Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

68%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 120 reviews

Diet to Go

Are you too busy to cook for yourself? Look no further.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Get started by saving with these Diet to Go Coupons
BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

IN-DEPTH REVIEW

DietsInReview.com's Chief Mom, Carmen Staicer, spent two weeks using the Diet to Go meal delivery service.

Learn more about her experience with the Diet to Go Frozen Meal Delivery.

"The first meal I sampled was turkey Salisbury steak with gravy, mashed potatoes, and whole green beans. I microwaved it and within five minutes I was sitting down to a hot, fresh, perfectly seasoned meal that completely satisfied me. It was filling, and in fact, I didn’t even finish the potatoes. My usual meal choices might involve a Lean Cuisine or other frozen meal, and I’m often left still hungry and scouring the kitchen an hour later. The Diet to Go meal removed that action from my life."

And hear about her experience with the Diet to Go Fresh Meal Delivery.

"I found the entire week of food to be outstanding in quality, taste and convenience. Many times, meals were accompanied by a piece of fresh fruit, a prepared yogurt smoothie, a roll, coleslaw, applesauce, or terra veggie chips. This truly led me to believe that if I were purchasing a week of food to be delivered to my house there would really be no need to visit the grocery – literally everything is contained in one inclusive package."

Get the final word on Diet to Go in Carmen's overview of both programs.

"I give Diet to Go two thumbs up. It’s a delicious, convenient, non-stressful way to plan your meals and stay within your selected calorie range."

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 9, 163 total comments)

sweeptight

I find Diet to Go to be the best among any food delivery programs that I have tried. The meals are fresh, easy to prepare, and very filling.
They pay attention to your allergies and preferences to make sure your experience is the best that it can be. I rarely even feel like I am on a diet while on this program. Some of the food is so good it feels like an indulgence!
They take the work out of calorie counting and portion control. Filling meals that make you crave less snacks. I love this program and would want to eat it even when I am not on a diet.

posted Oct 31st, 2013 8:16 pm


userfile
mistymorgannet

I've tried Diet To Go on two occasions over the past year and I'm really impressed with the menu options and the overall customer service from this company. I love how fresh and health conscious the meals are and being a busy mom and wanting to lose weight I'd love to continue with this program in the near future. The only downside would be feeding my toddler ontop of preparing my own Diet To Go Meals which could get a little pricey. However, if I had a larger family or were single without kids this would be the perfect opportunity to get health conscious and to possibly lose a few unwanted pounds. I personally loved the regular menu and was not a huge fan of the 'carb-concious' menu. I felt it did not have as many taste tingling options to treat my pallet with. I've tried other company's and Diets To Go is in the top 2! :)

posted Oct 31st, 2013 5:48 pm


bobbysgirl777

I have tried dieting on my own, with no success. I have tried other diet delivery programs, but they food was not fresh, and while I saw results, it felt too much like work to make it a long-term solution to managing my weight. Diet To Go is perfect for me.

First of all, the food tastes AMAZING! Many of the dishes are better than even the full fat things that I cook. Everything is super fresh, and they flavor combinations are exciting. I have found many new styles of food that I had never tried before.

Something that, to me, is equally as important as flavor is fullness. These meals are very generous in size, especially of for diet food. They are bugger and more satisfying than any microwavable meal form the store, and they taste 100x better. I don't get hungry between meals, which used to happen all the time.

I love that this is real food. I love knowing what I am eating. Best of all, everything you need is included. So many plans what you to buy this or add that, but not Diet To G. If you get mustard on a sandwich, they send a packet of mustard. If you have a meal that gets an apple with it, they send you a fresh apple. They even send yogurts, and drinks depending on what each meal is allotted.

The meals come frozen in a cooler on dry ice. I keep each weeks meals in the fridge so they slowly thaw out. They are so simple to prepare, just cut open the airtight plastic and microwave for a few minutes. It is so fast and easy. As a busy mom, that is so important.

Diet To Go is the best tasting, most filling, freshest, most convenient, most complete plan around. It might me a little pricy, but honestly all diet delivery plans are, and for the quality of the food, it is totally worth it. I would buy this food even if it wasn't healthy.

posted Oct 24th, 2013 4:45 pm


Andrea Smith

I have tried dieting on my own, with no success. I have tried other diet delivery programs, but they food was not fresh, and while I saw results, it felt too much like work to make it a long-term solution to managing my weight. Diet To Go is perfect for me.

