Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

60%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 159 reviews

Diet to Go

A leading meal delivery diet with a new approach to its healthy menu offerings.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female
BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

The food was way better than what I had anticipated. I’m really glad that DTG is very affordable. I can finally experience a meal replacement program that consists of real food. -- Jemay Cinco

I was not disappointed. I real like the meal selections. Works great for me. -- FITGURL

I have really enjoyed just about every single meal I have had this week … I lost 1.5 pounds in 3 days and I love the convenience. I would recommend to anyone sitting on the fence. -- Jenny

Well-balanced meals that are extremely convenient. I can't figure out how they manage to keep the vegetables so fresh, though they do. -- Lori Jo Vest


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 9, 180 total comments)

JGZ

They claim it’s all freshly made that week and shipped out to you, yet it’s frozen and looked to be such for at least a couple weeks from the freezer burn. Does not match what they show on the website at all. Took forever to get here too, ordered it on Saturday but it didn’t get here until Thursday, then you have to defrost the meals over night the night before so couldn’t try it until Friday. Tried all three meals and they were terrible. Yet when we went to cancel it shows that you can’t cancel for the next week if it’s after noon on Friday. Called customer service at 5pm (the website says they are open until 9pm) picked the option that I was a current customer and waited on hold for five minutes only to be sent to voicemail. Called back in and said I was a new customer and got someone after two rings. The woman I talked to was very rude and said that I was canceling late. In the end they claimed they would refund the money for both weeks. But it was not worth the hassle. If you’re going to spend the money, spend a little more and go with a place that really has fresh food. If you don’t mind frozen then just get it from the store.

posted Jan 8th, 2016 11:25 pm


melanie

Lost an amazing 5 lbs. in week 1. (I dont expect the weight loss to be that dramatic in the following weeks.) I really have liked the majority of the foods. I disagree with the reviewers who said the veggies were mushy. I also disagree with those that said fruit was just applesauce. Te variety has been amazing and no apple sauce yet. Substitutions are made when I request it. Directions for heating are on every package. The convenience is amazing.

posted Dec 24th, 2015 7:16 pm


E Zach

Diet To Go used to be good, and then they "improved their substitution meals." At least that's how they communicated it to their customers. What that really meant? The 1,600 calorie plan (for those of us who have quite a lot of weight to lose) was reduced to an average of 1,200 calories per day (despite their having a separate 1,200 calorie plan - God knows how many calories THOSE folks are getting). When confronted about this, I was told this was to "allow for snacking." What? How is that part of improving the substitution meals?

Around the same time this change was made, the customer service went out the window too. I stopped receiving substitute side items for food I'm ALLERGIC to. When confronted about this, I was told that they can't possibly substitute side items for every person's allergies and that the entire meal is substituted instead (which was NOT happening). When I pointed out that they used to sub out sides, I was told that this *may* have happened for a short period of time a long time ago (none of which was true).

posted Dec 15th, 2015 5:55 pm


Déva

We really need to give DTG TWO Thumbs Up, as both my husband and I are in our third week. We absolutely LOVE our meals! They are deliscious, and incredibly filling! We both have lost a substantial percentage of weight in the past month, and have been both pleased and very satisfied with our food. Support and staff have been superb. No glitches whatsoever. Pick up locally, not frozen. Lunch and Dinners, no breakfasts.

posted Sep 30th, 2015 2:43 am


Brian Fuerst

Imagine the worst frozen vegetables you have ever had. These are even worse. The food comes thawed out. Some of the food is not even boxed or labels. There are no direction on reheating the frozen items.

They say that they have a satisfaction guarantee but don't believe them. They make it impossible to get a refund.

They do not warn you before items are shipped or when the deadline is to modify your order. If your not ready for more of their horrible, the only notification you get is when the items ship.

