Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 392 reviews

Bistro MD

Doctor-designed gourmet meals delivered to your door.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Dr. Caroline J. Cederquist
  • Headquarters: Naples, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, Meal Delivery
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • EXCLUSIVE Save $50 Coupon
BACKGROUND

If you're looking for a personal chef, a weight loss physician and a way to add convenience to your life, then Bistro M.D.'s meal delivery diet could be what you're looking for. Created by Dr. Caroline Cederquist, Bistro M.D. offers a healthy weight loss plan that delivers nutritious prepared meals to your home. All the work is done, you just have to heat and enjoy.

Dr. Cederquist combines her experience with an expert team of chefs and dietitians to create a delicious variety of well-balanced meals. Bistro M.D. is even endorsed by Dr. Phil, calling it "The best diet delivery available."

In an effort to help you avoid those common dieting plateaus, Bistro M.D. will change your caloric consumption daily, from 1,100 to 1,400. This prevents your body from becoming used to, and expecting, the same amount of calories everyday. Bistro MD works to save your lean muscle mass by providing a combination of lean proteins and Low Glycemic carbs (which are responsible for those blood sugar spikes).

When you sign up for Bistro M.D., you'll have full access to expert dietitians, as well as receive weekly updates with valuable information highlighting exercise, losing weight and nutrition. More importantly, you'll receive a weekly shipment of fresh-frozen meals from your choice of four different plans. You can choose from seven or five day plans and whether or not you'd like snacks. Your menus will rotate each week so that you don’t get bored with the foods you’re eating. Each dish is specifically designed to give your body the proper amount of protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats. You are able to cancel the program at anytime and receive complete guidance for healthy weight loss. The four different options for the plans that you can order include:

Bistro M.D. is the current provider for The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, and the former provider of the Biggest Loser Meal Plan.

BISTRO MD VIDEOS

Bistro MD on Vimeo

Bistro MD YouTube Channel

Dr. Phil Features Bistro MD

PRO
  • Healthy meals that are delicious and satisfying
  • Very little work on your part- just heat and eat
  • Balanced nutrition and calories
  • Low glycemic foods ideal for diabetics
  • Expert staff of dietitians and chefs
  • Broad variety of food
  • Dr. Phil calls it "the best meal delivery program"
  • Each package displays ingredients and nutrition facts
CON
  • Pricing may be steep for some
  • Menus pre-made, do not get to make personal selections
  • Calorie intake is slightly low
  • Not ideal for families
  • Does not provide exercise or fitness program
  • Sodium and fat both run high in these meals
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Loved being on this diet. After the birth of my daughter, I had 60 pounds to lose, and after being on this for three months, I lost 30 pounds, giving me a great "Jump start". What kept me from continuing was two fold: The cost after this long, was getting too much. Later, my daughter was eating "real" food, so no longer was I just able to feed her out of a baby food jar while I had my delicous prepared meal. Now, four years later, I'm temped to start up again - it's only the idea of me eating one meal, while preparing and feeding a young child another. - Tamara 7/12/11

I’m a little surprised at all the wonderful reviews this diet receives here. The food is not bad. I actually liked it (I bought some spices to add to it to make it a little more flavorful though). But frankly, I really started to wonder if the calorie counts on the food were accurate. I was NEVER even the tiniest bit hungry between meals, which may sound like a good thing, but I know from previous experience that this usually means I am not losing any weight. And low and behold, I lost ONE POUND in six weeks. - Libby 12/8/10

I am not giving a thumbs up or thumbs down because there are pros and cons to these meals. First off, some are very flavorful- especially the beef meals such as brocolli with beef and beef stir-fry, the shrimp pasta primavera, the grilled chicken dishes as well as some of the snacks. Sadly this meal plan does not include any desserts- like nutrasystem. Some of the meals were ok and a few were just terrible- two of the turkey based meals were almost inedible- making me wonder if my 90 year old grandmother had been brought in to over roast the turkey. Much of the problem with the meals is that while they are more fresh tasting than say nutrasystem, they need to improve their packaging technology. - Karen 7/1/10

