Home > Diets > Bistro MD Diet Navigation
User Rating

97%

of people who tried this diet like it

+ - Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 409 reviews
Bistro MD

Bistro MD Diet Review (UPDATED 2017): Does it Really Work?

Doctor-designed gourmet meals delivered to your door.

Get Bistro MD Now!
What is it?

Bistro MD is a weight loss diet offering readymade meals prepared by chefs and formulated under strict macronutrient ratios. Different programs for offered that can deliver a full day of meals direct to your home.

There’s also support from dieticians where one can learn about meal planning and any other solutions related to nutrition and weight loss. This can be done in person, over the phone, or on Skype. There’s also both a men’s and women’s program available, with each one catered to specific gender demands for calories. Bistro MD was highly rated for its ease of use and quality of meals. Many users have said it was a practical solution for weight loss that simplified what can be difficult meal be planning. For a discounted price on Bistro MD, visit the link provided here.

Bistro MD Diet Ingredients and Side Effects

The official website confirms that the following are not used:

         • Aspartame in any entrees.

         • Freeze dried foods.

         • MSG.

         • Trans fats.

         • Shelf stable ingredients, which usually means preservatives.

This is especially important when one is looking to lose weight, as these kinds of ingredients can cause unwanted side effects. They’re also cheap in price and only used to help give an artificial boost which is not often needed.

bistro-md

There are 7 and 5 day programs which offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. It’s optional whether or not one wants to add snacks. Over 200 entrees are offered for men and 150 for women, and one can make their preferred selections online. The kinds of dishes offered include:

         • Chicken with mushroom crepe.

         • Strawberry cheesecake

         • Beef steak and ale stew

         • Spinach and Feta stuffed chicken.

            • Broccoli cheddar stuffed chicken breast.

For women meals typically average 1200 calories, though this can be customized depending on a person’s demands. There’s also gluten-free, diabetic, standard, and menopause meal plans offered with 150 different entrées at no extra cost.

The macronutrient structure the diet follows is to have meals with 40-50 % protein, 30-35% carbohydrates, and 20-25% fat. This is meant to provide long lasting weight loss results, reduce any cravings for starches and sweets, regulate blood sugar, and improve blood pressure and cholesterol. It also adds:

“BistroMD is the only diet delivery program proven to treat Metabolic Dysfunction”

Therefore it’s intended to help people who may suffer from metabolism related issues which can make weight loss extremely difficult. This simplifies the need to have to seek additional counseling and support.

For more about the weight loss benefits made possible via the use of Bistro MD, follow the link cited.

The offered program material for what is available is as follows:

• Weight loss tips: There are webinars hosted by the experts of the diet. This includes support from the founding physician of this diet. Newsletters are also offered and weekly emails.

• Health information: The newest tips and trends on health are offered. Studies and reports are also provided for support weight loss. There are also tips for motivation and lifestyle suggestions.

• Fitness tips: Online help is offered to help track and plan workouts. Newest insights into fitness trends for weight loss are offered. Information on how to avoid injuries and how to maintain active is also listed.

The intended benefit of all this is well-rounded support to help ensure real weight loss results. So it’s not only just meals which can sometimes be too simple and inefficient, but you get lifestyle support to help boost weight loss.

The link provided has an opportunity to get Bistro MD at a reduced price.

Also included are specific kinds of meals such as:

            • Diabetic meals: To help those struggling with high blood sugar.

            • Gluten-free meals: For people who have celiac disease or who want to avoid gluten.

            • Meals for those with menopause.

            • Standard meals.

Bistro MDDiet Quality of Ingredients

The foods offered do emphasize not using shelf stable ingredients, MSG, freeze drying, aspartame on entrees, and trans fats.

The diet also provides high protein, small amounts of fat and moderate carbohydrates. This is a standard diet for weight loss, since higher protein can lead to appetite suppression and carbohydrates provide quick energy. This balance of macronutrients is important as the body needs a balanced mixture of these ingredients to help ensure you’re not deficient.

