Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 392 reviews

Bistro MD

Doctor-designed gourmet meals delivered to your door.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Dr. Caroline J. Cederquist
  • Headquarters: Naples, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, Meal Delivery
  • Gender: Male and Female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking for a personal chef, a weight loss physician and a way to add convenience to your life, then Bistro M.D.'s meal delivery diet could be what you're looking for. Created by Dr. Caroline Cederquist, Bistro M.D. offers a healthy weight loss plan that delivers nutritious prepared meals to your home. All the work is done, you just have to heat and enjoy.

Dr. Cederquist combines her experience with an expert team of chefs and dietitians to create a delicious variety of well-balanced meals. Bistro M.D. is even endorsed by Dr. Phil, calling it "The best diet delivery available."

In an effort to help you avoid those common dieting plateaus, Bistro M.D. will change your caloric consumption daily, from 1,100 to 1,400. This prevents your body from becoming used to, and expecting, the same amount of calories everyday. Bistro MD works to save your lean muscle mass by providing a combination of lean proteins and Low Glycemic carbs (which are responsible for those blood sugar spikes).

When you sign up for Bistro M.D., you'll have full access to expert dietitians, as well as receive weekly updates with valuable information highlighting exercise, losing weight and nutrition. More importantly, you'll receive a weekly shipment of fresh-frozen meals from your choice of four different plans. You can choose from seven or five day plans and whether or not you'd like snacks. Your menus will rotate each week so that you don’t get bored with the foods you’re eating. Each dish is specifically designed to give your body the proper amount of protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats. You are able to cancel the program at anytime and receive complete guidance for healthy weight loss. The four different options for the plans that you can order include:

Bistro M.D. is the current provider for The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, and the former provider of the Biggest Loser Meal Plan.

BISTRO MD VIDEOS

Bistro MD on Vimeo

Bistro MD YouTube Channel

Dr. Phil Features Bistro MD

PRO
  • Healthy meals that are delicious and satisfying
  • Very little work on your part- just heat and eat
  • Balanced nutrition and calories
  • Low glycemic foods ideal for diabetics
  • Expert staff of dietitians and chefs
  • Broad variety of food
  • Dr. Phil calls it "the best meal delivery program"
  • Each package displays ingredients and nutrition facts
CON
  • Pricing may be steep for some
  • Menus pre-made, do not get to make personal selections
  • Calorie intake is slightly low
  • Not ideal for families
  • Does not provide exercise or fitness program
  • Sodium and fat both run high in these meals
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Loved being on this diet. After the birth of my daughter, I had 60 pounds to lose, and after being on this for three months, I lost 30 pounds, giving me a great "Jump start". What kept me from continuing was two fold: The cost after this long, was getting too much. Later, my daughter was eating "real" food, so no longer was I just able to feed her out of a baby food jar while I had my delicous prepared meal. Now, four years later, I'm temped to start up again - it's only the idea of me eating one meal, while preparing and feeding a young child another. - Tamara 7/12/11

I’m a little surprised at all the wonderful reviews this diet receives here. The food is not bad. I actually liked it (I bought some spices to add to it to make it a little more flavorful though). But frankly, I really started to wonder if the calorie counts on the food were accurate. I was NEVER even the tiniest bit hungry between meals, which may sound like a good thing, but I know from previous experience that this usually means I am not losing any weight. And low and behold, I lost ONE POUND in six weeks. - Libby 12/8/10

I am not giving a thumbs up or thumbs down because there are pros and cons to these meals. First off, some are very flavorful- especially the beef meals such as brocolli with beef and beef stir-fry, the shrimp pasta primavera, the grilled chicken dishes as well as some of the snacks. Sadly this meal plan does not include any desserts- like nutrasystem. Some of the meals were ok and a few were just terrible- two of the turkey based meals were almost inedible- making me wonder if my 90 year old grandmother had been brought in to over roast the turkey. Much of the problem with the meals is that while they are more fresh tasting than say nutrasystem, they need to improve their packaging technology. - Karen 7/1/10

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue. - Betty 10/21/09

DIET and NUTRITION

With Bistro MD you don't have to sacrifice variety or taste. The convenience of this meal delivery diet allows you to eat chef prepared meals while also losing weight. All of the meals are nutritionally complete and carefully designed to meet Dr. Cederquist’s guidelines. The meals that you receive will include your protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats, like the Norwegian Salmon with Wild Rice and Sauteed Spinach.

Each meal is represented by a photo and a description so that you can decide exactly what you want prior to ordering. While on this program, you can also receive support from a dietitian for free to help you reach your weight loss goals.

