Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

This diet does not have a rating because it does not have enough votes.

+ - Tried it? Rate it!

Bistro MD

Doctor-designed gourmet meals delivered to your door.

Top Rated Diet Pills of 2016
QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Dr. Caroline J. Cederquist
  • Headquarters: Naples, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, Meal Delivery
  • Gender: Male and Female

EDITOR’S TIP: Combine this supplement with a proven fat burner as Sletrokor for better results

BACKGROUND

If you're looking for a personal chef, a weight loss physician and a way to add convenience to your life, then Bistro M.D.'s meal delivery diet could be what you're looking for. Created by Dr. Caroline Cederquist, Bistro M.D. offers a healthy weight loss plan that delivers nutritious prepared meals to your home. All the work is done, you just have to heat and enjoy.

Dr. Cederquist combines her experience with an expert team of chefs and dietitians to create a delicious variety of well-balanced meals. Bistro M.D. is even endorsed by Dr. Phil, calling it "The best diet delivery available."

In an effort to help you avoid those common dieting plateaus, Bistro M.D. will change your caloric consumption daily, from 1,100 to 1,400. This prevents your body from becoming used to, and expecting, the same amount of calories everyday. Bistro MD works to save your lean muscle mass by providing a combination of lean proteins and Low Glycemic carbs (which are responsible for those blood sugar spikes).

When you sign up for Bistro M.D., you'll have full access to expert dietitians, as well as receive weekly updates with valuable information highlighting exercise, losing weight and nutrition. More importantly, you'll receive a weekly shipment of fresh-frozen meals from your choice of four different plans. You can choose from seven or five day plans and whether or not you'd like snacks. Your menus will rotate each week so that you don’t get bored with the foods you’re eating. Each dish is specifically designed to give your body the proper amount of protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats. You are able to cancel the program at anytime and receive complete guidance for healthy weight loss. The four different options for the plans that you can order include:

Bistro M.D. is the current provider for The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, and the former provider of the Biggest Loser Meal Plan.

BISTRO MD VIDEOS

Bistro MD on Vimeo

Bistro MD YouTube Channel

Dr. Phil Features Bistro MD

PRO
  • Healthy meals that are delicious and satisfying
  • Very little work on your part- just heat and eat
  • Balanced nutrition and calories
  • Low glycemic foods ideal for diabetics
  • Expert staff of dietitians and chefs
  • Broad variety of food
  • Dr. Phil calls it "the best meal delivery program"
  • Each package displays ingredients and nutrition facts
CON
  • Pricing may be steep for some
  • Menus pre-made, do not get to make personal selections
  • Calorie intake is slightly low
  • Not ideal for families
  • Does not provide exercise or fitness program
  • Sodium and fat both run high in these meals
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Loved being on this diet. After the birth of my daughter, I had 60 pounds to lose, and after being on this for three months, I lost 30 pounds, giving me a great "Jump start". What kept me from continuing was two fold: The cost after this long, was getting too much. Later, my daughter was eating "real" food, so no longer was I just able to feed her out of a baby food jar while I had my delicous prepared meal. Now, four years later, I'm temped to start up again - it's only the idea of me eating one meal, while preparing and feeding a young child another. - Tamara 7/12/11

I’m a little surprised at all the wonderful reviews this diet receives here. The food is not bad. I actually liked it (I bought some spices to add to it to make it a little more flavorful though). But frankly, I really started to wonder if the calorie counts on the food were accurate. I was NEVER even the tiniest bit hungry between meals, which may sound like a good thing, but I know from previous experience that this usually means I am not losing any weight. And low and behold, I lost ONE POUND in six weeks. - Libby 12/8/10

I am not giving a thumbs up or thumbs down because there are pros and cons to these meals. First off, some are very flavorful- especially the beef meals such as brocolli with beef and beef stir-fry, the shrimp pasta primavera, the grilled chicken dishes as well as some of the snacks. Sadly this meal plan does not include any desserts- like nutrasystem. Some of the meals were ok and a few were just terrible- two of the turkey based meals were almost inedible- making me wonder if my 90 year old grandmother had been brought in to over roast the turkey. Much of the problem with the meals is that while they are more fresh tasting than say nutrasystem, they need to improve their packaging technology. - Karen 7/1/10

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue. - Betty 10/21/09

DIET and NUTRITION

With Bistro MD you don't have to sacrifice variety or taste. The convenience of this meal delivery diet allows you to eat chef prepared meals while also losing weight. All of the meals are nutritionally complete and carefully designed to meet Dr. Cederquist’s guidelines. The meals that you receive will include your protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats, like the Norwegian Salmon with Wild Rice and Sauteed Spinach.