The diet also mentions:

“Unlike fat diets and other gimmicks that promise you extreme results with little effort, our healthy meal plans for weight loss are based on the science and research of our founding weight loss physician”

So this makes it easier for potential users to know they are using not just a low calorie plan, but a diet solution which is supported by real evidence. Fad diets can sometimes cause one to balloon back up in weight once it’s over; Bistro MD is strictly intended for lasting weight loss results. Get Bistro MD for a reduced price when you click this link.

The Price and Quality of Bistro MD Diet

The price depends on the plan selected, either a 5 or 7 day for men and women. The prices are as follows:

         • 7 days (7 breakfasts, 7 lunches, and 6 dinners): $134.96

         • 5 days (5 breakfasts, 5 lunches, and 5 dinners): $112.46

         • 7 days (7 lunches and 7 dinners): $112.46

         • 5 days (5 lunches and 5 dinners): $89.96

The daily cost for the first listed plan is $6.42 per meal, which is relatively inexpensive when you consider the amount of time it saves you.  The benefit of having prepped meals you don’t have to watch over the cooking process, having to have all the necessary ingredients beforehand, and having to go shopping.

You can also customize your meals as you’d like. Once you select your wanted plan, you can then select what you would like online or when you call in.

Bistro MD is offered at a reduced cost when you visit the link here.

Business of Bistro MD Diet

The listed contact information is as follows:

Address: 1575 Pine Bridge Rd Ste 21

Naples, Florida 34109

Email: customerService@bistroMD.com

Bistro MD was created by both Caroline Cederquist a medical doctor and her husband Ed Cederquist who helps find recipes around the world.

The company delivers to the US, Hawaii and Alaska. They have been around since 2005.  The physician who created it was a bariatric who worked at a weight loss clinic. She discovered that there were issues with people having to plan and cook their own meals, for many people this was too difficult and it made weight loss impossible. The creation of this plan was intended to help those who had busy schedules, and who weren’t all too certain on how to properly balance their own dietary demands.

The basis of the meals is described as:

“the right balance of macronutrients”

They also have an A rating on their Better Business Bureau page which can help determine overall customer satisfaction.  The company has responded to inquiries and concerns on this webpage as well, ensuring they are willing to respond to users.

The link cited here offers a reduced price on the Bistro MD diet plan.

Customer Opinions of Bistro MD Diet

Here are some reviews from users:

“greatly satisfied with the high quality of the foods and the customer service representatives”

“truly great meals that makes it easy to just focus on enjoying their meals”

“my energy levels shot up and I dropped 2 sizes, the weight loss was definite”

“offers a great variety to keep my taste buds satisfied, which made it easy to diet.

There are also positive testimonials offered on their official website. They have people who lost 32 pounds, 25 pounds, 40 pounds, and upwards of 55 pounds. You can also view their stories online to read more about these users individual exercises, and how they benefited from this diet plan.

Once you click on each person’s story you get a breakdown of what they went through as well as a video per individual user. The main highlights include:

            • The ability to spend time doing other things.

            • Increased energy levels.

            • Improved overall health.

The stories are also from people of all ages, both men and women are included. They emphasize how they were able to keep the weight off, and how it taught them valuable lessons on how to properly meal plan and select food portions. So for many this was a lasting plan that taught better habits. Click this link to get a special discounted rate on Bistro MD.

Conclusion - Does Bistro MD Diet  Work?

Bistro MD has prepared meals that they ship to people which are mostly high protein, low fat and have moderate levels of carbohydrates. The meals are lower in calories, and the basic plan is for maintaining stable weight loss. This is a common approach, though the foods provided are meant to great taste and made with wholesome ingredients. This makes it easier to enjoy one’s life instead of having to weight out and scale each individual food plate. The company also provides many testimonials from customers who were greatly satisfied to use this plan.

Bistro MD offers its users a comprehensive solution which can make the weight loss process easier. Judging from the amount of positive testimonials and reviews it’s clear that there was real progress and sustained weight loss. The main benefit provided is that each meal is specially crafted to contain a balanced blend of important macronutrients. So it’s not only a low calorie meal, but also one rich in vitamins and minerals. Get a special discount on Bistro MD when you click on the link here.



