Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 17 of 24, 472 total comments)

oh hi

+

people blast this like you're going to die from a week of it. and no. i'm on it for the second time and it's not hard. last time around i only lasted 6 days and lost 8 pounds with zero exercise and some cheating. so this time i'm doing it right and working out. i'm pretty sure i'll lose an asston of weight.

one tip i have is to KEEP YOURSELF BUSY. that's the best way to succeed. you really wont think about it. buy loads of green tea and sip on that all day if it helps, go see friends, go on walks. anything to take your mind off food makes this diet really, really easy. also, bring the icky soup with you however you can if you're going out at all.

posted Feb 2nd, 2009 6:43 pm


STL

+

well.. i lost 8 pounds but i must say that i was a bad girl towards the end and didn't exercise that much.. =p so i'm sure i could have lost a lot more.. i haven't gain any back and i'm planing on doing this next month again and i'm going to replace some foods with a low sodium low cal soup every once in a while because it really does work.. awesome diet, i felt great and full of energy..

posted Jan 29th, 2009 3:47 pm


kayl

+

Hey finished the diet yesterday
and may I say I have lost 13pounds!
I am amazed at how much I lost
I'm going on a normal but still healthy diet for a couple of weeks then I think I'm going to do this again as I still have 19lbs I want to lose.

I would recommend this diet to everyone!

I thought it was so easy!
but saying that I love fruit and veg and I was veggy for 7 years so that prob helps

good luck to everyone else hope you get the success I got!
love & Light
xxxx

posted Jan 27th, 2009 3:56 am


Allison

This diet really does change your eating habits. Today is day 1 of my 3rd round( I have lost 20 lbs so far). Yesterday was my brown rice day and I decided I would have what I wanted for dinner and I would start fresh this morning. I didn't want junk food. I ended up eating a salad with grilled chicken. I did have dressing and cheese on it though.

posted Jan 26th, 2009 5:22 pm


kayl

+

Day 5 now
so far I have lost 9lbs
which is from..
1.5inches from waist
1 inch off each thigh
1 inch off my hips
1 inch from my butt
& 1 from my bust

I feel amazing and cannot wait for my steak later *drools*

will deffo do this diet every 2-3 months to keep on top of things, then it will be more of a lifestyle then a diet.

Can't wait to see what my weight is come day 8! ... I'm totally carrying on with being healthy after this because i feel so much better, if i do have the occasion chocolate or takaway or soemthing i will just make sure i will work off any excess cals I eat :]

posted Jan 24th, 2009 9:52 am


STL

day 3.. i feel very good.. the potato last night was all i needed.. today i was 171 pounds.. so i'm 5 pounds lighter.. =D i have lots of fruit and vegetables (and lots and lots of soup).. i can't wait for day 8.. i don't think i'm going to loose 10 - 17 pounds but every little pound counts.. =p yesterday a was at supermarket and i was just checking healthy food.. like i seriously want to buy low cal, low sodium, fat free stuff.. my body doesn't wanna go back to the old eating habits.. lol.. thank God i love soup, fruits and vegetables because my husband is dieting with me and he is having a hard time..

posted Jan 23rd, 2009 4:49 pm


kayl

Hello day four now :]
everything is great too
i needed to make more soup last night so added some herbs to boost the flavour
and now it is like a new soup hehe
I have been feeling a little dizzy at times but I've also
lost 6 pounds so far
so yay for me
I'm looking forward to the beef tomorrow
I miss meat!
so after today only 3 days left

will update again soon.
love & Light
x x x x

posted Jan 23rd, 2009 8:21 am


STL

ok, day 2.. i didn't know what to do for breakfast so i just had soup and juice.. so far so good.. i can't wait for the baked potato.. =) oh and i'm 3 ponds lighter..

posted Jan 22nd, 2009 3:37 pm


STL

Well, i'm just starting today, the soup is really good.. but i think i made too hot.. lol.. i put a bunch of vegetables and used fat free low sodium sawanson broth (chicken and beef ).. i'm 176 pounds and trying to drop 40 pounds.. wish me luck!!

posted Jan 21st, 2009 3:25 pm


kayl

Hi just a quick question
can you eat too much soup for the diet to work?