The Bistro MD program is heavily focused on the food you eat and offers you automatic portion control with the delivery of prepackaged, frozen meals. Each day you will eat breakfast, lunch, dinner and one snack. If you choose a program that doesn’t include snacks, then you will have to provide your own. A sample day of eating on Bistro MD with snacks is reflected below:

  • Breakfast – Cinnamon Sweet Potato Pancakes with Low-Fat Turkey Sausage
  • Lunch – Pulled Pork Sandwich with Baked Beans and Corn
  • Dinner – Roasted Turkey Breast with Gravy
  • Snack – Mini Chocolate Cheesecake

Ingredients for Bistro MD meals tend to be wholesome, without the use of artificial dyes, flavors, or other chemical additives. You'll generally recognize the ingredients named on the label, and appreciate things like whole wheat tortillas, whole wheat flour, seaweed in the vegetarian burrito, and cane syrup for sweetener.

Sodium is moderate but can run higher than the recommended 600 milligrams or less per meal. Calories for meals are in line with frozen meal recommendations not to exceed 450 calories. Fat is extremely high for these meals, exceeding the recommended 3.5 grams or less per meal.

BistroMD has also teamed up with The 17 Day Diet to bring you the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan. If you are interested in trying the 17 Day Diet, you can have the convenience of having your meals delivered while following the three-phased weight loss program.

EXERCISE

Bistro MD doesn’t have a specific exercise plan or guidelines for how much you should exercise. As an aside, Dr. Cederquist gives some education on exercise. The program does encourage exercise as a facet of living a healthy lifestyle. You are encouraged to exercise along with your Bistro MD eating plan to have success in weight loss. There are several articles available on the Bistro MD web site that offer facts about exercise, provide details on incorporating exercise with your diet and give information on how to make exercise a habit. The variety of articles available on exercise offers you a chance to incorporate whichever types of exercise you like into your routine. Some of the article topics available include:

  • Motivators to Achieve the Best Morning Workout
  • How to Bust Through a Fitness Plateau
  • Make Exercise A Habit and Get Fit!
  • Get a Celebrity Workout Without Paying Thousands of Dollars

There are also some recommendations of the types of exercises you can do to burn calories and get a workout in. Some of the suggestions include:

  • Cycling
  • Swimming
  • Boot Camp
  • Fitness with Pets
  • Walking
CONCLUSION

In this fast-paced world, preparing healthful, delicious meals at home is just one chore few people have time to put on the list. Bistro M.D.'s Diet to your Door takes care of it for you. By providing a broad menu, designed by a doctor, with tasty, nutrient-rich and satisfying meals, preparing them for you and delivering to your doorstep, it's easier than ever to manage your weight loss. Bistro M.D. is most ideal for individuals or even couples; but the expense and menu do not make it a realistic plan for families. Rest assured that a dedicated team of chefs, dietitians and Dr. Cederquist are putting your health needs first, as well as your desire for variety.

BISTRO MD SLIDESHOWS

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

BISTRO MD RESOURCES

Bistro MD Reviews on Yelp

Bistro MD on Twitter

Bistro MD on Facebook

Bistro MD on PR Newswire

Dr. Phil Recommends Bistro MD

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan by Bistro MD

Bistro MD Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Deit to your door, Deit-to-your-door, Diet-to-your-door, BistroMD, Bestro MD, Biggest Loser Meal Plan, bistromd.com

Author

by


Related Diets: The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Jillian Michaels Meal Plan, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 3 of 7, 134 total comments)

Susan

I enjoy the diet since it makes me follow portion control- something we all have a problem with. The lunches are pretty tasty. Breakfast can be a bit repetitive since I tend to get lots of omelet type dishes and not too many other meals, like french toast, pancakes, and crepes, which used to come to me more often at the onset of the diet plan. I do like the taste of the food in general and am happy not to think about what to make for dinner each night. I wish the meal planner would pay a bit more attention to the daily meal combinations since I have been known to get fish for lunch and dinner on the same day- boring.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 6:08 pm


Laseanda

Although I have only been on the plan for a couple of weeks, I am really enjoying the convenience. Because I have tried plans similar to this before, I knew what to expect going in and I haven't been disappointed. One of the best features of the program is the offer of gluten-free meals. So far I have had no allergic reactions to anything I've eaten; which is a definite bonus.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 5:59 pm


