Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

60%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 375 reviews
Medifast

Medifast Diet Review: Does it Work?

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Medifast Diet is a weight loss plan offering over 70 prepackaged foods, and suggestions for healthy meals. The plan offers 6 meals a day. With an eating schedule that allows meals every 3 to 4 hours.

The diet plan is also known as the Medifast Achieve plan, and it’s said to be the company’s easiest and most convenient weight loss strategy. It’s said to help promote weight loss while still preserving lean muscle mass. Even after one finishes losing weight, the diet plan is meant to help give people lifelong support. Our experts conducted many reviews and found that the 18Shake Diet plan was the most effective. It offers a natural metabolism booster and an appetite suppressing meal replacement shake, both of which are stimulant free and only made with natural ingredients. Discover more about the 18Shake Diet Plan when you click the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Medifast Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

Here are some common ingredients added to Medifast’s prepackaged foods:

Soy Protein Concentrate

Soy Protein Isolate

Milk Protein Concentrate

Sugar

Carrageenan

Artificial Flavor

Xanthan Gum

Sucralose

Acesulfame Potassium

Modified Food Starch

Guar Gum

Fructose

Maltodextrin

Maltitol Syrup

Monoglycerides

 

Soy Protein: This soybean extract is often GMO unless otherwise stated. According to Health Research Funding:

“May cause mineral deficiencies… Soy products have some anti-nutrient contents”

“Blocks calcium absorption… soy products contain phytic acid, a natural plant based substance responsible in blocking calcium and some other valuable minerals”

Soy has issues due to its natural components which may decrease the amount of minerals the body absorbs.

Fructose: This basic fruit sugar is often added to processed drinks and foods as a cheap sweetener.  A clinical study performed by the University of California Davis found that it was:

“associated with the insulin resistance syndrome…. May be detrimental in terms of body weight and adiposity”

Not only did it fail to suppress appetite, but it’s been shown to have damaging effects on metabolism and overall health.

Large amounts of it are stored as fat which can potentially increase the risk for cardiovascular diseases.

Guar Gum: Common thickener extracted from the guar plant. Web MD describes its issues:

“Side effect include increased gas production, diarrhea, and loose stools”

“can cause blockages of the esophagus and the intestines”

It’s often added to processed foods as a cheap binder and thickener.

Sucralose: Artificial sweeter which is around 1,000 times sweeter than standard table sugar. It has no calories since the body cannot use it.

Studies have been performed which showed this ingredient was potentially dangerous. A study by Duke University found:

“Alters Gut Microflora and Increases Intestinal P-Glycoprotein”

This can be potentially damaging to the immune system, and when eaten, sucralose is considered a toxin according to this study.

A list of the top 10 ranked diet plans are made available in the link provided here.

Web MD has this to say about the Medifast Diet:

“those extreme changes may make sticking with the program a challenge”

“this is an extreme diet, so don’t try it without talking to your doctor first”

They call it extreme due to the 800 to 1,000 calorie limit a day that is suggested. This is extremely low and will result in weight loss, but it can be difficult to maintain.

The Achieve plan offers:

  • 4 Medifast meals: 70 different food options are offered such as sweets, soups, pastas, bars and shakes.
  • 2 lean and green meals: This is separate from the prepackaged meals. One choses 3 servings of vegetables. 2 servings of healthy fats and 5 to 7 ounces of lean protein from the menu offered.
  • 1 Healthy snack: This can be a serving of fruit or yogurt, a baked potato, whole wheat pasta, or several other offered foods. Also separate from the prepackaged foods.

Click the link here to see the highest rate diet plans.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Medifast Diet  Quality of Ingredients

The ingredients added to the prepackaged foods are commonly found in other processed meals. These cheap additives are potentially unsafe, and they can actually make it harder to lose weight.

The added fructose, artificial additives, binders, and cheap thickeners are not quality ingredients. They may also make it harder to sustain the diet.

An 800 to 1,000 calorie a day diet is recommended, which is considerably low. Web MD has this to say about liming calories:

“Women should not restrict themselves to less than 1,000 calories per day… men to less than 200 calories per day without medical supervision”

When reducing calories to such a small limit, there’s a possibility for nutritional deficiencies and side effects. This is why this limitation is often only suggested to people under strict medical supervision.

The Price and Quality of Medifast Diet

Pricing can vary, but Web MD says:

“a 4-week supply of meal replacements will cost at last $300 plus shipping”

The foods offered are low in calories, but they’re also often loaded with artificial and processed additives. These kinds of ingredients can be found in other processed foods for much cheaper. The only difference is that there are fewer portions offered.

