Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

70%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 114 reviews

Diet to Go

Are you too busy to cook for yourself? Look no further.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Get started by saving with these Diet to Go Coupons
BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

IN-DEPTH REVIEW

DietsInReview.com's Chief Mom, Carmen Staicer, spent two weeks using the Diet to Go meal delivery service.

Learn more about her experience with the Diet to Go Frozen Meal Delivery.

"The first meal I sampled was turkey Salisbury steak with gravy, mashed potatoes, and whole green beans. I microwaved it and within five minutes I was sitting down to a hot, fresh, perfectly seasoned meal that completely satisfied me. It was filling, and in fact, I didn’t even finish the potatoes. My usual meal choices might involve a Lean Cuisine or other frozen meal, and I’m often left still hungry and scouring the kitchen an hour later. The Diet to Go meal removed that action from my life."

And hear about her experience with the Diet to Go Fresh Meal Delivery.

"I found the entire week of food to be outstanding in quality, taste and convenience. Many times, meals were accompanied by a piece of fresh fruit, a prepared yogurt smoothie, a roll, coleslaw, applesauce, or terra veggie chips. This truly led me to believe that if I were purchasing a week of food to be delivered to my house there would really be no need to visit the grocery – literally everything is contained in one inclusive package."

Get the final word on Diet to Go in Carmen's overview of both programs.

"I give Diet to Go two thumbs up. It’s a delicious, convenient, non-stressful way to plan your meals and stay within your selected calorie range."

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 8, 155 total comments)

Susie

Too expensive for the quality of the food. Containers seem to be pricey, guess that is what you are paying for. Groupon coupon also gets you roped into the meal plan so beware. Do not recommend. NutriSystem is cheaper and the food is better when you figure out what you like,

posted Nov 28th, 2012 3:31 am


Jennie

I love love love DTG! Been ordering it for years. Low fat, healthy, ALREADY prepared...that's a no brainer for me! Plus my family likes it too!

posted Jun 26th, 2012 2:54 am



Randi Ervin

The food is really tasty- and easy to prepare. Also, the plan is mindless. I just pick up my food 2x a week, stick in the fridge and eat my 3 meals a day during the week.

posted Jun 25th, 2012 7:31 am


Connie

I wish there were a better rating scale than just the "black and white" like or don't like. As with most things, there are pros and cons and successes and failures and overall they don't necessarily add up to a yes or no answer. Anyway, overall I went with "don't like" because I did discontinue the program and would not restart it.

I really liked the home delivery program. The food arrived frozen on my doorstep when promised and overall was packed well and in good condition. They package the soups in a much better fashion than Freshology, which was a disaster.

I rate the foods on a scale of 1-5 (bad-good) and Diet To Go got a lot of ratings in the 2-4 range. Next to no 5's but a fair number of 1's. So taste/texture were not bad, but nothing to write home about. Generally preparing the food was fine, but I got better results in the oven than microwave.

Problems:
1. Vegetables were not properly prepared for freezing/reheating and so were ALWAYS soggy/watery. Other foods often were in a similar position and it's clear this company doesn't know how to prepare foods for this type of distribution. I could always thaw them, drain, then roast or saute, but then why am I paying them not to have to cook?

2. Egg dishes such as omelets are included often and just don't work. Same reason, except there isn't much you can do. Eggs cannot be dried, reconstituted, cooked, frozen then reheated and come out with any texture/taste that is less than repulsive.

3. Too much dairy/cheese. Big blocks of it. Gross.

4. Inconsistent volume/mass of food. Basically, people are satisfied if they are eating a volume of food that fills them up. When that volume is consistent from day to day you stay feeling full. When you eat a meal of a very small volume, even if it's very high calorie, you don't feel satisfied. So when you lob on a gob of cheese - very high calorie and little nutritional value - you have no room calorically for vegetables/grains that could give you the volume to feel full. Very inconsistent in meal-time calories and volume.

5. The biggie for me. They offer essentially unlimited substitutions so essentially all the problems above should be solvable. However....not once did they get the requested substitutions correct. This could be as a result of their extremely poor website or lack of attention to detail. Regardless, don't offer something that you can't/won't deliver on.

