Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

63%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 144 reviews

Diet to Go

Are you too busy to cook for yourself? Look no further.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Get started by saving with these Diet to Go Coupons
BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

IN-DEPTH REVIEW

DietsInReview.com's Chief Mom, Carmen Staicer, spent two weeks using the Diet to Go meal delivery service.

Learn more about her experience with the Diet to Go Frozen Meal Delivery.

"The first meal I sampled was turkey Salisbury steak with gravy, mashed potatoes, and whole green beans. I microwaved it and within five minutes I was sitting down to a hot, fresh, perfectly seasoned meal that completely satisfied me. It was filling, and in fact, I didn’t even finish the potatoes. My usual meal choices might involve a Lean Cuisine or other frozen meal, and I’m often left still hungry and scouring the kitchen an hour later. The Diet to Go meal removed that action from my life."

And hear about her experience with the Diet to Go Fresh Meal Delivery.

"I found the entire week of food to be outstanding in quality, taste and convenience. Many times, meals were accompanied by a piece of fresh fruit, a prepared yogurt smoothie, a roll, coleslaw, applesauce, or terra veggie chips. This truly led me to believe that if I were purchasing a week of food to be delivered to my house there would really be no need to visit the grocery – literally everything is contained in one inclusive package."

Get the final word on Diet to Go in Carmen's overview of both programs.

"I give Diet to Go two thumbs up. It’s a delicious, convenient, non-stressful way to plan your meals and stay within your selected calorie range."

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 9, 168 total comments)

BJ

I really wanted to like this company. I signed up because I am a calorie counter/label reader and wanted the ease of having fresh pre-calculated meals available for my busy work week. Bonus that it seemed it would save me a bit of money and possibly result in a bit of weight loss. I signed up for traditional low fat, L&D, 1200 calories. Assuming I would supply my own breakfast and snacks to equal 1600 - 1800 calories a day (my personal goal). ATTENTION!- these are not healthy meal choices!! Carb counts are outrageous! Fat grams per meal are more often than not above 25 grams per meal! Sodium levels are often more than 50% daily allowance per meal! some meals are more than 600 calories each! Vegetables consist of overcooked broccoli, undercooked carrots, a side of salsa or a V8.
Meals are not bad tasting but more processed that I care to ingest and definitely over-seasoned for my palate (SALTY!).
Moreover, of the 20 meals I ordered over a 2 week period - 5 have been mislabeled, 1 included more food than listed on the ingredients, 2 were missing items listed in ingredients, 1 had different items than listed and 2 had HAIR in them - yes, hair! Customer service has no answers other than to say the SF kitchen has a new manager! They did reimburse me for the 2 hair meals (I supplied photos) and the meal with different contents that stated. I'm sorry but regardless of management, this is unacceptable- from a hygiene perspective and a health perspective. Needless to say _ I cancelled. As another commenter stated, you are better off buy lean cuisine!

posted May 31st, 2013 6:59 pm


Lauren Beilinson

SUCH BAD BUSINESS!!!! all orders are standing orders so unless you read the fine print in your emails, you're going to get charged for the week following your order. SUCH A SCAM! it's like that friends episode about "quitting the gym." while their food wasn't half bad, i'm so disappointed with their customer service that i won't be returning for anymore meals. the fresh diet offers meals for far more money. i'd rather they have my business. honestly their food is better too. thanks for nothing diet to-go.

posted May 21st, 2013 8:49 pm


yon100

Holy High Carbs! the meals taste ok but one of my dinners actually had 780 calories and 145 grams of carbs. As a point of reference, that is more than a burger and fries from mcdonalds. this is not diet food and does not teach you how to eat healthy. for much less money you could simply purchase frozen lean cuisine meals and add your own salads. i have tried nutrisystem and jenny craig also and although the food is less tasty, it is more like actual diet food and is a fraction of cost. if you need to lose weight, use the free app "lose it" and just count 1200 healthy calories. no one gets skinny eating 145 grams of carbs in one meal.

posted Apr 25th, 2013 1:29 am


Catherine Dill

I tried Diet-to-go just for something different. I've been using it steadily for 3 months now. I wasn't trying to diet - but I lost a few pounds. I thought it would be expensive - but it is actually SAVING me money. Before I was eating out all of the time and having late night fast food runs. Now I stick to these meals and I have a lot of money by the end of the week. But the BIGGEST surprise is how much I like not having to "deal" with food. No cooking, no doing dishes, no shopping for food....the time savings is worth every dime of the program.

