Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

39%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 283 reviews
Sacred Heart Diet

Sacred Heart Diet Review: Does it Work?

Quick weight loss program, similar to the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

The Sacred Heart Diet is a weight loss fad diet that is used to help treat overweight people with heart conditions. It’s also been called the Spokane Heart Diet, Miami Heart Institute Diet, and the Cleveland Clinic Diet.

It claims results for up to 10 to 17 pounds in the first week. It lasts a total of 7 days and is made up mostly of soup and vegetables. It also claims to be helpful for those suffering from diabetes or bowel problems. There are different free resources online which help explain what the diet requires. By reviewing several popular and new diets, our experts have rated the 18Shake Diet as the most effective. It offers a combination of both an appetite suppressing meal replacement and a fat burning stimulant free diet pill. Discover more about what the 18Shake Diet has to offer by clicking the link provided.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Sacred Heart DietIngredients and Side Effects

You can eat as much as you like of the following:

• Soup: Should consist of 1 to 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, 3 large green onions, and 1 large can of beef broth with no added fat, a package of Lipton Soup Mix, 1 bunch of celery, 2 cans of green beans, 2 green peppers and 2 pounds of carrots.

• Drinks: Unsweetened juices, herbal tea, skim milk, water, cranberry juice, and coffee. This can be drunk as much as one likes.

The kinds of foods allowed are:

Day One: Unlimited soup and certain fruits excluding bananas.

• Day Two: Eating as much fresh, canned, or cooked vegetables. No dry beans, peas, or corn can be eaten. Leafy greens are suggested.  Dinner allows for a baked potato with butter, though no fruits are allowed.

• Day Three: Unlimited soup, fruit and veggies. One should have lost around 5 to 7 pounds.

The link cited here has a list of the top 10 ranked diet plans for weight loss.

• Day Four: Skim milk and at least 3 milks. This is meant to replace the amount of carbohydrates and potassium needed. The protein and added calcium is intended to reduce the cravings for sweets.

• Day Five: Beef and tomatoes. 10 to 20 ounces of beef and canned tomatoes. Soup must be eaten once a day and 6 tomatoes can be eaten.

• Day Six: Beef and vegetables for as much as you’d like 2 to 3 steaks with green leafy vegetables and at least one soup a day.

• Day Seven: Brown rice, unsweetened fruit juice, eat as much soup as you can, and you can add cooked vegetables to the rice.

If more than 17 pounds have been lost it’s advised to stop using the diet for two daysbefore one can resume using it again. It’s said that one should lose between 10 to 17 pounds safely. The basic idea is that this diet will significantly reduce the amount of calories you lose via introducing low calorie foods.

The reason one can eat unlimited amounts of soup is due to the extremely low calories provided, as well as the natural liquid in soup which helps to fill up the stomach.

There are also restrictions on food such as not eating:

         • Bread.

         • Carbonated drinks including diet soda.

         • Fried foods.

         • Alcohol.

It’s advised to make sure to at least drink a total of 6 to 8 glasses of water. One can add the list of allowed beverages to also make up for the amount of liquids one needs to drink.For a top 10 list of the highest rated diet plans click the link provided.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Sacred Heart Diet Quality of Ingredients

There are healthy food options which are recommended, but eating only large amounts of soups can be difficult. It’s likely one will lose weight as there is very few calories provided. The issue is that this can also lead to nutritionaldeficiencies. A lot of the foods one will be eating are low in fats, which can lead to fatigue.

The claimed 10 to 17 pounds of weight loss are likely to be water weight. The reason why the diet is only available for use up to 7 days is because of the risk of issues with can result with repeat use. Diets that require only a short term use are often because they can promote side effects. This is not considered a sustainable diet; they are what are known as crash diets.

Sharron Coplin, a registered dietician for Ohio State University said:

“would not recommend any diet that exceeded a safe rate of weight loss, which is 2 to 3 pounds per week”

This rapid weight loss is not a quality of a safe and effective diet plan. The link provided here has a rate of the highest rate weight loss diets.

The Price and Quality of Sacred Heart Diet

The price depends on where one gets their vegetables and other food items. It’s likely to be an easy to afford diet, but there are health websites which mention it’s potentially unsafe.

