Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

80%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 64 reviews

The Grapefruit Diet

Fruit diet is a quick fix that may drop pounds, but it's not healthy.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

For years, the Grapefruit Diet has remained among the most popular of quick-fix fad diets. While the Grapefruit Diet makes for a great magazine article, nutritionists say it does not offer a well-balanced plan that you could follow for any extended length of time because your body requires more nutrients and calories than this calls for.

It's true that people following the Grapefruit Diet drop significant pounds in about 14 days. This is more likely correlated to the significant loss of calories than it is any weight-burning power the grapefruit may hold. The Grapefruit Diet suggests a total daily calorie consumption of around 800 calories, and nutritionists hold a healthy diet would have at least 1,200.

PRO
  • The grapefruit is a good source of beta-carotene
  • Helps reduce cholesterol and promotes heart health
CON
  • Not a long-term solution
  • Not enough variation in nutrients
  • Not enough calories
DIET and NUTRITION

A day on the Grapefruit Diet would look like this:

  • Breakfast with half a grapefruit, two pieces of bacon and two eggs.
  • Lunch with half a grapefruit, as much meat as you like and a salad with your favorite dressing.
  • Dinner would include half a grapefruit, fish or meat, another salad with dressing or substitute buttered red or green vegetables. You can drink coffee or tea.
  • Before bed you could have 8 ounces of skim milk.
EXERCISE

No guidance provided.

CONCLUSION

This is not a diet that could sustain a person for any length of time because of the unhealthy calorie intake. You will lose noticeable weight in a short amount of time, but as soon as you stop following the Grapefruit Diet the pounds will just as quickly return.

Common Misspellings

Grapfruit Diet, The Grapfruit diet, The Grapefruit deit, Grapefruit plan


Related Diets: Vegetarian Diet, Cabbage Soup Diet, Grapefruit Solution


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 7, 140 total comments)

Mom of 3

166.6 no change today

posted May 15th, 2013 5:59 pm


Mom of 3

I started yesterday for the 2nd time weighing 168.6, weight today 166.6. Still going strong and will post updates. My first round 178.6, I lost 10 pounds. Let's get the second 10 lbs off this round. Going for 30 more pounds.

posted May 14th, 2013 4:23 pm


ryannicole123

I'm starting tomorrow on this looking forward to great great results I'm in the 240s and trying to get to 160

posted May 12th, 2013 11:25 pm


Mom of 3

mom of 399, I will join you if you want a buddy. We can post our days and help to motivate each other. Let me know if you are interested, I'm starting Monday too. Best of luck, it does work.

posted Apr 28th, 2013 8:25 pm


Momof399

I'm starting Monday, this diet has great reviews.

posted Apr 26th, 2013 11:51 pm


Momof3

I'm trying this diet Monday. I need to lose 30 lbs by July. Can't wait!

posted Apr 26th, 2013 10:52 pm


BMH

When I started this diet back in 2008 I was determined for results. I found that it wasn't as hard as I had initially thought, because I love MEAT! Apparently the bacon and eggs in the morning react with the greens and meat for Lunch along with the GRAPEFRUIT you consume during these meals. It in-fact does burn fat, because Grapefruit has a natural ingredient to speed up the metabolism. Because the eggs and bacon act as an agent for the reactors in Grapefruit to speed up the metabolism. There is absolutely NO SNACKING in between meals. To keep your body from slowing down and crashing; it is recommended you EAT UNTIL FULL! (NEVER OVEREAT it’s a bad habit, and hard one to quite.) During this time your body is using those ingredients of high-fat to its advantage in energy; thus sticking to your gut is not an option.

- Tea and Coffee are just perks and are not required to be consumed. Its actually recommended you don’t consume theses beverages, but if you must You Can!
- Absolutely NO cheese, croutons, or any white vegetable(potatoes, cauliflower,etc...) for he duationof the diet.

…if I can help just one person reach their goal, I’ve done my work today J This is from my own experience. I am not a professional but I LOST 30lbs doing this! Remember everything in moderation. Grapefruit truly has been the magical fruit in this one!

posted Apr 24th, 2013 9:11 pm


New girl

167.2 still going...

posted Apr 18th, 2013 5:25 pm


NEW GIRL

Starting today weighing 171.8, hoping to see big changes soon.

posted Apr 10th, 2013 2:51 pm


redster

Rabia, Im in!!! I finished the first round and lost 10 pounds. I do exercise with running and weight lifting. This diet works great.

posted Mar 21st, 2013 8:16 pm


Alicia

Should you exercise on the grapefruit diet? I started the diet 4 days ago my scale is broken so I'm not sure of any results as of now. But im loving it, grapefruits are delicious and they keep be quite full throughout the day.

posted Mar 11th, 2013 4:57 am


rabia

I am starting tomorrow. I am 188 lbs and I want to lose 60 pounds. Would anyone wants to join me?

posted Mar 3rd, 2013 6:40 pm


Redster

178 and still going. Is anyone up for a challenge? Today is Ash Wednesday and I'm making this my lent special. Hoping to drop 30 in time for Easter. Good luck all!!! Down 4 pounds, only 26 more to go.

posted Feb 13th, 2013 4:30 pm


redster

I'm starting today officially, got a little side tracked before but now its for real. Check back in a few. Starting at 181 lbs Good luck to all!

posted Feb 8th, 2013 2:52 pm


REDSTER

I'VE STARTED TODAY AND READY FOR 2 ROUNDS NO DAYS OFF IN BETWEEN. HERE IS TO 20 POUNDS GONE IN 24 DAYS. I'VE KNOWN A FEW PEOPLE WHO HAVE TRIED THIS AND IT WORKS. GOOD LUCK!!! I'LL POST AGAIN IN A FEW DAYS TO GIVE AN UPDATE ON MY PROGRESS. IF ANYONE WANTS TO JOIN MY CHALLENGE. LET'S GO!!!!

posted Feb 4th, 2013 6:28 pm


Steph Haile

Who the hell is supposed to tell you what to eat and what not to eat??? Im 185 pounds and i have trouble loosing weight. This website is bad news!!! Its not even correct! its so that way you loose weight fine, but you hurt your body in the process.

posted Jan 29th, 2013 4:47 pm


Jessica Darnell

I lost 30 pounds in 30 days and kept it off after having my first child. It is now 11 years later and I have had my second child :) I started this diet 2 days ago! I hope it works like it did 11 years ago!!

posted Jan 29th, 2013 1:30 pm


lisa

Is it okay to eat a whole grape fruit instead of just one half? Because I love grapefruits!

posted Jan 28th, 2013 5:23 pm


Fay

Starting 2mora.let u know hw it goes ;-)

posted Dec 6th, 2012 12:46 pm


Mohamed

Apples and Oranges on the Grapefruit Diet? I started this diet 4 days ago and I've a question. Is it permitted to eat fruits like apple or orange? please help me

posted Nov 28th, 2012 2:02 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account