Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

70%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 114 reviews

Diet to Go

Are you too busy to cook for yourself? Look no further.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Get started by saving with these Diet to Go Coupons
BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

IN-DEPTH REVIEW

DietsInReview.com's Chief Mom, Carmen Staicer, spent two weeks using the Diet to Go meal delivery service.

Learn more about her experience with the Diet to Go Frozen Meal Delivery.

"The first meal I sampled was turkey Salisbury steak with gravy, mashed potatoes, and whole green beans. I microwaved it and within five minutes I was sitting down to a hot, fresh, perfectly seasoned meal that completely satisfied me. It was filling, and in fact, I didn’t even finish the potatoes. My usual meal choices might involve a Lean Cuisine or other frozen meal, and I’m often left still hungry and scouring the kitchen an hour later. The Diet to Go meal removed that action from my life."

And hear about her experience with the Diet to Go Fresh Meal Delivery.

"I found the entire week of food to be outstanding in quality, taste and convenience. Many times, meals were accompanied by a piece of fresh fruit, a prepared yogurt smoothie, a roll, coleslaw, applesauce, or terra veggie chips. This truly led me to believe that if I were purchasing a week of food to be delivered to my house there would really be no need to visit the grocery – literally everything is contained in one inclusive package."

Get the final word on Diet to Go in Carmen's overview of both programs.

"I give Diet to Go two thumbs up. It’s a delicious, convenient, non-stressful way to plan your meals and stay within your selected calorie range."

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 5 of 8, 155 total comments)

Amie

I was kind of scared to try the food, but then I tried the food. I must say I don't like their breakfast at all, so I recommend the lunch and dinner plan! The food is actually amazing.. and tonight I had the Tomato Veggie Pie.. IT WAS SO GOOD!. What I usually do is cook the food and plate it so that I don't feel like I'm eating a tv dinner. I'm on the 1200 low fat traditional and so far lost 3 lbs.. with working out I plan on dropping more. Its only been the first week.

The best part of this program is I don't have to cook or plan what I have to eat next. It is turnkey. I'm going to call them on Monday and reorder the lunch and dinner plan :)

posted Jan 10th, 2011 1:43 am



Rebeccac

I started my plan yesterday. The packaged arrived as planned and although I didn't get my order until 5PM everything in the package was frozen solid. I was anxious to get started on my plan and I had three meals yesterday. I thought the taste was excellent. The food is seasoned nicely and I enjoyed every bite. I am on the 1200 calorie plan and I was more than satisfied. I was not hungry after the three meals. I like my sweets so I am happy to see that they treat you with a pudding, muffin, etc. at times. It covers all the food groups and I feel I am now eating healthier than I did on the other diet plan I was on. I will eating more vegetables than I usually do while following this plan, and I believe it will help me to learn to eat healthy. The breads are wonderful and I enjoy them toasted. I can't wait for the Omelette Pomodoro with Sicilian Spiced Asparagus. I am microwaving my dinners but I have a choice of heating them in the oven when I am making food for my family. I don't mind eating it from the package it came in, but I have the choice of serving it on my dinnerware when eating with others. I think the food is presented in a healthy and delightful way. I really enjoyed that. I am looking forward to trying new meals each day and losing the pounds I need to shed. I also like the fact that I can substitute a different meal if there is one that I am not fond of. I can't say enough about Diet-To-Go. It is definately for me.

posted Nov 18th, 2010 3:51 pm


Cindy wilkinson

These meals have been a godsend for us. My husband works away from home 5 days a week and started diet to go about a month ago. This keeps him eating healthy and away from fast food. Being a meat and potatoes guy I didn't expect him to like it so much. He's lot 13 pounds already and his cholesterol fell 18 points! I have to hide my meals from my teenagers at home. I highly recommend this plan for it's delicious convenience!

posted Nov 18th, 2010 2:06 pm


Want my $ back

I didn't like the first week of food or service I purchased. I didn't clearly understand I needed to cancel my "adding a note in the comments section of my order" even though I went on their website mulitple times to check my customer status and see if I would be receiving future orders. After no communication from the company, I received another shipment of food that I was forced to pay for. It came partially defrosted and I don't care for most of the selections. After numerous requests to refund my money and to send the food back, I've been given no resolve.

