Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

68%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 120 reviews

Diet to Go

Are you too busy to cook for yourself? Look no further.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Get started by saving with these Diet to Go Coupons
BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

IN-DEPTH REVIEW

DietsInReview.com's Chief Mom, Carmen Staicer, spent two weeks using the Diet to Go meal delivery service.

Learn more about her experience with the Diet to Go Frozen Meal Delivery.

"The first meal I sampled was turkey Salisbury steak with gravy, mashed potatoes, and whole green beans. I microwaved it and within five minutes I was sitting down to a hot, fresh, perfectly seasoned meal that completely satisfied me. It was filling, and in fact, I didn’t even finish the potatoes. My usual meal choices might involve a Lean Cuisine or other frozen meal, and I’m often left still hungry and scouring the kitchen an hour later. The Diet to Go meal removed that action from my life."

And hear about her experience with the Diet to Go Fresh Meal Delivery.

"I found the entire week of food to be outstanding in quality, taste and convenience. Many times, meals were accompanied by a piece of fresh fruit, a prepared yogurt smoothie, a roll, coleslaw, applesauce, or terra veggie chips. This truly led me to believe that if I were purchasing a week of food to be delivered to my house there would really be no need to visit the grocery – literally everything is contained in one inclusive package."

Get the final word on Diet to Go in Carmen's overview of both programs.

"I give Diet to Go two thumbs up. It’s a delicious, convenient, non-stressful way to plan your meals and stay within your selected calorie range."

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 9, 163 total comments)

Anywhat

Food is good (local plan) and filling. But it is filled with trans fat (partially hydrogenated vegetable oil.) Mail order customers, look at the ingredients list. If you pick up locally customer service will tell you they do not have access to ingredients list. But if you push they will admit that they do. I was told they would send them to me but they never arrived.

I posted a comment on the site in a response to an article stating that trans fat is the number one thing to avoid in the diet. I pointed out that trans fat is in many of their meals. It was deleted. They don't want you to know about this.

I signed up knowing about the trans fat because I was feeling desperate and as a vegetarian, there are few meal delivery options. I felt uneasy about the health risk but figured I would be on the diet for a short time only.

Then I discovered that the calorie counts on the website are not accurate. People started questioning the accuracy of calorie counts on the board and then I noticed a post from a month prior where someone questioned the Reuben's calorie count. Turns out, Diet to Go forgot to include the bread in the total. Still had not been corrected on the site.

I became suspicious and started scrutinizing closer. My weight loss had stalled when I began Diet to Go and I noticed a lot of posters on the board and online stated the same thing.

I started noticing that the food on my plate and the published numbers did not add up. For example, the pancake with sausage breakfast is listed as 195 calories and three grams of protein. I knew the sausage itself was 80 calories and 9 grams of protein. That left 115 calories for two pancakes, syrup and apple filling, which does not seem plausible. And why is the protein count so off?

Then I had the bean burrito. Two ten inch flour tortillas, one cup of refried bean/cheese mix, vegetables, salsa and mexican rice for 320 calories. The tortillas alone come to 440 calories. Add the beans, you are at 650 (nonfat refried beans used in calculation.) Not to mention rice and vegetables.

So then I looked at all of the meals that are shared by the traditional menu and vegetarian menu. I confirmed that they are the same meals with the same sides. 78% of the meals (31 out of 40) had caloric discrepancies of up to 290 calories per meal.

When I asked Diet to Go about this, they said there must be an occasional typo, but nothing to worry about, the weekly calorie counts are accurate.

70% is more than an occasional typo and daily totals are consistent with the sum of all meals which means that even if the discrepancies are typos, they are basing caloric totals on typos. So weekly totals can't be accurate.

I could still stand behind this company if they appeared to be concerned about the caloric discrepancies and vowed to recalculate and confirm calorie counts. But their lack of concern and insistence on sticking with the party line that there are a few typos but calorie counts are accurate paired with the fact that they obviously are trying to hide the fact that they use trans fats means I need to move on.

Also, be aware that the reason you see so many glowing reviews of this company's plan and so few criticisms is because they censor. Most of the bloggers you see online are affiliated with Diet to Go in some way. I read one blog that was critical of the food and she wrote that she had to change the entry titles to omit Diet to Go's name as a result of letters received from the company.