First of all, the food tastes AMAZING! Many of the dishes are better than even the full fat things that I cook. Everything is super fresh, and they flavor combinations are exciting. I have found many new styles of food that I had never tried before.

Something that, to me, is equally as important as flavor is fullness. These meals are very generous in size, especially of for diet food. They are bugger and more satisfying than any microwavable meal form the store, and they taste 100x better. I don't get hungry between meals, which used to happen all the time.

I love that this is real food. I love knowing what I am eating. Best of all, everything you need is included. So many plans what you to buy this or add that, but not Diet To G. If you get mustard on a sandwich, they send a packet of mustard. If you have a meal that gets an apple with it, they send you a fresh apple. They even send yogurts, and drinks depending on what each meal is allotted.

The meals arrive frozen in a cooler on dry ice, and I keep them in the fridge each week so they can thaw and are even faster/easier to cook. All you have to do it cut open the air tight plastic and microwave for a few minutes. It is so fast and easy.

Diet To Go is the best tasting, most filling, freshest, most convenient, most complete plan around. It might me a little pricy, but honestly all diet delivery plans are, and for the quality of the food, it is totally worth it. I would buy this food even if it wasn't healthy.

posted Oct 24th, 2013 4:38 pm


thereare2sides

I have tried each of the three meal plans with Diet-to-Go, low-carb, vegetarian and traditional. They are all great in their own way. Each meal is specific to each meal plan. I have never had meals overlap.
My favorite meal with Diet-to-Go? Easily breakfast. I LOVE the ease of their breakfast options, try the blueberry pancakes with the traditional plan!
The low-carb plan focuses on protein and fresh vegetables. While it took some getting used to with having vegetables with breakfast, it is very helpful with the low-carb diet. The vegetarian meals didn't simply focus on pasta dishes as their staple. There were meals with alternate grains (quinoa), too!

Delivery is quick and easy. I always receive my meals, frozen in a cooler, at my doorstep 2 days after they are shipped. I then move them into the refrigerator and plan out what I'll have during the week and when.

I like using the myDiettogo. I can customize my meal plans, so if I don't like a meal I don't have to have it again. I can stop service for a week if I'll be out of town or the week is busy with a holiday and I can change plans entirely. myDiettogo has been easy to use online so I don't have to call customer service for changes.

posted Oct 21st, 2013 8:40 pm


Jo

I really like the food itself. I went with the low-carb option, and it included many meat items. I eat the meals mostly for lunch, as I am a busy mom constantly on the go. What I love is they are simple, but never prescriptive. So, it does not dictate what meals you HAVE to have for lunch, dinner, and breakfast, which was great because it meant I could choose what I was hungry for that day! Although I was not a fan of each and every meal, I did love most of them (especially the waffle sticks), and will order again!

posted Oct 20th, 2013 11:25 pm



Grace Shepherd

Pros-
1. Food tastes GOOD. Of course there might be one meal or so that you may not care for and that is okay! They do SUBSTITUTIONS! So if you find something you may not like you can pick whatever you like in it's place!

2. Twenty Two dollars a day? For me to not have to cook, think, plan, prep, or shop? Yeah I will take it. It's a great value. They give a healthy balanced whole week of food and all you have to do it grab it, heat it, and enjoy it.

3. Great customer service. Not only do they give you completely customizable meal plans, but they are supportive in our weight loss community. They are active in all social media networks if you have a question or problem.

4. Food arrived frozen, cold, and in good shape. I had so much fun organizing all of my breakfast, lunch, and dinners in the freezer.

Cons-
1. Once you run out you will get really sad. Seriously.

2. A few too many carbs in the low fat traditional plan for my taste. Next time I would go with the low carb plan though. So lots of options for all different dieters. Vegetarian, low fat, or low carb. Something for everyone.


For a diet plan...this one is it. If you want well seasoned, easy, REAL, fresh food-- Try diet to go.