Each meal is represented by a photo and a description so that you can decide exactly what you want prior to ordering. While on this program, you can also receive support from a dietitian for free to help you reach your weight loss goals.

The Bistro MD program is heavily focused on the food you eat and offers you automatic portion control with the delivery of prepackaged, frozen meals. Each day you will eat breakfast, lunch, dinner and one snack. If you choose a program that doesn’t include snacks, then you will have to provide your own. A sample day of eating on Bistro MD with snacks is reflected below:

  • Breakfast – Cinnamon Sweet Potato Pancakes with Low-Fat Turkey Sausage
  • Lunch – Pulled Pork Sandwich with Baked Beans and Corn
  • Dinner – Roasted Turkey Breast with Gravy
  • Snack – Mini Chocolate Cheesecake

Ingredients for Bistro MD meals tend to be wholesome, without the use of artificial dyes, flavors, or other chemical additives. You'll generally recognize the ingredients named on the label, and appreciate things like whole wheat tortillas, whole wheat flour, seaweed in the vegetarian burrito, and cane syrup for sweetener.

Sodium is moderate but can run higher than the recommended 600 milligrams or less per meal. Calories for meals are in line with frozen meal recommendations not to exceed 450 calories. Fat is extremely high for these meals, exceeding the recommended 3.5 grams or less per meal.

BistroMD has also teamed up with The 17 Day Diet to bring you the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan. If you are interested in trying the 17 Day Diet, you can have the convenience of having your meals delivered while following the three-phased weight loss program.

EXERCISE

Bistro MD doesn’t have a specific exercise plan or guidelines for how much you should exercise. As an aside, Dr. Cederquist gives some education on exercise. The program does encourage exercise as a facet of living a healthy lifestyle. You are encouraged to exercise along with your Bistro MD eating plan to have success in weight loss. There are several articles available on the Bistro MD web site that offer facts about exercise, provide details on incorporating exercise with your diet and give information on how to make exercise a habit. The variety of articles available on exercise offers you a chance to incorporate whichever types of exercise you like into your routine. Some of the article topics available include:

  • Motivators to Achieve the Best Morning Workout
  • How to Bust Through a Fitness Plateau
  • Make Exercise A Habit and Get Fit!
  • Get a Celebrity Workout Without Paying Thousands of Dollars

There are also some recommendations of the types of exercises you can do to burn calories and get a workout in. Some of the suggestions include:

  • Cycling
  • Swimming
  • Boot Camp
  • Fitness with Pets
  • Walking
CONCLUSION

In this fast-paced world, preparing healthful, delicious meals at home is just one chore few people have time to put on the list. Bistro M.D.'s Diet to your Door takes care of it for you. By providing a broad menu, designed by a doctor, with tasty, nutrient-rich and satisfying meals, preparing them for you and delivering to your doorstep, it's easier than ever to manage your weight loss. Bistro M.D. is most ideal for individuals or even couples; but the expense and menu do not make it a realistic plan for families. Rest assured that a dedicated team of chefs, dietitians and Dr. Cederquist are putting your health needs first, as well as your desire for variety.

BISTRO MD SLIDESHOWS

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

BISTRO MD RESOURCES

Bistro MD Reviews on Yelp

Bistro MD on Twitter

Bistro MD on Facebook

Bistro MD on PR Newswire

Dr. Phil Recommends Bistro MD

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan by Bistro MD

Bistro MD Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Deit to your door, Deit-to-your-door, Diet-to-your-door, BistroMD, Bestro MD, Biggest Loser Meal Plan, bistromd.com

Author

by



> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 8, 142 total comments)

Kate

+

I've now had one week of BistroMD--I've lost 2.5 lbs, I'm not hungry and I really really like most of the food. This is NOT like restaurant food or regular microwave meals--it's low in fat, salt and sugar and has lots of vegetables-- the food is actually healthy and naturally lower calorie, that's how the portions can be so generous. I was impressed that the meat is actual "real" chicken breast and turkey rather than the strange molded stuff you get in most microwave meals. When I entered the nutritional info for everything I ate into a calorie counting program, the nutritional breakdown for the day was 40-30-30 (like the Zone). The ingredient lists are almost completely normal "food" ingredients and not weird additives (unlike nutrisystem and most microwave meals).
The lunches and dinners are very good but sometimes need a bit of salt. Breakfast is hit and miss--the omelets are not so great but everything else is wonderful. The only thing I don't recommend are the snacks. They're tasty but not worth the money--I've found them online for cheap and a person can come up with their own high protein snacks for less $$. Also, the packaging has apparently improved a lot lately--I didn't have anything to boil in a bag--all meals looked like regular microwave meals and prep was easy--nothing was damaged in shipping.
I like this program enough that I plan on doing it for at least the next 2 months to help me lose baby weight.

