Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Diet Supplements Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 196 reviews

hCG Diet

A controversial diet that calls for hormone injections.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1950s
  • Founder: Dr. A.T.W. Simeons
  • Accessibility: Injections and drops
  • Diet Type: Extremely low calorie along with hCG drops or injections
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Celebrity Endorsements: Snookie (Jersey Shore), Jenni Farley, Britney Spears
BACKGROUND

See our interview: hCG Diet Reviewed by FullBar's Dr. Michael Snyder

A potential diet supplement administered through injections or oral drops, the hCG Diet is a very controversial weight loss method. HCG stands for the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin, which is the same hormone that is produced by women in their early stages of pregnancy.

During pregnancy, the surge of this hormone signals the hypothalamus in the brain to start moving nutrients and fat into the placenta. When used as part of a weight loss program, it is the fat-mobilization aspects of the hormone that has garnered attention for its seeming ability to help facilitate weight loss.

Even though the FDA has approved hCG shots for fertility reasons, there is no scientific evidence that shows the hCG Diet can significantly promote weight loss. Although it is used in conjunction with a very low calorie diet, any weight loss that occurs is likely to be due to the reduced caloric intake rather than the hCG shots or drops themselves.

Many side effects have been shown in those who take hCG shots for weight loss. Blood clots, depression, headaches and ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome in women have all been cited as common, and even deadly, side effects associated with hCG use. HCG drops avoid the inconveniences of a daily injection, but no clinical studies have been conducted to determine if hCG drops have any change in side effects.

Typically, the hCG Diet lasts for three weeks and is monitored by a health professional.

PRO
  • May promote weight loss when used in combination with a reduced calorie diet

CON
  • Not considered safe
  • Weight loss is more likely to due to extremely restricted caloric intake rather than injections or drops
  • Weight loss is temporary
  • Side effects can be very serious. According to the Mayo Clinic, side affects associated with hCG include fatigue, irritability, headache and male breast enlargement.
INGREDIENTS

hCG injections and drops contain the hormone Human Choriogonadotropin.

ADMINISTRATION

An injection of 125 iu of hCG is administered daily or a daily dose of oral drops.

DIET and EXERCISE

Those who use hCG injections to lose weight must also follow a very strict diet that amounts to no more than 500 calories a day.

For the first two days of the injection you are allowed to eat excessively. Following the third injection, you must adhere to the 500-calorie diet until 72 hours following the last injection given. Sugars, very sweet fruits, processed foods and heavy starches are not allowed.

An hCG Diet protocol outlined by advocate Dr. A.T.W. Simeons looks like this:

  • Breakfast: Coffee or tea with artificial sweetener and one tablespoon of milk. Lunch is 100 grams of lean meat, poultry or fish in addition to one low-glycemic vegetable like spinach, celery, cucumbers or cabbage. One Melba toast and one fruit like half of a grapefruit or an apple is also allowed.
  • Dinner is the same as lunch.

In addition, shots of apple cider vinegar can be taken as a daily supplement. Products and make-up that contain any fatty substances like mineral oil or almond oil cannot be used.

Websites dedicated to promoting the hCG Diet contain recipes and additional protocol information and tips.

CONCLUSION

The hCG Diet is highly regimented and a very controversial weight loss program that involves the administration of either hormone injections or oral drops coupled with a very low-calorie diet. Popular amongst steroid users and those daring and desperate to lose weight quickly, the hCG Diet is not a weight loss program that is readily endorsed by health and medical professionals for its obvious flaws and real risks for dangerous side effects.

Common Misspellings

HCG, hgc diet, hormone diet, pregnancy hormone diet, hcg injection diet, Human Choriogonadotropin diet


Related Diets: Calorie Restriction Diet , The Pregnancy Diet, Apple Cider Vinegar Diet, hCG Ultra Diet Drops, Your HCG, HCG Diet Made Simple, HCG Easy Gourmet Diet Cookbook, HCG Guide, HCG Safe Start Method


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 13 of 24, 475 total comments)

Zanetta

I've been on the drops now for 32 days. I've lost 21.4 lbs as of today. I love this diet and highly recommend it. JUST DON'T CHEAT and you'll succeed. I haven't cheated once. I'm going for the 40 days. I got my drops it has B-12 in the drops and no alcohol.

posted Jan 27th, 2011 2:12 pm


Kristine

I did the injections about 19 months ago and lost about 25 pounds and have kept it off...I felt great on the diet and would like to try and lose an additional 10 pounds and was thinking of trying the drops.

