Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

80%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 64 reviews

The Grapefruit Diet

Fruit diet is a quick fix that may drop pounds, but it's not healthy.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

For years, the Grapefruit Diet has remained among the most popular of quick-fix fad diets. While the Grapefruit Diet makes for a great magazine article, nutritionists say it does not offer a well-balanced plan that you could follow for any extended length of time because your body requires more nutrients and calories than this calls for.

It's true that people following the Grapefruit Diet drop significant pounds in about 14 days. This is more likely correlated to the significant loss of calories than it is any weight-burning power the grapefruit may hold. The Grapefruit Diet suggests a total daily calorie consumption of around 800 calories, and nutritionists hold a healthy diet would have at least 1,200.

PRO
  • The grapefruit is a good source of beta-carotene
  • Helps reduce cholesterol and promotes heart health
CON
  • Not a long-term solution
  • Not enough variation in nutrients
  • Not enough calories
DIET and NUTRITION

A day on the Grapefruit Diet would look like this:

  • Breakfast with half a grapefruit, two pieces of bacon and two eggs.
  • Lunch with half a grapefruit, as much meat as you like and a salad with your favorite dressing.
  • Dinner would include half a grapefruit, fish or meat, another salad with dressing or substitute buttered red or green vegetables. You can drink coffee or tea.
  • Before bed you could have 8 ounces of skim milk.
EXERCISE

No guidance provided.

CONCLUSION

This is not a diet that could sustain a person for any length of time because of the unhealthy calorie intake. You will lose noticeable weight in a short amount of time, but as soon as you stop following the Grapefruit Diet the pounds will just as quickly return.

Common Misspellings

Grapfruit Diet, The Grapfruit diet, The Grapefruit deit, Grapefruit plan


Related Diets: Vegetarian Diet, Cabbage Soup Diet, Grapefruit Solution


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 7, 140 total comments)

Victoria

Do I have to drink coffee and can I have more than 2 slices of bacon on the Grapefruit Diet? Do I have to drink the coffee to be successful? I started yesterday and I'm super excited. Im 247 and im tryin to get out of the 2's. My goal is 165/170. This the heaviest i've been in my whole life. I workout almost everyday. So im hopin im as lucky as some of u.

posted Oct 23rd, 2012 3:09 pm


msradio

I've tried this diet several times and it def works! I've been doing it off and on for a few months, I have to switch up becuz I will get bored doing the same thing, but if i def want to reach a certain go I always go back to this becuz it works!

posted Jun 13th, 2012 3:52 pm


Tiffany

Ive tried the scarsdale diet before vacation a couple of years ago and lost a little over 20lbs. Decided to give the grapefruit diet a try this time. I have started today and will try to post results every week.

posted Mar 27th, 2012 5:09 pm


Alexie

I LOVE this diet ! I'm 5'10. I started 2/29/12 weighed in at 195. on 3/2/12 weighed in at 190.5 on 3/5/12 weighed in at 188.5 on 3/8/12 weighed in at 186.5 The amazing part about the diet is that you will feel full. I don't exercise. I also drink water if I run out of grapefruit. And remember every 13th & 14th day you can eat whatever you want and then go back on your diet. This grapefruit diet has now become apart of my healthy lifestyle. LOVE IT!!!!

posted Mar 8th, 2012 11:54 am


Danielle

On the grapefruit diet, does it matter what kind of grapefruit I eat? i just started this diet, i'm 165.. The grapefruit i bought is called texas sweet citrus grapefruit.. Will the fact that there already sweet impact the diet negatively?

posted Jan 5th, 2012 2:04 pm


Micah

Is there a certain amount of salad or meat you are supposed to have? I have been on this diet since monday (October 24) and I have only lost 4 pounds and somehow managed to gain one back. I have not strayed from the diet andhave been following it exactly.

posted Oct 30th, 2011 6:43 pm


shenita2010

i went on thid diet 1 year ago and let me tell you something i was very picky because of the bad reviews from doctors. lets be real doctors want us to stay unhealthy so that we can keep making them money lol. this is a good diet it was way healthier than what i was eating before i tell you that. i lost 70 pounds in 3 months it felt good. everybody should try this diet at least once in life just to see for themselves. it worked for me good luck everyone and if you dont know how it works get the details off of the mayo clinic it explains it very well. :)

posted Oct 4th, 2011 3:17 am


yumi

I stated this diet last week and I love it i have already lost 4 lbs. My friend did this diet and lost 48 lbs in 2 months... And she never gained the weight back.. I'm going to keep going and get to my goal of 170 I'm 5,9 and currently weight 241

posted Oct 2nd, 2011 10:09 pm


2galslooking2lose

I'm starting it on monday, with a buddy from work, and We are stoked to be able to jump start our weight loss. I've done the breakfast part a few days now just to test it out and it's very fulling... Sounds great!!! We will post again when we see shrinkage!!!!!