You will lose weight because you won't want to eat any of the mushy, horrible food.

posted Sep 24th, 2015 6:53 pm



Mar Miller

Many of the meals had at least one ormore items that were like mush. The worst was tge seafood sandwich. I ordered week five meals and even updated my selectons then they sent me meals I hate from week four. This was a waste of time and money.

posted Aug 14th, 2015 10:24 pm


Glenda

Diet To Go may not be for you if you are like me and are a picky eater. The food is weird, the fruit is mushy. I have had several meals and not one was grilled chicken, what kind of a diet does not have grilled chicken? I ended up not eating the food and walking around with a headache from being hungry. But I lost weight, so if you will eat anything this is the diet for you otherwise find another diet plan.

posted Aug 4th, 2015 10:58 pm


CAC

high sodium caused vertigo. I chose the low fat option and the fat content is way higher than daily allowance. Vegetables are worse than canned. Fruit is just applesauce. The total calories for the day is more than the average 1,200 which won;t even allow you for some milk in your coffee. I lost weight but it was due to my not eating a whole meal because I was worried about sodium. The meals are tastier than Nurtisystem. The website allows you to track everything,including exercise so that is a plus.

posted Aug 4th, 2015 2:51 am


jlynnhahr

Diets to Go does not work for weight loss. The portions are not tightly controlled. We originally loved the service because it was easier than cooking. BUT, the food quality declined quickly. They started using a lot of processed food in the meals. The chicken reminded me of those Tyson pre-cooked chicken breast with tasteless sauce. Processed foods contribute to weight gain. I was also disappointed in the vegetables (worse than canned) and the packaging was horrible! They used cheap plastic that is less than healthy. And, the meals were clearly pre-frozen, even though they claim it is fresh. More concerning was the lack of customer service. DTG also frequently made errors in the orders, and each time you call you will reach the same two agents (Mary was one of them). They sound as if they are working in a basement. I spoke with a manager once, but she was even more unprofessional. She took it personally when we expressed concern about their error in charging our card above the agreed amount. In retrospect, it should have been a red flag when my gym stopped carrying their food because of the number of complaints, but I failed to do my research and settled. There are too many other options, like BistroMD, Biggest Loser, and Hello Fresh. They might have been a good company once, but they are certainly not anymore.

posted Jul 31st, 2015 9:37 pm


Jlynn

Diets to Go does not work for weight loss. The portions are not tightly controlled. We originally loved the service because it was easier than cooking. BUT, the food quality declined quickly. They started using a lot of processed food in the meals. The chicken reminded me of those Tyson pre-cooked chicken breast with tasteless sauce. Processed foods contribute to weight gain. I was also disappointed in the vegetables (worse than canned) and the packaging was horrible! They used cheap plastic that is less than healthy. And, the meals were clearly pre-frozen, even though they claim it is fresh. More concerning was the lack of customer service. DTG also frequently made errors in the orders, and each time you call you will reach the same two agents (Mary was one of them). They sound as if they are working in a basement. I spoke with a manager once, but she was even more unprofessional. She took it personally when we expressed concern about their error in charging our card above the agreed amount. In retrospect, it should have been a red flag when my gym stopped carrying their food because of the number of complaints, but I failed to do my research and settled. There are too many other options, like BistroMD, Biggest Loser, and Hello Fresh. They might have been a good company once, but they are certainly not anymore.

posted Jul 31st, 2015 9:30 pm



Jemay Cinco

Thanks so much for your very helpful review of DTG. I ordered DTG because they offered good discount and was so excited when the whole package arrived. The food was way better than what I had anticipated. I'm really glad that DTG is very affordable. I can finally experience a meal replacement program that consists of real food. Thanks again for pointing me in the right direction

posted Jul 9th, 2015 5:50 am


Chris

Love the salmon meals in particular. I use this meal plan for convenience and folks in the office are always jealous of my meals.

