| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating


of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 144 reviews

Diet to Go

A leading meal delivery diet with a new approach to its healthy menu offerings.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.


Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.


As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go




A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

The food was way better than what I had anticipated. I’m really glad that DTG is very affordable. I can finally experience a meal replacement program that consists of real food. -- Jemay Cinco

I was not disappointed. I real like the meal selections. Works great for me. -- FITGURL

I have really enjoyed just about every single meal I have had this week … I lost 1.5 pounds in 3 days and I love the convenience. I would recommend to anyone sitting on the fence. -- Jenny

Well-balanced meals that are extremely convenient. I can't figure out how they manage to keep the vegetables so fresh, though they do. -- Lori Jo Vest

Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet

> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 9, 171 total comments)

Mar Miller

Many of the meals had at least one ormore items that were like mush. The worst was tge seafood sandwich. I ordered week five meals and even updated my selectons then they sent me meals I hate from week four. This was a waste of time and money.

posted Aug 14th, 2015 10:24 pm


Diets to Go does not work for weight loss. The portions are not tightly controlled. We originally loved the service because it was easier than cooking. BUT, the food quality declined quickly. They started using a lot of processed food in the meals. The chicken reminded me of those Tyson pre-cooked chicken breast with tasteless sauce. Processed foods contribute to weight gain. I was also disappointed in the vegetables (worse than canned) and the packaging was horrible! They used cheap plastic that is less than healthy. And, the meals were clearly pre-frozen, even though they claim it is fresh. More concerning was the lack of customer service. DTG also frequently made errors in the orders, and each time you call you will reach the same two agents (Mary was one of them). They sound as if they are working in a basement. I spoke with a manager once, but she was even more unprofessional. She took it personally when we expressed concern about their error in charging our card above the agreed amount. In retrospect, it should have been a red flag when my gym stopped carrying their food because of the number of complaints, but I failed to do my research and settled. There are too many other options, like BistroMD, Biggest Loser, and Hello Fresh. They might have been a good company once, but they are certainly not anymore.

posted Jul 31st, 2015 9:37 pm

Jemay Cinco

Thanks so much for your very helpful review of DTG. I ordered DTG from because they offered good discount and was so excited when the whole package arrived. The food was way better than what I had anticipated. I’m really glad that DTG is very affordable. I can finally experience a meal replacement program that consists of real food. Thanks again for pointing me in the right direction

posted Jul 9th, 2015 5:50 am


I started with the low-cal option for several weeks, and got the pickup choice, actually the lunch and dinner was very tasty. I was not disappointed. I real like the meal selections. Works great for me. I did not want the delivery choice which is a different menu. I reside in San Francisco so I am not going to complain about the price.

posted Apr 10th, 2015 6:10 am


Diet to go is dangerous if you have IBS. My wife used this for 2 weeks and it totally plugged her up. Had to go to the hospital. Thought it was mostly her, but after 2 meals myself (so they wouldn't go to waste), I didn't have a bowel movement in the morning for the first time in years. So there is something about the meals. Dangerous if you don't have a good digestive track.

posted Mar 12th, 2015 3:25 am


I have the perspective of someone who picks up the meals at a location because the Diet To Go headquarters is close by. I have really enjoyed just about every single meal I have had this week (minus the fruit ambrosia - eck!). Your meals are slightly customizable depending on what they are cooking that week, but you need to make your changes before 12pm on Monday. My vegetables have been fresh, the meats have been tasty, but the fruit has kind of been disappointed. Their fruit medley cup is, as other reviewers noted, just a Dole Fruit Cup dumped into a non-descript plastic cup. I also had a disappointed pineapple crisp. It was just canned pineapple with some oatmeal and cinnamon on top. Despite the minor issues, I am planning to stick with this program for the next few weeks. I lost 1.5 pounds in 3 days and I love the convenience. I would recommend to anyone sitting on the fence.

posted Feb 2nd, 2015 7:36 pm


They don't give the option of half up, half down, so I'll just have to point out that I eventually started trying other meal delivery services to see if anything else was better. I like most of the breakfast options, even if they are basically a muffin and chobani yogurts (avoid eggs at all cost), and i like most of the lunches. However, the dinners had a batting average of about 25% I liked. I asked if I could just get the lunches for dinner and was told no. They tasted the most like frozen meals from the store.

posted Dec 18th, 2014 7:05 pm


It was convenient to have the food delivered, but most of it came out soggy once heated. Also the "fruit" included is merely cups of fruit in syrup (which you can buy for like 50 cents at Walmart) and many of the "veggies" in a meal were cans of V8 (again, you can buy at Walmart for cheap). Not worth the money. You can eat a Lean Cuisine or Healthy Choice meal for each meal every day for cheaper and it would be better in taste and texture.

posted Dec 7th, 2014 1:14 am


diet to go has its tasty meals depending on your taste, i however have issues with the way they pack their meals, in cardboard sleeves and dry ice that breaks up inside the cooler.this is dangerous especially if u have small kids in the comes with all these warnings telling u to put on gloves because direct contact with it will burn u, does this sound like something u would want in your house?? and they get sassy when u tell them about it.