So food is good, it fills you up, but calorie counts are questionable and you are risking your health with the trans fat.

posted Jul 18th, 2010 2:53 pm


MrsH89

Convenient, reasonable and tasty.

posted Jul 14th, 2010 1:12 pm


Kay


For starters, my husband and I ordered the Low Carb plan. I was so looking forward to not having to plan meals, shop for groceries, do the cooking, cleaning, etc etc etc, and still have lovely, fresh, high-quality meals. Oh what a fantasy that was.

The truth is that, yes, we have lost weight - but that is mostly because we have yet to be able to choke down a single one of these trays of unappetizing, watery slop. Salads have been keeping us alive. For the expense of the plan, it's criminal to have to throw so much food away. Needless to say we have cancelled our standing order (and it IS a standing order, folks).

So what went wrong? The big, grievous sin is that these meals were never engineered to be frozen! Clearly what happens is that the meal is fully cooked at the diet-to-go facility, slopped on the tray, bagged while still hot (thus trapping all the steam), and then frozen (freezing the steam to melt out later as water when the meal is reheated). Any home cook knows this is an amateur-hour disaster. Any commercial preparer of frozen foods knows such a product line would never make it to the freezer case because the industry standard for frozen foods is "Individually Quick Frozen" technologies or IQF. With IQF, the individual components of the meal are frozen separately, under ideal conditions for that particular component, and are only combined together when the customer heats the meal. Google it, folks: It's STANDARD. But it's not what you get with diet-to-go. A previous reviewer mentioned these meals are worse than airline food - that is because even airline food follows the convention of keeping components separate until heated at the end!

Just so you know.

posted Jul 11th, 2010 8:34 am


MaryCatalano

I just finished my first week of meals and have to say, I'm delighted at how good they are! I'm a good cook and a food lover - and I say with all sincerity that this no sacrifice. The biggest challenge is keeping my 17 year old son from eating my food! He loves it too.

posted Jul 7th, 2010 5:43 pm


Liz

I thought Diet To Go had very good flavor and good variety. Their food was tasty, portions were good and I ate all the meals. What I missed was
having a mid morning and mid afternoon snack to hold me over to the next meal. I used my own healthy snacks instead, but it would be nice if they
provided these. I would use Diet To Go on a short term basic (2 to 3 weeks) to recalibrate my portions and do a quick reduction in calories, if I needed.

posted Jul 6th, 2010 10:38 am


Ofelia

The food, for the most part, is actually delicious! Also, even with the 1200 calorie meal plan, all meals are satisfying and don't leave you "grazing" for more.
The only problem is the customer service. I know it's because they're a very small company that does limited orders, but over the 2 months I have been ordering, there have been many instances where certain meal substitutions were not made or some meals were left out. But along with very moderate excercise 3-4 times a week, I have lost 20 lbs in 2 months! I am happy!

posted Jul 5th, 2010 11:06 pm


nikki

I have been using Diet to Go since April. I absolutely love it. I am a very picky eater so I love that I can see the menu beforehand and substitute stuff I know I won't like. I work a lot and really long hours, so for me Diet to Go was a convenience thing. Although I have not lost weight yet, I do feel healthier. The meals fill me up and I am not hungry after. I love that the meals are fresh and I literally just pop them in the microwave or oven, and I have dinner! The breakfasts are probably my favorite---waffles and syrup, blueberry pancakes and french toast. Honestly doesn't feel like a diet at all. I never write reviews for stuff, so that should speak for how much I love this plan.

posted Jun 28th, 2010 6:14 pm


Diet-to-Go

@Fizz
We apologize for any confusion, it must be frustrating to get different answers. At Diet-to-Go we are very picky when it comes to our purveyors, and only work with the best! Our ingredients are carefully selected with quality and value in mind. We use a combination of local and national suppliers?many of which are specialty operations such as Woods Cider Mill (Springfield, VT) for our apple cider jelly and Chugwater Chili Corp (Chugwater, Wy) for our chili spice. So instead of using just what??s available at the grocery store?we have found the best ingredients available. All fresh ingredients such as produce and poultry are brought in fresh from our local suppliers daily. We also have daily inspections by an official USDA representative.


@PeggyC
Thank for letting us know of your concerns, and we apologize for the negative customer service experience you had. Please contact us directly at service at diettogo dot com and we will immediately respond to you with a resolution.


