Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 392 reviews

Bistro MD

Doctor-designed gourmet meals delivered to your door.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Dr. Caroline J. Cederquist
  • Headquarters: Naples, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, Meal Delivery
  • Gender: Male and Female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking for a personal chef, a weight loss physician and a way to add convenience to your life, then Bistro M.D.'s meal delivery diet could be what you're looking for. Created by Dr. Caroline Cederquist, Bistro M.D. offers a healthy weight loss plan that delivers nutritious prepared meals to your home. All the work is done, you just have to heat and enjoy.

Dr. Cederquist combines her experience with an expert team of chefs and dietitians to create a delicious variety of well-balanced meals. Bistro M.D. is even endorsed by Dr. Phil, calling it "The best diet delivery available."

In an effort to help you avoid those common dieting plateaus, Bistro M.D. will change your caloric consumption daily, from 1,100 to 1,400. This prevents your body from becoming used to, and expecting, the same amount of calories everyday. Bistro MD works to save your lean muscle mass by providing a combination of lean proteins and Low Glycemic carbs (which are responsible for those blood sugar spikes).

When you sign up for Bistro M.D., you'll have full access to expert dietitians, as well as receive weekly updates with valuable information highlighting exercise, losing weight and nutrition. More importantly, you'll receive a weekly shipment of fresh-frozen meals from your choice of four different plans. You can choose from seven or five day plans and whether or not you'd like snacks. Your menus will rotate each week so that you don’t get bored with the foods you’re eating. Each dish is specifically designed to give your body the proper amount of protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats. You are able to cancel the program at anytime and receive complete guidance for healthy weight loss. The four different options for the plans that you can order include:

Bistro M.D. is the current provider for The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, and the former provider of the Biggest Loser Meal Plan.

BISTRO MD VIDEOS

Bistro MD on Vimeo

Bistro MD YouTube Channel

Dr. Phil Features Bistro MD

PRO
  • Healthy meals that are delicious and satisfying
  • Very little work on your part- just heat and eat
  • Balanced nutrition and calories
  • Low glycemic foods ideal for diabetics
  • Expert staff of dietitians and chefs
  • Broad variety of food
  • Dr. Phil calls it "the best meal delivery program"
  • Each package displays ingredients and nutrition facts
CON
  • Pricing may be steep for some
  • Menus pre-made, do not get to make personal selections
  • Calorie intake is slightly low
  • Not ideal for families
  • Does not provide exercise or fitness program
  • Sodium and fat both run high in these meals
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Loved being on this diet. After the birth of my daughter, I had 60 pounds to lose, and after being on this for three months, I lost 30 pounds, giving me a great "Jump start". What kept me from continuing was two fold: The cost after this long, was getting too much. Later, my daughter was eating "real" food, so no longer was I just able to feed her out of a baby food jar while I had my delicous prepared meal. Now, four years later, I'm temped to start up again - it's only the idea of me eating one meal, while preparing and feeding a young child another. - Tamara 7/12/11

I’m a little surprised at all the wonderful reviews this diet receives here. The food is not bad. I actually liked it (I bought some spices to add to it to make it a little more flavorful though). But frankly, I really started to wonder if the calorie counts on the food were accurate. I was NEVER even the tiniest bit hungry between meals, which may sound like a good thing, but I know from previous experience that this usually means I am not losing any weight. And low and behold, I lost ONE POUND in six weeks. - Libby 12/8/10

I am not giving a thumbs up or thumbs down because there are pros and cons to these meals. First off, some are very flavorful- especially the beef meals such as brocolli with beef and beef stir-fry, the shrimp pasta primavera, the grilled chicken dishes as well as some of the snacks. Sadly this meal plan does not include any desserts- like nutrasystem. Some of the meals were ok and a few were just terrible- two of the turkey based meals were almost inedible- making me wonder if my 90 year old grandmother had been brought in to over roast the turkey. Much of the problem with the meals is that while they are more fresh tasting than say nutrasystem, they need to improve their packaging technology. - Karen 7/1/10

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue. - Betty 10/21/09

DIET and NUTRITION

With Bistro MD you don't have to sacrifice variety or taste. The convenience of this meal delivery diet allows you to eat chef prepared meals while also losing weight. All of the meals are nutritionally complete and carefully designed to meet Dr. Cederquist’s guidelines. The meals that you receive will include your protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats, like the Norwegian Salmon with Wild Rice and Sauteed Spinach.

Each meal is represented by a photo and a description so that you can decide exactly what you want prior to ordering. While on this program, you can also receive support from a dietitian for free to help you reach your weight loss goals.

