Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

68%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 117 reviews

Diet to Go

Are you too busy to cook for yourself? Look no further.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Get started by saving with these Diet to Go Coupons
BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

IN-DEPTH REVIEW

DietsInReview.com's Chief Mom, Carmen Staicer, spent two weeks using the Diet to Go meal delivery service.

Learn more about her experience with the Diet to Go Frozen Meal Delivery.

"The first meal I sampled was turkey Salisbury steak with gravy, mashed potatoes, and whole green beans. I microwaved it and within five minutes I was sitting down to a hot, fresh, perfectly seasoned meal that completely satisfied me. It was filling, and in fact, I didn’t even finish the potatoes. My usual meal choices might involve a Lean Cuisine or other frozen meal, and I’m often left still hungry and scouring the kitchen an hour later. The Diet to Go meal removed that action from my life."

And hear about her experience with the Diet to Go Fresh Meal Delivery.

"I found the entire week of food to be outstanding in quality, taste and convenience. Many times, meals were accompanied by a piece of fresh fruit, a prepared yogurt smoothie, a roll, coleslaw, applesauce, or terra veggie chips. This truly led me to believe that if I were purchasing a week of food to be delivered to my house there would really be no need to visit the grocery – literally everything is contained in one inclusive package."

Get the final word on Diet to Go in Carmen's overview of both programs.

"I give Diet to Go two thumbs up. It’s a delicious, convenient, non-stressful way to plan your meals and stay within your selected calorie range."

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 8, 158 total comments)

Donna Young

The food, with very few exceptions, is awful.

posted Jun 27th, 2014 2:50 pm


Rose

There's a reason that you only see positive reviews. All others are removed.

posted Apr 25th, 2014 2:11 am


Rose

I hate to be disagreeable, especially in light of all the positive reviews, but I am in the middle of my first week of Diet To Go, and it's going to be very hard to finish out the week. I do not like the food. At all. It is peculiar, to say the least. A Reuben sandwich prepared with French Toast bread? A "Mandarin Pudding" that is separated into 3 substances: mandarin oranges, watery juice, and a squishy orange something? I have had a couple of items that were ok, but definitely nothing to rave about.

posted Apr 19th, 2014 10:30 pm


S Carey

All but one of the reviews in this article were positive; however, several of the reviews had a thumbs down icon. Why? Is that why Diet To Go got only a 70% rating. I don't think that is fair to the Diet To Go company or to your readers.

posted Jan 9th, 2014 1:03 am


Debra W.

Diet to go has received good reviews. After wks. of contemplating, came across a 30% offer & wanted to try it. Sales was very helpful & ordered the 3meal a day, 7 day menu. Upon recv. my 1st order, I was missing 2 meals. I called & Jo in C.S. said she'd refund me $10.00 & email confirmation. Was really disappointed, but the meals were very tasty. I sent a "contact us" form & "feedback" form asking for a goodwill gesture on their part of another week @ the 30%. Was ready to jump on board & become a long-term customer. She said she checked w/her supervisor & they will either give me $10.00 back or another week for 30% but not both. I proceed to tell her, the money returned is a given, cause I didn't get product. I read to there info on the website that states, "our 100% satisfaction guarantee, if for any reason you are unhappy with your order or our service, we’ll make it right or refund your money. It’s that easy." All I'm asking for is my $10.00 back & another week @ the same discounted rate. She then became very aggressive & stated, "I never said I'd do both. Don't put words in my mouth". I never thought or said she said that. Trying to get the name of the Customer Service manager or anyone in upper management was like pulling teeth. I was given the owners name of Hilton Davis & a supervisors name of Laura Salmon. Customer service reps are not suppose to be hostile. The food is really, really good! My hopes are dashed at continuing on with this company. Someone needs to design instruction on Workplace Bullying for their Customer Service Dept. Feel sad about it all. :(

posted Dec 5th, 2013 8:54 pm



Lori Jo Vest

I've gotten several weeks of Diet-to-Go meals and not only are they healthy, they're delicious, too. Well-balanced meals that are extremely convenient. I can't figure out how they manage to keep the vegetables so fresh, though they do. I usually do the low-carb program and it's loaded with green veggies and lean protein. I love when you come home and there's a bit DTG cooler waiting for you. They ship it with dry ice, so it stays frozen and goes right into your fridge or freezer. I highly recommend it to anyone who's looking for healthy, pre-prepared meals. (Great for singles and busy professionals. Throw them in the microwave and they're done. Easy-peasy!)

posted Dec 2nd, 2013 11:41 am



Tami Grandi

Forgot to choose the thumbs up the first time and didn't see a place to edit :)

