Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

79%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 298 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 21, 409 total comments)

Elizabeth

Honestly, I like the food, especially the vanilla shake, blueberry oatmeal, chicken wild rice soup, and peanut butter bars! It is so easy and convenient. There is really no room for error as long as you are determined, committed and ready to change your lifestyle. I only have 15 lbs to lose, but have struggled to lose it. Before starting this, I worked out 5 days a week and pretty much deprived myself of everything unhealthy... weight just wouldn't budge and I GAINED. I had severe food guilt issues, so I tried to eat less all the time; not realizing that that would be more of a negative impact on my body. It was initially annoying eating every few hours because I wasn't used to it, but now it's great and I am never hungry. For the first time in 2 years, I actually feel slender after 9 days on the program. I will weigh in this week! I wanted to give myself 2 weeks, so I don't get discouraged and give up. You have to change your mindset; you are eating to live, not living to eat! It is an adjustment, but it's well worth it. I cant wait to see my results after 4-5 weeks.

posted Mar 4th, 2013 11:34 pm


Stephanie

I started my Medifast this week. I am slowly adjusting to the new eating habits... Kind of excited to have everything so readily available. i started a blog too in order to record my success or failure depending on how this goes.
Good luck to everyone who decides to go this route. nothing else has worked so here it goes

posted Feb 25th, 2013 4:34 pm


Barb

I could not adjust to eating the medifast foods. I lost weight because I would rather not eat anything than eat those. So, after one week on Medifast I am giving it up and just counting calories. Lost 10 lbs in the one week due to not eating. . . .

posted Feb 19th, 2013 1:49 pm


Barb

You are bad people !!!

posted Feb 18th, 2013 11:29 pm


Barb

That are charging me for unused services! Rip Off!!!!!!

posted Feb 18th, 2013 11:20 pm


susan chapa

easy to do, keeps you satisfied, still eating 'real' food, one meal per day. Good bars, shakes, chix noodle soup, yum, beef stew, yum, brownie, yum! Good pretzels, cereal is delish, it does help to soak the soups and entrees for a while before cooking, like I'll soak my soup from 10 to 12pm, it'll be nice and creamy.

posted Feb 8th, 2013 3:38 pm


Jeannie

I was laid up for 1 month after surgery. Tried Medifast and though NO EXERCISE, I lost 20 pounds! Yeah, that's what I'm talking about!

posted Feb 1st, 2013 4:17 am


Cathy

They mainly pushed their products instead of teaching you how to eat healthy. Do not waste your money on this. I am with weight watchers now and can eat what I want and they teach you how to eat healthy and lose the weight a healthy way.

posted Jan 31st, 2013 1:48 pm


David F

I have been on program for 18 weeks and am down 90 pounds with another 60 to go (results vary). I am so thrilled with it I became a Health Coach so if you would like to know more, visit www.go getlean.com and I'd be happy to help any way I can. Thanks, Dave.

posted Jan 28th, 2013 8:28 am


kathy

Does Medifast ship to Canada? Where can I order Medifast products from if I live in Canada?

posted Jan 25th, 2013 2:27 am


James Burnette

Its a great program if you stick to it lost 60 pounds in 3 months

posted Jan 21st, 2013 10:13 pm


trendsworld

Eating 9 foods per day may cut your cholesterol stages and help you remain slim for more information.. indicating that consuming little and often is better for us, professionals have said that we should eat as many as nine foods every day. They say this may help reduced hypertension and cholestrerol stages, and and even motivate weight-loss, the Everyday Email revealed.

posted Jan 20th, 2013 4:09 pm


Rosi

Easy to follow with just a little discipline to pass up temptations. I can go out with my friends and family and order chicken or fish with a salad and veggies. It helps to get used to smaller portions and more frequent meals which is much healthier than three large ones. If you use the stove instead of the microwave the food is actually really good! I love the soups! Bottom line is, it works!

posted Jan 11th, 2013 8:51 pm


Terri

It's a fair diet, as far as prepackaged foods go. The shakes are no better than any of the others I've tried.
Dislike that the "drinks" don't blend smooth, even in a NutriBullet blender.

