Home > Diets > Calorie Counting Diet Navigation    
User Rating

32%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 163 reviews
Diet to Go

Diet-to-Go Diet Review: Does it Work?

A leading meal delivery diet with a new approach to its healthy menu offerings.

Top Rated Diets of 2016
What is it?

Diet-to-Go is a meal delivery service offering low calorie foods for weight loss. It offers personalized portion controlled foods that are claimed to be tasty and made according to one’s preferences.

There are 3 different menus offered which are dependent on if one is limiting carbohydrates, concerned about diabetes, or want the basic meal plan. It claims to be a convenient way to have foods prepared, and different locations are available for pickup as well as direct delivery. In reviewing many different diet plans our experts found that the best was the 18Shake Diet. It’s made up of a natural meal replacement and stimulant free diet pill. Both have been rated highly by users due to their weight loss results. More information about the 18Shake Diet can be read about via the link here.

Do You Know the Best Diets of 2016??

Diet-to-GoDiet Ingredients and Side Effects

The company does not offer a list of the ingredients used, only some of the sample menu items. The kinds of foods one will eat according to the standard meal plan include:

         • Bistro chicken salad.

         • Barbecue chicken.

         • Turkey picadillo.

         • Orange roughy fish.

         • Whole wheat bagel.

         • Kale & swiss frittata.

There are several different food options, but without knowing the ingredients it’s impossible to determine the overall quality. It’s known that the foods are flash frozen to help preserve quality. This means that one can heat up their foods using a microwave where no other preparation is needed.

There are also 3 different plans offered:

• Balance: This is the standard meal plan that the company has been using for over 20 years. It offers vegetarian and seafood free options. It’s said to be formulated with the guidance of chefs and nutritionists. According to the manufacturers, this is their most popular option.

• Balance Diabetes: This is made under the guidelines proposed by the American Diabetes Association. This is meant for those who have type-2 diabetes, or who are concerned about regulating their blood sugar. It has a balanced ratio of carbohydrates, and it’s made for people looking to lose between 5 to 10 pounds. It offers fewer carbohydrates than the Balance option.

• Carb30: Only 30 net carbohydrates are offered per meal. Net carbohydrates are calculated when one subtracts the carbohydrates from the fiber in a food. There’s no sugar, fruit, bread, or other carbohydrates offered. The kinds of meals are heavy on protein and it includes pork chip breakfast, beef short ribs, chicken alfredo, Indian turkey tenderloin, andouille sausage, and much more. It tends to be more based on meat dishes.

The kinds of foods allowed range from protein rich meats to burgers, pastas, fruits, and egg based dishes. The premise of the diet is simple; introduce reduced calorie meals that only have to be heated. Since men and women’s options are available, the difference in calories may result in weight loss. This is because one is receiving less than the standard 2,000 calories a day as is often suggested in US based nutrition facts panels. The highest ranked diet plans are made available when you click the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this diet with a proven meal replacement such as 18 Shake for better results.

Diet-to-GoDiet Quality of Ingredients

No ingredients listing is offered, it is known however from the reviews of customers that the quality of foods is poor. Some have mentioned that there’s a large amount of things like sodium, sugars, and fats added. It’s impossible to verify the official amount without first seeing a nutrition facts list. There were disgruntled customers that didn’t know that the nutritional profile would be so high in unwanted ingredients.

It’s not a sign of quality when you’re unable to know what you will be eating before it’s served. This makes it impossible to determine if one will have issues with any food allergies, health considerations, or simply wants to limit certain additives. The official website does mention:

“you can order with confidenceknowing there are no surprises; just fresh, healthy, delicious meals”

It’s impossible to verify if these claims are true however, without examining the ingredients list. The link cited here has a list of the highest rated diet plans.

The Price and Quality of Diet-to-Go Diet

The price depends on the specific plan chosen. There’s a vegetarian, seafood free, and a men’s and women’s version. The men’s offers 1,600 calories; the women’s has 1,200 calories a day. Limiting calories this much can be hard to do if one isn’t receiving high quality protein and fiber.

You can select either a weeks or 5 days’ worth of meals, orwhether you want 3 meals a day or 2.

The price for a total of 3 meals a day for a full week in the original “Balance” diet for men’s is $183.59 per week. This can be broken down into 51 meals for a cost of each meal being $3.59.

This is a standard price for what one might pay for a standard frozen meal. Many customers who have tried this diet plan have referred to it as being like any other frozen meal as well. Without knowing exactly what kinds of ingredients are used it’s impossible to determine the overall quality. The top 10 ranked diet plans list is offered in the link provided here.

