Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 231 reviews

Sacred Heart Diet

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Purple Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 17 of 23, 453 total comments)

Connie

I am starting the sacred diet today and the soup is so good to me and I don't even like onions and green peppers. I think if I don't loose any pounds I will be happy still because this will help me get back on track to eating healthy again. I don't see why I would loose any weight though because when I just started drinking more water and eating everything low fat or no fat I lost weight. I was at 218 and got down to 178 and then I gained back up to 191 and so I would like to loose about 40 pounds and I will be so happy.

PS. Let me just say I have only eaten one bowl of the soup for breakfast and I already have been to the bathroom twice. So you def. need to be expecting to do alot of that.

posted Jan 7th, 2009 12:27 pm



Brandi

Hello Sacred Heart Dieters! I wanted to reach out and personally invite you to join our new community here at DietsInReview.com. It's free and just takes a minute. You'll be able to save your favorite content on the site, as well as direct message one another. We hope this will better suit the needs you have as some of our most active readers. Happy New Year! - Brandi

Join our new Diet Community Today!

posted Jan 6th, 2009 10:25 am


rsnelson

In response to Amanda that posted on Jan 1... I too have lost my "sex drive" after gaining weight after having 2 kids also! I think its just because I'm not happy with myself or my body image or the numbers on the scale, so then I think that my husband thinks the same way! Just lowers my self esteem! But I just saw this diet today and plan on starting it with my husband and my mom! Should be exciting to see how it goes! Good luck to everyone that has a New Year Resolution to lose weight in 2009!

posted Jan 5th, 2009 12:11 pm


Yana K.

Ha, i guess I forgot to publish how much I lost :) I lost 5 pounds on one week of this diet...

posted Jan 3rd, 2009 1:16 pm


Amanda

I am going to start this diet in the next couple of days. I have a couple other things to pick up from the store. I used to be a size 5 when I was in high school which was 6 years ago. Two kids later Im a 12 and 35 lbs heavier. Im hoping to get back to at least a size 8. I havent heard anyone say this, but putting on 35 lbs made me completely lose my sex drive. So Im hoping this will make me healthier but bring back my sex drive. Anyone else have that problem?

I'll write again when my week is finished and how I did. I cant wait!! Im really excited to lose some weight.

posted Jan 1st, 2009 7:20 pm


Amanda

I am going to start this diet in the next couple of days. I have a couple other things to pick up from the store. I used to be a size 5 when I was in high school which was 6 years ago. Two kids later Im a 12 and 35 lbs heavier. Im hoping to get back to at least a size 8. I havent heard anyone say this, but putting on 35 lbs made me completely lose my sex drive. So Im hoping this will make me healthier but bring back my sex drive. Anyone else have that problem?

I'll write again when my week is finished and how I did. I cant wait!! Im really excited to lose some weight.

posted Jan 1st, 2009 7:19 pm


Anastasia

So far I am on my third day of the diet and I can tell a difference. I don't weigh myself because I don't want to discourage myself while I diet and exercise, but when I sit down I can tell a difference, as can I when I exercise and breathe. It's a super hard diet to follow but it seems like it does what it's said to do =)

posted Dec 31st, 2008 11:32 pm


Alicia

To: 007 bond gurl
And
Mindi

Try to remember that the best time to weigh yourself is in the morning, because you have had time to digest your food. My friend brought it to my attention that when you eat a meal, your weight can go up as much as 5lbs immediately because you just added more to your mass. Once that food digests, you will know you real weight. And Believe it or not, clothes make a difference. Try to go for an entire week without weighing and then weight yourself the morning after the 7th day. I always weight myself wearing the same thin house coat and always in the morning.

You will definitely be discouraged if you eat and weigh yourself immediately. If you want my professional advice, you can check with your doctor. I am only writing from my own experience.

posted Dec 31st, 2008 11:56 am


Alicia

To ggggg,

I did this diet and told my friend about it. She started it too but she found that it was very time consuming to cut all those vegetables, because she and her husband did it together and a pot of soup only lasted for about two or three days. She tried the Vegetable Beef Barley Soup by Progresso and she had the same results.

I then started buying Progresso soup instead of making it and it works the same, so I donā??t make the soup anymore and I donā??t think I ever will. I quickly got tired of the Vegetable Barley Soup so I started buying all different kinds of light Progresso Soup and there has been no difference in my results. I definitely recommend that you buy some soup in the can if you get tired of making it.

Just remember to get light soup. I only buy the Progresso soups that are worth 0 or 1 Weight Watchers Points. You can also buy Campbell Select Harvest Soups. They are healthy and actually have fewer calories than Progresso, but both are good.

Just follow the diet exactly as it is written only substituting the homemade soup for the light can soup. Also, drink tons of water to balance the salt in the Progresso Soup.

One more thing; there are other brands of healthy soups out there like Healthy Choice and a few others. Just try the different ones and determine what is best for you.

posted Dec 31st, 2008 11:40 am


artjet

I absolutely cannot stand bananas, it makes me sick the thought of eating one...can you replace the bananas with another high protein food??

posted Dec 30th, 2008 12:28 pm


Alicia

So far, this diet has helped me lose 34 pounds in less than two months. It is a great diet to help you reach your weight goals whether it is 50 lbs or 150 lbs.

