Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

70%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 114 reviews

Diet to Go

Are you too busy to cook for yourself? Look no further.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Get started by saving with these Diet to Go Coupons
BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

IN-DEPTH REVIEW

DietsInReview.com's Chief Mom, Carmen Staicer, spent two weeks using the Diet to Go meal delivery service.

Learn more about her experience with the Diet to Go Frozen Meal Delivery.

"The first meal I sampled was turkey Salisbury steak with gravy, mashed potatoes, and whole green beans. I microwaved it and within five minutes I was sitting down to a hot, fresh, perfectly seasoned meal that completely satisfied me. It was filling, and in fact, I didn’t even finish the potatoes. My usual meal choices might involve a Lean Cuisine or other frozen meal, and I’m often left still hungry and scouring the kitchen an hour later. The Diet to Go meal removed that action from my life."

And hear about her experience with the Diet to Go Fresh Meal Delivery.

"I found the entire week of food to be outstanding in quality, taste and convenience. Many times, meals were accompanied by a piece of fresh fruit, a prepared yogurt smoothie, a roll, coleslaw, applesauce, or terra veggie chips. This truly led me to believe that if I were purchasing a week of food to be delivered to my house there would really be no need to visit the grocery – literally everything is contained in one inclusive package."

Get the final word on Diet to Go in Carmen's overview of both programs.

"I give Diet to Go two thumbs up. It’s a delicious, convenient, non-stressful way to plan your meals and stay within your selected calorie range."

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 8, 155 total comments)

Steve

I've lost 100 pounds using diet-to-go meals over the past 17 months. The food is great and folks at diet-to-go actually care and want me to succeed. You don't have to measure or keep track of calories, they do all of the work for you. The program is priced reasonably and it eliminates going shopping except for skim milk fruit and a few vegetables. I actually love the program and it most likely saved my life.

posted Jun 26th, 2010 3:27 pm


Abby Crowley

My son, husband and I lost a combined 166 pounts on Diet to Go (low fat, veggie and low carb). You cannot beat it for the quality of food, convenience and results. We took of the weight and are maintaining our losses (which is the hardest part according to many experts).

posted Jun 25th, 2010 3:26 pm


Cynthia Parrott

I have been receiving Diet To Go deliveries for about a month now. I originally ordered out of curiousity because I was looking for a healthy meal plan to recommend to some of my clients. I also wanted to take off the few pounds I gained in the past year before my vacation at the beach. I selected the 1200 calorie Vegetarian Plan. My intention was to give it try for a week but I am so pleased with the food that I keep having the meals shipped weekly. The food is delicious ( more carbs than I am usually accustomed to) but overall, completely satisfying. I have lost about 10 pounds but my main focus is not the weight loss...it is the convenience. I work long hours, don't really have much time to grocery shop and because I live alone, despise cooking for one! I spend too much money on take out and Diet to Go is perfect for me. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is all set, I don't have to think...I just pop it in the oven or the microwave and I am good to go!!! I never have to think about shopping, cooking and I don't cave to pizza or chinese takeout as a last resort because I know I have everything right in my freezer. I am loving it!!!

posted Jun 25th, 2010 3:23 pm


Donna

I used Diet to Go twice, after both my pregnancies. I was 230 pounds a month after my first son was born. Six months later, I was 182!! I haven't been below 200 since I got married 14 years ago. I was at 209 after my second pregnancy and it took only three months to get down to my pre-pregnancy weight! I was on the 1600 calorie low-fat plan. One of the things I loved about that plan was the individual items that you can use to space out your day. I would save my pudding or fruit for a mid-afternoon snack. I was full enough from the entree not to miss it! The flavor and texture of all the meals was just like I had cooked it. I took their recommendation on heating the rolls and bread in a slightly damp paper towel and it came out steamy and delicious. Another amazing thing about this program is the sheer variety. I don't have 35 different dinners that I make but they do! Of course, I didn't like all of them on their menu but it was hard to complain with Steak and Potatoes on the substitution menu! But I will forever be grateful to Diet to Go for adjusting my perspective on food and portion size. My oldest son just turned four, my twin babies will be two in October. I have NEVER put my weight back on. Holidays and vacation may add one or two pounds but I know now what my body should be getting and the difference between a treat and a gastric disaster. If there is any doubt in your mind about trying this program, please put it aside for a week or two. That's yet another of the differences between Diet to Go and other plans. You don't have to get a month's worth of food sitting in your freezer that you don't want to eat. Try the plan, taste the food for yourself. There's no way I can describe in words how amazing the chicken alfredo pizza is (alfredo sauce on a diet plan!!) or how juicy and tender the italian chicken is. You've got to try it for yourself. There is nothing better you can do for yourself than lose weight and Diet to Go makes it VERY easy!!