Anyway, if you're not picky this may work for you, but plan to rearrange the meals so that you're eating a consistent volume of food across each day/week and don't bother trying to substitute.

posted Jun 23rd, 2012 1:37 pm


Betz

Today is first day, and I have to say So Far the food is so Good! I'm eating the turkey cutlet sandwich, and it's really good, of course I separated the turkey from the bread before I warmed it up. The relish is very good, not at all what I expected, after some of the reviews.

posted May 16th, 2012 8:14 pm


RebeccaS

On my third week of the plan (traditional low fat, national mail order). I'm surprised at the negative reviews for the food, because so far I've found it surprisingly tasty. There's been a couple of not so great meals, but nothing I couldn't finish. Most of the food has actually been quite good, and I look forward to each meal. I guess it depends on what you're expecting -- compared to frozen meals like Healthy Choice or Lean Cuisine, the food is at least a few steps above that. If you're looking for gourmet food cooked by a personal chef...well, don't expect that from Diet to Go. It's basically equivalent to what I could cook for myself, if I wasn't so lazy.

Best part about it, is that they don't tie you into signing up for a lengthy time period; you can cancel whenever you want. Try it for a week, and see if it's your thing. I'd recommend just going for Lunch & Dinner, though; the breakfasts are heavy on sugar, and not particularly filling.

posted May 16th, 2012 6:19 pm


monicaW

I have been eating D2G for a few weeks and find that the food is tasty. I belivev it helps that I live in the local area for fresh food delivery. the reps have been great about my food choices and subs for meals I would not eat.

posted May 9th, 2012 4:58 pm


suzy

Definitely one of the better meal delivery services out there.

posted Apr 16th, 2012 5:10 pm


Melanie

I tried the low-carb diet. Bad news, deitstogo may provide you low-carb food, but they don't provide you enough calories, which is still essential for a balanced diet. Most days you receive about 800 calories of food - to all you that know anything about a healthy diet, is that you don't starve your body. I can strave my body without buying dietstogo thanks! I went to dietstogo for convenience, but it's just a plan that starves you.

posted Apr 5th, 2012 3:07 pm


m nichols

good food good price

posted Feb 29th, 2012 11:37 pm


Cnut

Two family members and myself have been on DietToGo for about three months. We've lost a combined total of 80 pounds. We are all on the 3 meal, 7 day a week plan. DTG food comes in a 5 week cycle, so there's a total of 21 x 5 = 105 meals. As you may know, DTG provides free substitutions, so you can toss out anything you don't like and substitute in either a meal of that week, or a meal from a set substitution list. The critical success factor of DTG is to make the substitution system your friend. Honestly, "out of the box", DTG's menu is about 30 % great, 50 % pretty good/OK, and 20 % not good at all. With aggressive substituting, you can get rid of the bottom 20 % entirely, and you can tune up the middle 50 % to be much more to your liking. As an example, I find all of DTG's minced turkey meals (turkey meatballs, turkey loafs, etc.) to be not to my taste. I've substituted every single one of them out. Of course, some other people like those and then don't like something else. That is why the substitution menu is so important for individual fine-tuning. In the end, I have about 40 of the 105 meals in the cycle substituted out. I now like pretty much every meal, every week. My two family members who are on DTG have gotten to around the same level of substitutions - you just have to work with it for a while. DTG customer service is very responsive and friendly; I find the comments here about difficult customer service experiences to be far, far different from my own experience - every interaction I've had with them has been prompt and courteous. On the negative side, DTG does have a primitive and confusing customer experience/interface - a confusing, terribly outdated web site, including a process for requesting substitution meals that is about 15 years out of date in terms of using technology; a somewhat error-prone delivery system; etc. You don't get a buttoned-down, "exact" feeling with DTG, but the product and service are good, so you kind of roll with it. In conclusion, I want to say that it is actually a very easy way to lose weight -- 3 well-balanced, reasonably filling meals. It's really working for three of us here, week in and week out.

posted Feb 27th, 2012 7:28 am


Lin

I'm calling tidy to stop the frozen low-carb plan after 4 weeks. I had the 15 meals a week plan and did lose 10 pounds, but except for the breakfasts, the food was pretty bad. In my month, I found about 1/3 of the meals to be decent, another 1/3 to be tolerable, and 1/3 to be bad news. On the low-carb plan, if you don't like a food, you can substitute but the substitution has to be another food from the same week. So, you found yourself eating a lot of the same food all the time. I don't mind paying for quality. I just wish there was a low carb alternative out there that was good. I'll go back to cooking my own food on the Atkins plan. Cooking 3 times a day gets old but at least I enjoy eating it!