@frustrated
We sincerely apologize, it sounds like there was a major confusion with this gift certificate. I can assure you that ordering and redeeming gift certificates with Diet-to-Go is usually extremely simple and very straight forward. For our customers convenience we offer gift certificates in ANY dollar amount they would like. This is so they can be ordered for a specific meal plan (such as for ??7 dinners?) or for just a flat amount (such as $50 to be applied towards any meal plan the redeemer chooses).
If your situation has not been resolved, please email service at diettogo dot com directly with a copy of this response and we will happily make the appropriate arrangements to refund the gift certificate.


@Male User
We are happy to update that this misunderstanding was resolved to everyone??s satisfaction! This facility was simply honoring a religious request of one of their patrons when they asked the gentlemen to wait outside.


@Barb
This is unusual to hear as we respond to all emails and voice mails in a very timely manner. Perhaps it was over the weekend that you contacted us and I really apologize for that frustration. We have worked very diligently at reducing the sodium in our meals and I can offer a link to some useful information about that: http://diettogo.com/all-about-sodium


@Sherry
We appreciate the feedback and really hope your experience turned out better than it started! We are in the process of creating better labels with detailed instructions for our mail order meals, and in the mean time we have some better instructions available on our website. We hope this is useful to you, and also feel free to contact us over the phone if you have any questions or would like any tips on specific meals: http://diettogo.com/mail-order-heating-instructions .

posted Jun 28th, 2010 10:27 am


Steve

I've lost 100 pounds using diet-to-go meals over the past 17 months. The food is great and folks at diet-to-go actually care and want me to succeed. You don't have to measure or keep track of calories, they do all of the work for you. The program is priced reasonably and it eliminates going shopping except for skim milk fruit and a few vegetables. I actually love the program and it most likely saved my life.

posted Jun 26th, 2010 3:27 pm


Abby Crowley

My son, husband and I lost a combined 166 pounts on Diet to Go (low fat, veggie and low carb). You cannot beat it for the quality of food, convenience and results. We took of the weight and are maintaining our losses (which is the hardest part according to many experts).

posted Jun 25th, 2010 3:26 pm


Cynthia Parrott

I have been receiving Diet To Go deliveries for about a month now. I originally ordered out of curiousity because I was looking for a healthy meal plan to recommend to some of my clients. I also wanted to take off the few pounds I gained in the past year before my vacation at the beach. I selected the 1200 calorie Vegetarian Plan. My intention was to give it try for a week but I am so pleased with the food that I keep having the meals shipped weekly. The food is delicious ( more carbs than I am usually accustomed to) but overall, completely satisfying. I have lost about 10 pounds but my main focus is not the weight loss...it is the convenience. I work long hours, don't really have much time to grocery shop and because I live alone, despise cooking for one! I spend too much money on take out and Diet to Go is perfect for me. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is all set, I don't have to think...I just pop it in the oven or the microwave and I am good to go!!! I never have to think about shopping, cooking and I don't cave to pizza or chinese takeout as a last resort because I know I have everything right in my freezer. I am loving it!!!

posted Jun 25th, 2010 3:23 pm


Donna

I used Diet to Go twice, after both my pregnancies. I was 230 pounds a month after my first son was born. Six months later, I was 182!! I haven't been below 200 since I got married 14 years ago. I was at 209 after my second pregnancy and it took only three months to get down to my pre-pregnancy weight! I was on the 1600 calorie low-fat plan. One of the things I loved about that plan was the individual items that you can use to space out your day. I would save my pudding or fruit for a mid-afternoon snack. I was full enough from the entree not to miss it! The flavor and texture of all the meals was just like I had cooked it. I took their recommendation on heating the rolls and bread in a slightly damp paper towel and it came out steamy and delicious. Another amazing thing about this program is the sheer variety. I don't have 35 different dinners that I make but they do! Of course, I didn't like all of them on their menu but it was hard to complain with Steak and Potatoes on the substitution menu! But I will forever be grateful to Diet to Go for adjusting my perspective on food and portion size. My oldest son just turned four, my twin babies will be two in October. I have NEVER put my weight back on. Holidays and vacation may add one or two pounds but I know now what my body should be getting and the difference between a treat and a gastric disaster. If there is any doubt in your mind about trying this program, please put it aside for a week or two. That's yet another of the differences between Diet to Go and other plans. You don't have to get a month's worth of food sitting in your freezer that you don't want to eat. Try the plan, taste the food for yourself. There's no way I can describe in words how amazing the chicken alfredo pizza is (alfredo sauce on a diet plan!!) or how juicy and tender the italian chicken is. You've got to try it for yourself. There is nothing better you can do for yourself than lose weight and Diet to Go makes it VERY easy!!

