Advertisement

| |

Home > Diets > Meal Delivery Diet Navigation    
User Rating

95%

of people who tried this diet like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 392 reviews

Bistro MD

Doctor-designed gourmet meals delivered to your door.

QUICK FACTS Start the Diet Now Advertisement
  • Established: 2005
  • Founder: Dr. Caroline J. Cederquist
  • Headquarters: Naples, Florida
  • Accessibility: Online
  • Diet Type: Low-calorie, Meal Delivery
  • Gender: Male and Female
BACKGROUND

If you're looking for a personal chef, a weight loss physician and a way to add convenience to your life, then Bistro M.D.'s meal delivery diet could be what you're looking for. Created by Dr. Caroline Cederquist, Bistro M.D. offers a healthy weight loss plan that delivers nutritious prepared meals to your home. All the work is done, you just have to heat and enjoy.

Dr. Cederquist combines her experience with an expert team of chefs and dietitians to create a delicious variety of well-balanced meals. Bistro M.D. is even endorsed by Dr. Phil, calling it "The best diet delivery available."

In an effort to help you avoid those common dieting plateaus, Bistro M.D. will change your caloric consumption daily, from 1,100 to 1,400. This prevents your body from becoming used to, and expecting, the same amount of calories everyday. Bistro MD works to save your lean muscle mass by providing a combination of lean proteins and Low Glycemic carbs (which are responsible for those blood sugar spikes).

When you sign up for Bistro M.D., you'll have full access to expert dietitians, as well as receive weekly updates with valuable information highlighting exercise, losing weight and nutrition. More importantly, you'll receive a weekly shipment of fresh-frozen meals from your choice of four different plans. You can choose from seven or five day plans and whether or not you'd like snacks. Your menus will rotate each week so that you don’t get bored with the foods you’re eating. Each dish is specifically designed to give your body the proper amount of protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats. You are able to cancel the program at anytime and receive complete guidance for healthy weight loss. The four different options for the plans that you can order include:

Bistro M.D. is the current provider for The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, and the former provider of the Biggest Loser Meal Plan.

BISTRO MD VIDEOS

Bistro MD on Vimeo

Bistro MD YouTube Channel

Dr. Phil Features Bistro MD

PRO
  • Healthy meals that are delicious and satisfying
  • Very little work on your part- just heat and eat
  • Balanced nutrition and calories
  • Low glycemic foods ideal for diabetics
  • Expert staff of dietitians and chefs
  • Broad variety of food
  • Dr. Phil calls it "the best meal delivery program"
  • Each package displays ingredients and nutrition facts
CON
  • Pricing may be steep for some
  • Menus pre-made, do not get to make personal selections
  • Calorie intake is slightly low
  • Not ideal for families
  • Does not provide exercise or fitness program
  • Sodium and fat both run high in these meals
USER REVIEWS

A sampling of feedback and experiences shared by our community.

Loved being on this diet. After the birth of my daughter, I had 60 pounds to lose, and after being on this for three months, I lost 30 pounds, giving me a great "Jump start". What kept me from continuing was two fold: The cost after this long, was getting too much. Later, my daughter was eating "real" food, so no longer was I just able to feed her out of a baby food jar while I had my delicous prepared meal. Now, four years later, I'm temped to start up again - it's only the idea of me eating one meal, while preparing and feeding a young child another. - Tamara 7/12/11

I’m a little surprised at all the wonderful reviews this diet receives here. The food is not bad. I actually liked it (I bought some spices to add to it to make it a little more flavorful though). But frankly, I really started to wonder if the calorie counts on the food were accurate. I was NEVER even the tiniest bit hungry between meals, which may sound like a good thing, but I know from previous experience that this usually means I am not losing any weight. And low and behold, I lost ONE POUND in six weeks. - Libby 12/8/10

I am not giving a thumbs up or thumbs down because there are pros and cons to these meals. First off, some are very flavorful- especially the beef meals such as brocolli with beef and beef stir-fry, the shrimp pasta primavera, the grilled chicken dishes as well as some of the snacks. Sadly this meal plan does not include any desserts- like nutrasystem. Some of the meals were ok and a few were just terrible- two of the turkey based meals were almost inedible- making me wonder if my 90 year old grandmother had been brought in to over roast the turkey. Much of the problem with the meals is that while they are more fresh tasting than say nutrasystem, they need to improve their packaging technology. - Karen 7/1/10

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue. - Betty 10/21/09

DIET and NUTRITION

With Bistro MD you don't have to sacrifice variety or taste. The convenience of this meal delivery diet allows you to eat chef prepared meals while also losing weight. All of the meals are nutritionally complete and carefully designed to meet Dr. Cederquist’s guidelines. The meals that you receive will include your protein, healthy carbohydrates and healthy fats, like the Norwegian Salmon with Wild Rice and Sauteed Spinach.