Oh yeah - and the meals are tasty too! I only planned to try it for a week, but still look forward to each week of food arriving. They screw up my substitutions a lot, and the sides are always messed up. But they will credit me for any meals that are wrong if I contact them. And it isn't usually a huge mess.

posted Apr 18th, 2013 3:58 am


Gail

Picked up my first low carb order this week. I was supposed to get 3 breakfasts, 3 lunches and 3 dinners. They were out of stock on all but 3 items on the scheduled menu. Actually received 1 breakfast, 1 lunch and 7 dinners 5 of which were identical -- some were even mislabeled. Terrible and very disappointing. Cancelled right away. I can understand being out of stock on some items but they should not send dinners instead of breakfast and lunch and all the same.

posted Mar 16th, 2013 2:49 pm


Marina

Diet-to-go program works perfect, plus I am at the gym almost every day doing different types of exercising on different day from cardio and muscle strength to some special ones from my orthopedist to strengthen my muscles around meniscus. The good thing about that diet that it is really tasty and has enough meal for me to feel full and satisfied. Every time I have to skip the meal my family want to eat it. It is fresh; I am picking it up two times a week from my gym. No shopping with the chance to buy sweets or something unhealthy, no cooking. They have three different types of low fat, low crabs, and vegetarian. The plan has different meals for 5 weeks in each diet. So it will take me a while until I get sick of the same food. The program online calculates your calorie intake in order to lose about 2,5 lb a week according to your weight, gender, age, activity level and goal. You can eat something not significant outside of those three meals to reach your calorie level. You can switch once a week, you can change meals you don't like, you can order separately breakfast, lunch or dinner, it could be 7 times a week or just once a week. It is very flexible. One meal is about $6-$8. I just really enjoy it. It is really the first diet I don't feel hungry, low energy or headache every day. I’ve already lost 11Lb in one month. Because I can switch it regularly from protein to low fat to vegetarian I am hoping my plateau is not going to hit me soon. :)

posted Mar 12th, 2013 4:50 pm


Reynaldo Davila

I have no idea what is occurring within that Organization but it is not good. I was with them for close to a year. The meals were never too good and some times really bad; but it was convenient. They never revamped the menu and it was the same month after month. Lately there were disruptions on delivery, which was then restored but meals were delivered all turned over and mixed up. The packaging has always been deficient. Finally they called me stating some contrary facts about the dealers saying I needed to pay more now if I wanted to continue with the program. Pretty bad customer service. I'm done with them and good riddance too.

posted Feb 6th, 2013 9:22 pm


bmorehon

I was really surprised to see the bad reviews. I have had a great experience with diet to go. I did it for convenience, not weight loss, for both me and my husband. I was very skeptical, as my husband is very picky and was against the whole idea. He does the regular meals and I did the vegetarian. We both were very happy with the food quality -- it was MUCH better and MUCH fresher than I expected (we do local pick up, so I can't speak for the home delivery). I like the lunches best -- the quinoa salad is delicious! I have started and stopped several times for vacations and it is easy to do online. My first order was wrong (not vegetarian -- my error) and the customer service was great and they even refunded me the cost of the meat meals I received and could not eat. If there is something you don't like you can swap it out. My only complaint is that there is not a portion greater than 1600 calories. For my husband he still eats the lunch dinner and one more meal in the afternoon/evening. He would love if there was an option for bigger portions for those getting diet to go for convenience and not weightloss, or if every meal came with dessert :)

posted Jan 24th, 2013 1:14 am


PJ

Have tried DTG for 5 weeks. I find them flexible, started with BLD, then changed to only Lunch/Dinner 5 days a week. Switched to Low Carb just to try everything. You can substitute meals, but so far, I find their Chefs do an excellent job with seasoning. My only negative is that the plastic containers break in shipment, so you have to be careful that you don't get the pieces in your food when warming it up. I defrost in the refrig. then use the Reheat on the microwave, and everything comes out great.

posted Jan 18th, 2013 4:21 pm


Jeanne

I did DTG for 6 months about a year ago-if you make a few substitutions here and there, it's GREAT! Kind of pricey, but the idea of good food with no decisions ws very appealing. I lost over 40 pounds at that time before I had to D/C due to family issues. But I'm going to start again this week, and am REALLY looking forward to it!

posted Jan 3rd, 2013 12:52 am


Jennifer

You don't get to select what you want to eat. I got an entire week where almost every meal was turkey. I said I didn't like pork and I got ham. Ick. The turkey burger was paired with the biggest roll I've ever seen. I'd prefer a little taste in the burger to a massive roll that doesn't fit the burger anyway. Not impressed at all. Very few options and they just give you whatever they have. Seems like the week i ordered they were really trying to unload a lot of turkey. Hope it wasn't leftover from all the turkey at Thanksgiving. Maybe stores were unloading turkey very cheaply because I cannot understand why every meal is turkey. Who the heck wants plain sliced turkey? It's dry and tasteless and there is no way to avoid it.

posted Dec 22nd, 2012 5:13 pm


Sara

Diets to Go has good food and polite customer service. However, they have repeatedly ignored my instructions regarding the delivery times. They sent me an order this week in spite of my telling them both verbally and in writing to only send week 1 and 4 menus They never confirm anything by email. Therefore, I told them to stop all shipments.as I have limited freezer space not to mention time to waste. In short, their service does not match the quality of their food.

