Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 392 reviews

Bistro MD

Doctor-designed gourmet meals delivered to your door.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Dr. Caroline J. Cederquist
  • Headquarters: Naples, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, Meal Delivery
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • EXCLUSIVE Save $50 Coupon
BACKGROUND

If you're looking for a personal chef, a weight loss physician and a way to add convenience to your life, then Bistro M.D.'s meal delivery diet could be what you're looking for. Created by Dr. Caroline Cederquist, Bistro M.D. offers a healthy weight loss plan that delivers nutritious prepared meals to your home. All the work is done, you just have to heat and enjoy.

Dr. Cederquist combines her experience with an expert team of chefs and dietitians to create a delicious variety of well-balanced meals. Bistro M.D. is even endorsed by Dr. Phil, calling it "The best diet delivery available."

In an effort to help you avoid those common dieting plateaus, Bistro M.D. will change your caloric consumption daily, from 1,100 to 1,400. This prevents your body from becoming used to, and expecting, the same amount of calories everyday. Bistro MD works to save your lean muscle mass by providing a combination of lean proteins and Low Glycemic carbs (which are responsible for those blood sugar spikes).

When you sign up for Bistro M.D., you'll have full access to expert dietitians, as well as receive weekly updates with valuable information highlighting exercise, losing weight and nutrition. More importantly, you'll receive a weekly shipment of fresh-frozen meals from your choice of four different plans. You can choose from seven or five day plans and whether or not you'd like snacks. Your menus will rotate each week so that you don’t get bored with the foods you’re eating. Each dish is specifically designed to give your body the proper amount of protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats. You are able to cancel the program at anytime and receive complete guidance for healthy weight loss. The four different options for the plans that you can order include:

Bistro M.D. is the current provider for The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, and the former provider of the Biggest Loser Meal Plan.

BISTRO MD VIDEOS

Bistro MD on Vimeo

Bistro MD YouTube Channel

Dr. Phil Features Bistro MD

PRO
  • Healthy meals that are delicious and satisfying
  • Very little work on your part- just heat and eat
  • Balanced nutrition and calories
  • Low glycemic foods ideal for diabetics
  • Expert staff of dietitians and chefs
  • Broad variety of food
  • Dr. Phil calls it "the best meal delivery program"
  • Each package displays ingredients and nutrition facts
CON
  • Pricing may be steep for some
  • Menus pre-made, do not get to make personal selections
  • Calorie intake is slightly low
  • Not ideal for families
  • Does not provide exercise or fitness program
  • Sodium and fat both run high in these meals
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Loved being on this diet. After the birth of my daughter, I had 60 pounds to lose, and after being on this for three months, I lost 30 pounds, giving me a great "Jump start". What kept me from continuing was two fold: The cost after this long, was getting too much. Later, my daughter was eating "real" food, so no longer was I just able to feed her out of a baby food jar while I had my delicous prepared meal. Now, four years later, I'm temped to start up again - it's only the idea of me eating one meal, while preparing and feeding a young child another. - Tamara 7/12/11

I’m a little surprised at all the wonderful reviews this diet receives here. The food is not bad. I actually liked it (I bought some spices to add to it to make it a little more flavorful though). But frankly, I really started to wonder if the calorie counts on the food were accurate. I was NEVER even the tiniest bit hungry between meals, which may sound like a good thing, but I know from previous experience that this usually means I am not losing any weight. And low and behold, I lost ONE POUND in six weeks. - Libby 12/8/10

I am not giving a thumbs up or thumbs down because there are pros and cons to these meals. First off, some are very flavorful- especially the beef meals such as brocolli with beef and beef stir-fry, the shrimp pasta primavera, the grilled chicken dishes as well as some of the snacks. Sadly this meal plan does not include any desserts- like nutrasystem. Some of the meals were ok and a few were just terrible- two of the turkey based meals were almost inedible- making me wonder if my 90 year old grandmother had been brought in to over roast the turkey. Much of the problem with the meals is that while they are more fresh tasting than say nutrasystem, they need to improve their packaging technology. - Karen 7/1/10

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue. - Betty 10/21/09

DIET and NUTRITION

With Bistro MD you don't have to sacrifice variety or taste. The convenience of this meal delivery diet allows you to eat chef prepared meals while also losing weight. All of the meals are nutritionally complete and carefully designed to meet Dr. Cederquist’s guidelines. The meals that you receive will include your protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats, like the Norwegian Salmon with Wild Rice and Sauteed Spinach.

