Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

77%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 310 reviews

Medifast

One of the leading meal delivery and meal replacement diets serving men and women since 1980.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1980
  • Founder: Dr. William Vitale
  • Headquarters: Owings Mills, Maryland
  • Stock Symbol: MED
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Meal Delivery, Meal Replacement, High Protein
BACKGROUND

Save time and energy by never having to grocery shop, count calories or cook your meals again. Medifast meal delivery service will send high protein meals directly to your home. By controlling portions, nutrients and calories, Medifast users can expect to lose 2-5 pounds per week for the first two weeks on the Medifast 5 & 1 Plan and 1-2 pounds per week thereafter.

The Medifast Plan menu consists of shakes, bars, soups, and other sides you can pair up to create your diet or the day. Medifast offers 70 meal choices to satisfy different palates and dietary requirements. Kosher, low glycemic, lactose-free and vegetarian diets are all supported by the Medifast plan. Medifast even has specific plans for the unique needs of women, men and diabetics.

Medifast's success has been proven in multiple clinical studies, the Medifast website offers dozens of real-life testimonials, and its products and programs have been recommended by more than 20,000 doctors since 1980.

A John Hopkins study found the Medifast plan helps dieters quickly and safely lose weight by decreasing the amount of calories they consume each day. The study also found that participants with type 2 diabetes lost 2 times the weight of individuals following the American Diabetes Association's dietary recommendations. Medifast also shows positive results in participants with other illnesses, like hypertension and high cholesterol.

All of the Medifast products are available online, but Medifast does offer some physical centers throughout the country, in Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Texas and Virginia. You can choose to go to a center, but you can complete the program online just as easily.

MEDIFAST VIDEOS

Medifast YouTube Channel

Medifast Recipes at iFood TV

Meal Replacement Shake Review

PRO
  • Convenient, pre-packaged foods sent to your home
  • Reasonably priced
  • Large variety of foods so there is something for everyone
  • Encourages and incorporates exercise
  • Clinically proven weight loss
  • Doctor recommended
  • Provides detailed weight loss maintenance plan
  • Plans made for diabetics and other medical situations
  • Quick Start Guide available at TrustMedifast.com

CON
  • Must cut carbs
  • May be tough transitioning back to regular diet
  • Low-calorie diet has its critics
  • Makes social situations harder to manage
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

I am a 48 year old male with a fairly unactive lifestyle. On May 16, 2011 I started the Medifast diet following the 5/1 plan. My starting weight was 325 lbs. I am 11-1/2 weeks into the diet and have lost 58 lbs.

I come from a family of excellent cooks. Are the food offerings gourmet quality? No. However, they aren't, in general, as horrible as people say. Sure, there's a few clunkers out there but, for the most part, there are so many varieties that you should be able to find your way through. - Greg 8/5/11

I am 49 yrs old...5"5" and I started my program Aug 8th 2010 at 172 lbs I lost 45 lbs in 14 weeks! It's easy and the results are rapid. The first week I lost 8.5 lbs and the first month 17.5 lbs and then I averaged about 2.5 lbs a week. I have been reading lots' of discouraging people on here in regards to the food. Yes, there are some of the meals that you will not care for. But, you will figure out your likes and dislikes right away. Just don't eat more then one pkg out of each box for any returns.For me personally ..I love the bars and like the rice cakes, pretzels and puffs vanilla and mocha shakes yum! - Lorrie 8/4/11

I started medifast around October 2010. I went from 165lbs to about 142lbs in 3 months. I was very pleased. Unfortunately once I became comfortable being able to fit in my own clothes again I stopped the program. I did not start the maintenance program. My own fault. I ended up gaining my weight back and have started weight watchers and it's been successful so far. So depending on wether or not I would of stayed on the program I would have a better review. So it does work, and I do like it. But it was not for me and the food gets old quick! If you keep to it right, and do not cheat! I would cheat just for one day with some medifast and maybe a real meal with the family and I would be gaining a pound.. Just keep to it. - Alyssa 7/4/11

This diet works without a doubt as long as you can stick thru it. It is VERY difficult the first few days but once you make it thru week 1 the cravings pretty much go away. The food will also begin to taste better, however its best to try everything because not everyone like everything. I personally just do the shakes and brownies sometimes the scrambled eggs. They also have a great community site for advice and support and you can get great ways to doctor it up the meals too. The weight definitely comes off quickly and you see results weekly on the scale on with a measuring tape which is great motivation. Of course it has its downside like every diet the weight can come back quickly and more, but only if you don't go into the transition stage and gradual reintroduce foods back into your diet and maintain a healthy balanced diet. - Izzy 5/17/11

DIET and NUTRITION

The Medifast diet consists of five prepared meals and one "Lean and Green Meal." (L&GM) known as the Medifast 5 & 1 plan. Your L&GM will consist of a lean protein (a seven-ounce serving of chicken, turkey or fish, or a five ounce serving of beef, pork or lamb) with a tablespoon's worth of condiment like ranch dressing, ketchup or mustard. You will also choose your side dish, which can include a salad, or raw or cooked vegetables. You will always eat at least three servings of vegetables in your L&GM.