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue. - Betty 10/21/09

DIET and NUTRITION

With Bistro MD you don't have to sacrifice variety or taste. The convenience of this meal delivery diet allows you to eat chef prepared meals while also losing weight. All of the meals are nutritionally complete and carefully designed to meet Dr. Cederquist’s guidelines. The meals that you receive will include your protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats, like the Norwegian Salmon with Wild Rice and Sauteed Spinach.

Each meal is represented by a photo and a description so that you can decide exactly what you want prior to ordering. While on this program, you can also receive support from a dietitian for free to help you reach your weight loss goals.

The Bistro MD program is heavily focused on the food you eat and offers you automatic portion control with the delivery of prepackaged, frozen meals. Each day you will eat breakfast, lunch, dinner and one snack. If you choose a program that doesn’t include snacks, then you will have to provide your own. A sample day of eating on Bistro MD with snacks is reflected below:

  • Breakfast – Cinnamon Sweet Potato Pancakes with Low-Fat Turkey Sausage
  • Lunch – Pulled Pork Sandwich with Baked Beans and Corn
  • Dinner – Roasted Turkey Breast with Gravy
  • Snack – Mini Chocolate Cheesecake

Ingredients for Bistro MD meals tend to be wholesome, without the use of artificial dyes, flavors, or other chemical additives. You'll generally recognize the ingredients named on the label, and appreciate things like whole wheat tortillas, whole wheat flour, seaweed in the vegetarian burrito, and cane syrup for sweetener.

Sodium is moderate but can run higher than the recommended 600 milligrams or less per meal. Calories for meals are in line with frozen meal recommendations not to exceed 450 calories. Fat is extremely high for these meals, exceeding the recommended 3.5 grams or less per meal.

BistroMD has also teamed up with The 17 Day Diet to bring you the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan. If you are interested in trying the 17 Day Diet, you can have the convenience of having your meals delivered while following the three-phased weight loss program.

EXERCISE

Bistro MD doesn’t have a specific exercise plan or guidelines for how much you should exercise. As an aside, Dr. Cederquist gives some education on exercise. The program does encourage exercise as a facet of living a healthy lifestyle. You are encouraged to exercise along with your Bistro MD eating plan to have success in weight loss. There are several articles available on the Bistro MD web site that offer facts about exercise, provide details on incorporating exercise with your diet and give information on how to make exercise a habit. The variety of articles available on exercise offers you a chance to incorporate whichever types of exercise you like into your routine. Some of the article topics available include:

  • Motivators to Achieve the Best Morning Workout
  • How to Bust Through a Fitness Plateau
  • Make Exercise A Habit and Get Fit!
  • Get a Celebrity Workout Without Paying Thousands of Dollars

There are also some recommendations of the types of exercises you can do to burn calories and get a workout in. Some of the suggestions include:

  • Cycling
  • Swimming
  • Boot Camp
  • Fitness with Pets
  • Walking
CONCLUSION

In this fast-paced world, preparing healthful, delicious meals at home is just one chore few people have time to put on the list. Bistro M.D.'s Diet to your Door takes care of it for you. By providing a broad menu, designed by a doctor, with tasty, nutrient-rich and satisfying meals, preparing them for you and delivering to your doorstep, it's easier than ever to manage your weight loss. Bistro M.D. is most ideal for individuals or even couples; but the expense and menu do not make it a realistic plan for families. Rest assured that a dedicated team of chefs, dietitians and Dr. Cederquist are putting your health needs first, as well as your desire for variety.