Healthy Weight Formulas adds:

“one of the main points against it is that most weight loss is temporary, caused by fluid depletion”

“particularly low in calories, and may cause light headedness and weakness”

The risk for side effects and the extreme reduction in calories make this a potentially risky diet. It is easy to begin this diet, but overall the lack of evidence for safety makes it a poor diet. Our experts have rated the top ranking diet plans in a top 10 list found here.

Business of Sacred Heart Diet

Websites which promote this brand often will claim that it was formulated by a particular hospital. The truth is that none of the claimed hospitals said to have created this diet have taken responsibility, since it’s a potentially dangerous diet.

Most of the information on this diet is available on free websites. There is no officialguide, and certain sites offer different accounts on what should be followed. The same basic ideas are offered however, such as making sure to get the help of a physician in case of any excess weight loss.

This lack of information is likely because like other fad diets it’s not based off of real science. The top 10 list of the best weight loss diets can be seen in the link cited here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Sacred Heart Diet

Here are some direct quotes from users of this diet:

“On day 3 and lost nothing! Actually gained 2 lbs. on day 2”

“gained A LOT of weight back”

“I am on day 7 of this diet and have not lost any weight”

“I am always hungry though, and don’t want to constantly eat this soup”

As suspected the main issue people had was that any weight loss was quickly regained. This is what is known as a crash diet, which gives fast results that do not last and is only intended for a short period of use.

The issue with diets like this is that most of the weight loss is actually water weight and not fat. This makes it impossible to rely on for real weight loss.

Another listed issue from people was that it was hard to eat the same kinds of foods. People quickly because bored of the food selection, for many it was impossible to keep eating soup even it was just for 7 days. For a list of thehighest rated diet pals for weight loss follow the link provided here.

Conclusion - Does Sacred Heart DietWork?

The Sacred Heart Diet allows for unlimited amounts of soup that’s based off of just one recipe. For the entire 7 days there are different allowed foods. The diet is considered a fad crash dietthat can result to upwards of 7 pounds in the total 7 days. One can continue using the day off and on again for results. Many who have tried it mention it’s not satisfying to keep eating the same foods allowed. There were also problems with the lack of long lasting weight loss. There are problems with sustaining weight loss efforts since most of what’s lost is water weight. Medical sites also mention that it’s lacking in nutrition and that it can be unsafe to keep using it. It can lead to nutritional deficiencies which may result in long term side effects.

Our experts have concluded the best solution for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet. It offers a nutritionally balanced meal replacement that helps with appetite suppression, as well as a diet pill made to help burn fat. Testimonials and positive reviews are available on the official website from people who have had significant results. There are only natural ingredients, no artificial colors, stimulants, or fillers added.

The 18Shake Diet is also backed by a full 30 day money back return policy. This risk free return policy is offered with no questions asked. You can learn more about the benefits of the 18Shake Diet in the link cited here.

How Does Sacred Heart Diet Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Sacred Heart Diet
  • 39 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 18 of 24, 472 total comments)


Brandi

Hello Sacred Heart Dieters! I wanted to reach out and personally invite you to join our new community here at DietsInReview.com. It's free and just takes a minute. You'll be able to save your favorite content on the site, as well as direct message one another. We hope this will better suit the needs you have as some of our most active readers. Happy New Year! - Brandi

Join our new Diet Community Today!

posted Jan 6th, 2009 10:25 am


rsnelson

In response to Amanda that posted on Jan 1... I too have lost my "sex drive" after gaining weight after having 2 kids also! I think its just because I'm not happy with myself or my body image or the numbers on the scale, so then I think that my husband thinks the same way! Just lowers my self esteem! But I just saw this diet today and plan on starting it with my husband and my mom! Should be exciting to see how it goes! Good luck to everyone that has a New Year Resolution to lose weight in 2009!

posted Jan 5th, 2009 12:11 pm


Yana K.

+

Ha, i guess I forgot to publish how much I lost :) I lost 5 pounds on one week of this diet...

posted Jan 3rd, 2009 1:16 pm


Amanda

+

I am going to start this diet in the next couple of days. I have a couple other things to pick up from the store. I used to be a size 5 when I was in high school which was 6 years ago. Two kids later Im a 12 and 35 lbs heavier. Im hoping to get back to at least a size 8. I havent heard anyone say this, but putting on 35 lbs made me completely lose my sex drive. So Im hoping this will make me healthier but bring back my sex drive. Anyone else have that problem?