Business of Diet-to-Go Diet

The name of the company is also Diet-to-Go; they can be contacted via the following:

Phone Number: (800)743-7546

Email: support@diettogo.com

The company offers a credit for any food that was spoiled, impaired, or damaged if it’s a result of shipping. They do not allow returns and do not return money, only a credit is allowed.

They do claim to offer a refund of shipping cost if one is dissatisfied, but some have said they do not honor this.

The company has teamed up with certain gyms and convenience stores where one can pick up their foods. They also offer direct shipments nationwide via its frozen foods.

There were also complaints against the company:

“woman I talked to was very rude and said that I was cancelling late”

“They make it impossible for a refund”

“lack of customer service”

“asked them on Tuesday to cancel my second pick-up and pro-rate the cost, but they did neither, nor did they even respond to me”

There were issues due to a lack of communication and concerns about a lack of a refund. Many said that the customer service people were rude, and that the managers were unhelpful. Some found the company unreliable as well. For a comprehensive top 10 list of diets follow the link here.

EDITOR’S TIP: The top 10 list of the best diets is available here.

Customer Opinions of Diet-to-Go Diet

Here are some direct quotes from customers:

“90% of the meals delivered to me have literally been inedible”

“breakfasts were more like desert. One breakfast meal had 43 grams of sugar”

“claim it’s all freshly made that week and shipped out to you, yet it’s frozen and looked to be such for at least a couple of weeks”

“You will lose weightbecause you won’t want to eat any of the mushy, horrible food”

The major compliant from people was that the food offered is inedible and offered in small portions. Several reviews can be found online of dissatisfied customers. There was also concern that the foods seemed dated, and that they were no longer fresh. Pictures of the foods did show them to be in small portions and not very appetizing. People who tried many of the foods often said that the majority were difficult to eat.

People described the taste as being artificial, like a TV dinner, and processed. For a comprehensive listing of the highest rated diet plans click the link here.

Conclusion - Does Diet-to-Go Diet  Work?

The Diet-to-Go diet is made to help provide weight loss via a ready to heat series of direct delivered frozen and freshly made foods. If one lives near a center they even offer unfrozen foods, and support is offered for men, women, vegetarians, and those with carbohydrate limits or blood sugar concerns. Many users have said that the quality of food is poor, and the portions are too small to be satisfying. The calories are controlled which is good, but it’s unknown what’s inside of these dishes as no ingredients listing is offered. Customers have also criticized the quality of service and food. People mention that the company is unhelpful and does not schedule returns for what they found to be inedible frozen food.

Our experts have analyzed several diets and have found the most effective one for weight loss is the 18Shake Diet.It provides a combination of a meal replacement and diet pill. They help to suppress appetite for hours, while promoting potent fat burning effects. Both have only natural ingredients and are free of stimulants, artificial additives, binders, fillers, colors, or cheap thickeners. Many customers have left positive testimonials and reviews on the official website as well.

The 18Shake Diet is fully supported by a full 30 day money back return policy. All purchases are backed by this risk free no questions asked policy. Learn more information about the 18Shake Diet when you visit the link here.

How Does Diet to Go Compare?
  • Product Name
  • User Rating
  • Easy to follow
  • Cheap Price
  • Fast Results
  • Diet to Go
  • 32 /100


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 8 of 10, 186 total comments)

Peggy C

-

This food is horrible. The bread is dry, smashed, and the food is horrible. I am so disappointed and the customer service department is just as bad as the food. I encourage you to steer away from this company.

posted May 20th, 2010 7:38 pm


Lori

I highly recommend Diet to Go. I'm on week 3 of the 1200 calorie/day, 3 meals for 5 days plan. In addition to losing 6 lbs, I feel better than I have in ages. The food is flavorful and satisfying. I can't add anything new to what's already been said. If you are on the fence about it, give it a one-week trial. There is no contract, and you can cancel after one week if you don't like it.

posted May 6th, 2010 12:13 pm


Terri

+

Agree with the mixed reviews. Overall it is better than ediets Fresh delivery. The foods are fresh and you aren't worried about what happened to them in shipping. Food is orders and orders of magnitude better than Nutrisystem (inedible cardboard). Only complaint was the breads which had an odd taste and seemed pick up odors and flavors from other foods (as most breads kept in a refrigerator do). They should try to find a better way to package the breads and muffiins to keep them from picking up flavors and odors from other foods.