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 8, 157 total comments)

Heather

Almost finished with first week and down almost 4 lbs. It could be more in the next few days! Normally it is so hard for me to lose, and I have been steadily gaining in the past few years. To be losing and feeling like I put little to no effort in is great. The food is definitely clean tasting--even though, as someone mentioned, there are a few "iffy" ingredients in some of the meals--malic acid, hydrolyzed soy protein, etc. There isn't a lot of that though. I am trying also to figure out why all of the chicken I have had said it has "potato starch" with it. Not sure what purpose that serves--but it's good chicken. I was blown away by the chicken. I guess I was preparing myself for a slightly better version of chicken that you get in most frozen meals in the grocery store--but NO. It is so fresh, tender, and meaty. The food often tastes as if you made it the night before at home and popped your tasty leftovers in the freezer. My husband is a great cook but I like their beef stew better than his! Haha. I did have one meal that gave me tummy issues and I am not sure what was in it that caused that, or if, by some chance, something in it had gone "bad"--sure hope not. But now I will probably steer clear from that. It was a seafood chowder. I also had a chicken meal that, while the chicken was well prepared, I personally did not care for the flavors (Cajun-type). That is a personal preference though. But I did notice spice/bite to it and for those saying the food is bland I disagree. Some meals do definitely need salt. But I tend to love my salt. If the sodium content is high like someone said it must not be the case on many of the meals. I feel like I am getting way less salt than I normally would eat--and I do add it if I really want it. As soon as I taste something I really love I make sure to go online and put it in my next week's menu if I want it again--same goes for the not so good stuff--I can drop it out of my menu and pick something else. I don't know if this was not an option in the past but maybe that is why people complained about not enough variety--but you can definitely create your own variety! One other side note--I love omelets but I just don't think those freeze well--frozen egg turns out odd--in the b-fast sandwiches too. Not bad, but not super good. But I was so excited to taste REAL homemade SALSA on my omelet! It wasn't like those yucky jar brands in the grocery store. This plan is pricey and I know I will have to drop from 7 days to 5 soon, and also probably drop the breakfasts. I don't want to yet though because my weight loss is good. Very happy I found this program!!

posted Jul 29th, 2017 10:34 am


Tracy

Good food! It's nice to have a five day option

posted Jul 10th, 2017 10:37 pm


Sheldon

Not a good plan if you travel or have two residences. The schedule and deliveries are very confusing to follow. You must follow their schedules or the shipments are sent to you regardless of your ability to choose your plan. The stews are barely edible, the fish entree's don't smell fresh. The choice of green vegetables are over cooked and tasteless. The snack
choice is mostly inedible. Although there are many styles of cuisine most would not be something you
would choose to eat . Don't get me wrong you do loose weight if you care to follow the rules.

posted May 4th, 2017 12:16 pm


mllrbb

I'm posting this review a couple places because I had difficulty finding recent reviews about their GF program and I hope this might help others.

I'm only on my second week so this may change if I have any negative experiences later. I read their website and ordered 7 lunches/dinners gluten free plan to start. You can't see the menus or ingredients until after you order which is a real detriment. I bet they lose a lot of potential customers because of this. Once I could see the actual information, I changed my menu to GF 5 BLD for the 2nd week.I had read an old review of the GF plan where the reviewer had gotten oatmeal for breakfast most mornings and I prefer eggs. After I could see the. menu, I saw most of the gf breakfasts were egg based. I used the online chat to request this and it was changed right away.

I live in SoCal and ordered on a Sunday night. My food shipped that Tues from Nevada and arrived on Thurs still frozen with lots of dry ice left in the box. My second shipment left Mon and arrived Wed. Everything was exactly as ordered, in good shape, looking just like the website photos, with menu and other information in the box. They also emailed me a lot of "getting started" information. It appears to be freshly prepared food that is frozen, not meals that have been in the deep freeze for months like a Lean Cuisine. There are almost too many warnings and literature about ordering deadlines/postponements/cancellations so I'm not sure how people aren't realizing how that part works.

The food tasted very good. It's a lot better than Jenny Craig and not quite as good as what I make myself from food I carefully source from local farmers. I would call it similar in quality, quantity, price and ingredients to the late MyFitFoods, if you're familiar with that. Protein and vegetable portions are larger than I was expecting. The only item I haven't really liked is the chicken ala king; it was fine, just not good. The tilapia red pepper coulis sounded gross, but was my favorite item so far.