I'll write again when my week is finished and how I did. I cant wait!! Im really excited to lose some weight.

posted Jan 1st, 2009 7:20 pm


Amanda

+

I am going to start this diet in the next couple of days. I have a couple other things to pick up from the store. I used to be a size 5 when I was in high school which was 6 years ago. Two kids later Im a 12 and 35 lbs heavier. Im hoping to get back to at least a size 8. I havent heard anyone say this, but putting on 35 lbs made me completely lose my sex drive. So Im hoping this will make me healthier but bring back my sex drive. Anyone else have that problem?

I'll write again when my week is finished and how I did. I cant wait!! Im really excited to lose some weight.

posted Jan 1st, 2009 7:19 pm


Anastasia

+

So far I am on my third day of the diet and I can tell a difference. I don't weigh myself because I don't want to discourage myself while I diet and exercise, but when I sit down I can tell a difference, as can I when I exercise and breathe. It's a super hard diet to follow but it seems like it does what it's said to do =)

posted Dec 31st, 2008 11:32 pm


Alicia

+

To: 007 bond gurl
And
Mindi

Try to remember that the best time to weigh yourself is in the morning, because you have had time to digest your food. My friend brought it to my attention that when you eat a meal, your weight can go up as much as 5lbs immediately because you just added more to your mass. Once that food digests, you will know you real weight. And Believe it or not, clothes make a difference. Try to go for an entire week without weighing and then weight yourself the morning after the 7th day. I always weight myself wearing the same thin house coat and always in the morning.

You will definitely be discouraged if you eat and weigh yourself immediately. If you want my professional advice, you can check with your doctor. I am only writing from my own experience.

posted Dec 31st, 2008 11:56 am


Alicia

+

To ggggg,

I did this diet and told my friend about it. She started it too but she found that it was very time consuming to cut all those vegetables, because she and her husband did it together and a pot of soup only lasted for about two or three days. She tried the Vegetable Beef Barley Soup by Progresso and she had the same results.

I then started buying Progresso soup instead of making it and it works the same, so I donâ??t make the soup anymore and I donâ??t think I ever will. I quickly got tired of the Vegetable Barley Soup so I started buying all different kinds of light Progresso Soup and there has been no difference in my results. I definitely recommend that you buy some soup in the can if you get tired of making it.

Just remember to get light soup. I only buy the Progresso soups that are worth 0 or 1 Weight Watchers Points. You can also buy Campbell Select Harvest Soups. They are healthy and actually have fewer calories than Progresso, but both are good.

Just follow the diet exactly as it is written only substituting the homemade soup for the light can soup. Also, drink tons of water to balance the salt in the Progresso Soup.

One more thing; there are other brands of healthy soups out there like Healthy Choice and a few others. Just try the different ones and determine what is best for you.

posted Dec 31st, 2008 11:40 am


artjet

+

I absolutely cannot stand bananas, it makes me sick the thought of eating one...can you replace the bananas with another high protein food??

posted Dec 30th, 2008 12:28 pm


Alicia

+

So far, this diet has helped me lose 34 pounds in less than two months. It is a great diet to help you reach your weight goals whether it is 50 lbs or 150 lbs.

I have had people say to me that I will gain the weight back as soon as I get off the diet because it is a crash diet. It is true, you can potentially gain the weight back when you get off the Sacred Heart Diet because it is a strict regimen that tells you exactly what to eat and when to eat it, so that your body quickly drops the weight. When you stop following this regimen, you may not know what to eat and weight gain can occur.

When you finish the diet it is important not to go crazy at fast food places or with junk food. It is definitely possible to keep all the weight of that you lose. The only way to do this is to learn new healthier eating habits to adapt for the rest of your life. Weight Watchers is a good program to help you with this.

While Sacred Heard will help you lose more weight at a faster pace, you can only have a limited number of foods. But with Weight Watchers, you can go to any restaurant and eat as long you follow the guide, and this is something you can use for the rest or your life to maintain the phenomenal results you get with the Sacred Heart Diet.