posted Jun 25th, 2010 2:34 pm


Mike

Overall I was very satisfied with diet-to-go. The preparation of seafood meals was excellent and I never felt hungry. As a male the 1600 calorie diet was good and filling, especially when I ate a good breakfast on my own.

posted Jun 25th, 2010 2:08 pm


Maurina Rachuba

I have been on the Diet to Go regime for 4 months, and have lost over 30 lbs. Overall, I have found the quality excellent, and the food itself very good, with great flavor. Most of the dishes are comparable to nicer restaurant fare. Customer service has been great. There have been a couple of times where a meal was missing, but DTG responded quickly, by crediting the money for that meal, and apologizing for the inconvenience. I'm glad to support a local company, and will be sticking with the plan for another 30 lbs.

posted Jun 25th, 2010 8:00 am


John McGran

I have been using Diet-to-Go on and off since 2001 and I have always loved the food and I always lose weight while eating great. Customer service -- online and via phone -- make it so easy to switch plans and make substitutions. I am on Day 17 of my latest diet with Diet-to-Go and I lost 10.6 lbs my first two weeks! The ease and convenience makes this program amazingly simple to follow. And I find it much cheaper than eating breakfast and lunch at restaurants! I have tried both their Low-Fat and Low-Carb plans (they also offer vegetarian). The two programs I've followed have both been amazingly delicious and satisfying.

posted Jun 25th, 2010 7:46 am


fizz

I REALLY wanted to use Diet To Go and was ready to sign up until I started asking questions about the ingredients that they use.

Nobody could give me a satisfactory answer. I was told by the rep @ my gym that the ingredients were all from "local sources" and implied that the ingredients were organic. When I inquired about high fructose corn syrup and trans fats, she had no idea what I was talking about.

When I called the corporate office in Virginia, I was told that the ingredients are purchased primarily from Sysco - completely different answer than the info that I was getting from the local reps who just wanted to sign me up as quickly as possible.

I would not recommend these meals to anyone who is trying to be healthy.

posted Jun 4th, 2010 8:08 pm


Joy Hannan

I'm so sad to have to write this review, I was really looking forward to being a Diet to Go fan, and was very excited to get my first week of food.... I just threw away $150.00 worth of food right in the trash. I have to say it was the worst tasting and smelling food I've ever had. All the bread products had terrible odors, and the spices were very overpowering. Anything with meat was plain scary. I tried with all my might to eat the meals, but they all ended up in the trash, along with my house and frig smelling worse than a hospital cafeteria trash can. Sorry Diets to Go, but that was the worst money I have spent in a long time, shame on me for giving you my hard earned for slop!!!

posted Jun 1st, 2010 8:33 pm


Peggy C

This food is horrible. The bread is dry, smashed, and the food is horrible. I am so disappointed and the customer service department is just as bad as the food. I encourage you to steer away from this company.

posted May 20th, 2010 7:38 pm


Lori

I highly recommend Diet to Go. I'm on week 3 of the 1200 calorie/day, 3 meals for 5 days plan. In addition to losing 6 lbs, I feel better than I have in ages. The food is flavorful and satisfying. I can't add anything new to what's already been said. If you are on the fence about it, give it a one-week trial. There is no contract, and you can cancel after one week if you don't like it.

posted May 6th, 2010 12:13 pm


Terri

Agree with the mixed reviews. Overall it is better than ediets Fresh delivery. The foods are fresh and you aren't worried about what happened to them in shipping. Food is orders and orders of magnitude better than Nutrisystem (inedible cardboard). Only complaint was the breads which had an odd taste and seemed pick up odors and flavors from other foods (as most breads kept in a refrigerator do). They should try to find a better way to package the breads and muffiins to keep them from picking up flavors and odors from other foods.

Had problems because I have food allergies to onions and garlic and there were few options that didn't cause problems. Most of the sub meals had one or the other. On the plus side the meals were very tasty. The only negative was the gym cooler. It was not kept clean. And they reuse the big plastic bags that hold all the meals. Which means they go home to someone elses' house and then are brought back. Who knows where folks keep them? Next to their garbage cans/by the dog's leash, etc. Would feel better having a fresh and clean bag.

posted May 5th, 2010 10:23 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account