The Bistro MD program is heavily focused on the food you eat and offers you automatic portion control with the delivery of prepackaged, frozen meals. Each day you will eat breakfast, lunch, dinner and one snack. If you choose a program that doesn’t include snacks, then you will have to provide your own. A sample day of eating on Bistro MD with snacks is reflected below:

  • Breakfast – Cinnamon Sweet Potato Pancakes with Low-Fat Turkey Sausage
  • Lunch – Pulled Pork Sandwich with Baked Beans and Corn
  • Dinner – Roasted Turkey Breast with Gravy
  • Snack – Mini Chocolate Cheesecake

Ingredients for Bistro MD meals tend to be wholesome, without the use of artificial dyes, flavors, or other chemical additives. You'll generally recognize the ingredients named on the label, and appreciate things like whole wheat tortillas, whole wheat flour, seaweed in the vegetarian burrito, and cane syrup for sweetener.

Sodium is moderate but can run higher than the recommended 600 milligrams or less per meal. Calories for meals are in line with frozen meal recommendations not to exceed 450 calories. Fat is extremely high for these meals, exceeding the recommended 3.5 grams or less per meal.

BistroMD has also teamed up with The 17 Day Diet to bring you the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan. If you are interested in trying the 17 Day Diet, you can have the convenience of having your meals delivered while following the three-phased weight loss program.

EXERCISE

Bistro MD doesn’t have a specific exercise plan or guidelines for how much you should exercise. As an aside, Dr. Cederquist gives some education on exercise. The program does encourage exercise as a facet of living a healthy lifestyle. You are encouraged to exercise along with your Bistro MD eating plan to have success in weight loss. There are several articles available on the Bistro MD web site that offer facts about exercise, provide details on incorporating exercise with your diet and give information on how to make exercise a habit. The variety of articles available on exercise offers you a chance to incorporate whichever types of exercise you like into your routine. Some of the article topics available include:

  • Motivators to Achieve the Best Morning Workout
  • How to Bust Through a Fitness Plateau
  • Make Exercise A Habit and Get Fit!
  • Get a Celebrity Workout Without Paying Thousands of Dollars

There are also some recommendations of the types of exercises you can do to burn calories and get a workout in. Some of the suggestions include:

  • Cycling
  • Swimming
  • Boot Camp
  • Fitness with Pets
  • Walking
CONCLUSION

In this fast-paced world, preparing healthful, delicious meals at home is just one chore few people have time to put on the list. Bistro M.D.'s Diet to your Door takes care of it for you. By providing a broad menu, designed by a doctor, with tasty, nutrient-rich and satisfying meals, preparing them for you and delivering to your doorstep, it's easier than ever to manage your weight loss. Bistro M.D. is most ideal for individuals or even couples; but the expense and menu do not make it a realistic plan for families. Rest assured that a dedicated team of chefs, dietitians and Dr. Cederquist are putting your health needs first, as well as your desire for variety.

BISTRO MD SLIDESHOWS

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

BISTRO MD RESOURCES

Bistro MD Reviews on Yelp

Bistro MD on Twitter

Bistro MD on Facebook

Bistro MD on PR Newswire

Dr. Phil Recommends Bistro MD

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan by Bistro MD

Bistro MD Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Deit to your door, Deit-to-your-door, Diet-to-your-door, BistroMD, Bestro MD, Biggest Loser Meal Plan, bistromd.com

Author

by


Related Diets: The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Jillian Michaels Meal Plan, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 4 of 7, 134 total comments)

mkaymiller

You do a great job! Most of the meals are great... and your customer service is excellent. I once had problems with the shipping dept., but that was resolved quite well. Keep up the good work!

posted Aug 3rd, 2013 10:24 pm


Richard Peck

I have been on the program for approximately two months and couldn't be happier. The Bistromd system has helped me limit my portion size and establish healthier eating habits. I'm already down 20 POUNDS! And the food tastes GREAT!

posted Aug 3rd, 2013 7:11 am


Margaret Barron

I have tried Diets to Go, and found that their ingredients were full of sodium. I am a diabetic with high pressure, but since I have been on this diet, at least 8 weeks, my numbers are getting back to where they should be. I don't cook so this is the perfect solution. I agree, that it seems like they send the same meals but when you think of the alternative (frozen meals from the supermarket) you are much better off with this plan.

posted Aug 3rd, 2013 4:11 am


rhen

I chose Bistro MD not so much for a weight loss plan but as a way to eat healthier meals and since I am single and don't really like to cook, this seemed like a good solution.