I did not order snacks as I try to avoid soy. So far only 1 main meal has had soy - gf tamari. The sodium levels of a full daily menu of meals and snacks are within USDA guidelines (2400 mg). They will be too high if you're on a low sodium diet, but I've added salt to most of the food since I am not sodium restricted.

I do not have a microwave and the food has been delicious when I place it in a baking dish and bake for about 30 min at 350. It is meant to be microwaved in the plastic dish. The plastic and its cardboard sleeve are recyclable.

I've spoken to customer service on the phone once and online once. For the phone, I left a message and they called me back within an hour. I had hoped to change my shipping date as I travel often; they said it wasn't possible, but the second shipment did arrive a day earlier when I needed it to. That may not happen every week apparently. I've also changed from 7 days to 5 days and back to 7 again. I found I prefer to make my own breakfast and snacks, following the calorie and macro guidelines on their website.

So far, BistroMD is far better than I was expecting. I deducted a star because their website could use a lot more access to information prior to ordering the first time. And it does cost about 4x more than I usually spend on groceries, but half or a quarter what local gf fresh diet meal delivery would cost.

posted May 2nd, 2017 3:29 pm


Andrea

A little nervous about bistroMD after reading reviews. So far the chat feature has been really helpful.

posted Mar 26th, 2017 11:49 am


Barbara LaDuke

It frees up time that I would normally be stressing about what to cook or eat. I don't have to go through the annoying process of counting calories. I get to just live, knowing that my diet is healthy and designed for weight loss.

posted Mar 8th, 2017 11:00 am


Courtney B.

Fast and easy to order with a wide menu. Just starting on the diabetic plan and it works so well for me that is both busy and lazy with eating. Customer service is very easy to get access to via the website and online AND they offer a military discount.

posted Feb 26th, 2017 4:42 pm


Pam B

I love how easy this program is. I don't have to cook or go to the grocery store which saves hours of time per week. The food is nutritious and low sodium, which works with my goal of staying off medications. The food is tastes great and you can remove items that you do not enjoy from your delivery. The variety is fantastic- I do not get bored with eating the same thing all the time. On this program, I have lost about 1 pound per week, as I do have some "cheat" days, but it is a maintainable lifestyle for me that will help me to reach the weight I want to be at in a healthy way.

posted Feb 19th, 2017 2:59 pm


Dan

To get the ingredients & nutritional values, go to balancebistromd.com/. They have been very helpful on phone & told me to call back with any questions. I have just started diet & am enjoying the food. I'll have to wait to see if and how much weight I'll lose. So far, I give this an excellent rate.

posted Feb 10th, 2017 12:31 pm


Jillian

So, for people complaining about variety: You have the option to switch out your meals and snacks each week. This is completely obvious on the site. You go to my menu and if you're getting two fish dishes, they give you the option to switch one out. People complaining about that have obviously not looked at the website at all. They also give you the option to eliminate ingredients altogether. Don't like beef? You can choose never to receive it. Just sayin'.

I have yet to require the help of customer service, so I can't comment on that.

They send instructions in the box with the food that let you know how to prepare it so it tastes the best. You thaw the next days food out in the fridge overnight.

I chose this plan because the food was fresh and the ingredients were real as opposed to other diets. It is rather pricey, but you can earn discounts participating in the online community. Also, I'm paying for the convenience of having food ready made because the hours I work at my job make meal prep near impossible. I like it a lot so far.

posted Feb 10th, 2017 10:37 am


Rebecca L.

I've been on BistroMD for almost a month and love the program. The food tastes fresh, the snacks are yummy, and I genuinely look forward to meal time. I never find myself getting hungry even though I'm definitely eating significantly less. My clothes are already fitting much better. I can't wait to see my body continue to change.

posted Jan 28th, 2017 8:07 am


KB

As of right now, I like the program. It is a bit pricey and I am not sure if I will be able to stay on it. The food I have received is better that regular frozen meals and every filling. Only a few meals I didn't like -- but I figured I would like them anyway based on the descriptions. Was being daring to try them.

posted Jan 18th, 2017 10:46 pm


Nancy Ivanyo

Convenient, supportive, and healthy!

