Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 310 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 21, 418 total comments)

Paula

All I have to say is OMG! I have been on this program for about 2 months now and have lost 28 pounds. I am amazed at how quickly the weight came off and yet I didn't feel hungry at all. I have tried most of the food products and finally identified my favorites: bars, maple Oatmeal, chicken and rice soup, and the shakes. I would highly recommend this diet to anyone who does not have the self discipline to make your own meals. There is no thought needed, just grab your medifast foods for the day, and extra water and you are set.

posted May 5th, 2013 2:27 pm


Audrey

I love this plan! After having four kids, I had a goal of getting my body back and did it using medifast. I read the book published by the creator of the program, Dr. A's habits for health, and it was very motivating to me. I used this program to truly make my life healthier. I lost 50 pounds and wear a size 4/6!!

It does take some time to get used to eating the Medifast meal replacements. I loved the bars, but hated the oatmeal. If you get the book it does have lists of alternatives to the meal replacements, it just takes more time to get those options prepared and, honestly, it was worth every penny for me to purchase the meal replacements and have portable food ready to go. The best part of this program is that it really trains you to keep the weight off - something I have always struggled with. You do lose the weight very rapidly, but it is worth taking some time to transition back into normal eating habits. The goal is a lifetime change, not a temporary weight loss. Commit to changing your life for the better and this plan can help you make that a reality.

posted Apr 30th, 2013 10:54 am


John F Hamilton

If a person cannot get healthy and lose weight on this diet, you may need to check in the clinic.

I am 65. I have had a stroke.
I have died three times.
I am presently getting rid of cancer through surgery and treatments.

I have had a zillion things go wrong with my body.

Btw, a few herbs and spices; perhaps a little imagination, and I have never had a bad meal.

Medifast all the way folks...

posted Apr 8th, 2013 9:06 pm


Brian

Started diet 5 weeks ago 6'5" 270 and down to 244 pounds. Yes it works. Takes the guess work out just follow the plan and you are good to go. Still get cravings sometimes, but that is more from commercials or smelling other people's food. Remove those two elements and there really aren't any cravings. Worked for my wife too. She lost 50 pounds in three months.

posted Apr 8th, 2013 7:42 pm


caldreamin

My wife and I have been on Medifast for about seven months. I am a 55 year old 5'10" male who started out at 195 pounds and am down to 171. We worked the plan religiously in the beginning but now are mostly using the bars and shakes. Yes, some of the food is not very tasty but I have never gotten sick from it. And as far as price, you can buy "comparable" items for less at the grocery store but often the calories, salt, fat, carbs, etc. are higher. I don't always eat healthy but starting Medifast helped kick-start my return to a better diet and exercise routine, often burning 900 calories on an every other day schedule. I'm now fitting into clothes that I have not worn in a couple of years and feeling better than ever. Working the plan with a partner definately helps and having a caring counselor is a big plus too. We have never been pressured to order food that we did not like and she is genuinely concerned about our results.

posted Apr 4th, 2013 2:09 pm


Valerie

I find it interesting that someone would call Medifast a scam. Seriously? It has been proven that it works by Johns Hopkins Hospital. Just because it doesn't work for you certainly doesn't make it a scam.

posted Mar 27th, 2013 12:51 am


Hilary

I believe this diet makes alot of claims it cannot live up to. It is unhealthy and worked havok on my medications. They say when you call it can lower your blood pressure cure diabitis. Yuck!!!!this is a scam

posted Mar 25th, 2013 11:04 pm


Mary-Louise Meyer

Can Medifast be less restrictive in social situations involving food? It is very restrictive. Next to impossible in social occasions involving eating. I am 3 1/2 months into the program and 36lbs lighter, but am now depressed with no social life to speak of. I'll be thin, but friendless if I stay on the program much longer! Why can't it be more forgiving in social situation?

posted Mar 19th, 2013 3:57 pm


Elida Bravo

I love this diet because it works

posted Mar 9th, 2013 6:39 pm


Elizabeth

Honestly, I like the food, especially the vanilla shake, blueberry oatmeal, chicken wild rice soup, and peanut butter bars! It is so easy and convenient. There is really no room for error as long as you are determined, committed and ready to change your lifestyle. I only have 15 lbs to lose, but have struggled to lose it. Before starting this, I worked out 5 days a week and pretty much deprived myself of everything unhealthy... weight just wouldn't budge and I GAINED. I had severe food guilt issues, so I tried to eat less all the time; not realizing that that would be more of a negative impact on my body. It was initially annoying eating every few hours because I wasn't used to it, but now it's great and I am never hungry. For the first time in 2 years, I actually feel slender after 9 days on the program. I will weigh in this week! I wanted to give myself 2 weeks, so I don't get discouraged and give up. You have to change your mindset; you are eating to live, not living to eat! It is an adjustment, but it's well worth it. I cant wait to see my results after 4-5 weeks.

posted Mar 4th, 2013 11:34 pm


Stephanie

I started my Medifast this week. I am slowly adjusting to the new eating habits... Kind of excited to have everything so readily available. i started a blog too in order to record my success or failure depending on how this goes.
Good luck to everyone who decides to go this route. nothing else has worked so here it goes

posted Feb 25th, 2013 4:34 pm


Barb

I could not adjust to eating the medifast foods. I lost weight because I would rather not eat anything than eat those. So, after one week on Medifast I am giving it up and just counting calories. Lost 10 lbs in the one week due to not eating. . . .

posted Feb 19th, 2013 1:49 pm


Barb

You are bad people !!!

posted Feb 18th, 2013 11:29 pm


Barb

That are charging me for unused services! Rip Off!!!!!!

posted Feb 18th, 2013 11:20 pm


susan chapa

easy to do, keeps you satisfied, still eating 'real' food, one meal per day. Good bars, shakes, chix noodle soup, yum, beef stew, yum, brownie, yum! Good pretzels, cereal is delish, it does help to soak the soups and entrees for a while before cooking, like I'll soak my soup from 10 to 12pm, it'll be nice and creamy.

posted Feb 8th, 2013 3:38 pm


Jeannie

I was laid up for 1 month after surgery. Tried Medifast and though NO EXERCISE, I lost 20 pounds! Yeah, that's what I'm talking about!

posted Feb 1st, 2013 4:17 am


Cathy

They mainly pushed their products instead of teaching you how to eat healthy. Do not waste your money on this. I am with weight watchers now and can eat what I want and they teach you how to eat healthy and lose the weight a healthy way.

posted Jan 31st, 2013 1:48 pm


David F

I have been on program for 18 weeks and am down 90 pounds with another 60 to go (results vary). I am so thrilled with it I became a Health Coach so if you would like to know more, visit www.go getlean.com and I'd be happy to help any way I can. Thanks, Dave.

posted Jan 28th, 2013 8:28 am


kathy

Does Medifast ship to Canada? Where can I order Medifast products from if I live in Canada?

posted Jan 25th, 2013 2:27 am


James Burnette

Its a great program if you stick to it lost 60 pounds in 3 months

posted Jan 21st, 2013 10:13 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account