Had problems because I have food allergies to onions and garlic and there were few options that didn't cause problems. Most of the sub meals had one or the other. On the plus side the meals were very tasty. The only negative was the gym cooler. It was not kept clean. And they reuse the big plastic bags that hold all the meals. Which means they go home to someone elses' house and then are brought back. Who knows where folks keep them? Next to their garbage cans/by the dog's leash, etc. Would feel better having a fresh and clean bag.

posted May 5th, 2010 10:23 pm


frustrated

-

Got a gift certificate. I was excited to start but now I am only frustrated. It took forever to understand how it works and what the options were with the gift certificate. Then the person who gave me the gift had to pa more money because the plan they sold them wasn't enough to cover any of their plans! I received calls requesting contact information for the person that paid for the gift certificate because they claimed this person had not paid yet!!!! I had a certificate in my hand but they claimed they had NOT been paid? I asked if the company gave out gift certs for free. But I received no answer. The credit card had already been charged, but they claimed they had NOT been paid...., bottom line terrible customer service. It seems the right hand does not know what the left is doing.
Twice I went to pick up my meals and twice there was nothing at the gym for me. 20 min drive and nothing!
It is now a week and numerous phone calls later and I still have no meals. I am not impressed with this company so far.
We requested the money be returned because we are so unsatisfied.
But we were told we would not get the money back!
Don't do business with these people!

posted May 4th, 2010 6:43 pm


Male user

Despite what they tell you, male users, be aware that you are second-class citizens to Diet To Go. My food pick-up location was a women's gym, and despite my concerns about it, they assured me that there would be no problem picking up my meals. Everything went smoothly for a few weeks, but yesterday I was asked to leave the gym and wait outside for someone to bring me the meals. A complaint to Diet-To-Go yielded a response that "in a couple of months, we'll have a new location you can go to" and no apology for the treatment -- on the contrary, they justified it as appropriate. So men, be prepared to be mistreated, despite the hefty price tag. I'd recommend another program if you value your dignity.

posted Apr 30th, 2010 10:38 am


Shirley Turnbo

+

This is only my first full day on the plan. Dinner last night, good. Today, breakfast, different - Veggie for breakfast and omlet, good.

posted Apr 17th, 2010 12:31 pm


denise

+

The food is so good. I was sort of proud that I am eating nutrionally sound food and it is good. Lost 73 pounds! I have tried the low-carb, the low fat 1200 and the low fat 1600. The 1600 was a lot of food, now I am back to 1200 calories. My principal at my school got me on it and she has lost about 100 pounds. Everyday she comes in with her meals and she sometimes brag on what she has to eat. I went away for a while, but now I am back to eating healthy way with Diet to Go. It will probably be the thing that will help me most over the long haul. I am on 5 day now but will switch to 7 day in a week or so. The food is wonderful.

posted Apr 8th, 2010 6:22 pm


Nick M.

+

I lost 23 pounds on nutrisystem. it was a miserable experience adding water to the cardboard-tasting food..yuck! had a baby. need to lose those 23 again plus 10. was about to got back to NS but saw diets-to-go. Website was terrible..but i thought i'd give it a try. On the 1200 low-fat menu - Fabulous food, fast delivery, keeps me full all day. Lost five pounds without torturing myself emotionally. costs more than NS but then NS made you buy all this supplemental food...I will continue with DTG until I reach my goal. 5 stars for food quality and taste - 3 stars for website (needs to be revamped).

posted Apr 5th, 2010 12:45 am


Barb

-

Poor customer service. The food is to salty raised by bp. Can't get anyone to respond to e-mail or phone calls.

posted Mar 23rd, 2010 3:55 pm


Michelle

+

I love this diet. I am using the low carb and I have only been on it for a week and i haven't had one bad meal yet. I've lost 5 pounds in the first week. I don't know why the review of the diet says that you have to add your own veggies, The low carb portion has veggies for every meal including breakfast. Very healthy and very filling. Ive never eaten so many vegetables in one day before!

posted Mar 9th, 2010 3:00 pm


justinnerd

+

I've always been skeptical of the diet meal delivery services, so when I saw Diet to Go I wasn't impressed, but when a friend recommended it I agreed to try it for a week. Well, now I'm on week 5 and still going strong. The food is surprisingly good even for a picky eater like me. The packaging needs some improvement in terms of identifying everything, but other than that is has been awesome. I'm down 10 lbs. and I have more energy than I've had in a long time. I notice that when I have a cheat day where I eat bad food I feel so terrible... I never realized how much better I would feel by eating more balanced healthy meals. On my way to running a 5k! I'm stoked!!

