Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

70%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 114 reviews

Diet to Go

Are you too busy to cook for yourself? Look no further.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 1991
  • Founder: Hilton Davis
  • Headquarters: Lorton, VA
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Food delivery, low-fat, low-carb, vegetarian
  • Gender: Male and female
  • Get started by saving with these Diet to Go Coupons
BACKGROUND

It's no wonder we struggle to maintain our weight. With busy work, family and social commitments, our chaotic lifestyles leave us little time to plan and prepare healthy meals. As a result, weight loss and health become less of a priority. Diet to Go offers the solution to finding the balance between your hectic life and desire to eat nutritious meals. Diet to Go is a delivery service that offers delicious meals, either via a fresh delivery or frozen delivery.

With the Diet to Go meal delivery plans, there are three options to choose from. Whether you choose the low-fat, low-carbohydrate or vegetarian meal plan, there is a 100 percent guarantee that you will be satisfied with your food. Diet to Go has been helping people lose weight for over 20 years and the plans are customizable to fit your schedule and budget. The goal of Diet to Go is to provide fresh and healthy food in the proper portion sizes that is delicious and makes weight loss easy. Within the three different meal plans, you can also choose to do fresh local pickup if it is available in your area, or simply have it delivered via FedEx. The low-fat meal plan is the most popular of the meal plans while the low-carb plan is slightly more expensive.

IN-DEPTH REVIEW

DietsInReview.com's Chief Mom, Carmen Staicer, spent two weeks using the Diet to Go meal delivery service.

Learn more about her experience with the Diet to Go Frozen Meal Delivery.

"The first meal I sampled was turkey Salisbury steak with gravy, mashed potatoes, and whole green beans. I microwaved it and within five minutes I was sitting down to a hot, fresh, perfectly seasoned meal that completely satisfied me. It was filling, and in fact, I didn’t even finish the potatoes. My usual meal choices might involve a Lean Cuisine or other frozen meal, and I’m often left still hungry and scouring the kitchen an hour later. The Diet to Go meal removed that action from my life."

And hear about her experience with the Diet to Go Fresh Meal Delivery.

"I found the entire week of food to be outstanding in quality, taste and convenience. Many times, meals were accompanied by a piece of fresh fruit, a prepared yogurt smoothie, a roll, coleslaw, applesauce, or terra veggie chips. This truly led me to believe that if I were purchasing a week of food to be delivered to my house there would really be no need to visit the grocery – literally everything is contained in one inclusive package."

Get the final word on Diet to Go in Carmen's overview of both programs.

"I give Diet to Go two thumbs up. It’s a delicious, convenient, non-stressful way to plan your meals and stay within your selected calorie range."

PRO
  • Provides a structured eating plan for busy people
  • Meets broad nutritional standards
  • Supports efforts for weight loss
  • Offers convenience
  • Broad selection in menu choices, including vegetarian and low-carb
  • Shipping available nationwide for frozen meals
  • Competitively priced
  • Fresh service limits any need for grocery shopping
  • Variety of pricing structures to meet your schedule and budget
  • You won't feel hungry
CON
  • May not be cost effective for entire families
  • Must provide own fresh vegetables with the frozen delivery option
  • Fresh delivery not available in all areas
DIET and NUTRITION

This Virginia-based company has cut out all the usual diet work of counting calories and carbs and simply delivers meals to your home that meet your dietary needs, be it reduced-fat, low-calorie, low-carb or even vegetarian.

Diet to Go offers meals that meet the guidelines of the American Heart Association, American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, maintaining standards with low-fat, low-sodium and low-cholesterol meals.

Diet to Go works to help you lose weight without the complications of meal planning and cooking. The meal plans are based on research and eliminate the need to count calories. If you find there is a meal that you don’t care for, you can fill out a substitution form to have a different meal sent on your next order. For the low-fat menu option, you can choose from a meal plan that offers 1,200 or 1,600 calories daily. These meals are low in sodium and include all of your fruits, vegetables and condiments. Some of the low-fat menu items you can choose from include:

  • Harissa Salmon
  • BBQ Chicken
  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Curry Shrimp
  • Italian Meatballs

The low-fat vegetarian meal plan is great for those that prefer to leave meat out of their diet. This type of menu helps keep your eating healthy while being satisfying and giving you the essential protein your body needs. As with the low-fat meal plan, the vegetarian plan offers 1,200 and 1,600 calorie options. The vegetarian meal plan does contain dairy and eggs so it wouldn’t be suitable for those that eat a vegan diet. These meals are low in sodium and include fresh and natural ingredients. Some of the vegetarian meal options you have to choose from are:

  • Vegetarian Burrito
  • Black Bean Chili
  • Chana Masala
  • Eggplant Parmesan
  • Armenian Stew

The last meal plan option is the low-carb plan. This plan offers five weeks of menus of freshly prepared food with no additives. Instead of counting calories each day, these meals are measured by their level of net carbs. With this meal plan, you will consume 30 net carbs each day, receive all of the sides and condiments you need and be following an Atkins style low-carb program. Diet to Go takes all of the guess work out of losing weight. Some of your sample meals with the low-carb program are listed below.