For the most part I like the food. Yes it is a lot of chicken....but I like chicken. The breakfasts are good as well. I wish it was a little cheaper, but overall I have been satisfied.

posted Aug 3rd, 2013 3:56 am


Debbie

I was honestly surprised by how the good the meals have been so far. Not only delicious, but the portion sizes are great too. I'm never left feeling hungry after eating one of their meals. Plus, I lost 4 pounds in the first week! I am not a huge chicken fan and most of the meals seem to be chicken, but they are so delicious, I haven't minded much. I also love how there are no fillers, just real meats and veggies. I plan to use the program for as long as I can!

posted Aug 3rd, 2013 3:33 am


Kim

I will be going into my 4th day of meals...They are so good! The meals are more than I can eat and very satisfying. This is an excellent choice for me to start my weight loss.

posted Aug 3rd, 2013 1:52 am


Andrew Belsky

The Bistro MD diet plan has changed my life. Over the past 10 years following my college athletic career my weight slowly but surely got away from me to the point that I was approximately 120lbs more than my playing weight. I knew that I had to do something but didn't know where to begin. A friend suggested I try some sort of diet plan and following intensive research online I chose Bistro MD. I couldn't have made a better choice. In just less than 7 months I'm down over 90lbs and I owe it all to this diet. The selection of foods is incredible as are the results. I'm very rarely hungry and thoroughly enjoy nearly every meal. I still have about 45lbs to go to reach my goal but at this point I have no doubt I'll get there. As I said this plan has changed my life and in fact it has given me a life back!

posted Aug 3rd, 2013 1:35 am


Nancy Beletti

Lost 10 lbs in one month. Food is tasty too!

posted Aug 2nd, 2013 10:08 pm


GRETCHEN HAU

Service has always been excellent. Currently, I'm just getting the breakfasts cuz I love them so much and that way I'm sure to have a good breakfast in the am.
I'd recommend Bistro to anyone.

posted Aug 2nd, 2013 8:05 pm


gretchen

After major surgery and a grueling chemo regimen I was way too exhausted and weak to cook and shop or even think about cooking. The food is good, the dietician in the cancer center says it's a great balance, particularly the high protein and low glycemic index, and only suggested I add some salads. I immediately began to feel better when I started on it.

posted Aug 2nd, 2013 7:56 pm


Jamesetta

So far I'm loving the varieties of different foods the portion size are realistic. The foods may be frozen but you can tell it was cooked fresh. When you eat the chicken and beef you know it's chicken and beef no mystery meat.Glad I found out this about this company (YouTube :-)) This program will aid in my healthier body and mind journee.

posted Aug 2nd, 2013 7:02 pm


jamie

So far I am loving the different varities of foods. The food may be frozen but you can tell it was cooked fresh and the portion size are great. I am happy I found out about this company (Youtube :-)) when you eat the beef and chicken you know its beef and chicken. Amazing how low in calories each meal is this program will help me get started to a much healthier me.

posted Aug 2nd, 2013 6:51 pm


Amy

I've been on the BistroMD program for about 2 months now and have been very pleased with it so far. I've lost about 7 lbs or so. Not as fast as some diets promise, but certainly more realistic. I didn't gain my extra weight overnight, and one shouldn't expect it to drop overnight either.

I like the consistency that this diet provides and you really can't beat the convenience. I spend 15 hours a week commuting, the last thing I want to do after a 12-hour day (+ 1 hour in the gym) is cook! I like to cook, but my lifestyle just makes it hard to find the time. BistroMD does all the work for you. It's soooo nice to not have to worry about meal-planning, cooking, long trips to Whole Foods, cleaning up the kitchen, etc.

So far the quality and variety of the food has been impressive. There were only a few things I didn't care for, but I chalk that up to personal preferences. If I had to complain about something, it would be the chicken sausage that is a side for many of the breakfasts. They leave the casing on and that makes it overly chewy once it goes through the microwave. I think it would do better as a "sausage crumble" rather than links. Other than that, the food has been great. It helps that I'm not a picky eater.

As for the cost, yes BistroMD is expensive. But, I found it to be the most affordable among the food delivery options, given that I have to avoid most preservatives due to a medical condition. Like another reviewer commented, my weekly sabbaticals to Whole Foods never added up to the $740/month tab for the 7-day plan, but it was a near thing sometimes. Particularly if I tried to get more protien in my diet. The better-quality meats and fish at Whole Foods can be hugely expensive. But while I shell out more for BistroMD, at least I don't have to make the hour round-trip to the nearest Whole Foods. So I guess you could say I'm saving on gas and wear on my car too!