posted Jan 18th, 2017 5:33 pm


Deanna Moore

This program has been amazing so far and it is only the first week! I've lost roughly 7lbs and loving the increased energy! Can't wait to see what else is in store for the Gluten Free program!

posted Jan 18th, 2017 3:57 pm


Sandy

If I could leave fewer than 1 star I would definitely. My boyfriend and I were so excited about Bistro MD, we thought this would help us achieve our goal of eating better and healthier. I read online about the dietician and all the help that you were to receive from this site. However, when we ate the first dinner we both took two bites, looked at each other and knee we could not finish the meal. We couldn't make out if the side was potato or what is was but it DID NOT taste nor have the consistency of potato. The food (including the one lunch I tried) had NO FLAVOR at all. I have eaten at places for those on a special diet and this wasn't even close to any taste I have ever experienced (not in a good way). This was beyond disappointing and neither of us would ever recommend this to anyone (even those we don't like) to try. STAY CLEAR!!!!

posted Sep 7th, 2016 12:41 pm


Jake

+

Loving it after 2 weeks. I only did lunches and dinners because I only want to lose 5-10lbs and I need high fiber cereal in the morning to keep things *moving*. I've trimmed down in my midsection, pants are feeling quite loose and I think I might actually be adding muscle ( regular weight lifter ). I've probably doubled the amount of protein I normally eat for those two meals as I normally just munch on junk. In general, these meals are much tastier than what I normally eat for lunch and dinner unless I go out. They pack them with fiber so you feel really full. I dont know if it works for people who need to lose a lot of weight, but for a quick summer trim to get the 6 pack showing I think its working great so far.

posted May 10th, 2016 5:12 pm


duartesp

-

DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY!! Total rip off. They engage in negative option billing and are deliberately unclear about their billing practices. You have to call or email to actually cancel your account, despite the fact that you may cancel your deliveries. Very deceptive and when faced with complaints are unwilling to resolve any issues. Steer clear...this company is total crap!!

I ordered a week of food, didn't like it and went into my account and cancelled all future deliveries. then 6 weeks later I get a surprise delivery and a charge of $220. When I called in about it, they tell me that to actually cancel i have to call in. WTF...I did that in my online account. Oh no, they tell me, you just put a hold on. Well that's not clear from the website. they failed to communicate that. When I explained the situation they refused to refund my money or accept the delivery back. At the very minimum they should be sending alert emails to let you know you're about to be charged. Of course, that would result in people catching these unwanted charges and they would make a lot less money. Very questionable business practices.

I don't recommend dealing with this company at all.

posted Feb 19th, 2016 1:49 pm


Stephanie

+

I have been really pleased with both the quality of food and the level of customer service so far with Bistro MD. I am pretty picky and like really fresh food that doesn't taste processed. I was skeptical of eating frozen meals, but these taste home kitchen made. They do not have the chemical flavors that most frozen diet dinners have. I love that. I feel that not only am I eating whole natural clean foods, and weight loss is an awesome side effect of a healthy diet, but I am doing something great for my health, my mental well being and to be honest, I love the fact I do not have to shop and cook and clean up meals anymore. Its great!

posted Jan 27th, 2016 1:58 am


Matt Young

By far and away the best diet meal program I have ever been on or heard of! The prices are 20-50% lower than other high end competitors that offer "Gourmet Food" that is no better if as good. I have ordered off and on or semi-regularly when I could afford it, since late 2010. To start with, the customer service is excellent and anyone on the call in or web-chat staff would do an excellent job for you. But I have used Adrian Gardner now for every order since early 2011 and she is fantastic. Takes the time to help me customize my meal plan and makes suggestions when new dishes come out, or if they dont have a favorite available.