posted Feb 22nd, 2010 4:14 pm


bridget

+

I just started the DTG program today...and so far both of the meals are FANTASTIC. I normally do the lean cuisine or smart ones for lunch, but today i had DTG Mexican pizza and rice...very good. Apple pancakes and soy sausage (im doing the vegetarian plan) for breakfast was awesome as well. So far so good! lovin it.

posted Jan 22nd, 2010 1:33 pm


Ally

+

I tried the traditional, 1200 cal plan for 2 weeks and then switched to the veg. 1200 (just started) b/c I felt the traditional was a bit too heavy on the carbs and I didn't care for some of the food choices. So far I'm enjoying the veg options. It's quick and easy as I'm on the go so much. I found the first few meals I was starving and as I became use to the meals, my stomach shrank and I wasn't able to finish the portions. Make sure you're drinking lots of water and you can add some fruit or nuts to the mix, too. Just be smart about it. Good luck to all!

posted Jan 12th, 2010 9:05 pm


Meredith

+

I was on Diet to Go for several months, and I definitely lost weight when I stuck to the program. The vegetarian plan had delicious food and lots of variety, unlike other meal delivery plans. I used the local pickup option (DC area) and the food was fresh and wonderful! I highly recommend Diet to Go.

posted Jan 5th, 2010 11:21 pm


sherry

-

So far so bad....bad directions on heating and the food will help loose weight...because of the taste:>(
Really disappointed thus far will comment later in week
Only positive was the customer service.

posted Jan 5th, 2010 8:05 pm


claudia

+

I have to say that on a scale of 1-10, I give diets to go between 8.5-9. I have only been onthe diet for two weeks and lost about 3lbs. That's my fault ,(not exercising enough) not the meal plan. I've been on the low fat traditional plan. The food has been quite tasty and not salty for me, as other have said. It does seem to be heavy on the carbs. The only negative I can say is sometimes the bread on the sandwiches are slightly soggy since everything is frozen. Delivery has been great the staff during the purchase process was very cordial and food is packed with great care. This diet plan is worth a try. I want try the low carb diet next

posted Nov 12th, 2009 10:50 pm


MaryAnn

+

I tried this and was very pleased with the food choices and the meals themselves. Diet-to0Go does a very nice job and makes successful dieting almost painless.

posted Oct 26th, 2009 8:49 pm


Justin

+

I'm a big fan of their food. I recommend it to just about everyone that wants to lose weight but isn't good at controlling portion size. That is the hardest part about dieting in my experience.

posted Oct 15th, 2009 4:53 pm


Marie

+

I've been on 1200 calorie Diet-to-Go for 3 months. I've lost a total of 23 lbs. I have exercised strenuously at least 5 days a week during this period. An important note, I am very sensitive to sodium which typically causes water retention. This has been apparent with other diet programs; however, with Diet-to-Go, I have had no water retention at all. I'm going to continue until I reach my goal. The cost is worth it to me.

posted Aug 4th, 2009 12:43 pm


tonya

+

It's only my first week and I like it. I'm ecstatic that the food is preseasoned. I don't add anything to it. The food looks awesome and is fresh. I only get 5 days so that I can mix in other meals from my home. It's a great balance. I was on a 7 day plan with another diet company. I found that dinner parties and cravings made me lose money because I didn't eat the diet plan food. I also change the meals around. I usually get 2 or 3 days of food. I may have Friday's dinner on Wednesday and it allows for substitution of whole meals. It's awesome.

posted Jul 8th, 2009 7:30 am



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2016?

BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by

USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

The food was way better than what I had anticipated. I’m really glad that DTG is very affordable. I can finally experience a meal replacement program that consists of real food. -- Jemay Cinco

I was not disappointed. I real like the meal selections. Works great for me. -- FITGURL

I have really enjoyed just about every single meal I have had this week … I lost 1.5 pounds in 3 days and I love the convenience. I would recommend to anyone sitting on the fence. -- Jenny

Well-balanced meals that are extremely convenient. I can't figure out how they manage to keep the vegetables so fresh, though they do. -- Lori Jo Vest

Related Diets: Bistro MD, Medifast , Nutrisystem, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Chefs Diet, DineWise, The Fresh Diet

Whats better than
Diet to Go?