Gene Barham

My daughter lost a lot of weight on the BistroMD program. She came to visit us and looked better than when she was in high school. I started the program 6 weeks ago at 265 pounds and now weigh 245 with no periods of hunger and all my medical lab numbers have improved.
I am very, very pleased with BistroMD. The food is very tasty and filling. I am eager to continue and experience the final results.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 5:59 pm


SW

BistroMD's food is amazing -- and seems to be getting even better lately. The food is delicious and filling. BistroMD has many food options on their personalized menu. The snacks are great and I am always full. I have noticed about a 5lbs weight loss in 2 weeks -- healthy weight loss takes longer; I feel fresh and full of energy. It is vastly different than the Nutrisystem crap. My roommate and I left a Nutrisystem pizza out for about 6 months to see what would happen to it (kind of like what they did on 30 days). The food never changed its appearance and my dog wouldn't even get near it. Lol -- what is in that crap?

posted Aug 5th, 2013 5:46 pm


Brie

I am new to Bistro MD, I am a mom to two young children and I am carrying around some extra weight that I want to lose in a healthy way. portion size and balance are my issues so I thought this sounded like a good program to be on for several months. From what I have experienced so far, it is a wonderful program. I loved being able to look at each meal, read through the ingredients, and select what I wanted to try before the first shipment ever came. I have enjoyed almost everything that I have eaten so far, the vegetables are crisp, the chicken actually tastes like grilled or roasted chicken (not like the plastic slimy chicken a la frozen dinners), and the side dishes are delicious (love the pureed/mashed calliflour and the ratatouille). I also am impressed by the lack of preservatives and high salt content.

As far as the menu items that weren't my favorites... they weren't even bad, just not as amazing as the rest. I simply logged into my account and removed them. I also was accidentally shipped two meals that I had on my remove list. I called and a real live person answered the phone, apologized, and credited my account for the mistake. No long hold time, no hassle. I also love that they do what they can to be green. The cooler is mostly recycled, and all of the other packaging can go right into the recycle bin. I have no complaints so far, I wish it was less expensive, but I guess you get what you pay for...

Side note: the overnight thawing recommendation makes all the difference!

Suggestions: I do not plan on doing the snack program, but would love a list of recommended snacks from the MD involved in the program. I would also love a recipe book available for purchase. I have a family that I am cooking regular meals for and eventually I will want to go back to eating what I prepare. Some of these recipes would be great family dinners.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 5:09 pm


Jennifer Kristine

Bistro MD has been an excellent resource. I signed up to assist in reaching my weight loss goals and it has proved to be invaluable. It allows me to make healthy, easy choices. The food is very good and I have yet to feel hungry. I tried other plans but this one has proven to be the most effective.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 5:06 pm


MVO

I'm two weeks in and so far, so good.

The food is tasty and easy to prepare. I'm starting to lose some weight. This is a program you can stick to.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 5:04 pm


M Rothenberg

I've tried BistroMD twice. The first time, I left because (as other reviewers here have said) I could not face another chicken breast or green bean. I signed up a second time because they offered free shipping for the duration of your subscription, saving me about $25/week on this program.

They've improved the variety, so every meal isn't chicken. The food is tasty, and I like the variety of seasonings or little extras-- many vegetable dishes have a few nuts or cranberries thrown in. I like the unusual vegetables (or are they starches?) like plantains.

The Web site allows you to decline ingredients (like green beans, which I have received in error only once in 3 months), or entire meals. I just went back into the system to decline omelets, which tend to be pretty blah and don't hold up well to freezing, but I haven't received another shipment yet, so it remains to be seen whether I will still get omelets.

I've had good experiences with customer service both via email and telephone.

I haven't lost weight because I can't be faithful to this diet, but nonetheless I feel better, overall-- more energetic, less draggy. Generally I'm eating healthier if I have BistroMD meals each day, than I did before, even if I still can't stay away from the chai lattes.

It's difficult for me to stick to this program strictly, because there are no desserts, not even a cookie, and I don't get the snacks. I've had better luck losing weight with programs that include absolutely everything (like Diet-to-Go), but I didn't like the food as much.