The food is simply amazing, it is freshly prepared by real gourmet quality chefs, flash frozen, and shipped directly to your door in a cooler on dry ice via FedEx. When it arrives the 7 day plan is 7 breakfasts, 7 lunches, 6 dinners (allowing for one cheat-night dinner a week, which is encouraged). Every meal microwaves in a matter of minutes, and I have to say I have NEVER tried a dish I would not order again, not one. And I would say I have sampled probably 90% of the offerings! Some of my favorite meals are: Beef with Red Wine Sauce, Grilled Salmon Lemon Dijon Dressing, Chicken Breast with Roasted Garlic Veloute, Talapia Orange Parsley Sauce, Thai Peanut Chicken, Mediterranean Chicken, Picadillo with Plantains, Ricotta Crepe with Berry Compote, and Stuffed French Toast! I could go on and on, there are so many more! I typically order 3-4 breakfasts and make my own the other days. This allows me to get more lunches and dinners and stretch the 7 day plan a few days longer. I do not typically order snacks, save the money, but the cheesecakes are AMAZING and worth trying!!!

Now to the results, when I was able to stay on this plan consistently for about 11 months back in 2010-2011, I was able to lose over 65lbs! To give you a background on myself. I am 6 feet tall, I have a very high muscle density, and have always been overweight since about the age of 9. My body fat % hovered at 20-25% in High School but I was very fit as I was a 3 sport athlete and in Air Force JROTC. I worked out 2-3 times a day 6 days a week for years. As I got into my 20's that % got above 30, eventually pushing close to 40% by the time I started BMD. I was un-fit, out of shape, not working out, eating terribly, relatively inactive, and unhappy with myself. I ballooned to as high as 320+lbs by May of 2010. That is when I started implementing changes. That lead me to bistroMD by November of that year and this is what happened:

I was eating 1-2 meals from bistroMD per day as I would stretch a 7-day order over a 10-14 day period typically. Eating bistroMD at least 1 meal a day, but often only 1 during the two or so Christmas/New Years weeks, supplemented with too much candy, cookies, treats, alcohol, and way to many fattening non-BMD holiday meals. I was still able to lose about 10.5lbs in December, and be down a total of 28lbs by February 1st. I went from about 312lbs on November 30th 2010 (right after a week of Thanksgiving feasting and leftovers), down to around 247lbs at my low weight, which I hit around mid-May of 2011 and stayed within 6lbs of that weight every day until I stopped regularly ordering in November 2011 (my last order was Nov. 4th). During this time I workedout in some way 1-3 times per week, often that was just a walk on the beach as I lived in Boca Raton at the time. I was very busy so I did not have time for intense workouts. Had I been working out intensely for 30 mins-1hr 4-5 days a week, I beleieve I would have been much lighter and healthier. Since the end of 2011 I have only been able to order meals between 1 and 8 times per year, so my weight has fluctuated and gone back up somewhat. thanks to them I will definitely never be at a 300+lb weight again! But I know I could probably get down below 230lbs if I could even get back on the program I was on in 2011, and who knows how much lower if I could afford to order meals every week and eat this way every mean every day!

I spent several months in 2014 on NutriSystem, trying every offer they had and every type of meal that they had. If I could have stayed on their frozen meals 3 times a day, which were the only edible/appetizing ones, then perhaps I could have seen some reasonable results, but not what I saw with BMD, and the fact is the frozen meals they provide are full of preservatives, they are not fresh, they are not natural, and they have tons of processed meats and other food products. bistroMD offers many all natural and healthy meals and nothing they make is processed or filled with preservatives and chemicals. Also NurtriSystems meals are almost all heavy with carbs, because thats how they fill you up on 8oz's of food. bistroMD only uses complex carbs, and even tho the food quantities tend to be a little larger than NutriSystem, the calories are almost always equal or lower with far less carbs, sodium, and and sugars.

posted Dec 7th, 2015 11:47 pm


Linda

I enjoyed the meals, I found the quality to be excellent for the most part. I just couldn't afford to keep it up or I'd have continued using it. Living in Alaska, shipping is pretty high too, so that was an added expense. For the money, it was high quality food in my experience. You develop food preferences as time goes on and you find what you do and don't like. I was on the diabetic plan so my food choices were more limited, but even with that the variety was pretty good. I did lose a few pounds but more importantly, my blood glucose readings went down by about 50-60 after just a few days.

posted Nov 15th, 2015 6:36 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Or, proceed without an account


 


Already a member?



QUICK FACTSQUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Dr. Caroline J. Cederquist
  • Headquarters: Naples, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, Meal Delivery
  • Gender: Male and Female

Do You Know the Best Diet Pills of 2017?