Each meal is represented by a photo and a description so that you can decide exactly what you want prior to ordering. While on this program, you can also receive support from a dietitian for free to help you reach your weight loss goals.

The Bistro MD program is heavily focused on the food you eat and offers you automatic portion control with the delivery of prepackaged, frozen meals. Each day you will eat breakfast, lunch, dinner and one snack. If you choose a program that doesn’t include snacks, then you will have to provide your own. A sample day of eating on Bistro MD with snacks is reflected below:

  • Breakfast – Cinnamon Sweet Potato Pancakes with Low-Fat Turkey Sausage
  • Lunch – Pulled Pork Sandwich with Baked Beans and Corn
  • Dinner – Roasted Turkey Breast with Gravy
  • Snack – Mini Chocolate Cheesecake

Ingredients for Bistro MD meals tend to be wholesome, without the use of artificial dyes, flavors, or other chemical additives. You'll generally recognize the ingredients named on the label, and appreciate things like whole wheat tortillas, whole wheat flour, seaweed in the vegetarian burrito, and cane syrup for sweetener.

Sodium is moderate but can run higher than the recommended 600 milligrams or less per meal. Calories for meals are in line with frozen meal recommendations not to exceed 450 calories. Fat is extremely high for these meals, exceeding the recommended 3.5 grams or less per meal.

BistroMD has also teamed up with The 17 Day Diet to bring you the 17 Day Diet Meal Plan. If you are interested in trying the 17 Day Diet, you can have the convenience of having your meals delivered while following the three-phased weight loss program.

EXERCISE

Bistro MD doesn’t have a specific exercise plan or guidelines for how much you should exercise. As an aside, Dr. Cederquist gives some education on exercise. The program does encourage exercise as a facet of living a healthy lifestyle. You are encouraged to exercise along with your Bistro MD eating plan to have success in weight loss. There are several articles available on the Bistro MD web site that offer facts about exercise, provide details on incorporating exercise with your diet and give information on how to make exercise a habit. The variety of articles available on exercise offers you a chance to incorporate whichever types of exercise you like into your routine. Some of the article topics available include:

  • Motivators to Achieve the Best Morning Workout
  • How to Bust Through a Fitness Plateau
  • Make Exercise A Habit and Get Fit!
  • Get a Celebrity Workout Without Paying Thousands of Dollars

There are also some recommendations of the types of exercises you can do to burn calories and get a workout in. Some of the suggestions include:

  • Cycling
  • Swimming
  • Boot Camp
  • Fitness with Pets
  • Walking
CONCLUSION

In this fast-paced world, preparing healthful, delicious meals at home is just one chore few people have time to put on the list. Bistro M.D.'s Diet to your Door takes care of it for you. By providing a broad menu, designed by a doctor, with tasty, nutrient-rich and satisfying meals, preparing them for you and delivering to your doorstep, it's easier than ever to manage your weight loss. Bistro M.D. is most ideal for individuals or even couples; but the expense and menu do not make it a realistic plan for families. Rest assured that a dedicated team of chefs, dietitians and Dr. Cederquist are putting your health needs first, as well as your desire for variety.

BISTRO MD SLIDESHOWS

7 Weight Loss Plans Fit for Fall

The Cost of Losing 20 Pounds

BISTRO MD RESOURCES

Bistro MD Reviews on Yelp

Bistro MD on Twitter

Bistro MD on Facebook

Bistro MD on PR Newswire

Dr. Phil Recommends Bistro MD

The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan by Bistro MD

Bistro MD Contact Information
Common Misspellings

Deit to your door, Deit-to-your-door, Diet-to-your-door, BistroMD, Bestro MD, Biggest Loser Meal Plan, bistromd.com

Author

by


Related Diets: The 17 Day Diet Meal Plan, Biggest Loser Meal Delivery Plan, Chefs Diet, Diet to Go, Jillian Michaels Meal Plan, Medifast , Nutrisystem


> Leave Feedback

User Feedback

(Page 6 of 7, 134 total comments)

GLH

The food was good, but not great. I couldn't stick with the plan. I also thought the portions were very large. I can't see how a large (6-8 oz.) portion of beef would be possible within the calorie range allotted.

posted Apr 22nd, 2010 4:32 pm



xdannysmomx

Ive been on the biggest loser meal plan for a week now and I have to say, I really enjoy the food. Compared to the weight watcher meals, healthy choice, etc. I feel these are tastier and lower in salt. I like that they arent overdone with a bunch of preservatives. So far the only food I didnt care for were the eggs/omlet..but everything else was fine.

posted Mar 17th, 2010 2:35 pm


michelle

Been using Bistro MD since past 8 weeks. It works really well for me and I've lost 18 lbs. I think it??s the best diet program out there because the last 2 diet programs didn??t work well for me. With Bistro MD you don??t have to starve yourself to reduce weight. The food is really good and customer service guys are really nice. Thank God I found Bistro MD.