The Medifast program encourages you to keep your metabolism high and avoid hunger by eating every three hours. It also recommends that you stay hydrated by drinking your choice of calorie-free beverage, preferably water, consuming at least 64 ounces each day. While your Lean and Green Meal and beverages are up to you, the rest of your meals will be chosen from the dozens of low-calorie, high nutritient meal-replacement items that Medifast delivers directly to you. With options like puddings, oatmeal, shakes, and scrambled eggs, it's hard to get bored.

At the beginning of the program, you will remove high carbohydrate vegetables from your diet like corn and carrots, to jump start your weight loss. You'll slowly introduce these items back into your diet over time and they can be a part of your diet in the maintenance phase, if you wish.

While on the Medifast program you don’t have to worry about counting anything; calories, grams of fat and carbs are all controlled and you can expect to lose between two and five pound per week. The Medifast meals are made with 24 different vitamins and minerals to keep you full and satisfy your nutritional needs.

A typical day of eating on the Medifast program looks like:

  • Breakfast – Spiced Pancakes with Sugar-Free Syrup
  • Snack – Chocolate Crunch Bar
  • Lunch – Chicken & Wild Rice Soup
  • Snack – Cinnamon Pretzel Sticks
  • Dinner – Baked Tilapia Fillet; Sautéed Sugar Snap Peas with Mushrooms, Carrots
  • Dessert – Coffee Soft Serve
EXERCISE

The Medifast website offers an exercise guideline document, but there is specific workout program. Medifast recommends getting daily exercise, but your intensity, mode and duration are left completely up to you. They suggest running, jogging, swimming, dancing or walking, but with such a low calorie, structured program, getting your daily 30 minutes reccommended for health should be enough for you to successfully drop weight.

Medifast recommends waiting two to three weeks before introducing exercise if you do not already exercise regularly. You should also consult your physician if new to exercise. Start slow, and gradually increase you time and intensity as you feel things become easier. If you have been exercising consistently prior to starting Medifast, it is recommended that you reduce your intensity and duration of exercise for the first couple of weeks so your body can adjust to your lower calorie levels, and do no more than 45 minutes of vigorous exercise each day during this time period.

Medifast suggests, as do we, that you find something that you enjoy for your workouts so you are more likely to stick to them. The gym isn't your only option. You can take up jogging outside, dance classes, swimming, or biking to get in some exercise while finding a new activity you enjoy.

MEDIFAST FAQ

Common questions asked about the Medifast program by our community. Click each to see the full answer.

Does anyone experience an early plateau on Medifast? - NB 6/21/11

Is there any medical supervision on Medifast? - KJ 6/10/11

What is the cost of 3 months on Medifast? - Jeannie 6/8/11

Will my body adjust to hunger at the beginning of the diet? - Lisa 3/7/11

Ask or answer Medifast Questions now.

CONCLUSION

For more than 20 years, Medifast has been the answer for many people's weight loss struggles.. It’s also helped people with pre-existing health conditions, like diabetes and hypertension, lose weight safely. The taste and quality of the meals have gotten mostly positive feedback, so if you want to take out all of the guess work, Medifast may be the diet for you. You'll learn how to eat proper portions with balanced nutrition, while eating consistently throughout the day. Most programs and diets cannot boast the doctor recommendations, positive clinical findings and glowing testimonials that Medifast can. It's worth a look if you have weight to lose and are looking for a convenient, all in one approach to eating.

MEDIFAST SLIDESHOWS

View About Medifast Slideshow

Other Slideshows About Medifast

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

MEDIFAST RESOURCES

#29 Fastest Growing Company 2010 at CNN

Medifast Testimonial on Good Morning America

The Cost of Diet Plans on Today Show

Medifast on Twitter

Medifast on Facebook

Medifast Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Medi Fast, Media Fast, Medfast, Mediafast, Medifast.com, TrustMedifast.com, medi fast diet, medi fast plan, medifast official website, medifast plan, medifast product, medi-fast-diet, meti-fast, metifast, meda fast, medfast, med fast, mediast

Author

by


Related Diets: Slim-Fast, Bistro MD, DineWise, Nutrisystem, Vitalicious


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 21, 418 total comments)