I can't say if the diet is nutritionally sound-- I ignore the menu included with each week, that tells you which breakfast to have with which lunch and so on. My suspicion, from entering foods into the MyFitnessPal app, is that there's maybe a little much sugar and even a little much protein in these meals. Many of the breakfasts have a stewed fruit component, and that may be the key to the sugar question-- another reviewer has pointed out that diabetics might want to scrutinize the sugar content.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 4:57 pm


Jill

I have only been on the Bistro MD program for a few days, but the food tastes very good and the portions are plentiful. I haven't found myself getting hungry between the meals.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 4:41 pm


Stacy K

I love the simplicity of this program and the food is great. I also like that I can choose to delete certain foods from my deliveries. I know the price is an issue for many (myself included), but I was not living the life I wanted with this extra weight holding me back. I would recommend this program.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 4:39 pm


Nancy

I think this is one of the best diet meal plans around....and I have tried many!! I like the fact the the meals are fresh/frozen as opposed to vaccuum packed, like some. Sure...that leaves out salads and fruit...but no diet is 100% perfect. I add those myself. It is very convenient and I have my food delivered right to me at work. I have never been dissapointed in the quality and it even gave me a few opportunities to try some food I never would have on my own....and found that I like it. It is a touch expensive, but the convenience outweighs (no pun intended...) the price. If you can swing it with the cost....it's the best plan around. I reccommend it to everyone.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 4:24 pm


Judy

After several years of medical problems and gaining weight from that, no exercise and the onset of menopause, I was beside myself. I've tried everything in the past, including other meal delivery services that were awful. BistroMD has taught me portion control, how to be satisfied with REAL food, not processed junk and allowed me to focus on other things rather than planning, shopping, cooking and cleaning. Yes, it is expensive but right now I am paying for the convenience and to help me lose this weight. If you eat the food and don't eat other things, move more than you had been before, you WILL lose weight. As long as I am true to the program I am losing a good 5-6 pounds a month. Yes, very slow, but that is the kind of weight loss that will stick. I recognize that with the cost this program is not for everyone, but if you can afford to do it, it will pay off in the end. If it is too costly to do continuously they will let you stop and start and it is a very good way to learn how much food you need to satisfy hunger and then go from there.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 3:56 pm


Damita

I'm only on my first week but so far am very impressed with the quality of the food and I'm really not hungry much at all between meals. I look forward to seeing what the next few weeks brings.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 3:52 pm


MC

I noticed a difference in my energy levels within just a few weeks of being on BistroMD. I used to fight my way through tiredness every afternoon, and within three weeks on BistroMD I noticed I didn't do that anymore. This meal plan has helped me tremendously to understand better my own body, my metabolism, and how I respond to certain foods. I also find the convenience very helpful and consider the time that I don't have to meal plan, grocery shop, and cook as part of what I'm paying for. I have found that some of BistroMD's "meal plans" do not feel all that planned out (like when I have chicken meals three times in one day), and I agree with one of the other commenters that there is not as much variety as is advertised, but that's also gotten better in the last few months. I haven't lost a ton of weight (pun not intended), but my clothes definitely fit differently and I feel a lot better. I will probably stick with it for a while longer and then decide where to go from there. Overall, I'm grateful to have found it and been on it for the last 9 months, and I think it was worth doing for me.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 3:46 pm


Harriet

I love Bistro MD! It helped me lose the weight I needed to while providing me with the ease of not worrying what to cook for breakfast and lunch while working. Their plans are flexible - I am currently on the 5 day, breakfast and lunch only. I cook dinner and have learned portion control!

posted Aug 5th, 2013 3:43 pm


Susan Jeffreys

The portion sizes are great, the food is delicious and I am eating vegetables I never ate before. My hiusband and I both eat Bistro MD more as a lifestyle choice than a diet. We travel alot and don't cook much so it suits us perfectly.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 3:40 pm


Elizabeth Stevens

Some more interesting vegetables could go with meals.
Meat meals are very grizzly with fat or so over cooked they are not tasty at all.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 3:36 pm


Brian giuliano

Very good taste and great customer service!

posted Aug 5th, 2013 3:34 pm


Susan Haenicke

I love eating, but hate cooking, so a "full service" diet is ideal for me. BistroMD is more expensive than other similar services, but unlike any other that I have tried, it does not require you to supplement all fruit, vegetables, dairy and other things, so the overall cost is not really higher than others. And the quality of the food is way above any other service I have tried. Another thing I want to bring up is their customer service. I have chatted with them several times about delivery questions and to skip a week while I was out of town, and have never been treated like an inconvenience or given the 3rd degree or pressured in any way, which had been my experience with other services. So, from my perspective, it's 2 thumbs up for BistroMD.

posted Aug 5th, 2013 2:19 pm


marvin weingarten

My wife and I have both been on the diet and all in all like it. The food is generally good and I'm never really hungry. It has been effective for me in losing weight without too much effort, less so for my wife. But it is expensive and after a while the meals become repetitive. For example, sometimes you get salmon for lunch and dinner several days in one week or every breakfast is an omelet all week. Overall, though, its good and effective

posted Aug 4th, 2013 2:06 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account