posted Jun 1st, 2011 2:35 pm


rosie45

+

I liked the food better than nutrisystem

posted Jan 7th, 2011 10:24 am


Kaitlyn

-

Believe me, I've tried my fair share of mail order diet plans and this was by far the WORST. Honestly, I am not a picky eater at all but I have yet to try a single meal in my order that I've had any desire to finish, I've been throwing out more than half of every meal. My order came with 4 of the meals having been damaged in shipping (to which customer service actually replied "it isn't uncommon for meals to arrive damaged" with no offer to exchange, refund or replace!?) yet I still wanted to give it an honest try. However I really found all these meals to be absolutely DISGUSTING. Stay away!!! Diet-to-go>Nutrisystem>This hot mess. When even Nutrisystem tastes better than your food, you know there's a problem!!

posted Dec 20th, 2010 7:25 am


Libby

I??m a little surprised at all the wonderful reviews this diet receives here. The food is not bad. I actually liked it (I bought some spices to add to it to make it a little more flavorful though). But frankly, I really started to wonder if the calorie counts on the food were accurate. I was NEVER even the tiniest bit hungry between meals, which may sound like a good thing, but I know from previous experience that this usually means I am not losing any weight. And low and behold, I lost ONE POUND in six weeks. The girl friend I started this with lost two pounds, and we were both diligently exercising. I think this may be a good diet for people who weigh a lot and have gained weight because they were eating very poorly. Those of us who are small, female, and have about ten pounds to shed may need to look elsewhere.

posted Dec 8th, 2010 3:04 pm


JM887

-

the food is really not all that good. Since when is a salad heated in the microwave considered restaurant quality food? It says to add your own seasonings .. i guess thats to get add the 'restaurant' quality flavoring.

posted Aug 30th, 2010 2:43 pm


Sue

-

Good luck getting your money back from this company! A couple of years ago, I ordered their food and shipment never came. Then I finally got a few shipments. Then canceled. They shipped food anyway - as luck had it I caught delivery man AS he was unloading the truck and instructed him to "return to sender". They got their food. But I never got my money they charged me refunded. Shame on you Bistro MD. And from what I've read, it looks like their practices or customer service have not improved very much. 2 thumbs down!!!!!! If anyone knows of a Better Diet delivery place, especially one with good food - please post here!

posted Aug 3rd, 2010 1:55 am


AMM

-

I love the food, but their customer service is confusing and ultimately abysmal. I asked for an order to be stopped for a couple of weeks when I was out of town... twice... once in writing and once on the phone...and I STILL got charged for food. And yes, despite the incredibly poor wording of their instructions for stopping a weekly order, I did make both these requests prior to their deadline. I even received a confirmation email stating that the order was stopped and I wouldn't be receiving an order next week. We'll see if they fix the situation, but my guess is (particularly given the degree of ineptitude I've already experienced) that I'll never see that $200 again. Shame on you BistroMD...

posted Jul 8th, 2010 3:08 pm


Karen

I am not giving a thumbs up or thumbs down because there are pros and cons to these meals. First off, some are very flavorful- especially the beef meals such as brocolli with beef and beef stir-fry, the shrimp pasta primavera, the grilled chicken dishes as well as some of the snacks. Sadly this meal plan does not include any desserts- like nutrasystem. Some of the meals were ok and a few were just terrible- two of the turkey based meals were almost inedible- making me wonder if my 90 year old grandmother had been brought in to over roast the turkey. Much of the problem with the meals is that while they are more fresh tasting than say nutrasystem, they need to improve their packaging technology. Following the heating instructions took a lot of trial and error and I feel like pretty much of a pro heating up things in the microwave. They make a big deal in their literature about how the meals come in bags you need to boil and this preserves flavor and freshness, and on and on and then only one meal they sent was packaged this way...everything else meant to be microwaved. In the end, this is the biggest criticism of the program I have- some of the meals got over cooked, some got watery, etc. I am cancelling after the next order. On the up side, I have lost weight after one week:)

posted Jul 1st, 2010 2:12 pm


GLH

The food was good, but not great. I couldn't stick with the plan. I also thought the portions were very large. I can't see how a large (6-8 oz.) portion of beef would be possible within the calorie range allotted.

