Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 14 of 24, 472 total comments)

danielle

+

I love tis diet!!! I have less of an appetite, too!
I've lost 5 pounds in 3 days. Going for 20 lbs. to go!!

posted Oct 24th, 2009 3:05 am


Jen

+

FYI I pureed the soup which helped me alot as I don't love ALL the veggies in it. I thought the pureed batch was much better, plus you can put it in a mug and drink it on the go!

posted Oct 23rd, 2009 3:58 pm


Bubbles

+

I'm on my 3rd week and down 14 lbs!! I don't put much stock in the scales because I've lost inches. I'm not bloated and my chronic foot pain is much better. I'm not a youngster so exercise can't be too strenuous. I went to dinner with my kids one day last week @ Red Robin and never felt tempted to stay off the diet. I get tired of the soup but I really do think its important to keep eating it. My older daughter was on the diet for 3 months and lost 36 lb. She went off for a while and is starting back up soon. This way of eating is pretty easy for me because I have a specific type of food for each day. I do miss bread but I can do anything for better health and I'd rather it be my idea instead of a have to thing.

posted Oct 21st, 2009 8:33 pm


Patti

+

To be honest, I did not believe that this diet would work for me , but I tried since my sister encouraged to do it with her. So I did.. the first week I lost 10 lbs ( I could believe my eyes when I saw my weight) so I tried the second week and I only did it for 4 days and I lost 6 lbs.. now I am on my third week and I can not wait to see how much more lbs I have get rid off.. This diet work if you have will power and the desire to be better with you eating habits, Tried this diet, you own it to your body !

posted Oct 20th, 2009 8:41 pm


john

This diet is awful. I followed it strictly and lost no weight. By banana day I was really really angry. Not only that, but I had to be within 5 minutes of a bathroom bc there was little warning to when the bottom was about to drop out.
I am fit, eat right and work out. So, maybe that is why there was no weight loss.
Plus energy was low throughout the week. Did not get the boost that it claims.

posted Sep 14th, 2009 10:10 am


hello

+

I mince the celery and then cook it in a cup of water for 15-20 minutes before adding all the other veggies and ingredients because I don't like my celery crunchy. I used Lipton Beefy Onion soup mix instead of Chicken noodle. I still used the beef broth. It was excellent. Just make sure you get the stewed tomatoes that have the celery and onion in them- I made the first batch with the Italian stewed tomatoes and it was awful! I lost 9 pounds the 1st week, have been off it for a week and didn't gain any back ( I eat much healthier now). I will do it again.

posted Sep 13th, 2009 11:32 pm


Amy

Day 1- The soup is tasty and filling,, the only thing I added was fresh rosemary. I'm feeling confident about this so far! Really looking forward to veggie day tomorrow, and the baked potato.. yum!

posted Sep 5th, 2009 3:21 pm


Hello

Day 1 sucked. I was so dizzy and "out of it". Day 2 was a little better. Day 3 seems like any normal day. I'm really not that hungry and I feel like the diet stopped working. I lost 4 pounds in the last 2 days, but today isn't doing much for me.

posted Sep 4th, 2009 5:25 pm


tamara

+

A couple of comments.
1) I'd take some GasX or Beano with the soup, because it does make you pretty gassy and bloated. Yesterday I was in a lot of discomfort with the fruit and soup combination.
2) I don' think it's necessary to follow this diet that strictly. It may be a fluke, but yesterday was day 1 for me and I caved and cheated hardcore after having lots of soup, and I still lost 3-5 pounds since yesterday. The soup really does work, and I don't think it's that necessary to follow the whole fruit, veggie, beef thing. The soup really does burn calories on its own.
3) Overall, good diet, but harder than it looks to stick to.

posted Aug 17th, 2009 8:20 am


pratt

I'm on my second, day. I like the soup and the fruit, no biggie. Today I had the soup and a can of spinach with broccolli...grrr, man only if I had some cheese!!! But no, this diet works, I've lost 2 bls already and I feel very energized and exercise is a breeze. Can 't wait till meat day!

posted Jul 31st, 2009 3:33 pm


Kristi

+

I started on june 1st 09 and have lost 25 lbs now july 25. I found the diet to be be forgiving. On vacation I still ate as close to the program as possible just no breads & no fried foods. 10 day vacation netted 3 lbs gained but next 6 days of diet netted 6 lbs loss. Ya for me. I love it. The diet works for me. Especially the day 5 & 6 on meat. Kristi

posted Jul 26th, 2009 9:59 pm


dorothy

+

i love it. been on it since the last week of april and loss 20 lbs. was off on vacation for 2 weeks and gained nothing back. starting again today. love the soup and change it each time i make it by adding cabbage or different spices.

posted Jul 20th, 2009 9:44 am


jane

+

I'm on my 5th day. have lost 5 pounds. I like this diet because I don't have to measure or weigh. It's a no brainer. my doctor told me to try one week on one week off. wish me luck.

posted Jul 17th, 2009 2:05 pm


sharl

hi, i'm on day 3 and cant wait for the last day for some real food, i've lost 2kg's so far and are extremely hopeful, think that's the only thing that keeps me going. i hate vegetables and the soup contains them, its a real struggle to get it down. but quitting has only crossed my mind once!!! whoopee

posted Jul 6th, 2009 8:15 am


NK

I am on day 4 and lost 3kg already - This soup works!!!

posted Jul 2nd, 2009 9:26 am


jennifer

+

I am finishing with day 2. I have been a yo-yo dieter my whole life. (Weight watchers, working out, skipping breakfast,...ect) I really do believe I have much more energy than just a few days ago! So strange! I love all food, so the soup, veggies, fruits, and everything tastes good!

posted Jun 29th, 2009 7:39 pm


Ms S

Just wanted to update. I am now 196 pounds from my start weight of 235! That is a total loss of 39 pounds in only 3 months. I'm getting to my goal a lot sooner than I thought.

posted Jun 24th, 2009 9:16 am


Michelle

The soup is horrible!!! But hopefully this will work!!! I'm on my first day, and fighting to keep going. My sis keeps throwing burger king in front of me (and icecream) but i have managed to throw them right back without a quick lick! LOL wish me luck!!!

posted Jun 23rd, 2009 7:19 pm


falconers

I'm on my 2nd week,lost 8lb the first week and only lost 2lb in my 2nd.Should i stop the diet for a week and then go back on again to loose more.Anybody have any advice? Thanks

posted Jun 9th, 2009 7:12 pm


Ariel

+

I am on day 4 of the diet. I have lost about 6 lbs already.. im hungry at times, but i think the results will work. I also have started working out as well! I have heard nothing but good results from this diet. But, I am definitely looking forward to day 7!!! I want real food!!!

posted May 28th, 2009 9:57 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?