I don't recommend this service as you have no way out. You feel trapped into their membership and to eat the overpriced, underseasoned, often mushy food. The meals aren't packaged together so you are forced to juggle a roll out of one wrapper to go with a soup in another ... And after what I have read in regards to the trans fats, it's forced me to take another look at their ingredients and nutritional content!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommend you save your money and find another diet resource

posted Nov 4th, 2010 9:54 pm


Ripped off

First of all, the food is terrible. And I eat practically anything. My wife and I are vegetarians and we opted for the low-fat vegetarian food. It is neither low-fat, and calling it vegetarian is a stretch. First of all it is filled with cheese. Tons of cheese. We were told that they would make sure our meals have very little cheese. A complete lie. Customer service is a nightmare. We have been on the plan for 4 weeks and after the first week we have received from half orders to none at all. No one on customer service gives you a straight answer and you have to run through hoops to get someone to talk to you. They are very eager to get you to sign on, but once you're on the program, the customer service is as s*** as their food. If you check the ingredient list, this food is full to transfat, and other useless chemicals. Sometimes when I heat the food, especially their veggie patties, the house smells of a chemical for the whole day. A lot of their food feels unhealthy while you're chewing it. Making good tasty food that is not high in calories really doesn't take all these additives. Or so much cheese. I have not seen any significant weight loss. I fluctuate 5lb all year round and if I did lose weight I wouldn't attribute it to Diet To Go. If anyone is thinking of trying this, I would whole-heartedly suggest looking at other options. There is a reason these people are so cheap!!

posted Nov 3rd, 2010 11:03 pm


Denise

I just received my first week shipment of the 5 day lunch and dinner 1600 calorie traditional in the mail. Everything came perfectly and I was more then impressed. i have tried three meals so far and all three are AMAZING! i am a fast food junkie and a volume eater as well. i cant even finish the dinner i just made because it is so much food. it is very tasty-seasoned very well and i look forward to receiving my next week plan. i already called customer service to change to the 7 day value plan 1200 calorie plan. if you are considering other programs like ediets which i have tried before and wasnt thrilled with it and it costs more then this plan-then give it a try. Nutrisystem tastes like cardboard garbage and who knows whats pumped into that stuff. I will update again after i try next weeks plan! GREAT SERVICE GREAT FOOD AND PRICED RIGHT!!

posted Sep 23rd, 2010 5:44 pm


jean sapere

I have been on many different diets in my life, but Diet to Go is the best ever! The variety of food, the quality, and the price is a step above any other diet. I get the fresh food low fat option, and have enjoyed immensely every single meal. I am never hungry. I haven't even been to the food store since I've started which saves me even more money. My BFF has been on the diet for several months and convinced me to try this--now we both rave about every time we talk. Thank you to both my BFF and DTG!

posted Aug 31st, 2010 3:34 pm


Beth

I've been on Diet to Go for almost four months now and as of this morning, I've lost 31 pounds. I basically had given up on trying to lose weight. Nothing ever worked and I ended up feeling worse and weighing more than before. I found DTG online and thought I'd given it a shot and thank God I did.

I'm not a great cook, and work long hours. That's what makes DTG perfect for me -- I pick up my food locally twice a week (just a few blocks from my home) and then I'm set. No decisions about what to cook (or for me -- what fast food drive-thru to hit on the way home) and how much to eat. The portions are sensible and other than the first week that I started, I haven't felt hungry and unsatisfied.

I've found the customer service to be great. The company responds quickly if I have a question and has made all of the changes I've requested. In fact, when the delivery contained one less meal, I called and they applied a credit to my next week's order AND told me what to substitute in its place to match the calorie content.

I'm actually saving money with the plan because before I started DTG, I'd go to the grocery store once a week and buy tons of junk, or worse, healthy food that would go bad because I never had the time or inclination to cook it. I'd pay additional money for breakfast and lunch (usually junk) near my office and could easily spend more than what I'm spending each week with DTG.

This has literally been a lifesaver for me. I still have a long way to go to reach my goal, but at least with Diet to Go I have the tools I need to reach that goal. I actually feel hopeful for the first time in a long time.

posted Aug 27th, 2010 9:48 am


Jake

I was impressed with the variety and appearance of the meal choices. Also, the offering of meals specifically targeted for special dietary needs. The plan is flexible and the information provided on the website and FB blog is encouraging and helpful. I wish your company every success. Compared to dining out, or trying to concoct your own gourmet meals after a busy day--DTG is a great solution.

posted Aug 27th, 2010 9:41 am


Lori

This is an update to my previous review post. I lost 30 lbs. in about three months on Diet to Go, mostly on the low-fat plan, with a few weeks on the low-carb. I couldn't be happier with the results. And it was easy. The meals were great, and I was never hungry and never felt deprived. I feel and look great, and I've been able to maintain the weight loss on my own because it was "real," healthy fat loss. My experience with DTG Customer Service has been excellent. The convenience of making meal substitutions on the web site works wonderfully. If there's something you don't like, make the substitution and you will never see that item again.