Carol

This food is so awful that I have to hold my breath and chug it down. Each product I have tried is very gritty and tastes of cardboard with very little seasoning or flavor at all. Yes, I have lost weight, but it's probably because I spend many of my waking hours in the bathroom! I'm sure I would continue to lose weight, but I just cannot muster the strength to drink and eat this awful stuff. There has GOT to be a better way to lose weight and get healthy!

posted Jun 7th, 2012 7:15 pm


candy

I just started the program today and it's not too bad. everything I tried was good I would say my least favorite so far is the pudding but I was still able to eat it. I am doing the online ordering with the personal coach and she is amazing. I first had gone into a local shop and was scared off by the insane cost just to "join" and then I would have to pay for food on top of that. For me the online deal was a no brainer and I am still accountable to my coach. After researching both before deciding I can say the only difference was a blood and metabolic test which I did not feel were worth the $1000. wish anyone else who wants to try the best of luck....I'm hoping to loose 30lbs in the next few months.

posted Jun 7th, 2012 3:39 am


Kathy

I was led astray by a representative that was going through a divorce who lost weight on it...worst thing I have ever done..biggest waste of $...food sucks..I puke ever time I opened a package..tastes like cardboard...drinking water and eating cardboard are not a healthy way to ose weight..then my "counselor" told me I was a failure and was never committed..thanks for the support...told me I didn't need microwave but I did...told me there was food I liked on list..there wasn't ,,the greens you can eat are strange..she gave me crap bc the only "greens" I like are green beans...seriously so disappointed by being led astray by an overly hyped representative who is only losing divorce pounds who is so insensitive..I lost more weigh by walking and cutting portions...DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

posted Jun 2nd, 2012 12:48 pm


Karen

I did this diet in 2008. I lost 100 ounds. Went from a size 18 to a 6. However, I got pregnant soon after my goal weight , and ended up gaining 80 lbs back. I've been trying to get back on track for 3 years. Once you go off, it is hard as heck to get back onto it.

posted Jun 1st, 2012 5:24 am


wendy

I started a few weeks ago, but "took a break" (ok, i cheated) for 6 days in a row, SO, in reality, I've been on this plan for 16 non-consecutive days and have STILL managed to lose 11lbs....and counting! I enjoy getting up in the mornings and trotting to my scale to see how much I've lost each day... motivates me to stick with the plan for the rest of the day!

posted May 30th, 2012 3:50 am


Joy Coulter

Medifast has the worst customer service of any company that I have ever dealt with. I put in an order on 3/27. They didn't ship the order and it took me FIVE phone calls, 2 emails and almost 60 days to get my money back. I kept hearing it would be 3-5 business days but the money still has not returned to my account. They just told me on the fifth phone call the same thing, we'll see if it comes this time! Beware!!!

posted May 25th, 2012 7:15 pm


Michael Cuthbert

I started the TSFL (Medifast) plan back in February. It hasn't always been easy but that has been more to do with the emotional side of this rather than the physical. I am a total emotional eater and that is how I got to 500 pounds. But I am 37, basically diabetic (A1c was 6.5) and essentially dying. Since I have started I am down to 418 pounds. That is still way too high but I am getting there. The only trouble I have had has been feeling hungry some of the time. After talking with one of the Nutritionists I switched to a 5 & 2 for now. I have tried all of the weight loss programs but I have stuck with this one the longest. And the support I get from TSFL is really helping deal with the cause of my weight.

posted May 17th, 2012 10:41 pm


Teri

Yes Shari the centers do have you sign a contract. I am in for 1330.00 minus the cost of food. I did this because I needed the accountability that going into a center provides. I also get body scanned and can pick out my food from their store. It is worth it for me although most would think of it as too expensive. To each his own. So do your homework before you go off on someone. Anyhow, I have actually lost 22 lbs and I am at week 6. I started at 276 and am down to 254, not to mention minus two sizes already. I am 5'3".This is the best plan ever. My blood pressure at the start of the program was 147/101 and at my last visit two days ago it was 117/74. My Doc took completely off of my bp meds!! So whether you go into a center or order online, if you are committed to it, this plan works.

posted May 16th, 2012 6:51 am


Adam

I'm still on the plan and still losing weight. I lost 30 lbs in a month! By strictly following the plan, it's easy. The 5 and 1 makes it easy. You get one homecooked meal a day using a very helpful cooking guide and list of approved ingredients. I'm just starting my second month and look forward to what I'll look like at the end of it, as will my wife I'm sure. :)

Give this a try, follow the instructions and you will lose weight. Do it!

posted May 14th, 2012 8:26 pm


Casey

excellent! the food is great and tastes amazing, my favorite is the chili. I looked for a diet that i could complete with my busy schedule and i found it. Completely satisfied, and the weight just melted off!

posted May 13th, 2012 12:29 am


Heather

Oddly, I am not hungry on this diet. Started 3 days ago, and have lost 5 pounds. I'm 5'4", started at 167 lbs. and am now 162 lbs.