posted Jan 8th, 2013 9:47 pm


Kim

Lost 40 lbs after years of trying other programs. Food is not great but it's just enough to keep you going. Exercize has to be limited because carbs are so low.

posted Jan 3rd, 2013 1:19 pm


Noosh

Lucy Mcgee, did you do your research? You are only supposed to eat 5 medifast meals (plus a lean protein and salad) per day. This comes out to 800-1000 calories per day, but the amino acids and vitamins in the food keep your body from going into starvation mode. Where did you get $50 per day and 2000 calories from?

It cost me about $12 a day, and being hypothyroid, nothing has let me lose faster than Medifast. Not weight watchers, atkins or south beach.

posted Dec 31st, 2012 6:32 am


Lucy Mcgee

This food is very expensive and it is nothing special. It costs about $2.50 per hundred calories pretty much across the spectrum. So for an average male wanting to lose wight with a 2000 Kcal diet, the cost would be $50.00 per day.

One can use someone like Jamie Oliver's cookbook and create much healthier meals for less money which taste much better.

But they do sell a dream. Uggh.

posted Dec 23rd, 2012 12:07 am


Hope M

I've been using the Medifast products with the Take Shape For Life program for 4 months now. I lost 25 lbs in 7 weeks and am now coaching others in the program, which is free to clients! Medifast compensates us, so you get a personal coach to guide you through it! How awesome is that?! That was the key to my own personal success. I am now on my way to Optimal Health! Contact me if you want a coach to guide you in this amazing program.

posted Dec 19th, 2012 1:17 pm


ML

I had done medifast years before and decided to try it again after having a baby to lose the baby weight. I am in good health and do not have any issues.
Shortly after ordering my supply I started to notice whenever I ate the food I would get extremely sick. I was throwing up, so dizzy I can't stand and this would last for many hours. At one point it was so bad I contemplated calling 9-1-1 to take me to emergency room. I really couldn't connect the two and just thought it was a coincidence. So I waited weeks and then try again and it would make me sick again. I called Medifast to tell them what happened and asked to return my food they said I couldn't return it because it was past 30 days. Here's what I have to say:
#1: They obviously know there food makes people sick and this is not an isolated incident. Hence, why they refused to stand by their product.
#2: There claims that this diet is healthy. If you are doing this diet you know that it is not healthy to eat a 700 calorie diet. But that still doesn't mean that it's okay to make people sick.
#3: I've been researching this online and the symptoms I had are very common, there are plenty of people posting the same thing.

posted Dec 8th, 2012 8:27 am


Dad of three

I started the plan in May 2012 and stayed consistent for 3 weeks. I'm 6'1 and my beginning weight was 226. Why three weeks? Like many, I was suspicious and leery. I've never had trouble with weight (I played college basketball), but over the years with inactivity, kids, and a rigorous work schedule, I gained a bit. A little more information for you about my beginning figures, my suit jacket size 46L, pants 39W...yikes! Okay did the plan for 3 weeks and dropped 15lbs to 211. Great feat, but I decided to stop with the plan because I quickly learned how to eat and manage my meals. Today, I weigh 180lbs and have done NO exercise and haven't been maniacal about depriving myself of good food. I simply made better choices: eliminating sodas, fried foods, pastas/rice/bread, cheese and most dairy, and
many high sugar items. Don't get me wrong, I've had some cookies, donuts, and other sugar goods here-n-there, but I've been consistent.I really watch the carbs...I use an app called "Lose It". It really helps me manage my daily intake. Just so you know, I'm wearing a 41L sportcoat and 34W pants. More importantly, I feel fantastic.

In parting, there's no way Medifast can be maintained as your complete lifestyle food option. It should strictly be used to kickstart weight loss efforts and as an educational tool...teaching you what to eat, how to eat, and how different foods affect your body.

Take my comments for what you will, but it does work and can be maintained. I'm living proof and I couldn't be more thankful to the person that introduced me to the program.

posted Dec 3rd, 2012 3:38 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account