posted Oct 25th, 2014 6:03 am


The food is absolutely horrible. I barely made it through the first week of food. Actually I didn't make it. I would take a few bites and throw the rest away and end up eating cereal for my dinner. When I placed my first order, I also put a hold on week 3 and 4 so that I would have time to determine whether or not I wanted to continue. When week 2 showed up, I took the container and threw the entire thing into the dumpster. I didn't even want the food in my freezer. Then week 3 showed up! I called customer service and they claimed they didn't have a hold on record for my account. I explained that I did it the same night I placed the first order. Too bad for me. They wouldn't do anything about it. Week 3 also ended up in the dumpster and I cancelled my account.
I guess you can lose weight because you won't want to eat any of it.

posted Oct 17th, 2014 7:07 pm


Reviewers are being too picky and do not understand how these things work. This is the third diet delivery service I have tried and it is awesome! You sacrifice fresh for frozen . Yes, but, it is fresh frozen food and not processed like grocery frozen meals. they give desserts, beverages and snacks= no need to go to the grocery. The whole point is to lose weight an dif you eatthe 1200 calroe a day plan, you will lose weight and easily without the shopping, prepping, cooking, weighing and portioning of food.You pay for the convenience and the bonus is most meals taste great! They let you sub meals for ones you like which is unheard of in diet delivery and can be done bc options are frozen. If you are serious about losing weight, don't listen to the whiners. This plan works. I've lost close to 10 lbs in two weeks with light daily walking. Down from 180 to 171 lbs.

posted Oct 2nd, 2014 3:26 am


diet to go is okay, they tend to drown everything in cheese, saying thats its nutritious value of cheese, well when your waking up 3am with stomach cramps from cheese, thats of no consolation. they put everything else in a little cup but refuse to put the cheese on the side.

posted Sep 20th, 2014 5:05 am

jim dickey

Diettogo food really sucks - stay waaaay away.

posted Sep 7th, 2014 2:04 pm

Donna Young

The food, with very few exceptions, is awful.

posted Jun 27th, 2014 2:50 pm


There's a reason that you only see positive reviews. All others are removed.

posted Apr 25th, 2014 2:11 am


I hate to be disagreeable, especially in light of all the positive reviews, but I am in the middle of my first week of Diet To Go, and it's going to be very hard to finish out the week. I do not like the food. At all. It is peculiar, to say the least. A Reuben sandwich prepared with French Toast bread? A "Mandarin Pudding" that is separated into 3 substances: mandarin oranges, watery juice, and a squishy orange something? I have had a couple of items that were ok, but definitely nothing to rave about.

posted Apr 19th, 2014 10:30 pm

S Carey

All but one of the reviews in this article were positive; however, several of the reviews had a thumbs down icon. Why? Is that why Diet To Go got only a 70% rating. I don't think that is fair to the Diet To Go company or to your readers.

posted Jan 9th, 2014 1:03 am

Debra W.

Diet to go has received good reviews. After wks. of contemplating, came across a 30% offer & wanted to try it. Sales was very helpful & ordered the 3meal a day, 7 day menu. Upon recv. my 1st order, I was missing 2 meals. I called & Jo in C.S. said she'd refund me $10.00 & email confirmation. Was really disappointed, but the meals were very tasty. I sent a "contact us" form & "feedback" form asking for a goodwill gesture on their part of another week @ the 30%. Was ready to jump on board & become a long-term customer. She said she checked w/her supervisor & they will either give me $10.00 back or another week for 30% but not both. I proceed to tell her, the money returned is a given, cause I didn't get product. I read to there info on the website that states, "our 100% satisfaction guarantee, if for any reason you are unhappy with your order or our service, we’ll make it right or refund your money. It’s that easy." All I'm asking for is my $10.00 back & another week @ the same discounted rate. She then became very aggressive & stated, "I never said I'd do both. Don't put words in my mouth". I never thought or said she said that. Trying to get the name of the Customer Service manager or anyone in upper management was like pulling teeth. I was given the owners name of Hilton Davis & a supervisors name of Laura Salmon. Customer service reps are not suppose to be hostile. The food is really, really good! My hopes are dashed at continuing on with this company. Someone needs to design instruction on Workplace Bullying for their Customer Service Dept. Feel sad about it all. :(

posted Dec 5th, 2013 8:54 pm

Lori Jo Vest

I've gotten several weeks of Diet-to-Go meals and not only are they healthy, they're delicious, too. Well-balanced meals that are extremely convenient. I can't figure out how they manage to keep the vegetables so fresh, though they do. I usually do the low-carb program and it's loaded with green veggies and lean protein. I love when you come home and there's a bit DTG cooler waiting for you. They ship it with dry ice, so it stays frozen and goes right into your fridge or freezer. I highly recommend it to anyone who's looking for healthy, pre-prepared meals. (Great for singles and busy professionals. Throw them in the microwave and they're done. Easy-peasy!)

posted Dec 2nd, 2013 11:41 am

Tami Grandi

Forgot to choose the thumbs up the first time and didn't see a place to edit :)

I have had several opportunities to try diet-to-go throughout the past year and each time I have been extremely satisfied. The shipping was perfect and very fast/reliable. It arrives in a cooler so even if it's dropped off before I get home it's still good to go. The meals are quite tasty. I love the stuffed shells with cheese and the turkey barbecue melts (I must say these are my favorite). It does get me out of my comfort zone because it does pair foods that I would not normally do so. Each meal comes with at least one side (some come with more than one). I think the only con that I can think of is that I would prefer more veggies- as I usually have to supplement with another vegetable so I have two servings. Also- I have only made them in the oven and they are quick and painless. My future wish- a gluten free option.

posted Nov 27th, 2013 6:45 pm


Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:

Or, proceed without an account