I am a healthy living blogger who was asked to review these meals. I was not compensated in anything but amazing food. All opinions and thoughts are mine.

posted Oct 18th, 2013 4:46 pm



Alyssa Curran

I really love Diet to Go. I found the food surprisingly delicious, because most meal plans are pretty much saw dust patties covered in sauce. Out of both the low fat traditional and low carb meal plans, I prefer low fat, especially for the yummy things like the soft pretzel that comes along with the black bean soup. Be careful microwaving - if you go too long and aren't paying attention (Story of my life) your veggies will be soggy. I was impressed with the food, ended up losing 9 pounds in a month, and had NO PROBLEM with my very specific no sea food request due to a shellfish allergy. You can't beat the convenience, and honestly, the food is way better than most of the frozen diet meals you'll find on store shelves.

posted Oct 18th, 2013 3:15 am



JessS

#deittogo Diet to go has been great for me. I’m on an active quest to lose weight, and diet to go helps fill in the gaps for those weeks I just don’t have the time to plan. I’m a busy full time working mom, and having something arrive on your doorstep, ready to grab and go, without thinking about it is amazing. I want only fresh food, with no preservatives, and this is the way to go. There are some items which were just ok, and at times the directions have little to be desired; still overall, I enjoy the food I’ve tried with them…and they seem to be actively working on the kinks, which is refreshing. Their site does make it easy to substitute the entrée’s you didn’t enjoy. I don’t use this on-going as a weight loss system, only turn it off and on for when I know I’m going to have busy weeks. This is super easy and simple to do. I’ve even changed my plan with ease. At this point, I think the “low-carb” plan is the one for me, not because I’m a low carb fanatic, but because it’s simple delicious meals…a protein and some veggies, as fresh and as simple as it gets! Diet-to-go definitely gets my recommendation!

posted Oct 15th, 2013 6:05 pm


Sharon

I like this diet and have had great results with weight losa The food is good and fills me up. The dinners are quite tasty, the breakfasts are good and the lunches are good enough.

posted Oct 1st, 2013 10:10 pm


Nicole

Love it! Great food, so easy.

posted Sep 9th, 2013 4:33 pm


Anne

After taking time to research DTG I ordered the 1200 calorie program for myself then my husband proceeded to order the 1600 calorie program. The good news: the food was very good with a few exceptions. Some side items like the crackers in particular would be broken to the point of sawdust and when you take into consideration the excessive packaging, it's apparent that the crackers were packed broken.
The bad news: Inconsistent labeling...some products had nutritional information while others did not. Most labels were unreadable in sections due to moisture issues. Some would read the day of the week...Day 1 Lunch while others had nothing. No instructions were included for my husbands plan which left him guessing what to eat when and how to add the additional calories required. Keep in mind there are high delivery fees and an automatic reordering system. Some sandwiches have more calories & fat then a fast food alternative. I was also surprised to see branded items in my husbands plan such as Yoplait Yogurt.
Overall, we decided to cancel the program as we did not see the value.

posted Jul 22nd, 2013 2:53 pm


Jo T

I just picked up my first set of lo carb meals. Everything was just as I ordered but the chicken bacon dinner I ate tonight was less than satisfactory. The chicken was overcooked, very tough and rubbery. The best thing was the Brussell Sprouts and I hate Brussell Sprouts. Hopefully the other meals will be better.

posted Jun 26th, 2013 6:17 am


Too busy to grocery shop *and* cook...

Overall, we're sticking with it. I tried low-carb for about a month, but found it to be too fatty and it really kept me up at night.

I'm looking for low salt, low-carb, lower-than-moderate fat, and about 30 g of good lean protein with each meal. I can get this with low carb plan if I carefully pick my meal choices, don't eat all of the bread given (i.e. burgers become open-faced sandwiches, skip the rolls), *and* supplement with greek yogurt, drinks made with non-fat milk mixed with yogurt, Glucerna snack bars, or Calorie Smart Boost with meals and between meals.

We also feel we do not get enough veggies, even with the local delivery. "Generous" fruit and veggies is not true unless someone isn't used to eating them.

We really miss fresh fruit, but trying to watch the carbs so not supplementing that. Unfortunately, the fruit that is provided is not nearly as good as the seasonal fresh fruit we can get locally. Wonder why DTG doesn't take advantage of the bountiful fresh fruit available in the local pick-up service. Even the oranges are slightly green, and the apples have no flavor at all.

The best part is we do local pick-up, so no frozen packaging or freezer burn. We had been on BistroMD, loved the food taste, quality, and philosophy, but hated the freezer burn and styrofoam boxes. If Diet-to-Go was delivery only, we probably would not do that, either.

Losing weight slowly but steadily, and feel much better since I started supplementing the protein. (Careful of the lunches - many are 15 g protein or less.)