I have had several opportunities to try diet-to-go throughout the past year and each time I have been extremely satisfied. The shipping was perfect and very fast/reliable. It arrives in a cooler so even if it's dropped off before I get home it's still good to go. The meals are quite tasty. I love the stuffed shells with cheese and the turkey barbecue melts (I must say these are my favorite). It does get me out of my comfort zone because it does pair foods that I would not normally do so. Each meal comes with at least one side (some come with more than one). I think the only con that I can think of is that I would prefer more veggies- as I usually have to supplement with another vegetable so I have two servings. Also- I have only made them in the oven and they are quick and painless. My future wish- a gluten free option.

posted Nov 27th, 2013 6:45 pm


hollyj007


Why does Diet to Go make sense for me? I am a busy mother of 4 children. We are always on the go with school, sports and life in general. I have a full time career in corporate accounting. My job is not always 8-5, I work early, through lunch and late hours. I am a runner who is in continuous training mode. Currently I am training for my first full marathon.
I have tried all three meal plans, and personally the Low-Carb option is my favorite. However, all of the plans include delicious meals and options. Just personally for me at this point in my life low-carb had more benefits and tastier results. Some of my favorite meals were the Spinach Souflee, Flat Iron Steak breakfast, Lobster Ravioli..... the list is endless. I was not a fan of some of the Pork based meals or some of the couscous. The best part about Diet to Go is the option, myDiettogo that allows you to personalize your choices, meal plans and freeze your plan. So if I know I don’t like something, I can change it out with another great option. The food is real and healthy, so it is no wonder DTG is ranked #1 for customer satisfaction!
My overall opinion is that the food is delicious, healthy and perfectly portioned. Most of the menu options send you a meal as well as the fruit, jellies, juices, etc that you need to accompany your meal. They come frozen and I store them in my fridge to be used over the next week. I typically warm my meals in the microwave and everything is generally perfect.
The cost may seem high, but when you compare it to the grocery bill that would be needed to make the same meals or the fast food or restaurant bills you are avoiding, the cost is great. The convenience is unbeatable and the peace of mind you get from eating healthy can't be beat! I would and do highly recommend DTG to anyone that asks. I have many friends who use DTG on weeks that they are busy or to use on a regular basis.

posted Nov 11th, 2013 6:33 pm


Kristy

This is my third time trying out diet-to-go meals. Each time I have received the Low Fat option and I've enjoyed them every time. The best part is, in 15 days of trying their meals, I haven't eaten the exact same meal twice.
I love that they are pre-calorie counted, so if I am hungry enough to eat the entire meal, I already know I won't go over my daily calorie intake. Because of this I have continued to always see weightloss while on the meals as a result.
Additionally, I love that the meals are huge, especially the dinners, I seriously almost always have left-overs.
These are high quality meals, and I thoughouly love their grain breads!!!
I highly recommend diet-to-go meals to anyone who is looking to loose weight, wants to eat healthy, doesn't have time to shop and make their own healthy meals, or someone who just wants to make a healthy change in their lives.

posted Nov 11th, 2013 5:31 pm


Tami Grandi

I have had several opportunities to try diet-to-go throughout the past year and each time I have been extremely satisfied. The shipping was perfect and very fast/reliable. It arrives in a cooler so even if it's dropped off before I get home it's still good to go. The meals are quite tasty. I love the stuffed shells with cheese and the turkey barbecue melts (I must say these are my favorite). It does get me out of my comfort zone because it does pair foods that I would not normally do so. Each meal comes with at least one side (some come with more than one). I think the only con that I can think of is that I would prefer more veggies- as I usually have to supplement with another vegetable so I have two servings. Also- I have only made them in the oven and they are quick and painless. My future wish- a gluten free option.

posted Nov 10th, 2013 11:53 pm


clarindad

Diet-to-Go is a great diet meal delivery service. They offer traditional, low carb and vegetarian meal plans. I've tried the vegetarian plans a couple times. The food was surprisingly tasty and filling with good variety.

The meal plans are easy to follow and the food arrives direct to your doorstep via FedEx. It's shipped with dry ice, so it's still frozen when it arrives.

posted Nov 10th, 2013 7:38 pm



emihill

I've tried Diet-to-Go on three occasions. Twice I went with the traditional menu and once with their low-carb menu plan. While the traditional menu was my favorite, especially with its spicy Szechuan turkey burger and ham & turkey salad on a soft pretzel roll, the low-carb one had a few dishes to love as well (pork chop breakfast, chicken Fontina).