As My last post said I'm a night time eater
and i have only had fruit and soup
but i have had like half the pan of soup1
and when i say pan i mean a massive pan!

The soup is just so nice!
will this cause me to not lose as much weight? I know it says the ore the better but surely there is a limit?

posted Jan 20th, 2009 4:35 pm


Kayl

+

Starting weight 172lbs with a BMI 23 (Ithink) I am over 6ft in height though so this is a normal weight for someone of my height but i want to get rid of my wobble bits hehe.

Day 1 of the diet and I have to say I'm enjoying it!

the soup is delicious however as it is quite chunky it is hard to get out of my fermoss (sp) at work so i might try liquidifying tomorrows portion.

I am a fruit bat so today has gone well
I don't feel hungry (so far)
and surprisingly i don't feel tired seeing as i have cut out coffee!

I'm a bit worried about later on tonight though because I'm a night time eater
but I promise Mysekf I'm going to stay strong.

Wish me luck!

will post again to keep everyone updated :]

ciao for now x

posted Jan 20th, 2009 7:47 am


Allison

+

So I pureed the soup and it is so much better. I am actually craving it during the day instead of dreading it. And the best new is that I have lost 10 lbs so far. This is my fourth day and I am really not hungry. I hope the next time I do the diet it works half as well.

posted Jan 15th, 2009 2:44 pm


Allison

Today is my second day and if it weren't for the baked potato tonight I don't think I could do it. And this morning I woke up and was 3.5 lbs lighter so that is keeping me motivated. I am already sick of the soup. I like drinking the broth so I think I am going to puree the soup and just gulp it down. I have a horrible headache. I am sure it is from lack of caffiene. I desperately want a diet dr. pepper. Has anyone kept drinking diet soda during the diet and it still worked?

posted Jan 13th, 2009 2:48 pm


Andie

-

This is a starvation diet. You'll lose weight but gain it all back and it isn't good for your body.

posted Jan 13th, 2009 11:49 am


cassie

Its Monday and my 2nd day on the diet!!... So far so good!!..Soup and veggies today and a baked potato for dinner!..I bought salad to mix in with my veggies and i was wondering if we could have any dressing?..oh and can we have avacados?

posted Jan 12th, 2009 12:15 pm


KK

+

I started this yesterday. So far, so good. I have low blodd sugar issues and usually dieting is horrendous - even one day - but I am pleasantly surprised at how good I feel. I am substituting the soup with Campbells Select Harvest Garden Veg ... I read somewhere that it would work the same .... does anyone know if that is true? I have already lost a little over a pound in one day. Peeing a LOT which must be a good thing ... ?

posted Jan 12th, 2009 11:16 am


cassie

+

Well here i am!..I just made to soup today and plan to start this diet tomorrow!! wish me luck and if theres anything i need to know feel free to send me a message:)
good luck to us all!!

posted Jan 10th, 2009 8:22 pm


Bob

Lost 17 lbs in two weeks. After three days; slept like a baby. No toxins! Good healthy food.

posted Jan 9th, 2009 11:36 pm


Angelina

+

It's a fast way to lose weight....first hand experience. I lost about 10 lbs...felt better...and was conscience after wards.

During the last few days I was going nuts because I was lacking my normal intake (bread, pastas, alcohol, etc.). I know for some it may be impossible to survive a 7 day strict diet. I figured as long as I do it once a month, this won't seem so much like a diet, but a life style change.

posted Jan 7th, 2009 7:36 pm


Connie

+

I am starting the sacred diet today and the soup is so good to me and I don't even like onions and green peppers. I think if I don't loose any pounds I will be happy still because this will help me get back on track to eating healthy again. I don't see why I would loose any weight though because when I just started drinking more water and eating everything low fat or no fat I lost weight. I was at 218 and got down to 178 and then I gained back up to 191 and so I would like to loose about 40 pounds and I will be so happy.

PS. Let me just say I have only eaten one bowl of the soup for breakfast and I already have been to the bathroom twice. So you def. need to be expecting to do alot of that.

posted Jan 7th, 2009 12:27 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?