Up-shot: It's workable, and even with adding protein and veggies it's still lots easier than planning, shopping, cooking, and cleaning up for all meals, and costs less than eating out.

posted Jun 9th, 2013 10:31 pm


joe

Was on the diet for 5 weeks. Everything paid beforehand.
The diet food itself was hit or miss.
Im writing because I receiving a shocking and nasty demand for mysterious payments owed via snail mail.
Wrote Ms Lynch via email and told them I was paid in full.
Havent heard anything back.

posted Jun 1st, 2013 4:39 am


BJ

I really wanted to like this company. I signed up because I am a calorie counter/label reader and wanted the ease of having fresh pre-calculated meals available for my busy work week. Bonus that it seemed it would save me a bit of money and possibly result in a bit of weight loss. I signed up for traditional low fat, L&D, 1200 calories. Assuming I would supply my own breakfast and snacks to equal 1600 - 1800 calories a day (my personal goal). ATTENTION!- these are not healthy meal choices!! Carb counts are outrageous! Fat grams per meal are more often than not above 25 grams per meal! Sodium levels are often more than 50% daily allowance per meal! some meals are more than 600 calories each! Vegetables consist of overcooked broccoli, undercooked carrots, a side of salsa or a V8.
Meals are not bad tasting but more processed that I care to ingest and definitely over-seasoned for my palate (SALTY!).
Moreover, of the 20 meals I ordered over a 2 week period - 5 have been mislabeled, 1 included more food than listed on the ingredients, 2 were missing items listed in ingredients, 1 had different items than listed and 2 had HAIR in them - yes, hair! Customer service has no answers other than to say the SF kitchen has a new manager! They did reimburse me for the 2 hair meals (I supplied photos) and the meal with different contents that stated. I'm sorry but regardless of management, this is unacceptable- from a hygiene perspective and a health perspective. Needless to say _ I cancelled. As another commenter stated, you are better off buy lean cuisine!

posted May 31st, 2013 6:59 pm


Lauren Beilinson

SUCH BAD BUSINESS!!!! all orders are standing orders so unless you read the fine print in your emails, you're going to get charged for the week following your order. SUCH A SCAM! it's like that friends episode about "quitting the gym." while their food wasn't half bad, i'm so disappointed with their customer service that i won't be returning for anymore meals. the fresh diet offers meals for far more money. i'd rather they have my business. honestly their food is better too. thanks for nothing diet to-go.

posted May 21st, 2013 8:49 pm


yon100

Holy High Carbs! the meals taste ok but one of my dinners actually had 780 calories and 145 grams of carbs. As a point of reference, that is more than a burger and fries from mcdonalds. this is not diet food and does not teach you how to eat healthy. for much less money you could simply purchase frozen lean cuisine meals and add your own salads. i have tried nutrisystem and jenny craig also and although the food is less tasty, it is more like actual diet food and is a fraction of cost. if you need to lose weight, use the free app "lose it" and just count 1200 healthy calories. no one gets skinny eating 145 grams of carbs in one meal.

posted Apr 25th, 2013 1:29 am


Catherine Dill

I tried Diet-to-go just for something different. I've been using it steadily for 3 months now. I wasn't trying to diet - but I lost a few pounds. I thought it would be expensive - but it is actually SAVING me money. Before I was eating out all of the time and having late night fast food runs. Now I stick to these meals and I have a lot of money by the end of the week. But the BIGGEST surprise is how much I like not having to "deal" with food. No cooking, no doing dishes, no shopping for food....the time savings is worth every dime of the program.

Oh yeah - and the meals are tasty too! I only planned to try it for a week, but still look forward to each week of food arriving. They screw up my substitutions a lot, and the sides are always messed up. But they will credit me for any meals that are wrong if I contact them. And it isn't usually a huge mess.

posted Apr 18th, 2013 3:58 am


Gail

Picked up my first low carb order this week. I was supposed to get 3 breakfasts, 3 lunches and 3 dinners. They were out of stock on all but 3 items on the scheduled menu. Actually received 1 breakfast, 1 lunch and 7 dinners 5 of which were identical -- some were even mislabeled. Terrible and very disappointing. Cancelled right away. I can understand being out of stock on some items but they should not send dinners instead of breakfast and lunch and all the same.

posted Mar 16th, 2013 2:49 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account