervision and amazingly lost 20 lbs in just 23 days. Once I was off the diet I immediately gained 3 lbs back and have been stable ever since. I have returned to a 2000 calorie diet with no special restrictions. I am currently on maintenance for another couples weeks before I am allowed to try again to finish off my weight loss with another 20 lbs. I know a lot of people who have lost a lot of weight on this diet. I know a man who lost 70lbs and has kept it off now for 9 months! The key is not to do it online, but spend the money and go to a clinic. It is very hard to stick to though. I won't lie you feel horrible (just no energy) on this diet. BUT it works. If you will do anything to safely lose weight you have to try it. I recommend this only to people who have a really hard time losing weight. It is not worth it if you can cut calories and exercise. If I could lose 2 lbs a month cutting calories and exercising I would have done that before this diet (thats how hard it is and how drained you feel). If you have tried everything and are desperate to lose weight though this diet works.

posted Sep 27th, 2010 1:28 am



Bri


Reference:
"Further, you claim to be taking in 200-300 calories daily.
That's pretty much a starvation diet!
If you were a nurse, would you teach a PT to take 200-300 calories daily and expect them to stay healthy."

" I only ate 200-300 calories a day, because I just wasn't hungry" The protocol calls for 500-800 calories daily, but I just wasn't hungry. There is a big differrence in advising someone else of how many calories a day to eat and simply reporting what you ate on a daily basis. Some days you are hungier, some days you are not. I ate whenever I was hungry and that works for me considering I used to eat all day and all night. I'm sure that wasn't to good for me at all"
I use a different website with support groups to track what I am doing instead of this site. Mainly because this site has some people who prefer to be nasty to those who simply report their activities. I believe in a person's right to gather information and choose their own path. Noone has a right to tell anyone what to do with their life or liberty. Offering factual information and directing a person to legitimate science is what people do when they really care. If a person seeks to understand what I am doing, they must first understand what I am doing!

posted Sep 24th, 2010 12:49 am



Bri

Reference the defamation I recieved by the member "Fit4Life"!

Have you read the book and reviewed the research & trial studies done on Dr. Simeon's Protocol? I was a skeptic about this diet myself and yes, I have been a nurse for over 25 years. I have also learned that just because something goes against my training, it doesn't mean that its quackery. I have learned to not only think for myself and review the science behind whatever I see, but to not ridicule people who feel or think differently than myself. I am sure that many great people in history stood against the majority also. I read the book and reviewed the science behind the diet after my physician suggested it and decided to try it for myself before I call it a bad idea. I have been monitored by a licensed physician, had labwork, vital signs and weekly checkups during my HCG experience, and for your information the nurse practitioner and other nurses I know that are doing the protocol have not only lost weight, but have lowered their blood pressures and LDL level. I have completed my first round of HCG and gone on stabilization for three weeks and have lost a total of 41 pounds. I am still being monitored by a licensed physician and have bloodwork monthly. My blood pressure has gone from 216/106 to 118/62. My cholesterol level has gone from 191 to 160, my BMI has gone from 41 to 35. My weight has gone from 237 to 196 so far. You can say what you want about my profession and question my competence as a nurse for the rest of your life, but God called me to this profession at the age of 12, and I have spent my like caring for and advocating for the patients in my care, to make sure that they receive the best possible care. I am the one who is responsible for making sure the patient gets the correct medications. Again, I ask: Have you read the research and do you actually understand the science behind the protocol. It isn't a way of life, it is a short term jump start to weight loss. I now eat 1700-2200 calories a day and I am loosing about 2-3 pounds a week on average. Previously on HCG, the weight loss fluctuated some days I lost 0.88 lbs, and some days I lost 1 lb. Somedays I lost 2 lbs. Somedays I lost nothing. Anyone who has been on the protocol knows that the weight loss fluctuates based on what you eat and when you eat. On HCG, You are actually consuming 2000 to 3000 calories daily, just in case you did get that in the book. There is even a way to test the theory, go figure? Regardless of anybody's opinion.. Hell, I'm 41 pounds lighter and I feel better, I look better, and my doctor is getting ready to take me off blood pressure meds. To top it all off, I am not a size 20 anymore, I can wear a size 16. YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted Sep 24th, 2010 12:30 am


linda auer

Made me very ill the first day. I was sick enough to go to the ER. Terrible headaches, weak, sick to my stomach. I couldn't finish my work day.

posted Sep 16th, 2010 10:35 pm


Kristen

Phase 2 day 19 lost 15 lbs. Hard to stick with but worth it!

posted Sep 15th, 2010 9:52 pm


evrydayapound

in 2008 I got my prescription filled for injection

posted Sep 13th, 2010 9:54 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account