posted Mar 11th, 2010 12:23 pm


Wilma

Food was good --- when I got it.
The customer service is not very helpful. My order was delayed by two weeks when I called customer service they said it was due to bad weather. They did give me a credit for one week. I did receive two orders then nothing. In the mean time the company charged my credit card 4 times. I called customer service when I did not get the third or fourth delivery and all they said was it should be delivered today. I kept looking at the tracking info for fed ex and the orders were stuck in South San Francisco (they were supposed to be delivered to Oregon) On my own I discovered the delivery address was wrong. I finally got hold of customer service which closed at 5pm EST or 3pm PST also not open on weekends. Meanwhile the food delivery is sitting in California rotting.
Now the customer service said that I input the delivery address incorrectly. If this is so how did the first two deliveries get to the correct address??
When I was able to talk to them on a Monday they said they couldnt call Fed Ex until Tuesday because it was closed. Meanwhile the food is sitting in limbo rotting.
I closed my account. And am still waiting for the addition two orders that I was charged for.

posted Mar 9th, 2010 10:04 am


Sydna

Love Bistro MD. I'm 57 years old and have tried 10 or more diets and this one works for me! On some diets I feel like I am being punished for being overweight. On Bistro MD I feel like I am being rewarded by chosing them to lose my wt. Lost 30 pounds in a month. I'm hooked!!

posted Mar 7th, 2010 11:20 pm


Leslie

The food was inedible and the plastic wrap left a weird taste on the meals. I had the program for two weeks and the only things I could eat were the bagel, waffles and pancakes. The sauces for the chicken try too hard to compensate and end up destroying the meal.

posted Mar 3rd, 2010 1:12 pm


Sydna Little

I LOVE IT.

posted Feb 27th, 2010 11:18 pm


Carmen

A third of the food is inedible - no wonder you lose weight! The customer service is fantastic, the food is just foul.

posted Feb 23rd, 2010 10:22 am


Jason

I have been on the Bistro MD plan for 2 months now and it has worked wonders for me. I??ve already lost about 22 lbs while on Bistro MD. The food is delicious better than what I can cook myself (I am pretty bad cook). The best part of Bistro MD is that I am always looking forward to the next meal. My favorite breakfast by far is the English muffin with Turkey sausage very tasty. The BBQ Chicken for lunch is great and my favorite dinner is the Poached North Atlantic Salmon Filet. I use to be a compulsive eater but now that I am on the plan, I am learning how to control myself and I am loving the results. It really feels good when your friends are asking ??hey have you been working out? and I would let them know that I am on the Bistro MD diet. For those that are still on the plan, a few weeks ago I received a Newsletter from Bistro MD and they were giving out free cheesecake for the best success story the contest was held here. I am looking forward to the next newsletter, the usually give us great dieting information. I??m 22 lbs lighter 30 more lbs to go!!!

posted Feb 18th, 2010 10:05 am


Suzy

I just finished my first week. The food has been mostly pretty awful. It's usually watery, mushy, and has little flavor. Some of it's not too bad and that's the best I can say. They should serve it in hospitals. The portions have been pretty good - often more than I can eat. Their customer service has been great. I had no trouble cancelling. I'm getting my week two box today and if I change my mind I'll come back here and say something nice. Don't hold your breath.

posted Jan 15th, 2010 12:54 pm


Betty

I was getting the food for a few months, it was very good and always on time, so easy to pop something in the microwave and have a delicious gourmet meal. But the variety as advertised isn't there - after a while I couldn't look at a piece of chicken. They would change the food when requested, but then it would revert to chicken. I lost a few pounds, but nothing dramatic. The biggest problem I had was the cost and I didn't have the meal plan with snacks. It is quite expensive. Did I spend money on food while I was on this plan, no, but I never spent $600 a month on food either. It's great food, counts the calories for you, but in my case just too expensive to continue.

posted Oct 21st, 2009 7:17 pm


Josie

Just started this plan 2 weeks ago. I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. The food is great and I am never hungry. I haven't weighed myself, but I can tell I've lost weight. It is a little more than Jenny and Nutri, but the food is of greater quality.

posted Oct 5th, 2009 2:22 pm


Frank M

Been on Bistro MD for almost 7 weeks now and I've lost 20 lbs so far! It's really a great program. Reading some of the reviews on the protein shakes they offer; these people could not be further from the truth! I love the Kiwi Strawberry, Cranberry-Pineapple and the Protuccino Shake is just yummy! As I said before, you CAN'T be a finnicky eater on this program! There is lots of great food to be had on this diet and the expense isn't any more than what most people pay for when they eat fast food everyday. I couldn't be happier with the product. The customer service could use a bit of improvement but I think that is something that naturally improves with time. For every email I've sent to them suggesting an improvement, they've been very responsive and supportive. I can't recommend this program enough!

posted Sep 2nd, 2009 4:03 pm


Frank M.