posted Dec 12th, 2012 9:37 pm


Leslie

I had no problem with the food; my problem was with their organization. I had clearly stated I could not eat some items, and it was noted on my shipping order. However, they still delivered them. Because this involved allergies, I decided to cancel my meal delivery. I did it within the time frame, using the DTG form. They said they never received my form and I currently have a pending charge on my credit card AND they delivered the food anyway. DTG refused to remove charge OR to cancel/recall delivery. My credit card company says they will deal with DTG, but I would not recommend them to anyone, ever.

posted Dec 5th, 2012 4:25 pm


Susie

Too expensive for the quality of the food. Containers seem to be pricey, guess that is what you are paying for. Groupon coupon also gets you roped into the meal plan so beware. Do not recommend. NutriSystem is cheaper and the food is better when you figure out what you like,

posted Nov 28th, 2012 3:31 am


Jennie

I love love love DTG! Been ordering it for years. Low fat, healthy, ALREADY prepared...that's a no brainer for me! Plus my family likes it too!

posted Jun 26th, 2012 2:54 am



Randi Ervin

The food is really tasty- and easy to prepare. Also, the plan is mindless. I just pick up my food 2x a week, stick in the fridge and eat my 3 meals a day during the week.

posted Jun 25th, 2012 7:31 am


Connie

I wish there were a better rating scale than just the "black and white" like or don't like. As with most things, there are pros and cons and successes and failures and overall they don't necessarily add up to a yes or no answer. Anyway, overall I went with "don't like" because I did discontinue the program and would not restart it.

I really liked the home delivery program. The food arrived frozen on my doorstep when promised and overall was packed well and in good condition. They package the soups in a much better fashion than Freshology, which was a disaster.

I rate the foods on a scale of 1-5 (bad-good) and Diet To Go got a lot of ratings in the 2-4 range. Next to no 5's but a fair number of 1's. So taste/texture were not bad, but nothing to write home about. Generally preparing the food was fine, but I got better results in the oven than microwave.

Problems:
1. Vegetables were not properly prepared for freezing/reheating and so were ALWAYS soggy/watery. Other foods often were in a similar position and it's clear this company doesn't know how to prepare foods for this type of distribution. I could always thaw them, drain, then roast or saute, but then why am I paying them not to have to cook?

2. Egg dishes such as omelets are included often and just don't work. Same reason, except there isn't much you can do. Eggs cannot be dried, reconstituted, cooked, frozen then reheated and come out with any texture/taste that is less than repulsive.

3. Too much dairy/cheese. Big blocks of it. Gross.

4. Inconsistent volume/mass of food. Basically, people are satisfied if they are eating a volume of food that fills them up. When that volume is consistent from day to day you stay feeling full. When you eat a meal of a very small volume, even if it's very high calorie, you don't feel satisfied. So when you lob on a gob of cheese - very high calorie and little nutritional value - you have no room calorically for vegetables/grains that could give you the volume to feel full. Very inconsistent in meal-time calories and volume.

5. The biggie for me. They offer essentially unlimited substitutions so essentially all the problems above should be solvable. However....not once did they get the requested substitutions correct. This could be as a result of their extremely poor website or lack of attention to detail. Regardless, don't offer something that you can't/won't deliver on.

Anyway, if you're not picky this may work for you, but plan to rearrange the meals so that you're eating a consistent volume of food across each day/week and don't bother trying to substitute.

posted Jun 23rd, 2012 1:37 pm


Betz

Today is first day, and I have to say So Far the food is so Good! I'm eating the turkey cutlet sandwich, and it's really good, of course I separated the turkey from the bread before I warmed it up. The relish is very good, not at all what I expected, after some of the reviews.

posted May 16th, 2012 8:14 pm


RebeccaS

On my third week of the plan (traditional low fat, national mail order). I'm surprised at the negative reviews for the food, because so far I've found it surprisingly tasty. There's been a couple of not so great meals, but nothing I couldn't finish. Most of the food has actually been quite good, and I look forward to each meal. I guess it depends on what you're expecting -- compared to frozen meals like Healthy Choice or Lean Cuisine, the food is at least a few steps above that. If you're looking for gourmet food cooked by a personal chef...well, don't expect that from Diet to Go. It's basically equivalent to what I could cook for myself, if I wasn't so lazy.

Best part about it, is that they don't tie you into signing up for a lengthy time period; you can cancel whenever you want. Try it for a week, and see if it's your thing. I'd recommend just going for Lunch & Dinner, though; the breakfasts are heavy on sugar, and not particularly filling.

posted May 16th, 2012 6:19 pm


monicaW

I have been eating D2G for a few weeks and find that the food is tasty. I belivev it helps that I live in the local area for fresh food delivery. the reps have been great about my food choices and subs for meals I would not eat.

posted May 9th, 2012 4:58 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account