Oh yes, on the Sacred Heart Diet, you should take a multivitamin and maybe find some protein water. Special K has a good brand that I love to drink.

posted Dec 30th, 2008 12:00 pm


ggggg

+

can u eat just normal soup from a can ?

posted Dec 28th, 2008 5:35 pm


mia

+

OMG!!!! this diet is the only diet that works so well. Every one didnt believe how much i lost in 1 week, not even my mom and we all did it together. I lost 20ib in that 1 week. believe it or not. Everybody noticed, and it was a very good feeling after completing it. It is a very good diet if you want to lose about 17 ibs
* for the fruits i just ate watermelon and cantelope, and i drank a lot of cranberry. I also didnt eat the soup because i thought it tasted bad.

posted Dec 22nd, 2008 6:51 pm


Mindi

-

well, i don't wanna dissapoint anyone who's really excited about this diet, however, sorry to break up to you but i gotta inform you some side effects....i did this diet strickly for one week and i've lost 10 lbs!!! i was really happy, so after i finished i went back to my regular food (nothing fried nor greasy and stuff, really healthy) i even stopped eating after 6 pm. well, guess what happened the next day when i weighted myself, i went over 5-7lbs!!!! i couldn't believe it!!! so the following day i decided to begin this diet again so i treated myself (i regret it so much) with wendy's (i had a 99 cent burger and a wrap) and i went back up to my old weight, i mean...so i did it again but once i got down to 10 lbs, my weight just wouldn't go down anymore, it didn't matter how much soup or how stricktly i followed the diet. i'm just letting you from my experience. i was so excited how my weight was going down but later i become to realize that as much as i went down, its really easy to go back up.

posted Dec 15th, 2008 12:00 am


crystall

+

Today was day 1 of this diet, I have my sister doing it with me and so far all is ok. Ive had 3 bowls of soup, some cranberry juice, a cup of herbal tea and about 5 small mandarin oranges today. Im stuffed but I so want something non fruit or soup!! lol I have had to go pee like crazy today! looking forward to baked potato tomorrow night

posted Dec 14th, 2008 8:44 pm


alice

+

well today is day 3 and yayyyyyyyyy i lost 6.5 plds omg i was so happy especially after almost giving up well im ok today but cant wait for bananas tomorrow hahaha hope tonight is better then last night... good luck to you all

posted Dec 10th, 2008 3:26 pm


ALICE

+

OK WELL I DID THE 2ND DAY OK I HAVENT CHEATED BUT IM GETTING THESE HEAD ACHS AND FEELING ALITTLE WEEK ONLY AT NIGHT CAN SOMEONE TELL ME IF THIS IS NORMAL... I WANT TO MAKE THE WEEK BUT NOT SURE I CAN PRAY I CAN GET THROUGH TOMORROW. THANKS GUYS

posted Dec 9th, 2008 11:16 pm


ALICE

+

WELL TODAY WAS MY FIRST DAY I DIDNT CHEAT THANK GOD BUT IT IS HARD FOR ME. I WORK WITH A WHOLE BUNCH OF PEOPLE THAT BRING IN COOKIES AND CAKES THAT IS THE HARDEST.... AND NOW I COME HOM STARVING TO FIND MY HUSBAND COOKING FOR HIM AND THE KIDS AND THIS IS REALLY HARD BUT I AM STICKING WITH THIS I JUST HOPE IT WORKS... I CANT WAIT FOR TOMORROW TO HAVE MY BAKED POTATOE I NEED FOODDDDD LOLOL

posted Dec 8th, 2008 6:09 pm


Erica

+

I am on day 6 of the diet and I feel great. A little tip for the people who asked about the recipe is to put a large can of chicken broth fat free and a large can of beef broth fat free. If you can't find a large can of beef broth just use two. I didn't add any water, just use enough broth. I just broils the veggies in water prior to adding it to the soup. It worked out great and the curry power gave it the kick it needed. Other than that I lost 7 lbs by the 3rd day and I can't wait to see what it says on the last day. The only thing with this diet is that I don't know what to eat after this week is over! I have another 15 or so lbs to lose so wish me luck.

posted Dec 8th, 2008 12:26 am


Jennifer

+

Well I am on day 4 and this really has been a good challenge. I am hoping that this will help shape my eating habits and achieve my idea body weight. Today was kind of tough and I have been experiencing headaches instead of feeling energized but I am not going to give up. Good luck to all of you:) I really feel this diet is actually not bad for you but gives you a different outlook on food choices.