I'm happy with the BistroMD program and plan to stay on it for as long as I can afford it. In fact, once I reach my goal weight, I will probably switch to the 5-day plan simply for the convenience.

posted Aug 2nd, 2013 6:00 pm


Courtney

I have been on the BistroMD plan for 10 months. That combined with an exercise program supervised by a trainer has allowed me to lose 115pounds and 7 sizes! I love the food and recommend it to everyone I meet that wants to get healthy. I will say that once my body started to burn more calories at rest after working out religiously for about 7 months, I did have to start supplementing the plan with additional protein bars and shakes to get to a healthy calorie intake for my activity level. I am 38 years old and feel better than I did when I was 18!

posted Aug 2nd, 2013 4:35 pm


DT

I love the Chicken Paprikash

posted Aug 2nd, 2013 4:04 pm


Susan

Sooo disappointed. Nothing fresh-everything frozen and packaged.

posted Jun 12th, 2013 12:16 am


Cindy

I LOVE THIS DIET!!! My husband and I have been on and off this diet for over 5 years! We do take a break from time to time but Always go back on when we start getting out of control with our portions or need some time back in our busy lives!

The food is so good and if ever there is anything we don't care for we just send a quick email and we dont get it again. It is so easy and such good quality! I would never eat this healthy or have this much of a variety OR this many vegetables ever on my own!!!

Not only did this program help me lose baby weight after each of my 2 babies (50+ pounds with each baby) but my husband and I are both endurance athletes and we still feel satisfied after our meals. We of course have to add some calories on our super long workout days but that's easy to do. I don't know how anyone wouldn't love this diet. We have recommended to so many of our friends and over 10 of our close friends have joined the program and every single one has lost the weight they hoped to lose. I could keep going on but i have 2 kids to chase around! JOIN..... NOW.....GO!!!!!!

posted Jan 29th, 2013 11:49 pm


Joanne

I am a 53 year old woman and I have lost over 30 pounds in 4 months (minus 2 weeks off the program because of Thanksgiving and Christmas when I ate whatever I wanted) Not bad, actually it is really good! I am a chef and a real food critic at heart. The food is good, very good for diet or low GI food. It is not 5-star restaurant caliber food and it doesn't try to be, but it is really good frozen premade food. The portions are the right size and I have never felt hungry. A nutritionist plans your menu for the week with the meals you have chosen from their database. This is a great plan for those who need an instant meal and have access to a microwave at meal time. I find the convince great I am also finding I actually miss eating raw fruits and vegetables. I thought I would never say that, because in the past those are two things I never reached for... Hence the reason I needed to lose weight. Now, when I can, I grab a piece of fruit or have a salad when dining out, or when I cannot get home to nuke my meal. It plan is costly, but not any more expensive if you were to cook your own meals at home using fresh ingredients. Food these days is expensive; you cannot compare this cost of this program to the cost of another diet meal plan where the food is freeze-dryed, delivered in a powdered form or eating at McDonald's or Taco Bell for every meal... Apples to apples... Recently, BMD revamped their users website and like any new tools there can sometimes be problems. When my food delivery arrived a couple weeks ago, I was a few meals short. Their customer service department acted swiftly and professionally in resolving my problem, and I feel they have gone above and beyond in making sure I am happy. I really don't want to eat anything else, this has been the easiest plan I have ever been on. I highly recomend this plan to anyone who has struggled to lose weight by eating sub par food or worse meal replacement shakes. The food is real & fresh, and the customer service ROCKS!

posted Jan 24th, 2013 9:40 pm


Elaine

I have been on the program for 8 weeks now and could not be happier with the results. I easily dropped 2 sizes and feel more energized throughout the day. I no longer have to deal with the 2pm drag.

Working full time and having a family, I have found that more than anything, bistroMD has helped me with my time management. I can have dinner prepared much quicker, allowing more time and interaction with my family.

I would highly recommend bistroMD to anyone. Their website is extremely informative and customer service has always been helpful, often going over and above the ensure that my orders have been correct, even when I have caused the errors.

posted Jan 22nd, 2013 4:07 pm


dk

Horrible customer service. I had specifically called 6 months ago and asked for nothing with Tofu in and they were great about. Then one day a box showed up with a Tofu meal. I sent them an e-mail and said it’s no problem, I’ll just discard this one you’ll make up it on the next shipment.
Then it got nasty. They said it was my fault that I got a Tofu meal and they tried to call to verify (not true) and I was just out of one meal that they would not replace nor refund.

Now that got me to thinking. This is a delivery meal plan that costs thousands of dollars per year and here we are with just one wrong meal that is not my fault, what is really going on behind the scenes?

Since there are plenty of meal delivery programs out there, I decided to call their bluff and said “Fine, cancel my deliveries”. After all, no company in their right mind would lose a loyal customer with several years of purchases over a single $8 mistake that was clearly their fault?

WRONG, they sent a nice “don’t let the door hit you on the rear on the way out” e-mail.

So they threw away several thousands of dollars per year for the next untold number of years on an 8$ mistake that they made. I was floored.

However, the good news, is while on the plan, it did teach me what food was right to eat and what portion sizes were appropriate. So now I just buy that from the store at about half the cost of the delivery service.

posted Jan 21st, 2013 6:15 am



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account