Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

80%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 64 reviews

The Grapefruit Diet

Fruit diet is a quick fix that may drop pounds, but it's not healthy.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

For years, the Grapefruit Diet has remained among the most popular of quick-fix fad diets. While the Grapefruit Diet makes for a great magazine article, nutritionists say it does not offer a well-balanced plan that you could follow for any extended length of time because your body requires more nutrients and calories than this calls for.

It's true that people following the Grapefruit Diet drop significant pounds in about 14 days. This is more likely correlated to the significant loss of calories than it is any weight-burning power the grapefruit may hold. The Grapefruit Diet suggests a total daily calorie consumption of around 800 calories, and nutritionists hold a healthy diet would have at least 1,200.

PRO
  • The grapefruit is a good source of beta-carotene
  • Helps reduce cholesterol and promotes heart health
CON
  • Not a long-term solution
  • Not enough variation in nutrients
  • Not enough calories
DIET and NUTRITION

A day on the Grapefruit Diet would look like this:

  • Breakfast with half a grapefruit, two pieces of bacon and two eggs.
  • Lunch with half a grapefruit, as much meat as you like and a salad with your favorite dressing.
  • Dinner would include half a grapefruit, fish or meat, another salad with dressing or substitute buttered red or green vegetables. You can drink coffee or tea.
  • Before bed you could have 8 ounces of skim milk.
EXERCISE

No guidance provided.

CONCLUSION

This is not a diet that could sustain a person for any length of time because of the unhealthy calorie intake. You will lose noticeable weight in a short amount of time, but as soon as you stop following the Grapefruit Diet the pounds will just as quickly return.

Common Misspellings

Grapfruit Diet, The Grapfruit diet, The Grapefruit deit, Grapefruit plan


Related Diets: Vegetarian Diet, Cabbage Soup Diet, Grapefruit Solution


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 7, 140 total comments)

Mom of 2

I'm just begining this diet today. I was told to follow the plan to the tee. WELL.....my question is......can I drink water too, if so does it matter how much?? I also want to know about the veggies........can I eat the raw for a snack in between meals? I know it says if you go by the paln u wont be hungry in between, but I am. Please help!!??

posted Jun 27th, 2011 10:25 am


Mom of 2

I'm just starting this diet today. I was told to go by the plan exactly, BUT can I drink water in between the meals and eat the veggies raw as a snack??

posted Jun 27th, 2011 10:19 am


Christina

I'm at a stuck weight with my weight loss. So far u lost eighteen pounds since april. So I decided to try this diet and I already lost two pounds since sunday. Hopefully I can get to my goal weight with this diet. i don't follow the specific meal plan that they have either.

posted Jun 22nd, 2011 12:27 am


Lilyane

Does it work if your a vegetarian?

posted Jun 4th, 2011 12:41 pm


nancy

which brands grapefruit juice should i drink in this diet as it should be unsweetened hi everybody, i have a ? which brands grapefruit juice should i drink in this diet as it should be unsweetened. i really want to start this grapefruit diet please tell me .

posted May 29th, 2011 5:20 am


Doris

Thanks for the reviews. I have done this diet before it works, if you work it.

posted May 24th, 2011 9:40 am


ladiva

This is my first day on the diet. After reading all your reviews I have to say that I am more hopeful. I know right now that I'm going to struggle a bit with no bread or potatoes, but it'll be worth it if I get the results I am looking to get

posted May 20th, 2011 1:19 pm


Maria

pjb I just started this diet too on 5/16/11 and I do eat cheese it is allowed I have lost 3lbs since Monday good luck I hope you post to hear your results.

posted May 19th, 2011 3:28 pm


pjb

I have been on it 8 days and lost 4-5 pounds - I did cheat and have lite beer on two days but not much. Other than that I have been spot on. I plan on going off after day 12 and then doing it one more time. On january 3 2011 I was 218 lbs today I am 196.5 - most of the weight loss was due to a conventional low calorie diet. I want to get to 185 - I tried this because I was eating only 1400 calories a day and only losing .5 lbs per week I had been losing at the rate of 2 lbs per week. Anybody eating cheese on this diet and losing?

posted May 17th, 2011 3:08 pm


Jessica

i think this is a change of lifestyle rather than a strict diet, therefore, there is not a strict rule on what type of food you must avoid or must have.