  • Chicken Italiano
  • Herbed Catfish
  • Chicken Alfredo
  • Beef Pot Roast
  • Cod Loin with Lemon Herb Sauce

If you are receiving the fresh-prepared meal, you'll find little need to go to the grocery store, as the meals come accompanied by generous portions of fruits, vegetables, smoothies, bread or rice, and other sides.

If you are receiving the frozen meal service, you will want to compliment each meal with the healthy sides of your choosing.

EXERCISE

Diet to Go focuses on the meal portion of a healthy lifestyle so there are no specific exercise recommendations provided. There are some articles available through the Diet to Go blog that can help guide your fitness and exercise to work well with the meal plan for maximum results.

CONCLUSION

As with any meal delivery service, it may be a financial extravagance for some. However, compared to its competitors and for the quality of the product, Diet to Go is reasonably priced.

Whether using Diet to Go to help you manage your own weight loss goals, or seeking it as a solution to provide your family more balanced and varied meals, this meal delivery program provides a well-structured, tasty, variety that supports your goals.

Common Misspellings

diettogo, diet 2 go, diet-2-go, deit to go, diets to go

Author

by


Related Diets: Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Bistro MD, Chefs Diet, DineWise, Medifast , Nutrisystem, The Fresh Diet


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 8, 155 total comments)

Cindy

I thought the Diet-to-Go food was fairly good except I don't tolerate spicy food that well. But then I read the NUTRITIONAL values! I couldn't believe it! The total FAT, CHOLESTEROL SODIUM, CARBOHYDRATES & SUGAR IS OFF THE CHARTS!!

I compared the stats of one of their lunches (Wahoo fish burger from their low-fat menu) to a McDonalds Double Cheeseburger, and the McDonalds had less calories, fat, cholesterol, sugar & sodium! Most of the Diet to Go meals have unhealthy values in their low-fat traditional and low-carb menu plans.

I'm going to look for healthier altenatives.

posted Nov 16th, 2011 8:11 am


Karen

It's ok, nothing to rave about. I asked for substitutions, and did not receive them even though I received a confirmation email saying they would change out the meal. I just received my last delivery today. Very expensive.

posted Nov 9th, 2011 2:06 am


lisa

This is my first time trying diet to go. I'm 5'2 and 147lbs. I am on the low carb mail order plan and lost 1 1/2 pounds in one week! The meals taste good and are the perfect size. I often find myself full without eating the entire meal!

posted Oct 26th, 2011 2:56 pm


Darla

This is my second go around with Diet to Go - the first was a few years ago, and this time around I see major improvement in the packaging and the taste of the food. I think the breakfasts and dinners are DELICIOUS - and most of the lunches, are, too - if you find something you just don't like, they allow you to substitute those meals for others that you do enjoy - free of charge. I love the convenience and completeness of the plans (I am on the 3 meals per day, 7 day plan) - would not trade it for anything!!!!!!

posted Sep 25th, 2011 8:44 pm


Anna

I've been on this program for a week. I was a little hesitant and first because - let's face it, what have I not tried? This plan is great. I am on the 1200 cal/day 7 day a week plan. Every meal is filling and tastes great. I'm lucky enough to live where I can pick up the delivery on my way home from work. Each meal is well packed, with cooking instructions on each. Customer service is great as well. I travel for work and already had to adjust my delivery schedule. I received not only an automated response but a personal response as well. Well worth the money for me.

posted Aug 6th, 2011 7:48 pm


Linda

I'm a very picky eater and tried the 1200 calorie plan. After 6 months I was down 30 pounds. The food was tasty and I wasn't hungry. I would recommend it.

posted Aug 2nd, 2011 3:09 pm


ST

The foods were tasty, but I only liked the no carb diet not the low fat. See which works best for you because the menus are pretty different. There are no snacks, but the meals are hearty. Picking up the food from a local gym was a little bit of a hassle. I enjoyed the food, but found myself getting a little bored with the foods, though they seem to have the second most variety of the plans I've tried (Fresh Diet and Healthy Bites). Price is pretty good (cheaper than the others), but less food. I have yet to lose any weight on the plans so I'm trying a new one.

posted Jul 18th, 2011 9:26 pm


Lea

I really wanted this to work. It is too hit and miss for me. Some of the food combinations (mainly the side items) are just weird and a couple actually got a gag reflex out of me. some of the dinners are fantastic...some are disgusting. The real reason I am canceling is because of the quality of the food. They send V8 juice and that is supposed to count as a vegetable? highly processed! Also, their sandwhiches for lunch are ALWAYS soggy and it is SO gross. They already assembe the sandwhiches so you cannot take them apart and heat the bread separately. ugh......