Has anyone has success with the drops?

posted Jan 26th, 2011 4:24 pm


Cody

I just ordered the drops and am going to start as soon as they come in. My concerns are that 500 calories a day is not a lot! Do the drops really curb your appetite? Do they give you energy? Is it recommended to work out with taking the drops? Any help is MUCH appreciated!!

posted Jan 25th, 2011 2:53 am


blueymo

This diet has changed my life! I love it and I've been able to maintain the weight loss for MONTHS now! So happy!

posted Jan 22nd, 2011 11:05 pm


JM

Wow! I would really love this to be the magic bullet. Is the recommended diet a low-carb diet? if so, that would seem to be driving a lot of the weight loss

posted Jan 21st, 2011 3:50 am


mhalverson

I am getting ready to begin the drops. My father-in-law and mother-in-law have both been very successful on them. I am just wondering...is it essential to change my shampoo and conditioner?

posted Jan 19th, 2011 5:47 pm


tanyasax

i just started taking the weight off plus drops....anyone else taking them i would really love some feed back...

posted Jan 18th, 2011 9:19 pm


ses

queen2see - the headache is actually your body detoxing from chemicals, artificial sweetners and/or sugar addiction, carbs etc. Keep drinking lots and lots of water - I suggest SmartWater with electrolytes - it really helps. Hang in there! I am on round two, the second week and have lost a total of 40 lbs since I began round 1. I also did not gain an ounce between rounds depsite going on vacation and indulging over the holidays. My physician recommended this diet and prescribed the sublingual HCG tablets so no shots. For all your doubters, this diet really works!

posted Jan 17th, 2011 10:00 pm


aqueen2see

My bff has lost 49 lbs on the HCG in 2 months and now I am starting. This is now day 2 and I have a terrible headache. Maybe this is my body trying to respond to the low calorie diet

posted Jan 17th, 2011 1:35 am


chasity

i love the diet i have been on it for 5 days and have lost like almost 5 pounds!! i have had no rash or ne thing like everyone says.. its a great way to lose the weight!!!

posted Jan 16th, 2011 3:27 pm


D.D.

Just wondering which product everyone else is using. I have seen so many and each one isays their's is better than everyone else's. I just paid $95 for a 15 day supply. I just wanted to see if i lost anything before I put in $150 for the 30 day supply. Would love to hear back from folks on the brand they use and how much you paid. No need to pay so much if I can get the same thing for less and still get the same results. Thank you for any help you can give.

posted Jan 13th, 2011 2:29 pm



sunshine25

I have been on this diet for 27 days and I have lost 18 lbs. I probably would have lost more but I screwed up the diet in the beginning with my breadsticks and I used hamburger, which you should not do. I have 20 lbs to go but the important thing for me is I feel great!!! I only get slightly hungry in the evenings but nothing that causes me to want to cheat. This to me is a miracle diet. I don't miss the junk food at all. Usually the first week of a diet is the hardest. But I loaded up on fatty foods the first two days as instructed and starting the 3rd day I was fine. I am truly amazed. I plan on continuing on to a second round if I don't get to goal. I had no headaches and had all kinds of energy. If I were starving would I not feel really bad??!!! The skeptics who say it is dangerous need to give me some facts as I did research and can not find one story about harm coming to someone. I highly recommend this diet.

posted Jan 13th, 2011 3:31 am


hcgsuccess

The wording of this feedback format is confusing. I put like because I LOVE this diet, but actually if I put like it would mean that I "like" the article which has VERY obviously been written by someone who has not read all the facts about it. I started the diet in mid April and did the drops for 43 days, including three load days. This is the maximum days for one round, you can do more than one round, but must take at least a three week period in between to stabilize and reset your hypothalamus. More than 43 days in a row can cause immunity. Anyway, I lost 28 pounds by June. Lost 2 more during maintenance, then lost as much as 5 more during my new lifestyle of very little sugars and starches, and eating only when I am hungry.. December I had a nice Christmas and gained 7 pounds over my stabilized weight! So now I have started a short round (must be at least 23 days) to get back to my healthy desired weight.

It works..This article is misinformed. Yes, you will lose weight on a 500 calorie diet alone. But you will be hungry, sickly, fainting, dizzy, stalled, and hit a plateau. These drops prevent that. I never had any of these symptoms. I had TONS of energy. I wish the author could explain how that happened, AND I kept losing without hitting a starvation plateau.