posted Dec 7th, 2008 7:30 pm


ALICE

+

WELL I MADE THE SOUP TO START THE DIET TOMORROW AND I TASTED IT DOESNT TASTE THAT BAD NAH IT DONT TASTE BAD AT ALL JUST NOT SURE HOW IT WILL TAAST AFTER I EAT IT FOR 7 DAYS HAHHA WELL WISH ME LUCK THAT I LOSE WEIGHT HOPE IM NOT DOING THIS FOR NOTHING THAT WOULD BE DESPRESSING

posted Dec 7th, 2008 7:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




BACKGROUND Start the Diet Now Advertisement

The Sacred Heart Diet is a 7-day eating plan that is supposed to shed pounds quickly by consuming a special soup made of broth and vegetables as your main source of food. According to the diet, during the seven days, you can lose up to 10 pounds or more. Each day has specific guidelines for which foods and drinks to consume. There is a thorough list of restricted foods and beverages, so that you'll know exactly what you can and can't consume.

This diet supposedly comes from the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital, although reports on the Web refute this. It is used for overweight heart patients in order to lose weight rapidly, usually prior to surgery. In addition to losing weight quickly, it is intended to also wash your body of impurities while giving you a surge of energy without the ingestion of caffeine or other energy-enhancing products. This diet is also sometimes referred to as the Cabbage Soup Diet.

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

PRO
  • There are notable health benefits from avoiding certain processed foods like refined sugars and flours
  • Does not call for any funky supplements or herbal concoctions
  • Reliance on the diet's consumption of vegetables, fresh fruit and lean protein is beneficial to one's health and can possibly aid in weight loss also.
  • Its one-week time frame is manageable for individuals with a strong will power and who want to lose weight quickly
  • Supports exercise
CON
  • Diet may be restrictive for some
  • No scientific evidence that this soup will actually burn calories
  • Once you've completed it, you are on your own to reestablish your eating routine
  • Does not give any guidelines for how to sustain long-term weight loss
  • Given its strictness, the individual may run the risk of having a gorge fest when Day 7 is completed
  • Sacred Heart Hospital and The American Heart Association deny any relationship with the diet
DIET and NUTRITION

The soup, which is made from 11 ingredients, is the supposed magic pill of The Sacred Heart Diet. The soup includes canned tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, bell peppers, celery, beef stock and vegetable juice. You can find the complete Sacred Heart Diet Recipe here.

For the seven days of this diet, you will eliminate bread, white sugar, alcohol, fried foods, and carbonated beverages

The Diet has specific guidelines for each day that you must adhere to in order to reap the supposed benefits.

Each day, you will consume your sacred soup in addition to certain kinds of fruit, certain allowable beverages, protein and other cooked or canned vegetables. For instance, on Day One, you may eat as much soup as you want to as well as fruit except for bananas. On this first day, you can only drink coffee, black tea, water or unsweetened juice without milk or sugar added to the beverages On Day Two, you can have soup, vegetables and a baked potato with a small pat of butter for dinner. On Day Four, you may eat at least 3 bananas, and drink as much skim milk and soup as you can. The diet continues for the following three days in which you add lean red meat or chicken and still continue to eat the soup.

Abiding by the diet's guidelines is intended to yield the results you are looking for.

EXERCISE

There are no specific exercise recommendations for The Sacred Heart Diet other than to follow your usual exercise routine by getting in some form of exercise on most days of the week.

CONCLUSION

Albeit it is a very restrictive diet, The Sacred Heart Diet is a commendable eating plan given its reliance on vegetables, fruits and lean protein. It is clearly high in fiber, nutrients and minerals. It is similar to many low carbohydrate diets out there for its avoidance of refined sugars, flour of any sort, fried foods and added fat. Although there is no scientific proof that the sacred soup which you ingest every day is a magic pill to melt off the pounds, it is a great way to feel full and to get in more than your five veggies a day. But its reliance on veggies and fruit might give some stomach cramps if your system is not used to this way of eating. Since this such a one-shot punch to lose weight, it might be that you gain the weight back just as quickly or even more quickly as you lost it.

And do make a pact with yourself before starting this diet that on Day 8, when The Sacred Diet officially ends, you don't hightail it to McDonalds and order 3 double cheeseburgers and 2 super-sized fries. Do be gentle on your gut as you acclimate it back to the foods that you normally consume: order the Happy Meal.

Common Misspellings

sacrid, saecred, hart, scared

Related Diets: Cabbage Soup Diet, Maple Syrup Diet, Juice Diet, Purple Diet

Whats better than
Sacred Heart Diet?