Each meal is represented by a photo and a description so that you can decide exactly what you want prior to ordering. While on this program, you can also receive support from a dietitian for free to help you reach your weight loss goals.

The Bistro MD program is heavily focused on the food you eat and offers you automatic portion control with the delivery of prepackaged, frozen meals. Each day you will eat breakfast, lunch, dinner and one snack. If you choose a program that doesn’t include snacks, then you will have to provide your own. A sample day of eating on Bistro MD with snacks is reflected below:

  • Breakfast – Cinnamon Sweet Potato Pancakes with Low-Fat Turkey Sausage
  • Lunch – Pulled Pork Sandwich with Baked Beans and Corn
  • Dinner – Roasted Turkey Breast with Gravy
  • Snack – Mini Chocolate Cheesecake

Ingredients for Bistro MD meals tend to be wholesome, without the use of artificial dyes, flavors, or other chemical additives. You'll generally recognize the ingredients named on the label, and appreciate things like whole wheat tortillas, whole wheat flour, seaweed in the vegetarian burrito, and cane syrup for sweetener.

Sodium is moderate but can run higher than the recommended 600 milligrams or less per meal. Calories for meals are in line with frozen meal recommendations not to exceed 450 calories. Fat is extremely high for these meals, exceeding the recommended 3.5 grams or less per meal.

BistroMD has also teamed up with The 17 Day Diet to bring you the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan. If you are interested in trying the 17 Day Diet, you can have the convenience of having your meals delivered while following the three-phased weight loss program.

EXERCISE

Bistro MD doesn’t have a specific exercise plan or guidelines for how much you should exercise. As an aside, Dr. Cederquist gives some education on exercise. The program does encourage exercise as a facet of living a healthy lifestyle. You are encouraged to exercise along with your Bistro MD eating plan to have success in weight loss. There are several articles available on the Bistro MD web site that offer facts about exercise, provide details on incorporating exercise with your diet and give information on how to make exercise a habit. The variety of articles available on exercise offers you a chance to incorporate whichever types of exercise you like into your routine. Some of the article topics available include:

  • Motivators to Achieve the Best Morning Workout
  • How to Bust Through a Fitness Plateau
  • Make Exercise A Habit and Get Fit!
  • Get a Celebrity Workout Without Paying Thousands of Dollars

There are also some recommendations of the types of exercises you can do to burn calories and get a workout in. Some of the suggestions include:

  • Cycling
  • Swimming
  • Boot Camp
  • Fitness with Pets
  • Walking
CONCLUSION

In this fast-paced world, preparing healthful, delicious meals at home is just one chore few people have time to put on the list. Bistro M.D.'s Diet to your Door takes care of it for you. By providing a broad menu, designed by a doctor, with tasty, nutrient-rich and satisfying meals, preparing them for you and delivering to your doorstep, it's easier than ever to manage your weight loss. Bistro M.D. is most ideal for individuals or even couples; but the expense and menu do not make it a realistic plan for families. Rest assured that a dedicated team of chefs, dietitians and Dr. Cederquist are putting your health needs first, as well as your desire for variety.