Health USA News also says about Medifast:

“It doesn’t perfectly align with the government’s guidelines for healthy eating… provides a little too much protein and too few calories”

“At 800 to 1,000 calories a day, it also dips low for many diets”

Both the kinds of foods offered and the limitations on calories make this a poor diet plan. There’s far too much of a risk of not being able to stick to the diet due to its extreme limitations. This is not suited for all people, and it’s the reason why many customers said they couldn’t continue with the Medifast Diet.

A list of the highest rated diet plans is made available in the link provided here.

Business of Medifast Diet

Medifast, Inc. is the name of the group; their contact information is listed as:

Phone Number: (800) 209-0878

They settled a $3.7 million dollar lawsuit for making false weight loss claims of:

“Medifast 5 & 1 plan…. (could help) lose up to 2-5 pounds per week”

The Federal Trade Commission found:

“did not have a reasonable basis in scientific evidence to support the claims”

They also have complaints on Consumer Affairs and Rip Off Report.com. Here’s what some customers had to say:

“I did not sign up for an auto renew account but my account automatically auto renewed”

“They always sign up for automatic shipments”

“terrible customer service & absolutely don’t care”

“They will not give money back”

Many users were concerned that the company did not allow for a money back return. People also said that the customer service staff was unhelpful, and that they were constantly put on hold for long periods.

A comprehensive list of the top 10 diet plans can be seen in the link provided here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Medifast Diet

Here are some customer quotes about the Medifast Diet:

“Horrendous food, very costly, total disappointment”

“My stomach was constantly turning; eventually the gas became so bad”

“The food was extremely horrible and made me feel so dizzy and weird”

“The “food” tastes like cardboard and is NOT healthy because it is full of additives and preservatives”

The majority of reviews on the food were negative. Many were concerned that there were side effects, and that the food tasted artificial. For many it was impossible to continue using the diet. Some people did manage to lose weight, but this is common in low calorie meal plans.

People did complain about gas, bloating, headaches, nausea, fatigue, and hair loss. This caused many concerns in people, as they were uncertain as to what could have caused these symptoms.

The overwhelming consensus is that the food options are not very good, and that they’re full of unwanted cheap additives.  The top 10 ranked diet plans list is viewable when you click here.

Conclusion - Does Medifast Diet  Work?

The Medifast Diet consists of pre-packaged low calorie foods, as well as diet advice and suggestions for grocery foods. Though it’s comprehensive, many users have said the quality of foods is poor, and health sites like Web MD have confirmed it’s difficult to maintain. Customers were also often disappointed with the high amounts of artificial ingredients, and potentially harmful additives. This includes things like binders, cheap sweeteners which can cause metabolism issues, and GMO additives.

Our experts have rated many different diets, and the highest ranked one of 2016 was the 18Shake Diet. It offers 2 all natural supplements, an appetite suppressing high protein meal replacement, and a metabolism boosting stimulant free diet pill. Customers have left glowing testimonials and opinions on the 18Shake Diet. Both combine to help provide weight loss benefits such as increase metabolism, improved digestion, well-rounded nutrients, and many other benefits.

Both supplements are backed by a full 30 day money back guarantee. All purchases are supported with this no questions asked risk free policy. Discover more information about the 18Shake Diet Plan by clicking here.

How Does Medifast Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Medifast
  • 60 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 22, 434 total comments)

caldreamin

+

My wife and I have been on Medifast for about seven months. I am a 55 year old 5'10" male who started out at 195 pounds and am down to 171. We worked the plan religiously in the beginning but now are mostly using the bars and shakes. Yes, some of the food is not very tasty but I have never gotten sick from it. And as far as price, you can buy "comparable" items for less at the grocery store but often the calories, salt, fat, carbs, etc. are higher. I don't always eat healthy but starting Medifast helped kick-start my return to a better diet and exercise routine, often burning 900 calories on an every other day schedule. I'm now fitting into clothes that I have not worn in a couple of years and feeling better than ever. Working the plan with a partner definately helps and having a caring counselor is a big plus too. We have never been pressured to order food that we did not like and she is genuinely concerned about our results.

posted Apr 4th, 2013 2:09 pm


Valerie

I find it interesting that someone would call Medifast a scam. Seriously? It has been proven that it works by Johns Hopkins Hospital. Just because it doesn't work for you certainly doesn't make it a scam.

posted Mar 27th, 2013 12:51 am


Hilary

-

I believe this diet makes alot of claims it cannot live up to. It is unhealthy and worked havok on my medications. They say when you call it can lower your blood pressure cure diabitis. Yuck!!!!this is a scam

posted Mar 25th, 2013 11:04 pm


Mary-Louise Meyer

?