When you need to lose 50 or more pounds, the most effective diet is the one you can stick with for the long haul! DTG is the best for me. After taking a month-long summer "vacation" from DTG, I will be returning after Labor Day to try the low-fat vegetarian plan to help me lose 20 more lbs. I'm looking forward to it!

posted Aug 27th, 2010 6:52 am


Nancy

I am so happy with it. After I loose the 10-15 lbs I plan to increase to the 1600 calorie plan for maintenance. The variety is great, the food is fresh thus it is oicked up twice a week. So happy I took the plunge. You have to be ready and see the cup as half full not half empty. I am so tired of too much sodium and too many carbs. I chose low fat vegetarian.

posted Aug 18th, 2010 6:31 pm


carolina

If you are very special with food and extremely picky....please cook you own food....I LOVE diet to go...I save so much time, and their food is pretty good most of the times. Yes, there are some dishes that are not in my top favorite thing list, but that would be the case even if I cook things myself... I highly recommend this program...

posted Jul 24th, 2010 5:35 pm


Anywhat

Food is good (local plan) and filling. But it is filled with trans fat (partially hydrogenated vegetable oil.) Mail order customers, look at the ingredients list. If you pick up locally customer service will tell you they do not have access to ingredients list. But if you push they will admit that they do. I was told they would send them to me but they never arrived.

I posted a comment on the site in a response to an article stating that trans fat is the number one thing to avoid in the diet. I pointed out that trans fat is in many of their meals. It was deleted. They don't want you to know about this.

I signed up knowing about the trans fat because I was feeling desperate and as a vegetarian, there are few meal delivery options. I felt uneasy about the health risk but figured I would be on the diet for a short time only.

Then I discovered that the calorie counts on the website are not accurate. People started questioning the accuracy of calorie counts on the board and then I noticed a post from a month prior where someone questioned the Reuben's calorie count. Turns out, Diet to Go forgot to include the bread in the total. Still had not been corrected on the site.

I became suspicious and started scrutinizing closer. My weight loss had stalled when I began Diet to Go and I noticed a lot of posters on the board and online stated the same thing.

I started noticing that the food on my plate and the published numbers did not add up. For example, the pancake with sausage breakfast is listed as 195 calories and three grams of protein. I knew the sausage itself was 80 calories and 9 grams of protein. That left 115 calories for two pancakes, syrup and apple filling, which does not seem plausible. And why is the protein count so off?

Then I had the bean burrito. Two ten inch flour tortillas, one cup of refried bean/cheese mix, vegetables, salsa and mexican rice for 320 calories. The tortillas alone come to 440 calories. Add the beans, you are at 650 (nonfat refried beans used in calculation.) Not to mention rice and vegetables.

So then I looked at all of the meals that are shared by the traditional menu and vegetarian menu. I confirmed that they are the same meals with the same sides. 78% of the meals (31 out of 40) had caloric discrepancies of up to 290 calories per meal.

When I asked Diet to Go about this, they said there must be an occasional typo, but nothing to worry about, the weekly calorie counts are accurate.

70% is more than an occasional typo and daily totals are consistent with the sum of all meals which means that even if the discrepancies are typos, they are basing caloric totals on typos. So weekly totals can't be accurate.

I could still stand behind this company if they appeared to be concerned about the caloric discrepancies and vowed to recalculate and confirm calorie counts. But their lack of concern and insistence on sticking with the party line that there are a few typos but calorie counts are accurate paired with the fact that they obviously are trying to hide the fact that they use trans fats means I need to move on.

Also, be aware that the reason you see so many glowing reviews of this company's plan and so few criticisms is because they censor. Most of the bloggers you see online are affiliated with Diet to Go in some way. I read one blog that was critical of the food and she wrote that she had to change the entry titles to omit Diet to Go's name as a result of letters received from the company.

So food is good, it fills you up, but calorie counts are questionable and you are risking your health with the trans fat.

posted Jul 18th, 2010 2:53 pm


MrsH89

Convenient, reasonable and tasty.

posted Jul 14th, 2010 1:12 pm


Kay


For starters, my husband and I ordered the Low Carb plan. I was so looking forward to not having to plan meals, shop for groceries, do the cooking, cleaning, etc etc etc, and still have lovely, fresh, high-quality meals. Oh what a fantasy that was.

The truth is that, yes, we have lost weight - but that is mostly because we have yet to be able to choke down a single one of these trays of unappetizing, watery slop. Salads have been keeping us alive. For the expense of the plan, it's criminal to have to throw so much food away. Needless to say we have cancelled our standing order (and it IS a standing order, folks).