Overall I found the food to be good, though more often than not the vegetable side dishes were soggy, and it didn't seem to matter if I defrosted the meal before microwaving or not. And I will say the meals on the low-carb plan tasted like they had more salt than their traditional counterparts.

I do love myDiettogo, which gives me the ability to customize and manage my meals, stop service, etc.. For me this would mean substituting out any seafood (ick). And the convenience of Diet-to-Go fresh diet delivery can't be beat. The meals arrive in a cooler and I haven't yet had any arrive not completely chilled even when left on the front porch. There's something to be said about not counting calories because they're counted for you, and Diet-to-Go is about the only way I make sure I get veggies in my diet.

Though I don't use Diet-to-Go year round, I love their meal plans for whenever I need to get back on the wagon (e.g., post holiday festivities). Diet-to-Go is definitely worth a try. (Just pat dry the veggies before eating...)

posted Nov 6th, 2013 5:53 am


userfile
Jen Boudreau

#Diettogo is the best meal delivery service out there.

I chose the 1200 calorie meal plan. I received 5 breakfasts, 5 lunches, and 5 dinners. Among them, my favorites were: Mushroom Strata, Asparagus and Swiss Frittata, Chicken Philly Sub, Turkey Burger, Baked Spaghetti Pie, and Barbecue Chicken. Of course the other meals were tasty as well, but these stood out above the rest.

Busy, working moms will love Diet to Go. The convenience factor is a definite added bonus.
I felt confident my "to go" lunches and breakfasts delivered me incredible taste and healthy choices. Dinners are not always a concern for me, but having Diet to Go meals gave me the opportunity to eat something I wanted while making something only for my kids. They appreciated it as well!

posted Nov 6th, 2013 1:11 am


tabithavos

Since I was as young as 12 years old I have been trying one diet plan or another. As I have gotten older I have learned there is no over night miracles. It is all about eating right. that is why I was glad to come across diet to go. I have used several weeks of their programs and I love everything about them. First off ordering is easy and there is a great variety you can choose from wether you want to do low carb, traditional or vegetarian. Diet to go really cares about you. They ask if you have any allergies before sending the meals out. They arrive exactly when they are supposed to and are carefully placed in containers that keeps them safely frozen.
the taste is really great. While I havent tried the vegetarian meals, I have tried both the low carb and traditional and I really must say they have top chefs preparing these meals. They are seasoned just right and the portions is enough to fill you. this is coming from a gal that loves to eat! When using these meals I never felt like I was dieting. I was eating good food, getting full and getting healthy at the same time. I would suggest for anyone ready to eat healthy to give diet to go a try.

posted Nov 4th, 2013 10:44 pm


Jen

#Diettogo is a top of the line company. No wonder they are rated #1.

The entrees are fabulous. First and foremost, they are real food. I have tried other "diet" meals before and was never impressed. I have never felt that way with Diet to Go. The food is real and the meals are quite tasty. I received 5 breakfasts, 5 lunches, and 5 dinners. Among them, my favorites were: Mushroom Strata, Asparagus and Swiss Frittata, Chicken Philly Sub, Turkey Burger, Baked Spaghetti Pie, and Barbecue Chicken. Of course the other meals were tasty as well, but these stood out.


Diet to Go meals are quite convenient for people on the go. It's great to know that you can grab a meal and head on your way to work, knowing you are going to have a healthy and tasty lunch. I've even made my breakfast in the morning, and ate it on the way to work. They are that convenient. Also, the delivery is very convenient. They come in a large cooler and the meals are labelled quite clearly. It's easy to organize the meals in the refrigerator for your meals, so you can just grab and go.

I don't like dieting because I always feel hungry. However, with Diet to Go, I never felt hungry or dissatisfied.

I also thought their website was quite comprehensive and easy to manage. Customers are able to customize their plans. Substitutions are able to be made online as well. Which is great for people on the go.

posted Nov 3rd, 2013 7:00 pm


sweeptight

I find Diet to Go to be the best among any food delivery programs that I have tried. The meals are fresh, easy to prepare, and very filling.
They pay attention to your allergies and preferences to make sure your experience is the best that it can be. I rarely even feel like I am on a diet while on this program. Some of the food is so good it feels like an indulgence!
They take the work out of calorie counting and portion control. Filling meals that make you crave less snacks. I love this program and would want to eat it even when I am not on a diet.