posted Apr 22nd, 2010 4:32 pm



xdannysmomx

+

Ive been on the biggest loser meal plan for a week now and I have to say, I really enjoy the food. Compared to the weight watcher meals, healthy choice, etc. I feel these are tastier and lower in salt. I like that they arent overdone with a bunch of preservatives. So far the only food I didnt care for were the eggs/omlet..but everything else was fine.

posted Mar 17th, 2010 2:35 pm


michelle

+

Been using Bistro MD since past 8 weeks. It works really well for me and I've lost 18 lbs. I think it??s the best diet program out there because the last 2 diet programs didn??t work well for me. With Bistro MD you don??t have to starve yourself to reduce weight. The food is really good and customer service guys are really nice. Thank God I found Bistro MD.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 12:23 pm


Wilma

Food was good --- when I got it.
The customer service is not very helpful. My order was delayed by two weeks when I called customer service they said it was due to bad weather. They did give me a credit for one week. I did receive two orders then nothing. In the mean time the company charged my credit card 4 times. I called customer service when I did not get the third or fourth delivery and all they said was it should be delivered today. I kept looking at the tracking info for fed ex and the orders were stuck in South San Francisco (they were supposed to be delivered to Oregon) On my own I discovered the delivery address was wrong. I finally got hold of customer service which closed at 5pm EST or 3pm PST also not open on weekends. Meanwhile the food delivery is sitting in California rotting.
Now the customer service said that I input the delivery address incorrectly. If this is so how did the first two deliveries get to the correct address??
When I was able to talk to them on a Monday they said they couldnt call Fed Ex until Tuesday because it was closed. Meanwhile the food is sitting in limbo rotting.
I closed my account. And am still waiting for the addition two orders that I was charged for.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 10:04 am


Sydna

+

Love Bistro MD. I'm 57 years old and have tried 10 or more diets and this one works for me! On some diets I feel like I am being punished for being overweight. On Bistro MD I feel like I am being rewarded by chosing them to lose my wt. Lost 30 pounds in a month. I'm hooked!!

posted Mar 7th, 2010 11:20 pm


Leslie

-

The food was inedible and the plastic wrap left a weird taste on the meals. I had the program for two weeks and the only things I could eat were the bagel, waffles and pancakes. The sauces for the chicken try too hard to compensate and end up destroying the meal.

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 1:12 pm


Sydna Little

+

I LOVE IT.

posted Feb 27th, 2010 11:18 pm


Carmen

-

A third of the food is inedible - no wonder you lose weight! The customer service is fantastic, the food is just foul.

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 10:22 am


Jason

+

I have been on the Bistro MD plan for 2 months now and it has worked wonders for me. I??ve already lost about 22 lbs while on Bistro MD. The food is delicious better than what I can cook myself (I am pretty bad cook). The best part of Bistro MD is that I am always looking forward to the next meal. My favorite breakfast by far is the English muffin with Turkey sausage very tasty. The BBQ Chicken for lunch is great and my favorite dinner is the Poached North Atlantic Salmon Filet. I use to be a compulsive eater but now that I am on the plan, I am learning how to control myself and I am loving the results. It really feels good when your friends are asking ??hey have you been working out? and I would let them know that I am on the Bistro MD diet. For those that are still on the plan, a few weeks ago I received a Newsletter from Bistro MD and they were giving out free cheesecake for the best success story the contest was held here. I am looking forward to the next newsletter, the usually give us great dieting information. I??m 22 lbs lighter 30 more lbs to go!!!

posted Feb 18th, 2010 10:05 am


Suzy

-

I just finished my first week. The food has been mostly pretty awful. It's usually watery, mushy, and has little flavor. Some of it's not too bad and that's the best I can say. They should serve it in hospitals. The portions have been pretty good - often more than I can eat. Their customer service has been great. I had no trouble cancelling. I'm getting my week two box today and if I change my mind I'll come back here and say something nice. Don't hold your breath.

posted Jan 15th, 2010 12:54 pm


Betty

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue.

posted Oct 21st, 2009 7:17 pm


Josie

+

Just started this plan 2 weeks ago. I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. The food is great and I am never hungry. I haven't weighed myself, but I can tell I've lost weight. It is a little more than Jenny and Nutri, but the food is of greater quality.

posted Oct 5th, 2009 2:22 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account


 




Related Diets: Medifast , Nutrisystem, The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Jillian Michaels Meal Plan

Whats better than
Bistro MD?