Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 392 reviews

Bistro MD

Doctor-designed gourmet meals delivered to your door.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Dr. Caroline J. Cederquist
  • Headquarters: Naples, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, Meal Delivery
  • Gender: Male and Female
  • EXCLUSIVE Save $50 Coupon
BACKGROUND

If you're looking for a personal chef, a weight loss physician and a way to add convenience to your life, then Bistro M.D.'s meal delivery diet could be what you're looking for. Created by Dr. Caroline Cederquist, Bistro M.D. offers a healthy weight loss plan that delivers nutritious prepared meals to your home. All the work is done, you just have to heat and enjoy.

Dr. Cederquist combines her experience with an expert team of chefs and dietitians to create a delicious variety of well-balanced meals. Bistro M.D. is even endorsed by Dr. Phil, calling it "The best diet delivery available."

In an effort to help you avoid those common dieting plateaus, Bistro M.D. will change your caloric consumption daily, from 1,100 to 1,400. This prevents your body from becoming used to, and expecting, the same amount of calories everyday. Bistro MD works to save your lean muscle mass by providing a combination of lean proteins and Low Glycemic carbs (which are responsible for those blood sugar spikes).

When you sign up for Bistro M.D., you'll have full access to expert dietitians, as well as receive weekly updates with valuable information highlighting exercise, losing weight and nutrition. More importantly, you'll receive a weekly shipment of fresh-frozen meals from your choice of four different plans. You can choose from seven or five day plans and whether or not you'd like snacks. Your menus will rotate each week so that you don’t get bored with the foods you’re eating. Each dish is specifically designed to give your body the proper amount of protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats. You are able to cancel the program at anytime and receive complete guidance for healthy weight loss. The four different options for the plans that you can order include:

Bistro M.D. is the current provider for The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, and the former provider of the Biggest Loser Meal Plan.

BISTRO MD VIDEOS

Bistro MD on Vimeo

Bistro MD YouTube Channel

Dr. Phil Features Bistro MD

PRO
  • Healthy meals that are delicious and satisfying
  • Very little work on your part- just heat and eat
  • Balanced nutrition and calories
  • Low glycemic foods ideal for diabetics
  • Expert staff of dietitians and chefs
  • Broad variety of food
  • Dr. Phil calls it "the best meal delivery program"
  • Each package displays ingredients and nutrition facts
CON
  • Pricing may be steep for some
  • Menus pre-made, do not get to make personal selections
  • Calorie intake is slightly low
  • Not ideal for families
  • Does not provide exercise or fitness program
  • Sodium and fat both run high in these meals
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Loved being on this diet. After the birth of my daughter, I had 60 pounds to lose, and after being on this for three months, I lost 30 pounds, giving me a great "Jump start". What kept me from continuing was two fold: The cost after this long, was getting too much. Later, my daughter was eating "real" food, so no longer was I just able to feed her out of a baby food jar while I had my delicous prepared meal. Now, four years later, I'm temped to start up again - it's only the idea of me eating one meal, while preparing and feeding a young child another. - Tamara 7/12/11

I’m a little surprised at all the wonderful reviews this diet receives here. The food is not bad. I actually liked it (I bought some spices to add to it to make it a little more flavorful though). But frankly, I really started to wonder if the calorie counts on the food were accurate. I was NEVER even the tiniest bit hungry between meals, which may sound like a good thing, but I know from previous experience that this usually means I am not losing any weight. And low and behold, I lost ONE POUND in six weeks. - Libby 12/8/10

I am not giving a thumbs up or thumbs down because there are pros and cons to these meals. First off, some are very flavorful- especially the beef meals such as brocolli with beef and beef stir-fry, the shrimp pasta primavera, the grilled chicken dishes as well as some of the snacks. Sadly this meal plan does not include any desserts- like nutrasystem. Some of the meals were ok and a few were just terrible- two of the turkey based meals were almost inedible- making me wonder if my 90 year old grandmother had been brought in to over roast the turkey. Much of the problem with the meals is that while they are more fresh tasting than say nutrasystem, they need to improve their packaging technology. - Karen 7/1/10

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue. - Betty 10/21/09

DIET and NUTRITION

With Bistro MD you don't have to sacrifice variety or taste. The convenience of this meal delivery diet allows you to eat chef prepared meals while also losing weight. All of the meals are nutritionally complete and carefully designed to meet Dr. Cederquist’s guidelines. The meals that you receive will include your protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats, like the Norwegian Salmon with Wild Rice and Sauteed Spinach.