posted Jul 15th, 2011 10:32 am


Kamikaze

If you havent signed up, they will be as helpful as can be. Before signing up, I inquired about the plans and was helped. I hung up and signed up on line. However, immediately after signing up, I called back to customer service and suddenly no one could help me. I just kept getting tranferred to a recording. I did order one week of food (5 day plan). When I picked it up (I did local pick up) it was a mess. The trays were flipped over therefore the food had become messy in the trays (it is refridgerated not frozen for local pick up). The instructions are very vague on most of the foods. I didnt realize it until I ordered it, but when I went to see what was in the food I was eating, the ingredients weren't listed on the package.

I ordered week 5. I requested substitutions. Apparently, I had been looking at week 1 when I asked for the substituitions. Instead of the company letting me know I had ask for substitutions for the week I wasnt even ordering for, they just ignored my request. This error easily could have been prevented. The customer service said that they dont have anough time to look at all there online orders. This problem can be easily fixed simply by sending a confirmation email to the customer. Now, they do send a confirmation email out, but as others have said, It does NOT specify any information such as what you ordered or the substitutions requested. Then when you sign in to your account on their website the ONLY information provided is how long you have been a customer.

I am lactose intolerant and WARNING the food is way too cheesy. (I ordered the vegetarian plan). The food isnt as great as all these people are making it souond. However, I agree that it is better than most microwave food. I certainly would have lost weight...because after two bites I couldnt force myself to eat anymore!

This plan could work for some but Id rather cook my own meals then waste money on food that isnt good.

And if customer service cant help or give straight answers.... I dont waste my time. It is NEVER a good sign. It proves they are more interested in getting you signed up rather than keeoping a satisied customer. (very dumb on there part since sastified customers would keep ordering!)

posted Jul 8th, 2011 6:44 pm


Kate

The dinners were okay, the soggy lunches were not. Not worth the money.

They also expect you to throw away the styrofoam cooler it comes in every week.

posted Jul 3rd, 2011 9:41 pm


Leslie

Food is pretty delicious so far. Very uncomplicated. Makes my day much easier being able to just cook for a few minutes then eat a full, balanced meal. Its my first week having the meals delivered, but overall its saving me money and health by allowing me to no longer go out to eat for most of my meals. My only issue so far is that the ingrediants are mostly healthy, but there are some perservatives etc in the meals that arent good (high fructose corn syrup, for one).

posted Jun 30th, 2011 1:08 pm


Candy

I have had mixed results with this plan. I am on the local plan so my food arrives is fresh and not frozen

The good:
I am never hungry, the portions are well balanced and some include a little dessert.
The food is fresh and good quality
I love coming home and knowing all I have little to no prep time to eat dinner
I have lost a few lbs so far

The no so good:
Taste is subjective but some things they do very well and some thing are just not great. The Mexican burrito was one example. It had bellpeppers and red beans which were fine, but then some mashed up something that looked like several ingredients put into a food processor and 2 bites into it and I could not eat it. The side rice and beans were great though.
One weeks food had no instructions on how to reheat or if it should be eaten cold.
I found out that hard way that the soup is in a container that does not microwave well and the container almost melted in the microwave.
There is nothing on the website that gives the ingredients of each choice which would let me know if there is a food item in it that I know I would not like.
Sometimes the containers arrive with liquid items spilled.

I have had a conversation with the customer rep and have taken off all meals that include a vegetable I don't care for, but I never would have thought that vegetable was in those meals because it was not part of any description.

I hope that they rotate out those menus on a seasonal basis. I am hopeful that my experience will be less inconsistent and I will like it more.

posted May 13th, 2011 4:09 pm


RLang

I ordered the mail delivery service for 8 weeks. I loved the food but high blood pressure patients beware. The meals can be very high in sodium. Several meal days had in excess of 2500mg per day and several meals had in excess of 1500mg. I stopped the diet because my blood pressure registered almost 20 points higher than usual systolic and 10 points higher than usual dyastolic after 8 weeks. I was taking in way more sodium than I am used to and saw the effect.

posted May 6th, 2011 11:41 am


Sharon

I'm shocked by the negative reviews, I absolutely LOVE diet to go! I currently receive the mail order meal plan and have been nothing less than thrilled with not only the product but the customer service.

Food: SO delicious! You feel full and happy after each meal, at no point in my 4 weeks so far on the plan have I felt deprived or felt like I need to grab something out of the snack machine to supplement. Menus are published online so you can look ahead and make FREE substitutions of meals! For instance I know I'm not a big fan of seafood so the week coming up has a fish dish for one dinner, I can either double up on another dinner from that week or choose from a (fairly extensive in my opinion) list of sub options with absolutely no hidden costs or hassle. Perfect! One of the best parts of this plan is that it is ALL inclusive; if your breakfast is a peach muffin, orange marmalade and apple juice, DTG sends you all of those items. Chicken burger? They add a BBQ sauce packet with it. I can grab my breakfast and lunch and a fork in my purse and I'm ready to go to work, no more trips to the overpriced campus deli!