BACKGROUNDBACKGROUND

If you're looking for a personal chef, a weight loss physician and a way to add convenience to your life, then Bistro M.D.'s meal delivery diet could be what you're looking for. Created by Dr. Caroline Cederquist, Bistro M.D. offers a healthy weight loss plan that delivers nutritious prepared meals to your home. All the work is done, you just have to heat and enjoy.

Dr. Cederquist combines her experience with an expert team of chefs and dietitians to create a delicious variety of well-balanced meals. Bistro M.D. is even endorsed by Dr. Phil, calling it "The best diet delivery available."

In an effort to help you avoid those common dieting plateaus, Bistro M.D. will change your caloric consumption daily, from 1,100 to 1,400. This prevents your body from becoming used to, and expecting, the same amount of calories everyday. Bistro MD works to save your lean muscle mass by providing a combination of lean proteins and Low Glycemic carbs (which are responsible for those blood sugar spikes).

When you sign up for Bistro M.D., you'll have full access to expert dietitians, as well as receive weekly updates with valuable information highlighting exercise, losing weight and nutrition. More importantly, you'll receive a weekly shipment of fresh-frozen meals from your choice of four different plans. You can choose from seven or five day plans and whether or not you'd like snacks. Your menus will rotate each week so that you don’t get bored with the foods you’re eating. Each dish is specifically designed to give your body the proper amount of protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats. You are able to cancel the program at anytime and receive complete guidance for healthy weight loss. The four different options for the plans that you can order include:

Bistro M.D. is the current provider for The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, and the former provider of the Biggest Loser Meal Plan.

BISTRO MD VIDEOSBISTRO MD VIDEOS

Bistro MD on Vimeo

Bistro MD YouTube Channel

Dr. Phil Features Bistro MD

PROPRO
  • Healthy meals that are delicious and satisfying
  • Very little work on your part- just heat and eat
  • Balanced nutrition and calories
  • Low glycemic foods ideal for diabetics
  • Expert staff of dietitians and chefs
  • Broad variety of food
  • Dr. Phil calls it "the best meal delivery program"
  • Each package displays ingredients and nutrition facts
CONCON
  • Pricing may be steep for some
  • Menus pre-made, do not get to make personal selections
  • Calorie intake is slightly low
  • Not ideal for families
  • Does not provide exercise or fitness program
  • Sodium and fat both run high in these meals
USER REVIEWSUSER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Loved being on this diet. After the birth of my daughter, I had 60 pounds to lose, and after being on this for three months, I lost 30 pounds, giving me a great "Jump start". What kept me from continuing was two fold: The cost after this long, was getting too much. Later, my daughter was eating "real" food, so no longer was I just able to feed her out of a baby food jar while I had my delicous prepared meal. Now, four years later, I'm temped to start up again - it's only the idea of me eating one meal, while preparing and feeding a young child another. - Tamara 7/12/11

I’m a little surprised at all the wonderful reviews this diet receives here. The food is not bad. I actually liked it (I bought some spices to add to it to make it a little more flavorful though). But frankly, I really started to wonder if the calorie counts on the food were accurate. I was NEVER even the tiniest bit hungry between meals, which may sound like a good thing, but I know from previous experience that this usually means I am not losing any weight. And low and behold, I lost ONE POUND in six weeks. - Libby 12/8/10

I am not giving a thumbs up or thumbs down because there are pros and cons to these meals. First off, some are very flavorful- especially the beef meals such as brocolli with beef and beef stir-fry, the shrimp pasta primavera, the grilled chicken dishes as well as some of the snacks. Sadly this meal plan does not include any desserts- like nutrasystem. Some of the meals were ok and a few were just terrible- two of the turkey based meals were almost inedible- making me wonder if my 90 year old grandmother had been brought in to over roast the turkey. Much of the problem with the meals is that while they are more fresh tasting than say nutrasystem, they need to improve their packaging technology. - Karen 7/1/10

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue. - Betty 10/21/09

DIET and NUTRITIONDIET and NUTRITION

With Bistro MD you don't have to sacrifice variety or taste. The convenience of this meal delivery diet allows you to eat chef prepared meals while also losing weight. All of the meals are nutritionally complete and carefully designed to meet Dr. Cederquist’s guidelines. The meals that you receive will include your protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats, like the Norwegian Salmon with Wild Rice and Sauteed Spinach.