BISTRO MD SLIDESHOWS

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

BISTRO MD RESOURCES

Bistro MD Reviews on Yelp

Bistro MD on Twitter

Bistro MD on Facebook

Bistro MD on PR Newswire

Dr. Phil Recommends Bistro MD

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan by Bistro MD

Bistro MD Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Deit to your door, Deit-to-your-door, Diet-to-your-door, BistroMD, Bestro MD, Biggest Loser Meal Plan, bistromd.com

Author

by


Related Diets: The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Jillian Michaels Meal Plan, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 7 of 7, 134 total comments)

stacy

I just started the food and doing the 5 day plan with snacks. I am amazed how great the food is. This is restaurant quality food!! Better than I ever expected, the snacks are okay, however the protein in them are worth it, helps with the hunger pains. I am not a sweet breakfast person, probably the only set back for me. I can adjust..:)

posted Dec 27th, 2008 9:49 pm


McKenzie

I really like this program. I get the meal plan that does not include snacks and I prefer it that way because I previously had the plan with the snacks and they are not very good so I found myself not eating them. I would recommend this to anyone.

posted Dec 10th, 2008 9:32 pm


HH

This food is so yummy I can't believe its a diet, but I have seriously started losing weight on Bistro MD, without feeling hungry or punished and frankly, other diets have felt more like penance than progress. Honestly, I have to find the food appealing. I can't stand bland starchy tasting dishes, even if they are somehow low carb, and these meals have really been a surprise. I love the salmon. The first time it was so good I thought it must have been a fluke, but its consistently good, and I think getting fish right seems to be the biggest food challenge for delivery diets. Also my experience with customer service has been really great. Not that I haven't had a complaint, but anyone can have problems. I just need to know someone is going to take care of it, and not tell me the computer won't let them. As far as cost goes, when I was chowing down, I would pay more for good chocolate and good steaks and good bakery rolls, so i'm not going to start skimping on food quality now, when it matters most. We're both on the diet and still coming out out ahead of what we were spending at macaroni grill or TGIF, or wherever else.

posted Nov 30th, 2008 10:37 pm


Cheryl

Meals were repitious and boring. Three days in a row, one of the meals was tomoato based.

Customer service was rude and uncooperative. Shipping was hit or miss. If you count on this food to be there for you to stay on your diet, pass on by.

posted Oct 22nd, 2008 3:20 pm


BMK42

We got off to a rocky start, but once we worked through a few cust-serv issues, I'm actually quite happy with Bistro MD. First order was late and didn't quite have what I ordered, but the operator was very nice and responsive. The food for the most part is quite delicious. Breakfast leaves me a little hungry, so I snack on fruit during the day. One month, lost 10 pounds and going strong.

posted Oct 5th, 2008 12:09 am


MRD

Bistro MD- Customer service can be frustrating and there is a great deal of misinformation. Delivery schedule is always unpredictable although they do provide you with a fed ex tracking number. There is a lack of information wtih your first shipment that should be de rigeur (cooking times/instructions) calorie counts, nutrition info etc. For the price the customer is paying this just doesn't fly. Turkey meals are atrocious as are the "shakes" but the beef, shrimp and lasagna are good. Some of the food excels over other choices such as Nutrisystem and Jenny Craig, but the whole system could definitely be better. Menus viewed online are not always accurate representation of what you will be getting and substitutions are only allowed for religious or allergy reasons. Some of the protein chips snacks are tasty-nice and crunchy and salty-but those can be found online. The food is NOT as healthy as it purports, check the labels and see. High carb veggies are prominent players; carrots, peas and corn. Breakfasts and snacks are either super sweet (lots of Splenda) or really carb centric. All of which is questionable on a "low glycemic" plan. Breakfasts are extremely small and low in calories ( for example two small toaster waffles or one packet instant oatmeal). The breakfasts are definitely not the high point. The lunch and dinner portion sizes are nicely sized and surprisingly large. The meal sizes are much bigger than comparable plans-so if you like the food that's a good thing. Many people love this diet and have had success. The calorie count can leave you feeling woozy and with a headache on some days, particularly if you are exercising regularly. Weight is lost at an average of two lbs. a week if you are strictly eating the plan and for many that is worth the money and the trouble that occurs with Bistro MD. My opinion after two months is that it is not worth the price but is a good place to learn portion size (except breakfast should be bigger and have more protein).