Can Medifast be less restrictive in social situations involving food? It is very restrictive. Next to impossible in social occasions involving eating. I am 3 1/2 months into the program and 36lbs lighter, but am now depressed with no social life to speak of. I'll be thin, but friendless if I stay on the program much longer! Why can't it be more forgiving in social situation?

posted Mar 19th, 2013 3:57 pm


Elida Bravo

+

I love this diet because it works

posted Mar 9th, 2013 6:39 pm


Elizabeth

+

Honestly, I like the food, especially the vanilla shake, blueberry oatmeal, chicken wild rice soup, and peanut butter bars! It is so easy and convenient. There is really no room for error as long as you are determined, committed and ready to change your lifestyle. I only have 15 lbs to lose, but have struggled to lose it. Before starting this, I worked out 5 days a week and pretty much deprived myself of everything unhealthy... weight just wouldn't budge and I GAINED. I had severe food guilt issues, so I tried to eat less all the time; not realizing that that would be more of a negative impact on my body. It was initially annoying eating every few hours because I wasn't used to it, but now it's great and I am never hungry. For the first time in 2 years, I actually feel slender after 9 days on the program. I will weigh in this week! I wanted to give myself 2 weeks, so I don't get discouraged and give up. You have to change your mindset; you are eating to live, not living to eat! It is an adjustment, but it's well worth it. I cant wait to see my results after 4-5 weeks.

posted Mar 4th, 2013 11:34 pm


Stephanie

+

I started my Medifast this week. I am slowly adjusting to the new eating habits... Kind of excited to have everything so readily available. i started a blog too in order to record my success or failure depending on how this goes.
Good luck to everyone who decides to go this route. nothing else has worked so here it goes

posted Feb 25th, 2013 4:34 pm


Barb

-

I could not adjust to eating the medifast foods. I lost weight because I would rather not eat anything than eat those. So, after one week on Medifast I am giving it up and just counting calories. Lost 10 lbs in the one week due to not eating. . . .

posted Feb 19th, 2013 1:49 pm


Barb

-

You are bad people !!!

posted Feb 18th, 2013 11:29 pm


Barb

-

That are charging me for unused services! Rip Off!!!!!!

posted Feb 18th, 2013 11:20 pm


susan chapa

+

easy to do, keeps you satisfied, still eating 'real' food, one meal per day. Good bars, shakes, chix noodle soup, yum, beef stew, yum, brownie, yum! Good pretzels, cereal is delish, it does help to soak the soups and entrees for a while before cooking, like I'll soak my soup from 10 to 12pm, it'll be nice and creamy.

posted Feb 8th, 2013 3:38 pm


Jeannie

+

I was laid up for 1 month after surgery. Tried Medifast and though NO EXERCISE, I lost 20 pounds! Yeah, that's what I'm talking about!

posted Feb 1st, 2013 4:17 am


Cathy

-

They mainly pushed their products instead of teaching you how to eat healthy. Do not waste your money on this. I am with weight watchers now and can eat what I want and they teach you how to eat healthy and lose the weight a healthy way.

posted Jan 31st, 2013 1:48 pm


David F

+

I have been on program for 18 weeks and am down 90 pounds with another 60 to go (results vary). I am so thrilled with it I became a Health Coach so if you would like to know more, visit www.go getlean.com and I'd be happy to help any way I can. Thanks, Dave.

posted Jan 28th, 2013 8:28 am


kathy

?

Does Medifast ship to Canada? Where can I order Medifast products from if I live in Canada?

posted Jan 25th, 2013 2:27 am


James Burnette

+

Its a great program if you stick to it lost 60 pounds in 3 months

posted Jan 21st, 2013 10:13 pm


trendsworld

+

Eating 9 foods per day may cut your cholesterol stages and help you remain slim for more information.. indicating that consuming little and often is better for us, professionals have said that we should eat as many as nine foods every day. They say this may help reduced hypertension and cholestrerol stages, and and even motivate weight-loss, the Everyday Email revealed.

posted Jan 20th, 2013 4:09 pm


Rosi

+

Easy to follow with just a little discipline to pass up temptations. I can go out with my friends and family and order chicken or fish with a salad and veggies. It helps to get used to smaller portions and more frequent meals which is much healthier than three large ones. If you use the stove instead of the microwave the food is actually really good! I love the soups! Bottom line is, it works!

posted Jan 11th, 2013 8:51 pm


Terri

+

It's a fair diet, as far as prepackaged foods go. The shakes are no better than any of the others I've tried.
Dislike that the "drinks" don't blend smooth, even in a NutriBullet blender.

posted Jan 8th, 2013 9:47 pm


Kim

+

Lost 40 lbs after years of trying other programs. Food is not great but it's just enough to keep you going. Exercize has to be limited because carbs are so low.

posted Jan 3rd, 2013 1:19 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by

Related Diets: Nutrisystem, Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Vitalicious

Whats better than
Medifast ?