Each meal is represented by a photo and a description so that you can decide exactly what you want prior to ordering. While on this program, you can also receive support from a dietitian for free to help you reach your weight loss goals.

The Bistro MD program is heavily focused on the food you eat and offers you automatic portion control with the delivery of prepackaged, frozen meals. Each day you will eat breakfast, lunch, dinner and one snack. If you choose a program that doesn’t include snacks, then you will have to provide your own. A sample day of eating on Bistro MD with snacks is reflected below:

  • Breakfast – Cinnamon Sweet Potato Pancakes with Low-Fat Turkey Sausage
  • Lunch – Pulled Pork Sandwich with Baked Beans and Corn
  • Dinner – Roasted Turkey Breast with Gravy
  • Snack – Mini Chocolate Cheesecake

Ingredients for Bistro MD meals tend to be wholesome, without the use of artificial dyes, flavors, or other chemical additives. You'll generally recognize the ingredients named on the label, and appreciate things like whole wheat tortillas, whole wheat flour, seaweed in the vegetarian burrito, and cane syrup for sweetener.

Sodium is moderate but can run higher than the recommended 600 milligrams or less per meal. Calories for meals are in line with frozen meal recommendations not to exceed 450 calories. Fat is extremely high for these meals, exceeding the recommended 3.5 grams or less per meal.

BistroMD has also teamed up with The 17 Day Diet to bring you the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan. If you are interested in trying the 17 Day Diet, you can have the convenience of having your meals delivered while following the three-phased weight loss program.

EXERCISE

Bistro MD doesn’t have a specific exercise plan or guidelines for how much you should exercise. As an aside, Dr. Cederquist gives some education on exercise. The program does encourage exercise as a facet of living a healthy lifestyle. You are encouraged to exercise along with your Bistro MD eating plan to have success in weight loss. There are several articles available on the Bistro MD web site that offer facts about exercise, provide details on incorporating exercise with your diet and give information on how to make exercise a habit. The variety of articles available on exercise offers you a chance to incorporate whichever types of exercise you like into your routine. Some of the article topics available include:

  • Motivators to Achieve the Best Morning Workout
  • How to Bust Through a Fitness Plateau
  • Make Exercise A Habit and Get Fit!
  • Get a Celebrity Workout Without Paying Thousands of Dollars

There are also some recommendations of the types of exercises you can do to burn calories and get a workout in. Some of the suggestions include:

  • Cycling
  • Swimming
  • Boot Camp
  • Fitness with Pets
  • Walking
CONCLUSION

In this fast-paced world, preparing healthful, delicious meals at home is just one chore few people have time to put on the list. Bistro M.D.'s Diet to your Door takes care of it for you. By providing a broad menu, designed by a doctor, with tasty, nutrient-rich and satisfying meals, preparing them for you and delivering to your doorstep, it's easier than ever to manage your weight loss. Bistro M.D. is most ideal for individuals or even couples; but the expense and menu do not make it a realistic plan for families. Rest assured that a dedicated team of chefs, dietitians and Dr. Cederquist are putting your health needs first, as well as your desire for variety.

BISTRO MD SLIDESHOWS

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

BISTRO MD RESOURCES

Bistro MD Reviews on Yelp

Bistro MD on Twitter

Bistro MD on Facebook

Bistro MD on PR Newswire

Dr. Phil Recommends Bistro MD

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan by Bistro MD

Bistro MD Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Deit to your door, Deit-to-your-door, Diet-to-your-door, BistroMD, Bestro MD, Biggest Loser Meal Plan, bistromd.com

Author

by


Related Diets: The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Jillian Michaels Meal Plan, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 2 of 7, 133 total comments)

Brad Spachman

I agree with nearly all the feedback I've seen here. The cost is high, but not TOO much higher than shopping for quality ingredients. The convenience and peace of mind that comes from not having to worry about portion control make the program worth it in my eyes.

I started my journey with a couple weeks of South Beach Phase 1, then moved to BistroMD as my "Phase 2." My weight loss has continued, and I'm within sight of my ultimate goal.

I'll be interested to see how I am able to transition away from BistroMD. I'm about to downsize from the 7-day plan to the 5-day plan in an effort to see if I've actually learned anything--or if I'll just yo-yo back to my bad habits.