So what went wrong? The big, grievous sin is that these meals were never engineered to be frozen! Clearly what happens is that the meal is fully cooked at the diet-to-go facility, slopped on the tray, bagged while still hot (thus trapping all the steam), and then frozen (freezing the steam to melt out later as water when the meal is reheated). Any home cook knows this is an amateur-hour disaster. Any commercial preparer of frozen foods knows such a product line would never make it to the freezer case because the industry standard for frozen foods is "Individually Quick Frozen" technologies or IQF. With IQF, the individual components of the meal are frozen separately, under ideal conditions for that particular component, and are only combined together when the customer heats the meal. Google it, folks: It's STANDARD. But it's not what you get with diet-to-go. A previous reviewer mentioned these meals are worse than airline food - that is because even airline food follows the convention of keeping components separate until heated at the end!

Just so you know.

posted Jul 11th, 2010 8:34 am


MaryCatalano

I just finished my first week of meals and have to say, I'm delighted at how good they are! I'm a good cook and a food lover - and I say with all sincerity that this no sacrifice. The biggest challenge is keeping my 17 year old son from eating my food! He loves it too.

posted Jul 7th, 2010 5:43 pm


Liz

I thought Diet To Go had very good flavor and good variety. Their food was tasty, portions were good and I ate all the meals. What I missed was
having a mid morning and mid afternoon snack to hold me over to the next meal. I used my own healthy snacks instead, but it would be nice if they
provided these. I would use Diet To Go on a short term basic (2 to 3 weeks) to recalibrate my portions and do a quick reduction in calories, if I needed.

posted Jul 6th, 2010 10:38 am


Ofelia

The food, for the most part, is actually delicious! Also, even with the 1200 calorie meal plan, all meals are satisfying and don't leave you "grazing" for more.
The only problem is the customer service. I know it's because they're a very small company that does limited orders, but over the 2 months I have been ordering, there have been many instances where certain meal substitutions were not made or some meals were left out. But along with very moderate excercise 3-4 times a week, I have lost 20 lbs in 2 months! I am happy!

posted Jul 5th, 2010 11:06 pm


nikki

I have been using Diet to Go since April. I absolutely love it. I am a very picky eater so I love that I can see the menu beforehand and substitute stuff I know I won't like. I work a lot and really long hours, so for me Diet to Go was a convenience thing. Although I have not lost weight yet, I do feel healthier. The meals fill me up and I am not hungry after. I love that the meals are fresh and I literally just pop them in the microwave or oven, and I have dinner! The breakfasts are probably my favorite---waffles and syrup, blueberry pancakes and french toast. Honestly doesn't feel like a diet at all. I never write reviews for stuff, so that should speak for how much I love this plan.

posted Jun 28th, 2010 6:14 pm


Diet-to-Go

@Fizz
We apologize for any confusion, it must be frustrating to get different answers. At Diet-to-Go we are very picky when it comes to our purveyors, and only work with the best! Our ingredients are carefully selected with quality and value in mind. We use a combination of local and national suppliers?many of which are specialty operations such as Woods Cider Mill (Springfield, VT) for our apple cider jelly and Chugwater Chili Corp (Chugwater, Wy) for our chili spice. So instead of using just what??s available at the grocery store?we have found the best ingredients available. All fresh ingredients such as produce and poultry are brought in fresh from our local suppliers daily. We also have daily inspections by an official USDA representative.


@PeggyC
Thank for letting us know of your concerns, and we apologize for the negative customer service experience you had. Please contact us directly at service at diettogo dot com and we will immediately respond to you with a resolution.


@frustrated
We sincerely apologize, it sounds like there was a major confusion with this gift certificate. I can assure you that ordering and redeeming gift certificates with Diet-to-Go is usually extremely simple and very straight forward. For our customers convenience we offer gift certificates in ANY dollar amount they would like. This is so they can be ordered for a specific meal plan (such as for ??7 dinners?) or for just a flat amount (such as $50 to be applied towards any meal plan the redeemer chooses).
If your situation has not been resolved, please email service at diettogo dot com directly with a copy of this response and we will happily make the appropriate arrangements to refund the gift certificate.


@Male User
We are happy to update that this misunderstanding was resolved to everyone??s satisfaction! This facility was simply honoring a religious request of one of their patrons when they asked the gentlemen to wait outside.


@Barb
This is unusual to hear as we respond to all emails and voice mails in a very timely manner. Perhaps it was over the weekend that you contacted us and I really apologize for that frustration. We have worked very diligently at reducing the sodium in our meals and I can offer a link to some useful information about that: http://diettogo.com/all-about-sodium


@Sherry
We appreciate the feedback and really hope your experience turned out better than it started! We are in the process of creating better labels with detailed instructions for our mail order meals, and in the mean time we have some better instructions available on our website. We hope this is useful to you, and also feel free to contact us over the phone if you have any questions or would like any tips on specific meals: http://diettogo.com/mail-order-heating-instructions .

posted Jun 28th, 2010 10:27 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account