Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 16 of 24, 472 total comments)

Lindsey

My mom was on this diet for a week...and lost over 15 pounds...She took the next week off and then gained about 3 pouds back...And she was been doing it on and off now for a while...and she looks great...I tried doing ti to...But in a couple days I found out i was pregnant...lol

posted Mar 20th, 2009 2:20 pm


random

has anyone managed to keep all the weight off afterwards?
I only managed to keep 5lbs off
when I lost 13lbs!

posted Mar 19th, 2009 11:00 am


jim

+

I like it. Have lost 10 pounds already.

posted Mar 17th, 2009 10:10 pm


Angela

This diet is great to lose a quick few pounds, I lost 9 pounds in the week, but immediately gained back about 3 or 4 when i stopped, it's definitely helped in changing my eating habits though, i'm eating a lot more fruit and veg which is filling me up so i'm not eating as much rubbish, pretty good short term to lose a few pounds quickly but definitely not sustainable. Good luck everyone!

posted Mar 17th, 2009 1:23 am


Lindsay

+

Today is day 1! The soup is good... I'm just worried about tomorrow when I cant eat anything but soup and veggies all day... not sure how I'll feel about that in the morning... .any ideas???

posted Mar 16th, 2009 1:34 pm


frances

+

it was good tasting and healthy along with walking everyday and my first week i lost seven pounds, and still going. i recommend it to coworkers and they are already on it. thanks

posted Mar 15th, 2009 2:00 pm


MissK

I will be starting this diet on Monday. I want to loose about 45 pounds, so my plan is to do this diet once a month and eat healthy the other 3 weeks along with exercise while doing both. I just have 2 questions.

What kinds of fruit juice do some of you drink, because all of the juices I know of have some sugar in them.

Also, because you I wont be intaking as many calories and I still plan to excerise, should I just a diet supplement or vitamin of some sort to ensure I have enough energy and I dont pass out?

posted Mar 11th, 2009 10:49 am


sonja

+

just started today i love the soup and so does my friends and boyfriend to bad they cant have any ..im doing great i had a couple bites of banana bread and im drinking lemonade but i figured it wont hurt its just day 1 day 2 and on i will not cheat :)

posted Mar 9th, 2009 8:39 pm


cheekygirl

+

today is the first day of my second week on this diet. this diet is amazing!!! i lost 7 pounds the first week so that was a pound a day. i found it very hard at first because i was used to eating fast food and lots of cokes but it is getting easier. i did a couple cheats like a bowl of cereal one day and i had a starbucks and half a donut but still lost 7 pounds. the only bad things are the sometimes i have been dizzy and also noticed that i go to the bathroom a lot (diarrhea)

posted Mar 9th, 2009 8:00 pm


joann

THIS DIET defnitely works if you stick to it! I think it is true that the more soup you eat the more weight you lose however don't eat so much that you get sick. atleast 3 big bowls a day should do it. The soups not that bad but after eating it a while it makes me sick. but it works so its worth it!

posted Mar 6th, 2009 7:12 pm


Meka

Okay, I'm on day 4 and I get to eat bananas and drink skim milk. Thank goodness for this because I needed a change. I just weighed myself and I'm down 5 pounds. I can't see the weight difference but I recently moved up to a size 13 in jeans and this morning I was able to buttom up my size 11 jeans. They are still too tight but hopefully by the end of the 7th day they will have a relaxed fit.

posted Mar 6th, 2009 9:35 am


Meka

Yes, the soup is full of carrots and celery which have so few carories in them that it takes your body more calories to digest the items than are actually in the carrots and celery. So when you think about it by eating the soup you are helping your body burn extra calories. The down fall is this is why they call it a starvation diet, though you eat alot your body burns up all the calories and then some so you end up with nothing in your system. That is why I'm only going to do this diet for a week. I don't like the idea of starving myself.

posted Mar 5th, 2009 10:47 am


TT

Is it true that the more soup you eat the more wight you lose?

posted Mar 4th, 2009 10:15 pm


Meka

+

I just started this diet this morning, I made the soup last night. I'm actually eating the soup for the first time right now and it tastes pretty good to say that I hate carrots and celery. My concern is that I want to start working out and have already bought some hydroxycut to start taking. Do you think it's a bad idea to use hydroxycut or green tea diet pills while doing this sacred heart diet?

posted Mar 3rd, 2009 9:25 am


Cassy

im gonna start doing this
i just hope i wont cheat and i stick to it

i cant wait
wish me luck
>.< !!

posted Feb 28th, 2009 7:42 pm


Kimberly

+

When I first saw this I said no I can't do this, no protein (except for some skim milk). I've hit a plateau in my counting calories and working out, so I decided to try it. So far it's working well but I wouldn't recomend doing this for a long period of time. (I"m mainly doing it because I hit that plateau and I want to win my Biggest Loser constest at work, plus I'm going on a cruise in a week).
I think it's ok to change up your routine but I wouldn't do this every week. It's not healthy to totaly deprive yourself of protein and whole grain wheats. So maybe do it once in a blue moon but be careful when you get off of it. Don't indulge into heavy foods. You will put the weight back on. Once you are off, eat six small meals a day with every meal containing a carb and protein. Don't forget to exercise to increase your success. Good Luck

posted Feb 27th, 2009 7:04 pm


STL

NO.. you shouldn't stay on this diet for "as long as you want".. you can do it on and of.. maybe once a month if you are planning to loose a lot.. i love this diet but loosing a lot on any diet that last too long is going to harm you because your body and your heart will be in a lot of stress.. if you want to continue for a long time, get of the diet (but eat healthy, not mcdonalds, fries and beer) for a couple of weeks or a month and then start again.. you do need grains and legumes.. try to eat weigh watchers style in between.. that will work.. =)

posted Feb 24th, 2009 1:45 am


Larry

+

Hey 11 days 15 lbs I love it

Can I stay on this as long as i want with out any
grain products thought we needed grain or legumes to survive?

posted Feb 20th, 2009 2:26 pm


kayl

correction it was 6lbs I lost after 3 days not 9!
that was a typo lol
xxx

posted Feb 5th, 2009 4:21 am


kayl

Hello I'm back again :]
I have decided to try to the first 3 days of the diet every monday/tues/wed for the next 7 weeks or there abouts to try get to my target weight

however I'm changing the soup every week slightly so I don't get bored of it, like adding other veg or different stock
but hopefully I will lose 5-7 lbs each time I do it as I lost around 8lbs after the 1st 3 days last tiem I did this diet.

so wish me luck everyone and i will keep posting after every 3 days of the diet to see how I do :]

Love & Light
x x x

posted Feb 5th, 2009 4:16 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?