Regardless, the food is tasty and although there are occasionally runs of 'lots of chicken' or 'lots of fish,' if you have an open-minded palate, there's no reason you can't be successful with BistroMD!

posted Aug 6th, 2013 6:15 pm


Alicia

I decided to try Bistro MD to try to understand how I should be eating. It's just my first week but the food is really good! I've been completely satisfied and pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to sign up & the food choices are not boring. I highly recommend giving Bistro MD a try.

posted Aug 6th, 2013 2:55 pm


Jennifer Kristine

The plan is absolutely convienent and the food is satisfying with plenty of options to mix things up!

posted Aug 6th, 2013 2:19 pm


Sarah

I choose bistroMD, mainly for convenience without the hassle of cooking dinner and grocery shopping on my own for every meal. I am not a picky eater and appreciate a variety of flavors. Overall, I have been very pleased with the quality of meals. For example these meals are whole muscle meat portions (not the compressed chicken 'breasts' you receive in TV dinners) and the creative use of spices in vegetables and sauce combinations are gourmet! The breakfasts are amazing and involve much more detail and than I would do for myself. If I may offer a piece of advice to those on the program or considering the program, it would be to try all of the bistroMd meal options at least once. Then if you receive a meal and it isn't your favorite, it is easy to exclude it from your future shipments using their online preference selections. You may surprise yourself and discover a new found liking to brussels sprouts (like I did!).

posted Aug 6th, 2013 2:17 pm


Marshall Carter

I've had a great experience with Bistro MD. The meals taste great, are easy to heat up, and the portions are reasonable. Customer service has been flexible and easy to work with. I don't use Bistro MD to diet but to maintain my current weight as I struggle with portion control and don't like to cook. Overall, I would recommend the service if you can make it work within your budget. Food is important to me, so I do!

posted Aug 6th, 2013 12:32 pm


Sheetal

I've been on BistroMD for 3 weeks now. I've been traveling a lot for work, so I haven't fully committed to the program. A big reason for me signing up was the convenience of having a good variety of nutritious meals available, and also to help lose weight. I have lost 4 lbs, which is great for me considering I'm doing this when I'm at home only. I am on the 5 day women's plan with no snacks. The cost is a bit high for me, but the food quality and taste is much better than the alternatives (I've been on Jenny, Weight Watchers, Nutrisystem, Medifast). Some of it I can't wait to try again (meatloaf with sweet potato fries were my favorite). Also, every meal looks complete and almost gourmet style - I love their vegetables! I agree with others that some dishes you may want to have some sea salt or hot sauce nearby. My first week on the plan there were too many chicken dishes - I called customer service and asked to have more vegetarian options added. I find if there is a lot of chicken, I won't eat the food. I get sick of it easily, even if it's cooked a variety of ways. Customer service at BistroMD is amazing. I do have to set a reminder on my calendar now in the event I have to put my order on hold - they do ship automatically and you have to let them know if you don't want an order for a particular week. I have nothing but positive experiences with their customer service and that makes me want to stay on the plan longer. In a few weeks, I stop my summer travels and will be committed on the 5 day plan. I can't wait to see what my results will be!

posted Aug 6th, 2013 12:11 pm


Deb

I highly recommend Bistro MD. Although costly, this program offers good tasting meals that are quick to prepare with just the right amount of carbs and proteins to help you lose weight. And having the ability to select preferences in the event a particular meal is not to your liking is a great feature. I have also found their customer service to be very friendly and responsive.

posted Aug 6th, 2013 2:54 am



Kari Klassy Peterson

I am not a picky eater so I like the food with very few that I have removed from my menu. I especially like all of the different crepes. I am doing the 5 day a week plan and have been on the plan for about 10 weeks and have lost 25 pounds. It is very convenient. You could skip the snacks. The only other cons would be the price and I wish you could mark which entrees are my favorite or be able to rate them.

posted Aug 6th, 2013 2:33 am


Jamie

I have really enjoyed the first 3 weeks of meals & have lost over 3lbs per week. Great program!

posted Aug 6th, 2013 12:10 am


Karen

I find the food great and customer service excellent. They are there to answer any questions and the dietician will answer and help you it is almost like having your own personal dietician

posted Aug 5th, 2013 11:42 pm


Jesus

I started using BistroMD October 8th 2012 and I weighed 217 lbs at the time. I've been using the program consistently since then and on March 20th 2013 I weighed myself again and I weighed 186 lbs. That's a total weight loss of 31 lbs! What's special about BistroMD is: the food tastes really good, you get tasty snacks, and the program is customizable (a friend gets his order every 2 weeks instead of every week).

