Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Based Diet Navigation    
User Rating

94%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 231 reviews

Sacred Heart Diet

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared


Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Juice Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Purple Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 18 of 23, 453 total comments)

ALICE

WELL I MADE THE SOUP TO START THE DIET TOMORROW AND I TASTED IT DOESNT TASTE THAT BAD NAH IT DONT TASTE BAD AT ALL JUST NOT SURE HOW IT WILL TAAST AFTER I EAT IT FOR 7 DAYS HAHHA WELL WISH ME LUCK THAT I LOSE WEIGHT HOPE IM NOT DOING THIS FOR NOTHING THAT WOULD BE DESPRESSING

posted Dec 7th, 2008 7:14 pm


Yana K.

Today is day 6 and I am feeling great! I have a lot of energy, and I do not feel hungry... Today I ate the remainder of the soup. Unfortunately there is no more left... However, i am still planning on going through with Day 7 everything but soup. In addition to the remainder of the soup I ate broccoli.... three little heads. And drinking lots of water. Tonight, when i get home from library, I will have one green squash (the one that looks like cucumber) and the last tomato. Can't wait to weigh myself! :)

posted Dec 6th, 2008 8:59 pm


Ashley

I really like the idea of this diet and it works great!



For everyone who thinks it tastes disgusting, change the beef broth (no fat) to chicken broth (no fat), I tried that and i personally feel it tastes much better and you still get great results!



Just trying to help, Good luck everyone. =)

posted Dec 6th, 2008 8:58 pm


alice

hello i am starting this diet on monday. i cant wait i need to lose about 30 plds do you think that will take about 3 weeks of this diet as im not sure you can stay on it that long. also the menu for the soup doesnt state how much water to put in it can someone let me know...

posted Dec 6th, 2008 8:24 pm


ariprincess

hello I only made it to he 6th day because I was getting sick and blacked out......so I didnt want to go any further with it.....the whole morning yesterday I was shaky and sweating........but I did lose 6 pounds and inches of my waist...my shirts fit better and so does my pants.....I feel bad for giving up.....but my body just gave up on me.....Its worth the try...

posted Dec 6th, 2008 10:58 am


Yana K.

Day 2 was not tough at all! I did NOT feel hungry although was looking foward to Day 5's meat :) I had a medium head of cauliflower (boiled and then boiled some more IN the soup while I was heating up the soup) and some soup. I DID have more energy and i was drinking lots of H2O :)



Day 3 went without hunger pangs even though I ate less. I had only two medium bowls of soup and 6 brussel sprouts (they were actually really good as long as they are not overcooked - about 5-6 mins boiling)! I further ate a whole personal size watermelon and the other half of pineapple... That's all I needed!



On Day 4 I was praising the maker of this diet for including bananas! I really needed something more satisfying in my system. I had soup in the morning... three bananas throughout the day when i was feeling hungry and mucho soup at night (because I was writing a paper for 8 straight hours, I felt starving). I did power yoga for an hour.



Today is Day 5 and I was able to have some beef! Yay, right? Not so... Because the beef that I bought was 85% fat free, there were those 15% persky percent of fat that made me feel a bit sick because I have not been eating ANYTHING fatty for a while! I added ground beef to the soup and it tasted it great, but now i wish I ate less of it... seeing fat circles on the surface of the soup made additionally sick. Tonight when I come home I will eat 3 tomatoes with peppers and salt. No exercise, just lots of mental activity.



Cannot wait to weight myself on Sunday! I miss fruits...



Good luck to all on the diet and kudos to the "losers" and those who did not lose but are trying nevertheless! Special good luck to ariprincess - weddings can put an immense pressure on you - make sure you lead a healthy lifestyle, sleep enough, eat good stuff... add nuts in your diet (not too much, see their calorie content) because nuts make your hair shiny :)

posted Dec 5th, 2008 8:08 pm


ELLA7

IM ON MY 2nd DAY AND ALREADY NOTICED HOW MUCH EASIER IT IS TO PUT ON MY PANTS.IT'S HARD THOUGH BUT YOU HAVE TO WANT TO REALLY LOSE THE WEIGHT,I AM SO HUNGRY FOR MEAT OR A BIG MAC BUT INSTEAD I'M MUNCHING ON A BROCOLLI.I WISH I HAD SOMEONE I KNOW IN THIS WITH ME.

posted Dec 5th, 2008 1:30 pm


Lyric

Been on the diet now since Monday it is now Wednesday. I have lost 6 pounds. So far so good!!!!

posted Dec 3rd, 2008 8:48 pm


Rachael

On my first day and just have one question. Can you use sweet and low and splenda to sweet the teas and coffee?

posted Dec 2nd, 2008 5:04 pm


ariprincess

I started the diet yesterday and It wasn't too bad, the soup tastes really good....but it does get boring.....anyhow it's been o.k. I had 3 apples and grapes and 2 bowls of soup....i'm on day 2 and am looking forward to my potato and butter.....I started with the 135lb. weight and let's see how much I lose....It's only 7 days....and my wedding is in 46 days.......AGHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!! wish me luck.

posted Dec 2nd, 2008 12:00 pm


Yana K.