posted Sep 30th, 2008 9:20 am


RSV

I just started the plan today. The food is pretty tasty. I was surprised by how full I am already. I feel like I am constantly eating. I am not crazy about their shakes either, but the food in general tastes good. The one thing that I did notice is that there is no fruit or dairy in this program...which I thought was odd.

posted Jul 29th, 2008 8:34 am


Maria

I actually think their food is excellent. Not a fan of the shakes but other than that they are great. Unfortunatley I dropped them due to their customer service. Unresponded to emails, a whole week's order scheduled for delivery when I didn't get the first one yet in time to try before getting my new one and $200 a week for food for 1 is pricey. I am trying Diet to Go to see if it is comparable since it's about $100/week cheaper. I do have to say that BistroMD's food is very good and I think you would be satisfied.

posted Jul 15th, 2008 9:28 am


Nancy

Midway through my first week. So far, I'm really enjoying the fresh-frozen meals...not so much a fan of shakes or "diet" foods such as sugar-free muffins as they taste fake but the fresh-frozen meals are surprisingly good, generous portions, nice flavors and the veggies crisp and fresh tasting. Much better than the over-processed/over-preserved foods in NutriSystem or Jenny, far fewer "cheap" filler simple carbs as well. Much more satisfying and far less "diety".

posted Jun 23rd, 2008 4:55 pm


Joyce

The food is wonderful...did seem a little expensive...but as it turns out it's very much worth it. With all the food you get it's unbelievable.

posted Jun 12th, 2008 9:25 am


Ricky

It is a little pricey but well worth it! The food on nutrisystem and medifast compared to Bistro MD is horrible.

posted Apr 18th, 2008 6:59 am


Di

So far the only downside is the expense. But with a lunch out hard to find for under $7 ... and the dilemma of cooking for one... it ends up not costing me much more than groceries and takeout. The food is suprisingly good and a nice break from usual frozen box meals :) I'm munching on a pasta puttanesca w/ chicken right now. There is a set plan, which rotates, but you can also request a substitution list if you want. Actually, I found it a lot of food for me, which showed me one of the biggest problems in my weight loss battle: not eating ENOUGH. I was always scrawny until I started on a couple medications and then a lot of steroids for a back injury. From a 2/4 to 14/16 in shocking time. As I gained weight, I started eating less and less and I am sure many of you know what I mean by this: that I felt like I wanted to strangle the next person (online or otherwise!) who told me that it's all about calories and I just need to eat less or exercise more. Ummmm... I was never topping 1,000 cals a day, have never been an emotional eater and can stick to plan. I'm not as active as I was prior to the injury, but not having a car, it is impossible to be too sendentary!! When I started this, I was shocked by how much food it was per day and that really brought home to me how much I was starting to nearly starve myself (tho I still managed to GAIN somehow!!!!!) Now, the part you've all been waiting for LOL: Yes, I'm down 11 lbs in about a month, the first time I've been on a downward trend since this all began. I had to send back some pants I'd just ordered. I am down a size and a few inches off my waist. I'm not a big carb fan, so the option to have a lower carb plan is great for me. It isn't carb free, but I was getting tired of how high-carb most diet foods are. This has a good amt of protein, but not all from soy protein either, which settles better for me. I had some nutrisystem a while back and that was too much for my stomach. I'd say the emphasis is more on veggies than carbs in this plan, and I love that.

posted Mar 8th, 2008 6:01 pm


Mary

very expensive...but I hear its worth the money...anyone had exceptional results with diet to your door


Amy C.

diet to your door is great! you don't have to do any thinking, but it can get really expensive. if you can afford it, it's a great way to lose weight



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account