There are different types of programs: 5 days with snacks, 7 days with snacks, and then 5 or 7 days without snacks. I've been using the 5 days with snacks and using my weekend to splurge a bit. Your menu can be customized and they have a pretty good user interface to do so. You can choose to forgo specific ingredients or meals (i.e. don't like mushrooms? Uncheck the box and you won't get any meals with mushrooms). The food is good quality and is made using simple ingredients (no strange chemicals - I recognize most items in the ingredient list). I don't like every entree they offer, but I wouldn't like every entree at a restaurant as well. With shipping and handling (FedEx), the 5 day with snacks plan comes out to be $169/week. The meals are delivered in a Styrofoam cooler with packed dry ice. Even if you're not home for a couple of days after the meals arrive, they'll remain cold.

I exercised every other day throughout my weight loss journey, so keeping up that routine is important if you're on the weight loss path. Eating the food alone will make you lose a bit of weight because the calorie count at the end of the day is pretty low. I added an extra snack because of the low calorie count (a Slimfast shake sometime in the day). The menu has a lot of variety. Some example breakfast items are: berry crepes + turkey sausage + sweet potatoes, spinch and feta omelette + apples, ham and egg bagel, pulled pork crepes + side of peaches, and so forth.

Even though I reached my weight loss goals, I plan on continuing the program. I'm not a big fan of cooking, especially after a long day at work. It's very convenient to come home, pop a meal in the microwave for 5 minutes, and viola - dinner!

When it comes to customer service, I've had no issues with BistroMD. The phone operators are very friendly and helpful, and email communication is swift. The program comes with an assigned nutritionist you can call if you have questions. I've never reached out to mine, but I've talked with friends who did (one friend was going to start lifting weights and had questions about more protein consumption). They had nothing but good things to say about their nutritionist. The only disadvantage I've come across (and it's small) is the meals for each day don't seem to be organized well. An ex: one day I'll get Bombay chicken for lunch and then chicken tikka marsala for dinner. Both are Indian cuisine Not really in the mood to eat Indian twice in a day. You can easily swap out another entree with a comparable calorie count.

Ultimately, this program is great for two kinds of people: 1) people who want to lose weight and have a difficult time eating the right foods to reach their goals 2) people who don't really enjoy cooking or don't have time to cook, but want healthy, delicious meals every day. I was in both category 1) and 2), so this program has been perfect for me.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 11:42 pm


Carla

I enjoy the food immensely and have actually tried some foods I've never eaten before. I get meals that are considered gluten free as I have celiac disease, and they have worked well for me. This does unfortunately limit the choices but so far I've not tired of the smaller selection.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 11:28 pm


Erin Stehl

Delicious, healthy, perfectly portioned, gourmet food!

posted Aug 5th, 2013 10:48 pm


Paul

Most of the meals are very good. Sometimes the chicken can be dry and if you don't stay on top of customer service, you often get the same food week after week.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 7:34 pm


Rhonda Sheffield

I have been on BistroMD for two months and I love the food! The portions are generous and there is such a good variety. I have tried two other meal delivery companies before: Good Measure Meals & E Foods Direct. There is no comparison BistroMD has far better food and better portions. I love it!

posted Aug 5th, 2013 7:31 pm


Beth

I have been amazed by the quality and quantity of food I receive. This is not your typical "frozen dinners". I look forward to every meal and often can't even finish the portion. I highly recommend bistromd.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 7:19 pm


Beverly Shirk

The diet works slowly but steadily. The food can be easily overcooked in the microwave. We have found that steaming it gives excellent results.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 7:07 pm


Susan chadwick

I have only been on this diet for two weeks and I have liked it. My only complaint would be that I received several of the same meals as the first week. I was hoping for a great variety every week. I liked all the meals except the Moroccan chicken, did not like it at all. Everything else has been really good and the customer service is really about the customer. Thank, susan

posted Aug 5th, 2013 6:53 pm


Katie

I LOVE bistroMD. It's so easy to stay on track when your healthy meals are already prepared for you. And they taste like they're from a restaurant! I don't know how they do it!! My schedule is so hectic, I was pulling my hair out trying to find time to go to the grocery store and cook every night. BistroMD has saved me a TON of time and now I'm way less stressed out. Not to mention, I feel GREAT. I haven't had this much energy in forever! I would recommend them to anyone!

posted Aug 5th, 2013 6:32 pm


Susan

I enjoy the diet since it makes me follow portion control- something we all have a problem with. The lunches are pretty tasty. Breakfast can be a bit repetitive since I tend to get lots of omelet type dishes and not too many other meals, like french toast, pancakes, and crepes, which used to come to me more often at the onset of the diet plan. I do like the taste of the food in general and am happy not to think about what to make for dinner each night. I wish the meal planner would pay a bit more attention to the daily meal combinations since I have been known to get fish for lunch and dinner on the same day- boring.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 6:08 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account