I don't know if this will be helpful, but I'll publish a little review of each day of this diet just to let people know how hard or how easy it will hopefully get to go through the diet! I am on Day 1 and cooked a huge pot of soup. I am starving. The soup tastes absolutely delicious = kind of like minestrone. I am also having half a pineapple today and probably will have a kiwi later on. Today is tough, let's see if tomorrow is easier! Oh, and not drinking is a whammy. I went out to a bar tonight to see someone play a show and I could not drink alcohol... I drank water.

posted Dec 2nd, 2008 12:37 am


Karley

I love it! This is my third time doing this diet. I first did it to drop those last ten pounds after having a child and it worked. The second time was after my second child and it worked then, too. So, here I am again doing it to break myself out of a weight plateau. The soup tastes great. Given it does get old- as anything would after eating it for several days straight. The trick to making it taste good is seasoning. Good luck everybody:)

posted Dec 1st, 2008 3:29 pm


007 bond gurl

Help! Am i doing something wrong here. I have been following this diet to the tee and the first 3 days lost 5 lbs and then gained them back ( and was still doing the diet without cheating). I have also been working out so I thought I might be retaining fluids...I must say the soup is evil tasting and I would rather not be torturing myself to gain. Has anyone else had this problem and then drop it later? BTW... I am on my 9th day of the diet, or the 2nd after starting a new week.- Thanks

posted Nov 25th, 2008 9:12 pm


LT

My husband and i started this diet 11/22 he has lost 12 lbs, i've lost nothing, but... I noticed my pants not as tight. So i think the inch loss is there even tho the scales don't show it. I woke up today and wasn't going to continue but i did because i can tell i've lost inches. I feel great being on this diet and have had no sweet cravings. It's worth the try

posted Nov 25th, 2008 1:32 pm


Ariel

I did this diet about a year ago I weighed 130 and at the end of it I weighed 123 *7 pound weight loss* This diet works but it's so hard to keep up with I felt like vomiting everytime I ate the soup! I decided to go on it again because I now weigh 150 pounds due to dining out,lol...I still look okay I just want to lose weight! After the diet I did notice my pants began to fit better and I looked a bit leaner.This isn't a miracle diet or anything you have to change your lifestyle to stay thin don't think you can diet for a week or two and see results it's hard work...Just think of it this way "Do I really want to live like this?" Diet for a year or two and lose weight because in the end it's only a small fraction of your life and your body will thank you! But this diet works I suggest doing it once a month and also continue dieting! =D

posted Nov 24th, 2008 6:58 pm


Wanda

I just made the soup today. It is very tasty!! I used a lot of the spices and my husband and I really like it. Today has been easy, only vegies tomorrow might be more difficult, but I'm gonna stick with it. Will write more at the end of the 7 days.

posted Nov 23rd, 2008 1:14 pm


JJ

i saw in the description you may substitute the beef for chicken. has anyone done this and had positive results?

posted Nov 21st, 2008 11:12 pm


Dana

QUESTION FOR THOSE WHO HAVE TRIED THIS DIET....
people keep keep telling me you only lose water weight...when you did lose the weight...did you notice it? like did your clothes fit different and everything..

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:18 am


Cristina

This is in regarding ASHLEY.
I think you miss typed or forgot a 0 but you wouldn't have the energy to type if you only had 100 calories a day.
Everyone else, I went on this diet just before going on vacation. I lost 10 pounds and kept it off. I want to lose another 10 soo I am going back on it. Try it , be patient, and weigh yourself at the end of the seven days. You will smile.

posted Nov 20th, 2008 11:17 am


John

On day 4 - hate day 4!!!!!! Cant wait till tomorrow - beef day!! Soup is disgusting!!!!!! But been on the diet twice - lost 14 pounds the first time (only lasted five and a half days on diet) Day four of second round and I've lost 15 pounds - no lie!!!! I have been working out everday though - hard! Side note - after diet the first time big time cravings, I ate bad for two days straight - gained 6 pounds back right away. I'm hoping to have a bit more self control when I finish this time, but we'll see. Good luck all!

posted Nov 19th, 2008 10:01 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account