there are plenty of nutritional information on grapefruit and how it helps the body to lower insulin level hence store less fat. which means, this 'losing' is really just 'storing less' fat than your body would without extra intake of grapefruit. your energy output, such as exercise or even breathing, burns the fat storage, which constantly decrease your fat storage. with low insulin level caused by grapefruit, your body is unlikely to store more fat than you burn. of course you will end up looking thinner.

i have always liked grapefruit and i am looking forward to 'officially' joining the grapefruit diet group to drop fat!

posted May 10th, 2011 5:08 am


Tenesha

i tried this diet last summer for a month and a hlf and lost 18lbs. i getting ready for a wedding in august so i started today. i weigh 183 and i wanna be down 30lbs by august. i have three months . this diet really works. wish me luck my second round!!!

posted May 2nd, 2011 6:39 pm


rabiaarshad

i tried this diet in 2008 and lost 25lb. started again today.

posted Apr 8th, 2011 11:08 am


Cathy

I started this diet and immediately lost 10 pounds. Very hard for me to lose any more pounds if I cheat in any way. I have been on it for 3 weeks now and will stay on it until I lose 20-30 pounds. It is very boring for me, but I just enjoy regular fat-free dressing on my salad and vary the meats each day. The eggs and bacon are very boring and I have no clue what to substitute, but I love the grapefruit.

posted Mar 27th, 2011 11:29 am


Susan

I at 139.8 lbs and my goal weight is to be at 124lbs by May for my trip to VEGAS.
I've done this diet last year and lost a good 10lbs in one month, due to cheating in between. I hope within 12 days i will be able to shed that 10lbs or more. I do plan on working out to see better results and Yogo and TaeBo on top of that. I am a really active person, but overall a tip for those whom want a sexier body.

posted Mar 1st, 2011 9:42 pm


poohcl13

I just started this diet today and am looking forward to the results that are to come!

posted Feb 26th, 2011 1:51 pm


poohcl13

I am going to do this diet between the scarsdale diet (they are a little similar). I am hoping to lose 70-80 pounds to feel better about myself! If anyone wants to be buddies while we do this please just message me!

posted Feb 12th, 2011 1:54 am


Kelly

I just started this diet today so far after all the reviews i read it looks like a good diet i will keep you posted on how im doing :)

posted Feb 8th, 2011 4:07 pm


KHarvey

IM SO EXCITED. IAM STARTING THE DIET THIS MONDAY WHICH WILL BE 10/01/11. I'LL KEEP YOU POSTED. CANT WAIT TO MOVE THIS BABY WEIGHT :)

posted Jan 8th, 2011 9:55 pm


Manda

I started this on January 2. It is now January 6, and I have lost 7 pounds. I didn't follow it to a tee because sometimes I will have a 1/2 cup of oatmeal with a 1/2 of skim milk with some cinnamon for flavor. I've tried this before (Jan. 26-March 19) and lost 50 pounds. I cheated a lot during that time too because I ate pizza. and I also ate a lot of soups. I did work out every day though, and I mean every day because on the days I am supposedly supposed to take off I just did really light exercises. I also drank nothing but water, and sometimes some skim milk. I cut all juices, and ate fruit instead. I will keep updating.

posted Jan 6th, 2011 1:23 pm


Laura

I've been struggling with weight for 2 years now since I had my youngest daughter. Nothing seemed to work for me. I started the grapefruit diet 3 weeks ago and have already lost 10 pounds give or take a little. I never thought I would lose it. I could see myself getting fatter and fatter by the week. I'm so thankful for the grapefruit diet. I plan to stay on it for a long time. Even without the weight loss, it has made me feel better about my eating habits and I never get that "too full" feeling anymore. I can't wait to lose more! =D

I have only cheated two times, with thin crust grilled chicken ceasar piizza, and so far the weight hasn't changed. A lot of my friends have tried this, but they go in knowing they can't do it and they fail. I hate dieting, but even when I feel like I'm starving myself seeing the pounds shed off with this diet is soo worth it. I don't exercise, but plan to start when the pounds stop dropping so. Summertime in a bikini, here I come! (I hope)

posted Jan 4th, 2011 4:01 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account