posted May 11th, 2012 7:42 pm


wendy

I just started Medifast three days ago (on a Monday). It is now Thursday morning and I've already lost 3lbs in the first 3 days! The food takes some getting-used-to (hey, Oatmeal, I'm talking about YOU!), but overall, I'm very pleased with everything about this plan (I refer to it as a "plan" and not a "diet", since all "diets" have failed me in the past). I even had three small glasses of red wine this week (I had to use up a good bottle that was opened before I had started the plan... pity to waste an expensive red!). There is no more wine in the house, and I intend to keep it that way until I lose 20lbs (it's good to celebrate milestones!)... I'm hoping to lose 35lbs overall... I started at 160lbs and hope to get down to 125lbs...I'm only 5ft.tall, so every pound counts!

posted May 10th, 2012 2:29 pm


Sheri

First of all, OH, what in the world are you talking about??? Medifast does NOT have any $1000 contracts! They don't have contracts to purchase the food PERIOD! If you don't like it after your first order you simply don't order again! You are full of crap!

I have been on the program since February of this year and have lost 35 pounds. I would have lost more but I am your typical overweight person who has bad days that turn into bad weeks. But the program DOES work and it IS SAFE! It is easy to follow - you just have to do it. Easier said than done when you have been overweight and struggling your entire life, but it DOES work.

And no, not all of the food is great. I have found several items that are just plain horrible. The nice thing is that there are other options that DO taste good! Find what you like and use those items.

posted May 10th, 2012 5:44 am


Coleman

Thanks.

posted May 5th, 2012 12:52 pm


Gert

Great program, never believed that I would not be hungry at 900 calories a day, but I am not. Not gourmet food to be sure, but everything is edible. I have lost 18 pounds in 2 weeks. (They say 3-5 pounds per week is typical) My goal is 40 pounds over 2-3 months and I am fully confident I can make it.

posted May 2nd, 2012 5:58 pm


ale

This diet really works !!! but, you have to be able to control and rewire yourself to eat healthier foods PERIOD.
after you transition you have to be very careful what you eat.

in moderation

posted May 1st, 2012 3:01 am


Scott Thomas

Why should I trust your reviews? Don't you think the credibility of your reviews are compromised when you run ads along side them for the very products being reviewed? I was curious about Medifast and there were so many Medifast ads on the page I wasn't sure if I was reading a review or promo material.

posted Apr 28th, 2012 1:41 am


Char

Medicast does workIF you follow the program. I used it and the only reason it stopped working is because I stopped following the plan. My excuse was my birthday would come and I would eat whatever I wanted. By my birthday I would lose 50 pounds from Jan to may. I think it is a great,program and plan on following it and making it to maintenance. The food was fine once I figured out how to prepare it to my liking. Having the online support and a coach is the way to go, I was never a yo-yo dieter but Medifast is a plan I believe in. Good luck to all who try it,go one day at a time.

posted Apr 24th, 2012 5:19 am


OH

Medifast enrolment, Winter Garden Orlando Fl
I enrolled last week, on Monday, and started the program next day. I did not like the food at all in the beginning, but I told myself I am new with this food, just give it a chance. On the second day, I still didn??t like it and felt kind of sick, just thinking that I have to eat their special meals and snacks. 3 days later, I felt there was no way I could follow the program, so I got the contract and read that I could cancel within 7 days. I wrote a cancellation letter, faxed it and e-mailed it on Saturday so they would have it on Monday morning. To make a long story short, they sent me an e-mail refusing to give a refund. Now I have to go to small claims. Be aware that when you go to these places, they offer you the moon and stars to get your money. Make sure that they spell out how their cancellation due date actually works, because they turn the whole policy in their favor if you try to cancel. They should give you some trial food packets and then let you come back and sign. Do not let them use their high pressure sales tactics on you to sign their expensive ($1,000) contract. This, by the way does NOT include their food, which will cost you an additional $75-$100 per week. What a nightmare with this company! My recommendation is to study the pros and cons of any particular program before committing to it. If they insist on signing a contract and asking for money up front, RUN!!! We all know this does not end well with that kind of deal.

posted Apr 24th, 2012 1:26 am


Aletha

Need ideas for the Medifast lean and green meals I??ve been on and off the Medifast program for over a month. I have a hard time sticking with it faithfully. It??s easier for me during the day while I??m at work, but when I get home in the evenings I can??t stick with the lean and green meals. I find it hard to make dinner for myself and make my 5 year-old daughter something different. I know this program works if you stick with it, but when I??m home I??m finding it extremely difficult. Does anyone have any ideas for me? Also, can I still take B12 and Omega 3 vitamins to help with my energy?

posted Apr 17th, 2012 6:15 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account