Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 15 of 24, 472 total comments)


Just finished day one.... I already wanna quit , haha... but hopefully it will get easier.... tomorrow will be rough... I'm not a big fan of veggies.... any ideas what to have for breakfast for day 2?

posted May 25th, 2009 1:08 am



On my second day. Yesterday was, the first day was probably the more difficult due to the fact that I don't like to eat fruit too much, especially all day. Today was great, VEGGIES! I love it!

Instead of dressing, I used Salsa. =) Romain, lettuce, tomatoes, olives, roasted red peppers, avocado & red onions-MMMM!!!!

Raw carrots, cucumbers & celery with hummus, I also ate.

Im making my second batch of soup tmw and instead of green bell peppers, I'll add red bell peppers and I even bought some squash on sale to add to it as well.

Tonight is baked potato night. I'll have soup, salad and steamed broccoli with my buttered baked potato.

I'll also make a batch of guacamole that I can eat tmw, fruits & veggie day. I just have to fight with my daughter to eat the guacamole since she loooooves that stuff.

I hope to check in tmw as well as the rest of the days.

I'm just drinking water and hot green tea at night.

posted May 23rd, 2009 10:48 pm


anyone wanting to partner up or do a group diet????

posted May 23rd, 2009 2:17 am



I have been doing the diet off and on for about a year and I love the results that I have gotten the first week I did the diet I lost 15lbs and have been losing ever since. I recently stated doing the diet for a week and then off a week and that has help me to maintain. I got the diet fromm a friend that was trying to do it but didn't like the taste of the soup and it made her sick at the stomach, but for me it has worked WONDERFUL!!!!!! try it you might like it.

posted May 19th, 2009 12:52 pm



This is my 2nd time doing this diet. Im on Day 2. First time (around a month ago) I lost 8 lbs. I like this diet (although by Day 4 I'm ready to throw the container of soup out the window!) Question: are we allowed to put vinegar on our salad on Veggie Days? Good luck everyone out there doing this diet. It DOES work, maintaining afterwards is key.

posted May 13th, 2009 8:26 am



I'm on day one and let me tell you I could eat fruits everyday. So far I am making the soup and I hope it works... I feel like there are a whole ton of vegetables so I kind of want to blend them together in a blender? Is that OK, or should I just eat as is?

posted May 9th, 2009 12:18 pm

Ms S

I've been on the Sacred Heart plan for a little over a month and have gone from 235 to 213 to date. I'm looking for a support group of some kind. It is getting harder and harder to stay motivated. Also, for those who have done this plan over an extended time, did you always do the two day break?

posted May 8th, 2009 3:24 pm



Today is my 7th day. Dropped 5.5 lbs. (Yeah me)! Would like to have lost more but I'm happy w/what I did lose. I tried to eat the soup as much as possible. But after about the 3rd day I was burnt out on the soup. Overall the diet is very easy.
On day 4 my husband decided to grill Ribeye steaks and it didn't bother me. I happily ate my banana.
Good luck everyone! Stick with it for 7 days and you will definitely feel better. I have more energy, less cravings and my pants are not quite as snug!

posted Apr 28th, 2009 2:10 pm


this is my second day on the diet the soup tastes really good and i think i can stick to it for a week but i can not give up coffee (with cream and sugar) i get terrible headaches but i have cut back on how much cream and sugar i put in each cup and have cut myself down to one pot a day (i was drinking three)
My husband and i are doing this to kick start a much healthier lifestyle we walk every afternoon and do weight training every other day I know we can stick to a healthy lifestyle because we did before i got pregnant with our last daughter She is now 10 months old and i still haven't lost any baby weight Good luck to everyone who is trying this

posted Apr 27th, 2009 8:34 am


patients* forgive me

posted Apr 23rd, 2009 3:00 pm


Alright first off for those of you confused day 5 is beef and tomatoes and soup, day 6 is beef and veggies day 7 is brown rice and unsweetened fruit juice. The "acceptable" beverages for this diet are: unsweetened juice, black herbal and regular tea as well as coffee. Cranberry juice skim milk and tonnes of water... those are the only acceptable drinks. Keep in mind this recipe originated to help patience lose weight fast prior to surgery.. especially bigger ppl. So someone looking to lose a quick 10lbs can use this diet but if you go back to eating fried foods of course your going to gain it back gradually or otherwise.

posted Apr 23rd, 2009 2:59 pm


Sarah on the 5th day you can have 10-20 ozs of beef and a can of tomatoes or at least 6 fresh tomatoes, on day 6 beef and veggies and eat as much as you like, and on the 7th day brown rice, unsweet fruit juice, veggies and as on all the other days soup.........I started this diet on Saturday weighing 153 and I now weigh 146 and I'm only on day 4!!!!

posted Apr 21st, 2009 3:36 pm


hey everyone..im gonna start on this diet...i read all the reviews and i really think it will work for me.. BUT i had couple of QUESTIONS..

For the 5th, 6th, and 7th day..wut am i suppose to eat with the soup.... and also for breakfast..do we start off the day with the soup????


posted Apr 20th, 2009 3:38 pm


hey everyone, im getting ready to try this diet and i had a Question...

im not understanding on wut to do on the 5th, 6th, and 7th day...wut am i suppose to eat exactly???? CAN ANYONE ANSWER MY Q! pleaseee! im planin starting on the diet as soon as possible! thank u!

posted Apr 20th, 2009 2:28 pm


im qettinq ready to start this diet, my friend told me he's qoinq to do it to move down a weiqht class for boxinq, and his mom's coworker states it works, so im definetly qoinq to try it. im excited

posted Apr 17th, 2009 9:35 pm


A very good way to kick start a diet.

I lost 2 stone over 4 months and only did the diet for one week. It cured me of bad habits for ages. I have put back 6 pounds over the last year and am about to 'do the soup ' next week to lose it! Good luck.

posted Apr 16th, 2009 7:18 am


My son did this for 2 weeks; he lost 15 pounds the first week and an additional 9 pounds the second (24 pounds total). He absolutely loved it.

I'm trying it now, but I don't know how long I'm going to be able to handle the soup. It can get old after awhile.

posted Apr 15th, 2009 11:48 am



Love it! I've been doing this diet for years and find that it is the only way I can lose the weight fast and its very healthy....Love, love, love it!!!!

posted Apr 12th, 2009 7:13 pm


Im on day 5 w/ the beef any suggestions on how to cook it or spices what to put in it?

posted Apr 6th, 2009 12:49 pm


Im actually going threw w/ this diet I am very suprised I started on March 31 n its April 6th I have lost 8lbs nI fell good. I couldnt stand it the first couple days but now I am ok Im on my 5th day I wasnt going to keep doing this diet but it its working!

posted Apr 6th, 2009 12:33 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account


BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.


There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.


Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?