posted Jun 25th, 2010 2:34 pm


Mike

Overall I was very satisfied with diet-to-go. The preparation of seafood meals was excellent and I never felt hungry. As a male the 1600 calorie diet was good and filling, especially when I ate a good breakfast on my own.

posted Jun 25th, 2010 2:08 pm


Maurina Rachuba

I have been on the Diet to Go regime for 4 months, and have lost over 30 lbs. Overall, I have found the quality excellent, and the food itself very good, with great flavor. Most of the dishes are comparable to nicer restaurant fare. Customer service has been great. There have been a couple of times where a meal was missing, but DTG responded quickly, by crediting the money for that meal, and apologizing for the inconvenience. I'm glad to support a local company, and will be sticking with the plan for another 30 lbs.

posted Jun 25th, 2010 8:00 am


John McGran

I have been using Diet-to-Go on and off since 2001 and I have always loved the food and I always lose weight while eating great. Customer service -- online and via phone -- make it so easy to switch plans and make substitutions. I am on Day 17 of my latest diet with Diet-to-Go and I lost 10.6 lbs my first two weeks! The ease and convenience makes this program amazingly simple to follow. And I find it much cheaper than eating breakfast and lunch at restaurants! I have tried both their Low-Fat and Low-Carb plans (they also offer vegetarian). The two programs I've followed have both been amazingly delicious and satisfying.

posted Jun 25th, 2010 7:46 am


fizz

I REALLY wanted to use Diet To Go and was ready to sign up until I started asking questions about the ingredients that they use.

Nobody could give me a satisfactory answer. I was told by the rep @ my gym that the ingredients were all from "local sources" and implied that the ingredients were organic. When I inquired about high fructose corn syrup and trans fats, she had no idea what I was talking about.

When I called the corporate office in Virginia, I was told that the ingredients are purchased primarily from Sysco - completely different answer than the info that I was getting from the local reps who just wanted to sign me up as quickly as possible.

I would not recommend these meals to anyone who is trying to be healthy.

posted Jun 4th, 2010 8:08 pm


Joy Hannan

I'm so sad to have to write this review, I was really looking forward to being a Diet to Go fan, and was very excited to get my first week of food.... I just threw away $150.00 worth of food right in the trash. I have to say it was the worst tasting and smelling food I've ever had. All the bread products had terrible odors, and the spices were very overpowering. Anything with meat was plain scary. I tried with all my might to eat the meals, but they all ended up in the trash, along with my house and frig smelling worse than a hospital cafeteria trash can. Sorry Diets to Go, but that was the worst money I have spent in a long time, shame on me for giving you my hard earned for slop!!!

posted Jun 1st, 2010 8:33 pm


Peggy C

This food is horrible. The bread is dry, smashed, and the food is horrible. I am so disappointed and the customer service department is just as bad as the food. I encourage you to steer away from this company.

posted May 20th, 2010 7:38 pm


Lori

I highly recommend Diet to Go. I'm on week 3 of the 1200 calorie/day, 3 meals for 5 days plan. In addition to losing 6 lbs, I feel better than I have in ages. The food is flavorful and satisfying. I can't add anything new to what's already been said. If you are on the fence about it, give it a one-week trial. There is no contract, and you can cancel after one week if you don't like it.

posted May 6th, 2010 12:13 pm


Terri

Agree with the mixed reviews. Overall it is better than ediets Fresh delivery. The foods are fresh and you aren't worried about what happened to them in shipping. Food is orders and orders of magnitude better than Nutrisystem (inedible cardboard). Only complaint was the breads which had an odd taste and seemed pick up odors and flavors from other foods (as most breads kept in a refrigerator do). They should try to find a better way to package the breads and muffiins to keep them from picking up flavors and odors from other foods.