The Blackened salmon and harissa salmon are my favs but I really also like the Thai turkey tenderloin and the tamale pie.

posted Jul 6th, 2015 5:19 pm


FITGURL

I started with the low-cal option for several weeks, and got the pickup choice, actually the lunch and dinner was very tasty. I was not disappointed. I real like the meal selections. Works great for me. I did not want the delivery choice which is a different menu. I reside in San Francisco so I am not going to complain about the price.

posted Apr 10th, 2015 6:10 am


alshall

Diet to go is dangerous if you have IBS. My wife used this for 2 weeks and it totally plugged her up. Had to go to the hospital. Thought it was mostly her, but after 2 meals myself (so they wouldn't go to waste), I didn't have a bowel movement in the morning for the first time in years. So there is something about the meals. Dangerous if you don't have a good digestive track.

posted Mar 12th, 2015 3:25 am


Jenny

I have the perspective of someone who picks up the meals at a location because the Diet To Go headquarters is close by. I have really enjoyed just about every single meal I have had this week (minus the fruit ambrosia - eck!). Your meals are slightly customizable depending on what they are cooking that week, but you need to make your changes before 12pm on Monday. My vegetables have been fresh, the meats have been tasty, but the fruit has kind of been disappointed. Their fruit medley cup is, as other reviewers noted, just a Dole Fruit Cup dumped into a non-descript plastic cup. I also had a disappointed pineapple crisp. It was just canned pineapple with some oatmeal and cinnamon on top. Despite the minor issues, I am planning to stick with this program for the next few weeks. I lost 1.5 pounds in 3 days and I love the convenience. I would recommend to anyone sitting on the fence.

posted Feb 2nd, 2015 7:36 pm


Aeeb

They don't give the option of half up, half down, so I'll just have to point out that I eventually started trying other meal delivery services to see if anything else was better. I like most of the breakfast options, even if they are basically a muffin and chobani yogurts (avoid eggs at all cost), and i like most of the lunches. However, the dinners had a batting average of about 25% I liked. I asked if I could just get the lunches for dinner and was told no. They tasted the most like frozen meals from the store.

posted Dec 18th, 2014 7:05 pm


Lala

It was convenient to have the food delivered, but most of it came out soggy once heated. Also the "fruit" included is merely cups of fruit in syrup (which you can buy for like 50 cents at Walmart) and many of the "veggies" in a meal were cans of V8 (again, you can buy at Walmart for cheap). Not worth the money. You can eat a Lean Cuisine or Healthy Choice meal for each meal every day for cheaper and it would be better in taste and texture.

posted Dec 7th, 2014 1:14 am


goldie

diet to go has its tasty meals depending on your taste, i however have issues with the way they pack their meals, in cardboard sleeves and dry ice that breaks up inside the cooler.this is dangerous especially if u have small kids in the house.it comes with all these warnings telling u to put on gloves because direct contact with it will burn u, does this sound like something u would want in your house?? and they get sassy when u tell them about it.

posted Oct 25th, 2014 6:03 am


CJS

The food is absolutely horrible. I barely made it through the first week of food. Actually I didn't make it. I would take a few bites and throw the rest away and end up eating cereal for my dinner. When I placed my first order, I also put a hold on week 3 and 4 so that I would have time to determine whether or not I wanted to continue. When week 2 showed up, I took the container and threw the entire thing into the dumpster. I didn't even want the food in my freezer. Then week 3 showed up! I called customer service and they claimed they didn't have a hold on record for my account. I explained that I did it the same night I placed the first order. Too bad for me. They wouldn't do anything about it. Week 3 also ended up in the dumpster and I cancelled my account.
I guess you can lose weight because you won't want to eat any of it.

posted Oct 17th, 2014 7:07 pm


ANA

Reviewers are being too picky and do not understand how these things work. This is the third diet delivery service I have tried and it is awesome! You sacrifice fresh for frozen . Yes, but, it is fresh frozen food and not processed like grocery frozen meals. they give desserts, beverages and snacks= no need to go to the grocery. The whole point is to lose weight an dif you eatthe 1200 calroe a day plan, you will lose weight and easily without the shopping, prepping, cooking, weighing and portioning of food.You pay for the convenience and the bonus is most meals taste great! They let you sub meals for ones you like which is unheard of in diet delivery and can be done bc options are frozen. If you are serious about losing weight, don't listen to the whiners. This plan works. I've lost close to 10 lbs in two weeks with light daily walking. Down from 180 to 171 lbs.

posted Oct 2nd, 2014 3:26 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account