The most important thing to know is that you MUST, MUST, MUST READ "POUNDS AND INCHES" by Dr. Simeons and follow it EXACTLY, EXACTLY, EXACTLY....I cannot stress this enough. His the only way to get the best results..and it's hard, but worth it. I figure I can do anything for a month..I did and a little bit longer. DO NOT follow any regimens that supplement with shakes, extra calories, extra vegetables, mixing vegetables, or anything that deviates from the original protocol, or you may end up paying the supplier who suggests these more money by being on the diet longer..great for them, not for you! The only deviation is that Dr. Simeons refers to injections, and now the drops are available. They work just as well. The difference is that with the drops, you do not become as immune prone. AND you do not have to stop drops your period. The previous poster has it wrong. You must stop if you are on shots because of immunity problems, as you are also supposed to skip a day a week-same purpose. Drops you just keep taking them until your round is finished. You also have to do maintenance for 6 weeks between rounds.

There is a fantastic support group on Facebook. Just search HCG and look for the largest group-sponsored by Legacy Group. The will answer any questions you have, and you don't have to be their customer. I bought my drops on Amazon and I wouldn't recommend the way I did, because you don't know what you will get...I got very lucky and got the real thing, but I only know this because it works. (drops will not pass a pregnancy test, shots will) You could end up buying a bottle of water. I would trust Legacy if I hadn't already bought my drops. I am not affiliated with them in any way other than sharing my experiences on the FB page.

If you are in good health this diet will be the best thing you ever did for yourself. It is NOT a license to overeat when you are done, just a jumpstart with quick loss so you can begin your new healthy eating habits sooner.

posted Jan 11th, 2011 12:16 am


userfile
maggiedav

Well I have been doing this since 12/31 and have lost 10.4lbs. Which is amazing! But with that being said, I am getting really frustrated and disappointed. the first 7 days I lost 1-2lbs per day. Now I am losing .4 and .2
Take note of the point in front of the number!!! I am following protocol. I messed up a couple times the first few days in the form of chocolate, but the past 4-5 days I've been perfect. NO cheating. I don't feel like the weight I'm losing is worth the sacrafice I'm taking with cutting out everything but fish chicken veggies and fruit. I feel like I could lose more weight eating whatever I wanted and working out. I'm losing my motivation! =( Does anyone have any advice?

posted Jan 10th, 2011 2:54 pm


victoria secret

I started the HCG diet yesterday and I feel pretty and sexy already. I do not feel hungry. I will continue....

posted Jan 9th, 2011 10:03 pm


Julie DeMuth

Do you really need to do a cleanse? And do you really need to use certain shampoo, conditioner, and deoderant?

posted Jan 7th, 2011 3:28 am


Wes

I have been doing the HCG drops for about a week now and I have 9.0 lbs thats only in 4 days man WOW this really wroks as long as u DO WHAT IT SAYS DO you wont go wrong trust me i was 278.8 an im around 270 or so man in 4days man so go for it its life changing my goal is 220.00 by April and im gonna get there with teh hekp of HCG .

Thanks HCG

posted Jan 7th, 2011 2:13 am


Dawn

This diet like so many others depends on your desire to change your unhealthy eating habits. Nothing wrong with that.
I have already changed many bad habits and had a few more to wean out.
I am losing on this diet, I did have a headache the first couple of days. I have felt slightly hungry from time to time but that too is passing. I also am under the strict guidance of my Dr. due to ongoing exisitng health challenges. So far after a week I am doing quit well.
I do realize that the maintenance phase is critical to keeping the weight off.
Anyone who tries this diet must be ready to commit 100% as cheating will ruin it for you.
So to anyone who wishes to try it make sure to talk to your Dr.
It may or may not be the right choice for you.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 7:35 pm


Steeler74

Is it true that once you finish your cycle of HCG and if you dont stick to a strick diet for maybe 2-3 weeks after you gain some or all of your weight back?

posted Jan 6th, 2011 11:20 am


Maggie

I started this diet Friday, Dec 31. I have lost 6.6 lbs so far. It's amazing. I feel a little hungry occasionally, but nothing that I can't handle. And I have been experiencing headaches since Sunday, but that could also be because I've gone cold turkey on coffee. I can actually SEE part of my lower stomach roll where the fat is shrinking. It's really insane and amazing. I just hope the rest of my body catches up and I don't just lose it in that one area. Has any one else experienced that?

posted Jan 5th, 2011 7:29 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account