posted Feb 15th, 2012 4:11 pm


Theresa Dudley

I had the frozen delivery plan. 50% of the meals tasted terrible. The frozen vegetables are inedible. Anything that was Asian or Indian tasted horrible. I terminated the program after 4 weeks and that was only because I had surgery and needed prepared meals. I do not recommend the frozen delivery plan.

posted Feb 4th, 2012 12:34 am


Lin

I ate a week's worth of Diet to Go low carb frozen meals and kept track of the quality. I found 36% of meals were in the fair/poor quality category while 64% were in the good or excellent category. For me, that is not high enough to garner an "I like it" recommendation. I had the 5 day/3meals a day plan and breakfasts were the best meals. Considering the prices,the quality should be vastly improved. During the two days I was not eating the Diet to Go meals I was on an Atkins induction plan. I did lose over 5 lbs this week so that does say something positive. The foods arrived on time and were nicely frozen. I did not like the fact that the individual packages of food did not list the nutritional information. In fact, the names on the individual packages often did not correspond with the what was listed on the menu so in order to get the nutrition content, I had to go to the website and look at the pictures to decide which meal I had eaten, and then click on that picture to get the calories and carbs and other nutrition info. That was a huge and unnecessary hassle. I am going to continue with the plan only for a few more weeks. My husband has to travel for business and I don't like to cook for just me. But when he returns, I will opt out of the plan. It's too bad because I really wanted to like it.

posted Jan 18th, 2012 5:39 pm


Lin

This is day 3 so I'm still not giving diet-to-go a thumbs up or down rating. I'll do that after one week. So far, my spouse and I have consumed 11 meals and have rated each with ratings of excellent, good, fair, or awful. Percentage-wise we have eaten 64% good/ excellent meals but 34% fair/awful. Number wise, 4 were excellent considering they are frozen diet meals and 3 were good. One meal was fair, meaning that itnwasnedible but notntasty. Three meals weremdownrightnawful, meaning that we were notmablemtomfinish eating them and unbeaten portions were fed to the dog. How long would the frozen diet meals that can be purchased in the supermarket stay in business if 34% of the meals were either inedible or just barely tolerable?

posted Jan 14th, 2012 12:21 am


jack

probably the better or best of all the delivery meal services out there.

posted Jan 13th, 2012 8:12 pm


Lin

This is day two on the low carb plan of Diet-To-Go. I was looking forward to the pork chop breakfast as I love pork chops. This pork chop was so dry it could not even be swallowed and therefore was fed to my dog. I ended up making myself a poached egg. As I said, yesterday, I'm giving this plan a week but may cancel if things don't improve. So far, I have eaten 4 meals. One was very good, one was ok, and two were so dry as to be inedible and I am far fram a picky eater. One of the inedible meals was mispackaged (called beef casserole when it was Chicken Roma) so the company loses points for packaging mistake also!

posted Jan 12th, 2012 5:14 pm


Lin

This is day one and so far only one of the three meals was good (breakfast quiche). The salmon was ok but I could not discern a drop of the advertised "creamy dill sauce" and the third meal was mispackaged. It was listed on the plastic wrapping as beef casserole but it was horribly dried chicken instead. I found its picture on the web site and saw that it was really chicken Roma (extremely bad news). I'll try this for a week and will hope the other meals are improvements. I've tried Nutrisystem in the past and it was horrible so if this doesn't improve, I'll go back to Jenny Craig and see if they have a low carb option, which is the diet to go plan I am on now. One always had snacks and desserts with Jenny and this diet to go plan not only does not provide those, but also makes no suggestions about what you can have to supplement your meals, such as a low carb dessert. I went online and found a recipe for chocolate bark ( on Atkins site) so I made that. I know I've had very few calories today so the chocolate bark will be guilt free!

posted Jan 11th, 2012 11:38 pm


Lauren

Really wanted to try Diet To Go for my husband and I, and was prepared to make a long-term commitment, but after several unsuccessful attempts, I'm going to pass. Even though it clearly states on their website that the delivery orders have to be in by Tuesday at noon for delivery on Wednesday/Thursday they seem to always be out of meals by Monday AM. They are just way too unorganized for me, and by the sound of other reviews, that is a common issue with Diet To Go. The whole point of a meal delivery plan is dependability and not having to worry about GETTING the meals. I'm going with a more professionally run program.

posted Jan 2nd, 2012 8:40 pm


KateM

Meals were surprisingly filling and satisfying, good flavor. I usually add a salad on the side.

posted Nov 21st, 2011 8:51 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account