posted Oct 31st, 2013 8:16 pm


userfile
mistymorgannet

I've tried Diet To Go on two occasions over the past year and I'm really impressed with the menu options and the overall customer service from this company. I love how fresh and health conscious the meals are and being a busy mom and wanting to lose weight I'd love to continue with this program in the near future. The only downside would be feeding my toddler ontop of preparing my own Diet To Go Meals which could get a little pricey. However, if I had a larger family or were single without kids this would be the perfect opportunity to get health conscious and to possibly lose a few unwanted pounds. I personally loved the regular menu and was not a huge fan of the 'carb-concious' menu. I felt it did not have as many taste tingling options to treat my pallet with. I've tried other company's and Diets To Go is in the top 2! :)

posted Oct 31st, 2013 5:48 pm


bobbysgirl777

I have tried dieting on my own, with no success. I have tried other diet delivery programs, but they food was not fresh, and while I saw results, it felt too much like work to make it a long-term solution to managing my weight. Diet To Go is perfect for me.

First of all, the food tastes AMAZING! Many of the dishes are better than even the full fat things that I cook. Everything is super fresh, and they flavor combinations are exciting. I have found many new styles of food that I had never tried before.

Something that, to me, is equally as important as flavor is fullness. These meals are very generous in size, especially of for diet food. They are bugger and more satisfying than any microwavable meal form the store, and they taste 100x better. I don't get hungry between meals, which used to happen all the time.

I love that this is real food. I love knowing what I am eating. Best of all, everything you need is included. So many plans what you to buy this or add that, but not Diet To G. If you get mustard on a sandwich, they send a packet of mustard. If you have a meal that gets an apple with it, they send you a fresh apple. They even send yogurts, and drinks depending on what each meal is allotted.

The meals come frozen in a cooler on dry ice. I keep each weeks meals in the fridge so they slowly thaw out. They are so simple to prepare, just cut open the airtight plastic and microwave for a few minutes. It is so fast and easy. As a busy mom, that is so important.

Diet To Go is the best tasting, most filling, freshest, most convenient, most complete plan around. It might me a little pricy, but honestly all diet delivery plans are, and for the quality of the food, it is totally worth it. I would buy this food even if it wasn't healthy.

posted Oct 24th, 2013 4:45 pm


Andrea Smith

I have tried dieting on my own, with no success. I have tried other diet delivery programs, but they food was not fresh, and while I saw results, it felt too much like work to make it a long-term solution to managing my weight. Diet To Go is perfect for me.

First of all, the food tastes AMAZING! Many of the dishes are better than even the full fat things that I cook. Everything is super fresh, and they flavor combinations are exciting. I have found many new styles of food that I had never tried before.

Something that, to me, is equally as important as flavor is fullness. These meals are very generous in size, especially of for diet food. They are bugger and more satisfying than any microwavable meal form the store, and they taste 100x better. I don't get hungry between meals, which used to happen all the time.

I love that this is real food. I love knowing what I am eating. Best of all, everything you need is included. So many plans what you to buy this or add that, but not Diet To G. If you get mustard on a sandwich, they send a packet of mustard. If you have a meal that gets an apple with it, they send you a fresh apple. They even send yogurts, and drinks depending on what each meal is allotted.

The meals arrive frozen in a cooler on dry ice, and I keep them in the fridge each week so they can thaw and are even faster/easier to cook. All you have to do it cut open the air tight plastic and microwave for a few minutes. It is so fast and easy.

Diet To Go is the best tasting, most filling, freshest, most convenient, most complete plan around. It might me a little pricy, but honestly all diet delivery plans are, and for the quality of the food, it is totally worth it. I would buy this food even if it wasn't healthy.

posted Oct 24th, 2013 4:38 pm


thereare2sides

I have tried each of the three meal plans with Diet-to-Go, low-carb, vegetarian and traditional. They are all great in their own way. Each meal is specific to each meal plan. I have never had meals overlap.
My favorite meal with Diet-to-Go? Easily breakfast. I LOVE the ease of their breakfast options, try the blueberry pancakes with the traditional plan!
The low-carb plan focuses on protein and fresh vegetables. While it took some getting used to with having vegetables with breakfast, it is very helpful with the low-carb diet. The vegetarian meals didn't simply focus on pasta dishes as their staple. There were meals with alternate grains (quinoa), too!

Delivery is quick and easy. I always receive my meals, frozen in a cooler, at my doorstep 2 days after they are shipped. I then move them into the refrigerator and plan out what I'll have during the week and when.

I like using the myDiettogo. I can customize my meal plans, so if I don't like a meal I don't have to have it again. I can stop service for a week if I'll be out of town or the week is busy with a holiday and I can change plans entirely. myDiettogo has been easy to use online so I don't have to call customer service for changes.

posted Oct 21st, 2013 8:40 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account