I have had people say to me that I will gain the weight back as soon as I get off the diet because it is a crash diet. It is true, you can potentially gain the weight back when you get off the Sacred Heart Diet because it is a strict regimen that tells you exactly what to eat and when to eat it, so that your body quickly drops the weight. When you stop following this regimen, you may not know what to eat and weight gain can occur.

When you finish the diet it is important not to go crazy at fast food places or with junk food. It is definitely possible to keep all the weight of that you lose. The only way to do this is to learn new healthier eating habits to adapt for the rest of your life. Weight Watchers is a good program to help you with this.

While Sacred Heard will help you lose more weight at a faster pace, you can only have a limited number of foods. But with Weight Watchers, you can go to any restaurant and eat as long you follow the guide, and this is something you can use for the rest or your life to maintain the phenomenal results you get with the Sacred Heart Diet.

Oh yes, on the Sacred Heart Diet, you should take a multivitamin and maybe find some protein water. Special K has a good brand that I love to drink.

posted Dec 30th, 2008 12:00 pm


ggggg

can u eat just normal soup from a can ?

posted Dec 28th, 2008 5:35 pm


mia

OMG!!!! this diet is the only diet that works so well. Every one didnt believe how much i lost in 1 week, not even my mom and we all did it together. I lost 20ib in that 1 week. believe it or not. Everybody noticed, and it was a very good feeling after completing it. It is a very good diet if you want to lose about 17 ibs
* for the fruits i just ate watermelon and cantelope, and i drank a lot of cranberry. I also didnt eat the soup because i thought it tasted bad.

posted Dec 22nd, 2008 6:51 pm


Mindi

well, i don't wanna dissapoint anyone who's really excited about this diet, however, sorry to break up to you but i gotta inform you some side effects....i did this diet strickly for one week and i've lost 10 lbs!!! i was really happy, so after i finished i went back to my regular food (nothing fried nor greasy and stuff, really healthy) i even stopped eating after 6 pm. well, guess what happened the next day when i weighted myself, i went over 5-7lbs!!!! i couldn't believe it!!! so the following day i decided to begin this diet again so i treated myself (i regret it so much) with wendy's (i had a 99 cent burger and a wrap) and i went back up to my old weight, i mean...so i did it again but once i got down to 10 lbs, my weight just wouldn't go down anymore, it didn't matter how much soup or how stricktly i followed the diet. i'm just letting you from my experience. i was so excited how my weight was going down but later i become to realize that as much as i went down, its really easy to go back up.

posted Dec 15th, 2008 12:00 am


crystall

Today was day 1 of this diet, I have my sister doing it with me and so far all is ok. Ive had 3 bowls of soup, some cranberry juice, a cup of herbal tea and about 5 small mandarin oranges today. Im stuffed but I so want something non fruit or soup!! lol I have had to go pee like crazy today! looking forward to baked potato tomorrow night

posted Dec 14th, 2008 8:44 pm


alice

well today is day 3 and yayyyyyyyyy i lost 6.5 plds omg i was so happy especially after almost giving up well im ok today but cant wait for bananas tomorrow hahaha hope tonight is better then last night... good luck to you all

posted Dec 10th, 2008 3:26 pm


ALICE

OK WELL I DID THE 2ND DAY OK I HAVENT CHEATED BUT IM GETTING THESE HEAD ACHS AND FEELING ALITTLE WEEK ONLY AT NIGHT CAN SOMEONE TELL ME IF THIS IS NORMAL... I WANT TO MAKE THE WEEK BUT NOT SURE I CAN PRAY I CAN GET THROUGH TOMORROW. THANKS GUYS

posted Dec 9th, 2008 11:16 pm


ALICE

WELL TODAY WAS MY FIRST DAY I DIDNT CHEAT THANK GOD BUT IT IS HARD FOR ME. I WORK WITH A WHOLE BUNCH OF PEOPLE THAT BRING IN COOKIES AND CAKES THAT IS THE HARDEST.... AND NOW I COME HOM STARVING TO FIND MY HUSBAND COOKING FOR HIM AND THE KIDS AND THIS IS REALLY HARD BUT I AM STICKING WITH THIS I JUST HOPE IT WORKS... I CANT WAIT FOR TOMORROW TO HAVE MY BAKED POTATOE I NEED FOODDDDD LOLOL

posted Dec 8th, 2008 6:09 pm


Erica

I am on day 6 of the diet and I feel great. A little tip for the people who asked about the recipe is to put a large can of chicken broth fat free and a large can of beef broth fat free. If you can't find a large can of beef broth just use two. I didn't add any water, just use enough broth. I just broils the veggies in water prior to adding it to the soup. It worked out great and the curry power gave it the kick it needed. Other than that I lost 7 lbs by the 3rd day and I can't wait to see what it says on the last day. The only thing with this diet is that I don't know what to eat after this week is over! I have another 15 or so lbs to lose so wish me luck.

posted Dec 8th, 2008 12:26 am


Jennifer

Well I am on day 4 and this really has been a good challenge. I am hoping that this will help shape my eating habits and achieve my idea body weight. Today was kind of tough and I have been experiencing headaches instead of feeling energized but I am not going to give up. Good luck to all of you:) I really feel this diet is actually not bad for you but gives you a different outlook on food choices.

posted Dec 7th, 2008 7:30 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account