Each meal is represented by a photo and a description so that you can decide exactly what you want prior to ordering. While on this program, you can also receive support from a dietitian for free to help you reach your weight loss goals.

The Bistro MD program is heavily focused on the food you eat and offers you automatic portion control with the delivery of prepackaged, frozen meals. Each day you will eat breakfast, lunch, dinner and one snack. If you choose a program that doesn’t include snacks, then you will have to provide your own. A sample day of eating on Bistro MD with snacks is reflected below:

  • Breakfast – Cinnamon Sweet Potato Pancakes with Low-Fat Turkey Sausage
  • Lunch – Pulled Pork Sandwich with Baked Beans and Corn
  • Dinner – Roasted Turkey Breast with Gravy
  • Snack – Mini Chocolate Cheesecake

Ingredients for Bistro MD meals tend to be wholesome, without the use of artificial dyes, flavors, or other chemical additives. You'll generally recognize the ingredients named on the label, and appreciate things like whole wheat tortillas, whole wheat flour, seaweed in the vegetarian burrito, and cane syrup for sweetener.

Sodium is moderate but can run higher than the recommended 600 milligrams or less per meal. Calories for meals are in line with frozen meal recommendations not to exceed 450 calories. Fat is extremely high for these meals, exceeding the recommended 3.5 grams or less per meal.

BistroMD has also teamed up with The 17 Day Diet to bring you the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan. If you are interested in trying the 17 Day Diet, you can have the convenience of having your meals delivered while following the three-phased weight loss program.

EXERCISEEXERCISE

Bistro MD doesn’t have a specific exercise plan or guidelines for how much you should exercise. As an aside, Dr. Cederquist gives some education on exercise. The program does encourage exercise as a facet of living a healthy lifestyle. You are encouraged to exercise along with your Bistro MD eating plan to have success in weight loss. There are several articles available on the Bistro MD web site that offer facts about exercise, provide details on incorporating exercise with your diet and give information on how to make exercise a habit. The variety of articles available on exercise offers you a chance to incorporate whichever types of exercise you like into your routine. Some of the article topics available include:

  • Motivators to Achieve the Best Morning Workout
  • How to Bust Through a Fitness Plateau
  • Make Exercise A Habit and Get Fit!
  • Get a Celebrity Workout Without Paying Thousands of Dollars

There are also some recommendations of the types of exercises you can do to burn calories and get a workout in. Some of the suggestions include:

  • Cycling
  • Swimming
  • Boot Camp
  • Fitness with Pets
  • Walking
CONCLUSIONCONCLUSION

In this fast-paced world, preparing healthful, delicious meals at home is just one chore few people have time to put on the list. Bistro M.D.'s Diet to your Door takes care of it for you. By providing a broad menu, designed by a doctor, with tasty, nutrient-rich and satisfying meals, preparing them for you and delivering to your doorstep, it's easier than ever to manage your weight loss. Bistro M.D. is most ideal for individuals or even couples; but the expense and menu do not make it a realistic plan for families. Rest assured that a dedicated team of chefs, dietitians and Dr. Cederquist are putting your health needs first, as well as your desire for variety.

BISTRO MD SLIDESHOWSBISTRO MD SLIDESHOWS

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

BISTRO MD RESOURCESBISTRO MD RESOURCES

Bistro MD Reviews on Yelp

Bistro MD on Twitter

Bistro MD on Facebook

Bistro MD on PR Newswire

Dr. Phil Recommends Bistro MD

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan by Bistro MD

Bistro MD Contact InformationBistro MD Contact Information
Common MisspellingsCommon Misspellings

Deit to your door, Deit-to-your-door, Diet-to-your-door, BistroMD, Bestro MD, Biggest Loser Meal Plan, bistromd.com

AuthorAuthor

by

Related Diets: Diet to Go, The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Chefs Diet, Jillian Michaels Meal Plan, Nutrisystem, Medifast

Get Bistro MD Now!