Been on Bistro MD for 2 weeks now. Lost 7 pounds so far! Excellent food with the exception of the "nothing" egg omelet which I simply could not finish because it almost made me puke! Besides that, the rest of the food absolutely yummy stuff! I love that you can discard anything that doesn't work for you. I love that they send you all your meals for a week and it's always a surprise. This diet is definitely NOT for picky eaters as there is a lot of dishes that are very "outside the box" stuff. As far as breakfasts for which it seems to be the biggest complaint. I would have to agree with several people on here. There are so many great protein rich, low cal breakfast ideas that they could incorporate and I've sent Bistro MD several ideas and continue to send more. This company has definitely got Nutrisystem and Jenny Craig running for the hills! At this point, those places don't even compare and have officially become dinosaurs of the diet world! If you love food and are willing to try something high quality and very good for you, Bistro MD is IT!!

posted Jul 30th, 2009 6:51 pm


sdl

This plan is great for those who are not picky eaters. I can see why those who are picky would not like this diet, as there are some 'creative' dishes to say the least - like fine dining creative. Personally, I find it to be just about the perfect 'diet'. Most of the food is delicious! Only a couple have been difficult to stomach, and that might just be personal preference (at least one of the dishes I disliked my husband thought was fabulous). I love coming home from a busy day at work and knowing exactly what's for dinner. The customer service has been great - very friendly and they were able to exclude certain items from my menu hassle-free. I've lost about 3 lbs so far in two weeks, and hubby has lost at least 5 or 6. He exercises more, is a larger person, and has mildly complained about being hungry on this diet, but he supplements with extra veggies and fruits.

posted Jul 15th, 2009 3:21 pm


Laurie

I've been using BistroMD for almost two weeks and have loved basically all of the food. I tend to make most of my meals in the microwave (rather than in boiling water) and I have found that using the highest time recommended (usually 6 mins) is best. Customer service has been helpful, and I asked them to not send me any moreoatmeal (since that I could buy it at a store for much much less). I am finally starting to learn portion control and have been full of energy! I lost 5.5 lbs in my first week and have been going strong ever since.

posted Apr 9th, 2009 4:18 pm


monique

I've been using this service since Jan. 2009. I wanted to give it a try for at least 6 weeks. Overall, I like it. The food tastes delicious. My compliant is that the menus don't match the advertised menu on the site, i.e, blue week, red week, etc.; therefore you don't really know what you are going to get until it arrives. And the meals have been somewhat repetitive. I've been on this for 6 weeks and have yet to receive some of the site listed items, especially the breakfast items. But the overall food is good, which is important to me. Although I have weight to lose, I'm not going to deprive myself of good tasting food even if I have to eat smaller portions. I've been losing roughly 2 # a week and that's without exercising. I plan to start exercising to speed up the process...just needed to make baby steps.....so I started with portion control and healthy eating and that was with this program. I hope that this helps. This comes from a meat and potato kind of gal!

posted Mar 7th, 2009 6:45 am


rin094

I also asked for a refund because the meals didn't have accurate packaging on it and I didn't know what I was eating and Darlene was the rudest lady i've ever spoken to. She told me "Don't let this get ugly" ....WOW Great customer services???? There are better programs out there and they claim that it was on NBC and The Rick Late show BUT The Ricki lake show has been off the air for over 10YRS!!!

don't wast your money people!! As you can see i'm a very unhappy customer

posted Feb 16th, 2009 3:38 pm


rin094

Awful!

First, the customer service department is VERY VERY rude! I order 2 weeks worth of meals and they sent me the same menu for the 2 weeks....which was basically full of chicken and pork- no variety. The breakfast is absolutely GROSS!!! The dinners are OK, but they give you too much of the same thing on each menu.... Nothing great here! The girl that was rude to me, her name is Darlene. She is so disrespectful and a liar! Talks over you and won't let you get a word in when I was trying to explain that I had too much chicken on my menus.

Ladies and Gentlemen, don't waste your money on this place, it's not worth it!

posted Feb 16th, 2009 3:35 pm


amber

Most of the food was too weird and the lunches that had "purees" were just cruel. The breakfast items were pretty gross, the only decent items were in the dinner entrees, but lunch and breakfast were the deal breaker. Oh and the shrimp dishes were absolutely horrible. I did lose 5 pounds the first 2 weeks but that was mainly from not eating the lunches. Going to try another delivery plan that allows you to change your menu options.

posted Jan 18th, 2009 12:39 pm



 

Leave Feedback

Skip the moderation queue by becoming a MyDIR member.

Already a member?

Need to sign up?
It’s free and only it takes a minute.
There are two ways to join:


Or, proceed without an account