BISTRO MD SLIDESHOWS

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

BISTRO MD RESOURCES

Bistro MD Reviews on Yelp

Bistro MD on Twitter

Bistro MD on Facebook

Bistro MD on PR Newswire

Dr. Phil Recommends Bistro MD

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan by Bistro MD

Bistro MD Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Deit to your door, Deit-to-your-door, Diet-to-your-door, BistroMD, Bestro MD, Biggest Loser Meal Plan, bistromd.com

Author

by


Related Diets: The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Jillian Michaels Meal Plan, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 1 of 7, 134 total comments)

Julie

I agree with some of the posts here the customer service really is horrible! They could care less about you as a customer - I called specifically to ask about shipping as I knew I was going to be out of town on the weekend and was assured that I would be fine as food is shipped overnight. Because the customer service individual I spoke with didn't address this topic in the notes I was basically made to feel like I wasn't being truthful. Of course, my food did arrive on Friday after I had left for the weekend and when I got home on Sunday the box had been sitting outside in 100 degree weather for 2 days - did BistroMD care? Absolutely not!

So do this for the food but definitely not for the customer service department!

posted Sep 15th, 2014 9:37 pm


Laura

I did not like the Bistro “automatic renewal” system for ordering. They don’t have an option for specifically ordering for must one week or two weeks. They should provide different options for those who don’t want to be on it every week. WHAT IS CRAZY IS THEY CHARGED ME BEFORE I GOT MY FOOD. When I called saying I didn’t want any more…they said they would “TRY” to stop it! I didn’t care for the food and was not happy when I got more food. I think they need to make people aware when they order any food that they will be sending you more…makes me feel like this is a scam!!!

posted Mar 7th, 2014 7:45 pm


Betsy Johnson

I've been on the Bistro MD diet for three months.

PROS:

1. Healthy, wholesome ingredients, more so than for any of the other delivery plans I've tried. A variety of vegetables accompany the main entree.

2. The meals are tasty and, at times, even delicious. The breakfasts are almost always good. Excellent use of seasonings.

3. I'm losing weight-about 1 lb. per week. I supplement the diet with salads and fruit, but I'm sure I'd lose more if I ate only at the frozen meals.

CONS:

1. The meals contain ingredients such as: malic acid, hydrolized soybean protein, "natural flavorings," and tricalcium phosphate (caking agent). If you want to avoid synthetic ingredients, this isn't the plan for you.

2. At first I ordered the snacks along with the meals. The cheesecakes were tasty, otherwise I didn't think any of the snacks were good. Waay too much chicken in the main meals. Lunches and dinners need a bit more variety.

3. The dry ice (included to keep the food fresh) has occasionally caused the plastic trays to crack and the food to leak.

4. On two occasions I asked for a refund because I lost the food due to the tray shattering. They agreed to refund my money but only AT COST, that is-their cost. In other words, they offered $4.50 for each of the meals. This is unfair! When I return an item to a store, I get the entire amount I spent refunded-not only the manufacturer's cost.

5. The website isn't useful. The FAQs don't answer the questions a real consumer would have.

posted Jan 27th, 2014 7:47 pm


Sandi

Works but the customer service is lousy and the variety iffy. Especially with snacks. Pay extra to get the same 2 snacks to eat all week,. Can get the same meals with another plan that might actually care if you';e a customer. MD Bistro does not,.

posted Sep 26th, 2013 5:21 pm


Jim

Working great for us for 2 months now.

posted Sep 11th, 2013 11:05 pm


Gregory

I love the service. In the first week I lost 7 pounds, and the second week I lost 3. Disclaimer (this was with heavy excersice) but the food is delicious, way better than I expected, and I really only didn't like 2 of the meals that were delivered. One thing I would say though is they do repeat a lot during the week. The first week I ate crepes 3 times and chicken about 6 times. I think the menu is good though

posted Aug 30th, 2013 1:22 pm


Amy Parker

I've been on BistroMD for almost 15 months and I've lost 58 pounds (I'd like to lose another 20). When people ask me how I've lost the weight, I say I'm on the lazy person's diet, because BistroMD does all the work for me. I LOVE not having to menu plan, grocery shop, measure, cook, and clean up lots of pots, pans, and dishes afterward.
Overall, the meals are very good. My only complaint is that sometimes the meal planning is illogical if not downright mean-spirited. I do love the egg-white omelets, but I don't want them five days a week, even in different varieties! Or chicken (or beef) five meals in a row. Or spinach three times a day. These are petty issues really -- obviously I would not have stayed with this so long if I didn't like the food.
My weight loss has not set any speed records, but after a lifetime of weight issues and struggles, I feel confident that I will keep the weight off this time,