Had problems because I have food allergies to onions and garlic and there were few options that didn't cause problems. Most of the sub meals had one or the other. On the plus side the meals were very tasty. The only negative was the gym cooler. It was not kept clean. And they reuse the big plastic bags that hold all the meals. Which means they go home to someone elses' house and then are brought back. Who knows where folks keep them? Next to their garbage cans/by the dog's leash, etc. Would feel better having a fresh and clean bag.

posted May 5th, 2010 10:23 pm


frustrated

Got a gift certificate. I was excited to start but now I am only frustrated. It took forever to understand how it works and what the options were with the gift certificate. Then the person who gave me the gift had to pa more money because the plan they sold them wasn't enough to cover any of their plans! I received calls requesting contact information for the person that paid for the gift certificate because they claimed this person had not paid yet!!!! I had a certificate in my hand but they claimed they had NOT been paid? I asked if the company gave out gift certs for free. But I received no answer. The credit card had already been charged, but they claimed they had NOT been paid...., bottom line terrible customer service. It seems the right hand does not know what the left is doing.
Twice I went to pick up my meals and twice there was nothing at the gym for me. 20 min drive and nothing!
It is now a week and numerous phone calls later and I still have no meals. I am not impressed with this company so far.
We requested the money be returned because we are so unsatisfied.
But we were told we would not get the money back!
Don't do business with these people!

posted May 4th, 2010 6:43 pm


Male user

Despite what they tell you, male users, be aware that you are second-class citizens to Diet To Go. My food pick-up location was a women's gym, and despite my concerns about it, they assured me that there would be no problem picking up my meals. Everything went smoothly for a few weeks, but yesterday I was asked to leave the gym and wait outside for someone to bring me the meals. A complaint to Diet-To-Go yielded a response that "in a couple of months, we'll have a new location you can go to" and no apology for the treatment -- on the contrary, they justified it as appropriate. So men, be prepared to be mistreated, despite the hefty price tag. I'd recommend another program if you value your dignity.

posted Apr 30th, 2010 10:38 am


Shirley Turnbo

This is only my first full day on the plan. Dinner last night, good. Today, breakfast, different - Veggie for breakfast and omlet, good.

posted Apr 17th, 2010 12:31 pm


denise

The food is so good. I was sort of proud that I am eating nutrionally sound food and it is good. Lost 73 pounds! I have tried the low-carb, the low fat 1200 and the low fat 1600. The 1600 was a lot of food, now I am back to 1200 calories. My principal at my school got me on it and she has lost about 100 pounds. Everyday she comes in with her meals and she sometimes brag on what she has to eat. I went away for a while, but now I am back to eating healthy way with Diet to Go. It will probably be the thing that will help me most over the long haul. I am on 5 day now but will switch to 7 day in a week or so. The food is wonderful.

posted Apr 8th, 2010 6:22 pm


Nick M.

I lost 23 pounds on nutrisystem. it was a miserable experience adding water to the cardboard-tasting food..yuck! had a baby. need to lose those 23 again plus 10. was about to got back to NS but saw diets-to-go. Website was terrible..but i thought i'd give it a try. On the 1200 low-fat menu - Fabulous food, fast delivery, keeps me full all day. Lost five pounds without torturing myself emotionally. costs more than NS but then NS made you buy all this supplemental food...I will continue with DTG until I reach my goal. 5 stars for food quality and taste - 3 stars for website (needs to be revamped).

posted Apr 5th, 2010 12:45 am


Barb

Poor customer service. The food is to salty raised by bp. Can't get anyone to respond to e-mail or phone calls.

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 3:55 pm


Michelle

I love this diet. I am using the low carb and I have only been on it for a week and i haven't had one bad meal yet. I've lost 5 pounds in the first week. I don't know why the review of the diet says that you have to add your own veggies, The low carb portion has veggies for every meal including breakfast. Very healthy and very filling. Ive never eaten so many vegetables in one day before!

posted Mar 9th, 2010 3:00 pm


justinnerd

I've always been skeptical of the diet meal delivery services, so when I saw Diet to Go I wasn't impressed, but when a friend recommended it I agreed to try it for a week. Well, now I'm on week 5 and still going strong. The food is surprisingly good even for a picky eater like me. The packaging needs some improvement in terms of identifying everything, but other than that is has been awesome. I'm down 10 lbs. and I have more energy than I've had in a long time. I notice that when I have a cheat day where I eat bad food I feel so terrible... I never realized how much better I would feel by eating more balanced healthy meals. On my way to running a 5k! I'm stoked!!

posted Feb 22nd, 2010 4:14 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account