posted Oct 2nd, 2011 9:52 pm


Anon

On the grapefruit diet, should you eat the grapefruit before meals or after? The Grapefruit Diets : Enlightments

Hey could someone please help me? So I'm starting this diet tomorrow and I wanted to know when should I have the grapefruit? Before meals, after, or during..and if before or after how many minutes before or after.. And, one more thing, because of religious reasons I'm not allowed to eat pork. So, is there any substitute for the 2 slices of beacon in the morning? And if I just leave it out will it affect the weight loss? Thanks. (:

posted Sep 10th, 2011 2:01 pm


Jay

I have been on this diet 3 days and I have lost 7 pounds. I thought it would be tough because I love bread but it hasn't. I would recommend...Good Luck to all.

posted Aug 27th, 2011 4:47 pm


Jess

This diet is fantastic! I literally have lost 4 pounds ALREADY and I have only done it for 2 days. No joke! To answer the person below me's question, I believe you can have just a little bit of cheese on your omelet. I did yesterday. But seriously just grate enough so that your taste buds will know it's there, but no more. I will review again when my 12 days is up but I am in love with this diet!

posted Aug 17th, 2011 9:09 am


Bia

Can I have cheese in my omelet on the grapefruit diet? I want to have something else, getting tired of boiled eggs. I have started the diet, and lost 5 pounds, although I didn't follow it to the tee. I started it aging a week ago, and I'm planning to lose 10 pounds before end of August. I was wondering if I can have cheese, I don't like fried eggs, and I'm getting tired of having boiled eggs. I love omelet, but I'm not sure if i can put a lil cheese in there. If anyone know pls let me know thank you, and good luck to everyone.

posted Aug 5th, 2011 11:36 am


stit60

I tried this diet several years ago to lose a few pounds and it certainly worked! The concept is this: if you have fat and extra water retention to lose, you will lose quickly. I have a tendency towards water weight gain due to my age and thyroid issues. I look forward to starting this diet. Gotta run out on my lunch break today and stock up on grapefruit juice, eggs, bacon and chicken breasts. Can't wait to lose some of this tummy jiggle. I already exercise and do yoga 2 days a week. I just need a diet that will jumpstart me into eating clean and healthy again. Have been eating alot of sugar and carbs over the summer and that is to blame for much of my extra love handles and fat.

posted Aug 5th, 2011 10:08 am


Redpearls

I am in my 8th day diet. I weighed 169lb when i started this diet but today I'm weighing 171.4lb. I followed it very strictly. I dint eat any heavy calorie food nor junk food.. Infact i did 45 min jogging also everyday. Serioulsy this diet is not working for me.

posted Jul 29th, 2011 8:11 pm


kitty40089

I absolutely love this diet! I have been on it for 9 days so far and I have lost 5 pounds. (I would've lost more but I did'nt know that you had to drink the grapefruit juice or eat a grapefruit 10 minutes before you started eating.) After I lose about 22 more pounds, I am going to stick to a healthy lifestyle, exercise everyday, and eat healthy. Will I gain all the weight back if I do this?

posted Jul 29th, 2011 3:57 pm


Cha'Leya

I start this diet diet 4/4/11 and i have lost 11 lbs frm this diet and my aunt started 1'3'11 and have lose 66 lbs as now I like this diet and i movtavate my more and more to keep going so i can get to my goal wight of 140 lbs and working out every other day does some good. The frist few days are temping. if want it u will it.. good luck wgt in was 250 =)

posted Jul 22nd, 2011 2:28 am


laura

I've been on the diet for about a week and a half and i've lost about 5lbs. Although i haven't been following the diet exactly, i've eaten slices of cake and still lost weight, but i do work out on the treadmill 40 min 6 days a week.

posted Jul 15th, 2011 8:10 pm


Bia

I have been on this diet for a week, and lost 5 pounds, I didn't follow the diet 2 the tee, but I'm starting 2mrw morning. I wanna lost 20 more pounds. Thanks for all the feedback it helps.

posted Jul 7th, 2011 5:02 pm


jcsmith88

I accidentally went on the grapefruit diet I been feeling a certain type of way about my stomach for about a year now lately I've been having a craving for grapefruit juice I drunk it for 1 week and lost 6 lbs... This makes me happy due to the fact that I have been eating fatty foods and no exercise I went from 150 to 144 =)

posted Jul 6th, 2011 12:12 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account