posted Aug 19th, 2013 9:42 pm



Michelle Clark

Just tried my first meal. Yum! So tasty, made me want to eat another, LOL! Just Kidding. I am looking forward to tasting what is ahead and I am a tough cookie to please---a food network fan ;)

posted Aug 19th, 2013 7:16 pm


Chris

I tried BistroMD from a Klutch box promotion. I find that after eating a breakfast and lunch that I'm not that hungry for dinner. And the munchies I had previously are gone. Its great for an on the go life that doesn't have much time for preparing meals.

posted Aug 16th, 2013 3:15 am


Shay

I am enjoying this meal plan very much. The quality is very good and tasty. It frees up a lot of time not having to spend hours shopping, planning, and preparing meals. It makes losing weight really easy.

posted Aug 15th, 2013 5:02 pm


Renato

This plan is great. The quality is very good. I think the cost is a little on the high side. I do love not having to spend hours shopping, planning, and preparing meals. It makes losing weight really easy.

Would like to see more variety and snack options.

posted Aug 13th, 2013 8:54 pm


Katie

This plan is great. The cost is high, but SO worth it. I love not having to spend hours shopping, planning, and preparing meals for me, in addition to the meals I am already making for the family-- just heat, eat, and lose weight-- fantastic!

posted Aug 13th, 2013 11:23 am


Summer

Love this program! I'm losing weight at a normal pace, and I like the convenience of the meals. Delivery is always on time and the food is frozen. You can customize a bit by going online and removing certain foods you don't like. Meals offered have a good variety and aren't boring.

posted Aug 12th, 2013 1:26 am


Caroline

Highly, highly recommend. Food is delicious. It's real food frozen, vs frozen food. Generous, balanced portions. For me, it's like a personal chef. I don't have to worry about whether I'm eating "right." I cleaned out my fridge and BistroMD is all I have in the house. Easy to stick to and effective. Very happy.

posted Aug 11th, 2013 5:24 pm


Richard

First of all, the quality and flavor of the meals are incredible. If it doesn't taste good you won't stay with it. Lost 21 pounds so far and feel great. Thanks

posted Aug 11th, 2013 12:07 pm


Carol

The program is sooo easy to follow. No measuring or counting and I love the taste of everything. Works for me!

posted Aug 11th, 2013 12:05 pm


Tiy G.

I've been on the BistroMD 5 day plan without snacks for more than 12 weeks, and have seen significant weight loss after I plateaued on my own.

Several times I have contacted customer service and received a courteous, prompt response. I also have spoken with a dietician about the specifics of the calories included in my meals and recommended snacks to accompany the plan.

I am a busy working mother to a small child, and BistroMD makes losing the last 20 pounds something that I can code into my day with little thought or effort. Flavor, variety, and service do cost, and it's a price I'm willing to pay to take charge of my health.

posted Aug 8th, 2013 10:09 pm


T Price

I like not having to think about what food to shop for and what to eat. I am so excited about about the weight loss possibilities and controlling my diabetes!

posted Aug 8th, 2013 5:26 pm


Jim

I'm starting my 5th week today. In 4 weeks, I've lost 15 pounds. I'm doing about 1700 calories per day. The portions are adequate and most meals are pretty tasty. The convenience of not having to cook comes at the cost of prepared meals FedExed to the home - but it's the price we'll pay for now, to ensure we get food we should eat in the right portion sizes. As we get further along, we'll start a hybrid program of BistroMD meals and homemade meals and then finally, all homemade meals. I would recommend this program.

posted Aug 7th, 2013 8:00 pm


Kerrie Klein

Very convenient and well balanced meals.

posted Aug 7th, 2013 5:30 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account