Customer Service: Is lovely and absolutely tries to be as helpful as they can! As I placed my first order I was asked if I had any food allergies. Although I do not, I know I am not a fan of bell peppers/onions which sounded like they might be included in several meals. Customer service rep let me know that a few meals each week do include this mix of veggies so either she would be happy to make a permanent modification (so I never have to see a bell pepper again!) or she could tell me exactly which meals contained them so I could sub them out myself on a weekly basis. She very easily could have just ignored my comment about peppers and finished up the transaction but every time I get a rep on the phone I feel like they are genuinely concerned that their customers are happy with their orders.

How do they compare?
Nutrisystem: Disgusting, shelf stable food that tastes essentially like salty chemicals however, with polite customer service.

Bistro MD: Even MORE disgusting, literally gag inducing and horrible customer service! My Bistro MD order arrived late, incomplete and with 8 out of my 15 meals damaged/inedible. When I called them to let them know, the rep literally said "Oh well that happens sometimes, it's not that big of a deal" Ate 2 days worth of these meals and threw the rest away, they were absolutely horrendous. Don't let Bistro MD dissuade you from Diet to Go, they may offer similar products but they are night and day!

Note: As another reviewer suggested, I am NOT a paid review nor was I given any promotional consideration for sharing my experience. I wish, I'd love free Diet to Go because it's AMAZING! Can you tell I love it? :)

posted May 5th, 2011 1:23 pm


Fey

1 ?? They accepted a discount code and after they gave me the discount on my credit card they went back and charged me an additional charge with no explanation or authorization. Which was even more then the original price.
2- The food arrived with bad freezer burn. I called and they called it??s flash freeze. IT WAS OLD CRAP! I cancelled.
3 - The food was really bad! I literally felt sick after trying a tad. Smelled bad, MSG, over spiced, runny, old, hard and uneatable. I gave it to my garbage disposal ( my husband).
Do not waste your money.

posted Apr 18th, 2011 6:59 pm


David Weekly

i like it, thanks

posted Apr 11th, 2011 8:28 am


Tanya Osborn


I had just one order with Diet to Go before I cancelled. They completely got my order wrong -- instead of low carb lunch & dinner, I received low fat breakfast, lunch, & dinner. They didn't send me a Fed Ex tracking # -- I had to call for that (which came in handy because I found out that my meals were misdelivered - bad on Fed Ex, not Diet to Go). Diet to Go customer service isn't always there -- they're only open til 8pm on Tues. & Fri. Even during working hours you might have to leave a message for a call back. When customer service did call me back, they told me they did nothing wrong (which customer service should never ever say to a customer). Now mind you, they offer 3 different meal plans -- to select low carb meals you click the button on the left, to select traditional low fat (which is what I received) is on the right. I know which button I clicked. I CAN read. To shine more questionable light on Diet to Go, you are unable to view what you ordered after you order it. An email confirmation does contain a link to your invoice, but clicking on that leads you to a page on their website that says ??Access Denied??. They have a My Account tab on their website, but the only information that contains is how long you??ve been a member. And that??s it. Seriously. As for the meals, most of the lunches are sandwiches which would only taste good if they were baked and darn it, my office doesn't have an oven. The food is good. But I estimate that with delivery I'm paying $10 per meal. Which wouldn't be a bad deal for no clean up, grocery shopping, or cooking. But I can't justify spending $10 for a lunch that consists of soggy bread and a small side. I'll just go to Central Market and buy freshly prepared meals from their deli for $8-$10 and freeze 'em. In addition, Diet to Go meals aren't that healthy -- high fructose corn syrup, other added sugars, and lots of chemicals. And that??s in the low fat plan. Not worth it.

posted Apr 8th, 2011 11:09 am


roger

ok let me say i did like the first week i got then after the following week my food was partially defrosted and it gave me gas stay away from DIET TO GO THEY ARE BAD NEWS

posted Mar 30th, 2011 6:29 pm


karen

OMG!! I FOUND A LONG PIECE OF HAIR!! chicken parmesan as well as the turkey salisbury steak! gross I had to throw it out I called and asked for a full refund and all they could give me is a discount on my next order wow DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT ORDER FROM DIET TO GO!! very unsanitary

posted Mar 30th, 2011 6:25 pm


Sharon

Food Is terrible tasting.. kinda gross... I've also tried Bistro MD and for just a couple pennies more the difference is huge... but certainly try it for yourself.

posted Mar 12th, 2011 1:35 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account